We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sea, nature and luxury”
Review of LUX* Le Morne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
LUX* Le Morne
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Le Morne
Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sea, nature and luxury”
Reviewed November 22, 2011

We’ve spend one week in this hotel.
# Beach: excellent but it’s necessary to reserve your emplacement early in the morning, particularly if you want to be on the front line. It’s was a little bit noisy because of the construction on a new hotel (Saint Regis) neighboring Les Pavillons.
# Rooms: good phonic isolation, 2 services each day (morning + night service), bed very comfortable, shower, bath + dressing in all the rooms.
# Main restaurant: the service is good even though they forgot our morning coffee two times. If you want tables just in front of the beach, use the same tactic than for the beach : eat early! 7.30 am for breakfast and 7.00 pm for dinner. For the lunch, we suggest the little snack between the hotel and the public beach. It’s cheap and the food is acceptable (it's a way to avoid all inclusive). Note that trousers must be worn for dinner (like in all the others luxury hotels) event though I totally find it ridiculous (it doesn’t exist in Maldives for example)
# Diving and snorkeling: the hotel is in front of the reef. Beautiful spots to discover.
# Region : we really appreciate the surroundings. Le Morne, of course, but also the authenticity of the south west/south coast.
We truly recommend this hotel for all those who are looking for a quiet place associating sea, nature and luxury.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARION M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,040
    467
    104
    31
    5
See reviews for
1,061
2,921
66
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We have just returned from a wonderful relaxing holiday at Les Pavillons. The on-line brochure promoted "affordable luxury" and that's what we experienced. We chose the all inclusive option so didn't have to worry about the cost of food and drink. Beware of the small print though - not everything on the menu is included which we discovered to our surprise and it wasn't properly explained to us on arrival at the hotel. What stood out for us was the standard of service provided by the hotel staff. Without exception, they were attentive, friendly and warm and nothing was too much trouble. The beach bar staff were fantastic and we would also like to make particular mention of Vik (restaurant manager) and Cindy (Nipa). The facilities are excellent - the spa, gym, water sports, yoga on the beach etc. etc.- so much to do if you have the energy to leave your sun bed. The surrounding grounds and gardens are immaculate and the beach is pristine. Our only criticism would be the food, particularly the evening buffet in the main restaurant which we didn't enjoy. It felt more like a 'canteen' than a dining experience; the food was mass produced, kept warm in heated dishes, but often cold by the time you got to the table. Obergine was good and Nipa was even better as long as you like Thai food. Would we go again? Absolutely.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

We arrived in Mauritius really happy for our second island vacation this year as we're avid island travelers.

Arriving at the hotel, we got upgraded to a nicer room.
Weirdly enough the upgrade was only for one day (I assumed that they want to showcase their nicer rooms). We were supposed to move the next day back to our reserved room at noon (we were told when we did the check-in). Kind of weird to move from room to room, but hey, we said to give it a shot.
The vacation was on a good start. All was good until the next day (way earlier then noon, btw), when someone knocked on our door and said that they want to put the bags of the next customers in. We hastily packed the bags and wanted to move to our next room.
Surprise! Our room was not ready! And it seemed not to be ready until oh ... sometime around 2pm (it was 10am).
We were quite annoyed especially when we asked what are we to do by then, we got the answer: "just hang around the resort".
That was just great and dandy! Not even a mention of where and if we can at least change, store our luggage in the meanwhile, we had to ask for that.
They did provide a nice changing room with sower and everything, but that did not change the fact that they ruined the day for us.
We would have been better off without the upgrade. Whatever nice impression they tried to make with us, it was gone and worse.
Too bad about the resort, the location and beach are great, but the services still away from where they should be.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Ciuffy_ro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

I thoroughly recommend this hotel if you want a quiet, relaxing holiday in beautiful surroundings with attentive staff and great food. The buffet breakfasts catered for all tastes, as did most of the buffet dinners. As a vegetarian I had plenty of choice and my sister enjoyed the fish , seafood and meat dishes on offer.
If I am able to return to this wonderful island in the future, I would certainly stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadySunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

I have nothing extra to add about how wonderful this hotel and lcoation are. Only three tips/points. 1. Take dvds with you. The hotel dvd library is good, but not great if you regulary watch films. You could fast run out of things to watch and the evening entertainment is limited. 2. Stop at a supermarket or shop on your way to the hotel and stock up on canned drinks, and maybe water (although you do get two complimentary bottles of water in your room each night), which you can keep cold in the mini fridge in the room. We would take cans down to the beach to drink during the day and saved lots of money this way. The hotel prices are same as going out in London! 3. Do not rent a car through Europcar! Car was old and missing the airbags, fuel gage was faulty, so we had to fill up an entire tank rather than just the little bit we had used. Cost us an extra £20 in petrol and then Europcar tried to charge us another £20 for not filling the car up because the fuel gage didn't register properly that we had. Resulted in a big argument and waste of time. Very bad service from Europcar.

Room Tip: Get an upper level room for the view and privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

We stayed here for the first week of our Honeymoon in October 2011 and were very impressed by the high standard of accomodation and service.
The resort is absolutely beautiful and impeccably well maintained.
We travelled on the Pure Discovery package (All inclusive) and stayed in a Honeymoon suite which was just fantastic! The rooms were huge with gorgeous luxury bathrooms (& huge jacuzzi bath) and balcony/patio areas.
We'll keep our review short as the key points are covered in the other reviews - if you are thinking of Mauritius for a luxury relaxing holiday then do not hesitate to book Les Pavillons.
+ good range of watersports and activities on the resort
+ gorgeous spa
+ amazing rooms
+ friendly staff & first class service
+ picture perfect surroundings
+ great AI package - spa treatments, catamaran day trip, watersports, cookery class with the chef, etc

Room Tip: Our room was at the far end of the beach (to the left if standing in reception looking out to sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLandGJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 14, 2011

My now husband and I had our wedding at Les Pavillons, and it was the best holiday ever. The hotel, the staff, the location everything was the very best. We stayed for 12 nights on the all inclusive Pure Discovery package which is worth every penny, and we had six family/friends come too.

Upon arriving at Les Pavillons, we were both blown away by the beautiful structure and location of the hotel. As we pulled up there was a welcoming reception of staff and our family on the steps and were handed a refreshing flannel. We were then led through reception by Mannie (Les Pavillons Wedding Co-ordinator), and taken to the Nautile bar for a drink of our choice. The checking in process consisted of minimal paperwork that was brought to us and took only minutes, and an explanation of the all inclusive package which was not hard to understand.

We were then led to our room, (free upgrade from a Honeymoon Suite to a Prestige Suite). We could not believe how beautiful this room was. We could see The Mount out of one window and the beach and sea only a few yards from another. From this point on, we experienced exceptional service from all the staff at Les Pavillons, and could not believe how well we were treated.

We had maid service three times a day, and candles and oils lit in the evening, (this happened in every room). They even supplied and plugged in a mosquito repellent every night and put it away in the morning. The mini bar was stocked daily and amplewith wines, beer, soft drinks, juice, water crisps, chocolate, nuts.

The food was exceptional in all restaurants, however, our favourite was Obergine. The main restaurant had fabulous buffet nights of which the food was hugely varied and very tasty. My husband and I are foodies, (he also works in the high end catering business), and we can honestly say we did not have a bad meal. Also, I cannot eat dairy wheat or gluten, and was supplied with gluten free rolls and other alternatives, as good as everyone else was having.

We also made use of the included trips/experiences on the pure discovery, Iles des deux cocos, a massage and facial, a days catamaran trip. These were exceptional and could not believe the high standard as they were included in our package.

Our wedding was everything we dreamed of and more. YOU DO NOT NEED TO TAKE ANY WEDDING DECORATIONS. I didn’t and had the most beautiful exotic flowers, chair covers, ties, decorations. I let Mannie lead us on what to have, and I am so pleased I did, (she has been doing this for 14 years). We had a very private ceremony, followed by drinks, followed by an exceptional meal in the evening. It was perfect. Before the wedding we had all suits pressed which was fab. And, Natalie form the spa done my hair which was fantastic, (and I’m fussy!)

The staff at the pool bars were brilliant too. My husband went off to play golf and they looked after me so well, but without encroaching my personal space. The service was exceptional very friendly. Everyone reminded us constantly that we only have to ask and it will be done.

We would return tomorrow if we could it was so great. We can highly recommend Les Pavillons, and would like to say thank you to Mannie, Marine, Jerry, Anjesh, Nicholas, Natish, Lucinda, Steven and Kerbi for a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dreamer1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Morne
35.3 mi away
Constance Prince Maurice
Constance Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,269 reviews
29.0 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,441 reviews
33.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Mauritius at Anahita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Dinarobin Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
The St. Regis Mauritius Resort
1.5 mi away
Paradis Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LUX* Le Morne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LUX* Le Morne

Property: LUX* Le Morne
Address: Coastal Road, Le Morne, Mauritius 227756
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Le Morne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Le Morne
#1 Spa Hotel in Le Morne
#1 Family Hotel in Le Morne
#1 Romantic Hotel in Le Morne
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Le Morne
#1 Luxury Hotel in Le Morne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — LUX* Le Morne 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foot of the majestic Le Morne mountain in the South West corner of Mauritius is the tranquil beach hotel, LUX Le Morne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HRS, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your LUX* Le Morne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Le Morne Hotel Le Morne
Les Pavillons Le Morne
Hotel Les Pavillons
LUX* Le Morne Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing