We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Star Is Born”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The St. Regis Mauritius Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Le Morne
Certificate of Excellence
spain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Star Is Born”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We had been looking forward to our stay at the new St Regis which had been marketed as the best place to stay on Mauritius. Having read some of the earlier, less than favourable reviews from postings on Tripadvisor, we had some reservations. However we were personally assured by the management that we would be well looked after and that our stay would be exceptional. And they delivered in spades.

Our beautiful sea front junior suite location was absolutely perfect. We had been asked for our preference of room situation and it could not have been more perfect, thanks to Angelique under the auspices and guidance of Bernard de Villèle and Ronan Fearon.

Dining was generally excellent.
Our favourite restaurant of the three that were functioning during our time at St Regis was the Floating Market. Sadly the Boathouse was closed for dinner for the entire duration of our stay. It opened the evening before we left and we were offered a special Mauritian dinner, organised by the affable Matthieu, who pulled all the stops out for us. Thank you Matthieu!
Having had the pleasure of dining there the one and only time, we wished we had had the opportunity to repeat the experience. The ambience and location at night is very special. It would have been on a par with the Floating Market for our personal dining preference. Having said that dinner at Le Manoir was more than pleasant. A few more choices on the menu would have been a bonus.

Breakfast was delightful. There are occasional service issues here but the management are aware of this and are really trying very hard to improve the situation. When it worked it was fabulous. When it didn't and we brought it to their attention, they bent over backwards to try and rectify the problem.
The pastry chef produces fair that is as good as anything we have sampled in France. Delicious! Thanks to Sophie for keeping a watchful eye at breakfast service. You are an asset to the team.

Service on the beach was ultimately exceptional. Thank you Rakesh, beach supervisor, for looking after us so well. You are a star! Thanks also to Jane our very attentive butler.

We did have a couple of minor housekeeping issues, but once again these were quickly remedied by Lisa.

In conclusion, our stay there was a great experience and we were looked after admirably.

The St Regis is a top quality hotel in the making. Thank you Bernard and the team!

Room Tip: Ocean front junior suites are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blue2Review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisMauritius, Manager at The St. Regis Mauritius Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear greggyspain

A pleasure to read from you and so glad you enjoyed meeting Bernard and the team while I was on vacation. I thoroughly was pleased to read your review as it encapsulates what the team is striving for.
I will pass on your good comments to Jane your butler as well as Rakesh and Sophie and Mathieu. I hope that you will consider a return trip to this wonderful island before long so I can meet you and you can keep me updated on all the improvements you will have seen since your last visit!

Thank you and best regards for the rest of the year.

Ronan
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    765
    231
    113
    43
    36
See reviews for
352
614
30
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is a truly beautiful hotel. The staff were amazing, the restaurants delicious and the rooms had a lovely decor. Definitely would be staying there again. It is actually perfect for people who have children since they are plenty of interesting things to do with them. Spa was a bit too expensive for what it offered.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stanley0405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisMauritius, General Manager at The St. Regis Mauritius Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Stanley0405

Thank you, thank you for your kind comments and to find our hotel beautiful.
Our designers will be happy with your perception on our décor and I am truly delighted that you were touched by our Mauritian Associates.

St. Regis brand is very dedicated to Family Traditions and our aim is to reconnect the families after a busy year and for them to have a Grand Moment St. Regis. I have taken good note on your comments on the pricing at our Iridium spa.

We hope to see you very soon
Bernard and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
223 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

From the greeting on arrival by about 12 staff to departure we really loved this hotel. It is as good as the best hotels and resorts we have stayed at including prestige affiliations such as Orient Express, Dorchester Collection, Leading Hotels of the World, etc. The resort and rooms are stunning, but it is the Mauritian people that really make the place, they are helpful and genuine without being subservient, are very proud of their country and want your stay to be without a hitch. Our butlers, Ravi and Rakesh were excellent as were all of the staff including the gardeners and security. The restaurants were all very good, the Boathouse must have one of the best buffets of any hotel and the menu at your table that describes what is on the buffet is a lovely touch. Everything was replenished frequently and food was also cooked to order. Simply India was great, the Floating Market beautiful, Le Manoir an enjoyable french-local mix. Breakfast is, as others have noted, expensive as is wine (due to a high local tax) but no more so than other properties of this calibre or room rate. The wine list is well selected and the advice from the sommelier was spot on and there was good value to be found on the wine list with guidance. I do not know why this would detract from your stay given the quality of all that surrounds you and the half board package (although we didn't have this) was clearly good value. We also got to see the Russian Ballet as an "SPG Grand Moment" including canapes and a supper thanks to Mr Bernard de Villele the General Manager - this was a really appreciated personal touch. Mr de Villele has much to be personally proud of as he has been overseeing the St Regis since the start of the resort planning process. The hotel and grounds - the whole experience that Mr Villele and his team have created was perfection. I could go on with the superlatives but in essence we found this of the hundreds of hotels we have stayed at all over the world the St Regis Mauritius is up there with the very best of them. We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Closer to the beach is probably better but all rooms have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ross Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisMauritius, General Manager at The St. Regis Mauritius Resort, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Ross Y

We are so happy that you have compared us to prestigious hotel companies such as Orient Express and the dorchester collection. St. Regis Core Values are Uncompromising, Seductive, Bespoke and Address and I am glad we have been able to fulfill our promises.

I agree with you, our Associates are our primary asset, they are proud of what they do in delivering a service from their heart. I have passed your comments on Ravi and Rakesh our Butlers as well as to Veemen our BoatHouse restaurant Manager, to Vikash at Simply India and to Juliette from Floating Market.

I am pleased you enjoyed the wine list carefully put together by the current best sommelier in Mauritius, Vikram. I was happy that you enjoyed the Russian ballet and our Lady Astor supper in Inspiration for an SPG Grand Moment.

I am very touched by all your comments and I am happy that you cannot wait to come back.

Fond regards
Bernard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

The property and rooms are amazing. The beach and pool is also to die for. Everything is brand new and in amazing condition. I would recommend staying in a room as close as possible to the beach. Make sure to take advantage of the free activities like water skiing and biking.

Room Tip: Right on the ocean
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank PDiddyNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisMauritius, General Manager at The St. Regis Mauritius Resort, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear PDiddyNYC

Thank you so much for your generous five star rating.
We are all so proud and delighted that you liked the resort and enjoyed your stay with us.

Please come back soon

Fond regards from all of us
Bernard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

My wife and I know Mauritius well and have either stayed at and/or visited most of the leading hotels the island has to offer. We have extensively travelled the world and rarely feel compelled to write a review, unless our experience was either exceptionally poor or outstandingly good, based on both objective criteria and subjective 'feel'.

In summary, we consider the St Regis Mauritius to be an outstanding and classy property that delivers a seamless service across the board. We would go as far as suggesting it to be the finest hotel on the island. Upon recently relocating to Mauritius, we were keen to "get away rom it all" for a couple of nights with our baby daughter and try the St Regis based on a positive article we had previously read in 'Conde Naste' some weeks before. Our key observations, although not intended to be exhaustive, are as follows:

- Arrival/First Impressions: as the saying goes, there is no second chance to make a first impression, and upon driving through the grand entrance, we were glad to be met by a friendly gatekeeper and Luc, a charming Mauritian gentlemen who, it transpires, speaks perfect English (with a South London accent), since he lived and worked in the UK for a number of years. Polite, humorous, and a master of orchestration and efficiency, our bags were whisked out from the car which was then swiftly parked on our behalf in the nearby secure car park. Once we passed through a warm and friendly check-in, a golf buggy quickly transported us to our sea view room on the beach. Since the hotel was quieter we appreciated an early check-in, albeit this is usually subject to availability having stayed in many other leading hotels around the globe.

- General Situation, Decor & Hotel Ambiance: The hotel enjoys one of the best positions on the island, being situated directly under the World Heritage Site, Le Morne. The entrance to the hotel is beautifully designed in the form of a long, elegant covered boardwalk, leading to a semi-open aired reception (with a view over a channeled water feature reaching out to the sea), and into the heart of the hotel, which is constructed in the style of a 19th century Mauritian colonial mansion. The interior finish, decoration and primarily wooden cushioned furniture is of a very high standard and all sits beautifully on the marble (downstairs dining/bar areas and upstairs atrium/conservatory), wooden (upstairs library) and carpeted (business meeting rooms, games room and plush leather seated cinema) floors throughout. The high ceilings and large sectioned rooms create the sense of spaciousness needed to fully relax. We enjoy 'chill out', electro-jazz and other similar styles of music and enjoyed listening to the peacefully volumed tunes being tastefully played in various areas of the hotel. There's even classical poetry and stories played in the plush restrooms situated in the Manor House!

- Room: based on comparable deluxe sea view rooms at leading 5* hotels we have stayed at dotted around the island, the St Regis blows the competition out of the water with regard to (i) spaciousness (a recurrent theme), (ii) the quality of wooden furnishings, panelling, wallpaper and decor and (iii) intelligent, thoughtful design. For example, we felt that a junior suite at Le Touessrok (a hotel we hold dear to our hearts, since we married there) is inferior to a St Regis deluxe due to a slightly tired interior and equivalent size. Another good comparator is with Trou aux Biches Hotel, which has beautiful light bedrooms and a nice monsoon shower/duck board rear bathroom concept but the reality is that the remainder of the bathroom floor is easily soaked; clothes storage, safe and mini bar are situated facing the open (wet) bathroom and the balcony space is disappointingly cramped. However, the St Regis utilises all areas to maximum effect and "just so". We were surprised to have never felt so comfortable and relaxed in a hotel room and our 8 month daughter slept beautifully (as did we)! We found the butler service to be genuinely friendly, polite, thoughtful, attentive, substantial and well balanced in terms of desired service vs. self service. Complimentary leather luggage tags - a nice subtle touch.

- Pool & Beach: spaciousness, concentricity and simplicity are a winning combination here. The pool stretches majestically across the length of the pillared Manor House and is spotlessly clean and not over chemically treated. The best aspect for us was being able to swim substantial and unobstructed distances (as aquatic loving adults) with the ability to stand up and 'glide' our water-baby daughter through the entire length of the pool which she adored. The pool is surrounded by high quality beds and spacious fabric shaded wooden cabanas with wooden trunk tables. Water features gently blend into the surrounding area and the constant sound of running water was thoroughly relaxing whilst lazing around the pool. Towels were always clean and pleasantly sweetly scented. Small poolside service details such as offering complimentary sorbet shots, water being offered throughout the day and heating our daughter's milk bottle or preparing warm mashed food were much appreciated. The beach is spotless, relatively minimal coral debris underfoot and the views of Le Morne whilst swimming in the sea are hugely gratifying. A gentle current glides the swimmer from east to west of the beach and is perfectly safe. Beach towels are conveniently left on beds along the hotel's wide stretch and fresh water showers are easily spotted and the water warm.

- Food and Drink: the hotel has a wide variety of restaurants. As fans of Michelin Starred chef Atul Kochar, we were excited to dine at "Simply India" for our first evening meal. Having dined at his other restaurants in the UK and tasted his menu designed for Le Touessrok, we highly rated this new offering and were impressed by the clever contrasting flavours and beauty to each dish. To note, this dinner was my best experience of soft shell crab with sharp apple tones to compliment and cut through the fried crispy crustacean. The Manor Dining Room breakfast offers a huge variety of items of the highest quality (we loved the various yoghurt and fruit/muesli shots) and service was helpful attentive. Being English, the hotel is to be commended for offering a solid variety of high quality favourite teas whilst offering some more unusual ones such as Japanese Hojicha. The vast majority of top restaurants and hotels in Mauritius fail miserably when it comes to teas - but not the St Regis. The beachfront restaurant is very comfortable, enjoys great views, has very pleasant staff (we highly rate Kevin for his engaging personality and overall food knowledge, among others) and has a solid varied menu (the best Nicoise salad on the island) albeit some lunchtime items are pricey - but not silly or unreasonable prices - such as The Royal Palm in Grand Baie which, in our view, could do with a reality check. We also thoroughly appreciated relaxing in the cool chequered marble floor bar with its very friendly staff for drinks and, most of all, the wonderful St Regis afternoon tea with deliciously impressive cakes and patisseries. Overall, wine is generally reasonably priced here by Mauritius standards.

- Spa: superlatives cannot capture the beautiful design, vastness and luxury of the Iridium spa. What genuinely separates this spa experience as the best from the rest is: (i) the huge quality private spaces offered to couples who are given a large private chamber / treatment room with hanging swing seat, outdoor balcony for tea and relaxation and a private hamam and shower/changing room; and (ii) the consistently strong technical skill and thoroughness of the masseuses whose signature 'Iridium' massage incorporates a variety of techniques that left us feeling like magic on each occasion. These guys are highly trained. Prices are in line with market and a discretionary discount may be added according to low peak appointment times and season.

- Staff & Service: The devil is in the detail and the St Regis succeeds on so many levels that we shall continue to return. Generosity is sewn into the fabric of this hotel and overall, we noticed how the St Regis has cleverly cherry picked its operational managers and trained a strong team who: (i) provide a connected and seamless service and are encouraged to be individuals that enjoy working together; (ii) diffuse naturally warm personalities and a pride in delivering exceptionally high standards of service to clients; and (iii) demonstrate a willingness to learn and easily correct any minor issues. This is not an easy task for a new hotel in the tropics to deliver in such a short space of time and yet and it soon becomes clear why the General Manager, Bernard, is internationally recognised as one of the world's leading hoteliers, seeing him develop his loyal team with warmth and passion.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisMauritius, General Manager at The St. Regis Mauritius Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Jonathan H

I can say it is one of the most accurate and thorough review I have ever read and we are humble and thankful that you have spent considerable time reviewing our property section by section.

We have read your review this morning, we are overwhelmed by your kindness and we are proud that we have been able to provide you, your wife and daughter an area of peace where all your senses are in harmony.

I am happy that you have recognized Luc, one of our Stars with his famous south of London accent. I am happy that you have felt that all our Associates are genuine and enjoy what they do while providing a service delivered with human touch.

I am glad you liked the colonial subtle decoration and all the finishers as well as the amenities. We will always be thankful to Atul Kochhar who recommended us to you and that you have made The St. Regis Mauritius Resort your weekend home.

Olivier, Jerome, Sebastien, Fabienne and Mathieu are very pleased with the comments about the food and service. They believe that excellence is a journey and they are indeed trying very hard to provide moments of magic and elevate your tastes. Dr Arun was very proud by your comments; he is indeed a Master in training and is a pleasant Spa Director.

I am glad we share the same vision of excellence in that luxury is in the emotions and made up of multiple details which put together create a mosaic of excellence.

Our Associates are our stronger asset and their warmth, humor and kindness is now becoming legendary in such a short term.

It is indeed an honor to lead such an incredible team consumed by their desire to excel.

Warmest regards and see you next Sunday
Bernard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

I came to this resort for the first time in February. everything was impeccable, the hotel was just opening and the St Regis Luxurious machine was progressively assembling it self in this new location. I wrote a review in February and it was one of the most attentive And luxurious resort I had been too. I am a worldwide traveller and I consider my self lucky because I can enjoy several vacations per year in luxurious place. I have been travelling for 24 years and tried everything, from a simple bed and breakfast in New York, a small art deco hotel on miami beach, to the Fabulous historical Hotel Danielli in Venice , or the Aman Resorts in Asia. I love trying new hotels but I am a loyal customer and return to hotel I like frequently.
So where are we 8 months later?
The standards are not the same, they are higher. service is consistent, the exceptional is everyday, from cold towels, smoothies and fresh fruits on the beach to exquisite a la carte dining in 6 differents restaurants. Food is out of this world . believe me, I am French and very fussy about my food. Well, no complaint here, the flavours from Chef Olivier and the other Asian chef are just melting in your mouth, I had yesterday the best Lobster, scallop and shrimp consommé I ever had. Food is so well balanced and ingredients are rare and full of flavours, local or European as you wish.The pastry chef Jerome uses only fine and high quality ingredients so his deserts are exceptional , similar to what you would eat at Laduree or Pierre Herme in Paris. One day we were having diner at the boat house and the smell of the dark warm Ecuador chocolate was so incredible that everyone was asking what it was.(Must try the fondant au chocolat!)
The housekeeping staff, led by Lisa and also Amedee, ensured our room was to the highest standards and corrected quickly minor details like anoying poo birds on the terrace . Well, actually it's not a room, it's an apartment really, it's so big. I have been offered many times an upgrade to the junior suites with direct access to the beach,but as someone previously said, I will wait for an outside locking system to be installed. Our room was cleaned twice per day and always impeccable.
Fabienne and Sophie are a very good team. They managed the restaurants and ensure that your dinner, breakfast or lunch go smoothly. I was amazed how they looked after us and responded to our needs so quickly and professionally.
I have one comment about when the hotel is at maximum occupancy, it seemed that there were not enough staff in some restaurants and, on rare occasions, service was slow.
This happened only twice during our 11 days vacations.
I have to say that as a returning guest here , I have been exceptionally well looked after and many things were done for us, and it was amazing .
Also Priscilla , working at 1904 was extraordinary, always happy and laughing despite working long hours. Staff to recognise are Amedee, lisa, kelly, sharon, Thierry, Virginie, kissen, ajali, Arnaud fron the gym, and of course the incomparable sommelier Vikram, best sommelier in Mauritius. these employees made our stay impeccable.
I would say that this holiday was luxurious, elegant, staff were non intrusive and polite, they greeted us by our name every day and I will be looking forward to my next visit here in Mauritius
Honestly, why stay anywhere else if you can treat your self to the St Regis. I promise you will come back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guillaume S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisMauritius, General Manager at The St. Regis Mauritius Resort, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guillaume S

We were so proud when we realized you were coming back after your stay in February and we are always looking forward to your review on Trip Advisor.
We thank you for your loyalty to our company specially to the Danieli in Venice.
I am glad you find the standard are higher and the service consistent. We are all taken by your generous comments concerning the exquisite service on the beach and that the food is out of this world.
I have passed your comments to Olivier and Jerome and they were very touched; Jerome even became red when you compared him to Pierre Hermé in Paris. Lisa and Amedee were also delighted by your comments on the cleanliness of the room and we are all pleased you enjoyed your upgrade in a Junior Suite. Fabienne and Sophie were also pleased about your comment on the way they responded to your needs. Regarding your comment on the level of service of our Associates, it is true that last week we enjoyed a high occupancy which is not normal for that period and I am glad you realized we managed well.

We are blessed to have such an incredible bunch of Stars working at The St. Regis Mauritius Resort.

From the extraordinary Priscilla, Amedee, Lisa, Kelly, Sharon, Thierry, Virginie, Kissen, Ajali, Arnaud and Vikram; thank you from the bottom of our hearts.

We are all awaiting your 3rd visit!

With best regards
Bernard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABERDEEN
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful 12 night holiday at the St Regis. The resort is beautiful, very tastefully decorated. Our room was a beachfront suite on the 1st floor and the view was stunning. The room was spacious with a lovely big bathroom and fabulous toiletries (not usually a fan of hotel toiletries but there were amazing!) We had a large furnished balcony which was great for watching the sunset. The pools were lovely, the main one is large and a good temperature and the quiet pool (smaller) is heated.
Restaurants are decorated to reflect their theme, all lovely. We were on the HB plan and the food in each restaurant was excellent. We ate in all restaurants and were not disappointed in any. We also had the experience of the Chef's Table.....Fabulous and would definitely recommend it to anyone staying in the hotel. Olivier (Exec chef) made us feel welcome in the kitchen and made the most amzing dinner. It was fascinating seeing the chef's in action.
The staff in the hotel are superb. We found Mauritius to be a friendly island and this was true in resort. Service from bar staff was excellent, efficient and friendly. The cocktails from both Boathouse and 1904 Bar's were exactly what holiday cocktails should be! Pool service was good with bottles of water, fruit shots, cold towels and sunglass cleaning, all in line with good 5* service. Complementary pedalos, kayaks and paddle boards were appreciated and good fun.
We had a couples massage in the spa which was lovely and relaxing. We went on an excursion round the southwest of the island with Henrico (driver). He was very knowledgable and took us to Black River Gorge, 7 Coloured Earth, waterfalls, the model boat shop/factory and a great little restaurant for lunch. We had a very enjoyable day out.
My only picky niggle was service at breakfast when the hotel was busy was very slow. We asked for tea/coffee and toast 3 times. Asked for the check and eventually left because it never arrived. Small issues and should be easily rectified.
The resort is relaxed luixury and I very much hope we return.

Room Tip: Beachfron Suite just for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PALMA2430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisMauritius, General Manager at The St. Regis Mauritius Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear PALMA2430

Thank you so much for your wonderful review.
I tend to agree with you that our interior decorator has done a magnificent work in creating this tasteful colonial atmosphere. One guest one day described our resort as: “The perfect imperfection”.

I am glad you liked our Remède toiletries which have been specially created for the St. Regis and I am also glad you love our pools. I have passed your comment to Chef Olivier and congratulate him for the quality of the food and for ‘Chef in action’ which creates an incredible atmosphere.
We are very touched by your appreciation of our beautiful island which is a paradise on earth and on the kind comment you made on our Associates who always go the extra mile to make our guests feel at home.
Enrico was delighted with your kind appreciation. I also took on board the comments on the slow breakfast and we are trying new ways to improve the speed of the service and pay much more attention to the needs of our guests.

Thank you once again for your comments and we hope to see you very soon

Warmest regards
Bernard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Morne
0.3 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,391 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dinarobin Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Paradis Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.3 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
35.6 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
33.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Mauritius at Anahita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Mauritius Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Mauritius Resort

Property: The St. Regis Mauritius Resort
Address: Le Morne Peninsula, Le Morne, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Le Morne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Le Morne
#4 Romantic Hotel in Le Morne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Le Morne
#4 Spa Hotel in Le Morne
#4 Family Hotel in Le Morne
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Le Morne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Mauritius Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. Regis Mauritius Resort is situated on one of the most privileged locations on the south westerly tip of the island, on the pristine white natural beaches at the UNESCO World Heritage site of Le Morne, bordered by a turquoise lagoon. The resort's backdrop of Mauritius' iconic Le Morne Brabant Mountain is defined by a lush green patchwork of sugar cane fields encircling a series of lofty peaks that overlooks the Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TravelUp, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. Regis Mauritius Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Mauritius Resort Le Morne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing