We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"The Best Hotel in Mauritius"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The St. Regis Mauritius Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Le Morne
Certificate of Excellence
Rosslare
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“"The Best Hotel in Mauritius"”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This was our 10th visit to Mauritius, the St Regis Hotel is without doubt the very best that Mauritius has to offer, a world class property in a beautiful location.

We had an amazing visit to the Saint Regis. Although the Hotel is only open three months it really feels like it has always been there, it is so well integrated into the local environment, the rooms( or houses I should say!) are just a beautiful colonial style, very large with beautifully appointed interiors.

We were very impressed by the whole resort; it is magnificent from the Spa to the pools and the restaurants. There was a daily programme of events which extended from tennis, swimming with the dolphins, sailing, kite-surfing or just relaxing in the glorious Spa. The food was superb throughout, I think we tried every restaurant in the resort from Le Manoir, The Boathouse to the Indian and Japanese, each was memorable! We had an outstanding meal at the chef’s table for the finale! The hotel management team of Bernard, Ronan, Theo and Fabienne were ever present and so kind and helpful to us during our stay.

Most of all the St. Regis really felt like an established hotel, the service was exceptional throughout, you would never believe that it is only open a few months. You really have a great team, all so friendly and helpful. They have a great team at the St Regis, all so friendly and helpful. We were also very impressed by our Butlers too, Rishi and Avi, they couldn’t do enough between transport, ice and online check-in for flights home.

Thank you to all the team for your help and kindness during our stay. We wish you every success at the St Regis it really deserves to do well, it’s a world class product.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent with beautiful seaviews!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bkellyRosslare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisMauritius, General Manager at The St. Regis Mauritius Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear bkellyRosslare,

Thank you so much for taking the time out of your busy schedule to share your comments about our new St. Regis Mauritius Resort!

It is wonderful to read that we have created unprecedented memories to guests that have a great experience of the Island, its people and its service offerings.

Rest Assured that Avi and Rishi have received a copy of your review and that they are very proud to have made your stay a St. Regis Experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort very soon,
Fond Regards,
Bernard - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    837
    249
    119
    44
    39
See reviews for
380
672
31
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Just enjoyed 10 days relaxing at the St Regis, I can honestly say I have never felt so relaxed so quickly in any Hotel in the world.

The arrival experience was enhanced with a luxury transfer in the St Regis Jaguar with of course cold towels and water after a long flight. The journey to the Hotel was about 45 minutes as we took the scenic route along the sea front.

On arrival our butler escorted us to our Suite and offered an unpacking service which was fantastic. The butlers were on hand throughout our stay and anticipated our every need, this was probably the best Butler service I have experienced, thanks to Avi and Rishi.

The suite was spacious and opened out onto the beach, the private terrace area was perfect for a glass of Champagne while watching the sun set.

The Restaurants were all good although our favourite was the Boathouse as this was set on the beach and the lobster was cooked to perfection. The Boathouse Bar and 1904 were both great settings for drinks in the evening and the Lychee Caipirinha is well worth trying.

The Hotel offers a great selection of complimentary water sports including snorkelling and waterskiing and the team were on hand to teach a beginner how to water-ski!

The Hotel also has several boats and we were taken out on the very luxurious pontoon boat out for a private cruise with lunch which was amazing.

The Spa is incredibly well planned out and the couple’s rooms offer private sauna and steam rooms as well as a private terrace for juice or teas before and after treatments, when returning from the Spa, Rishi had also arranged for a bath to be run in our suite.

A great stay and we both left wishing we had booked 2 weeks rather than 10 days. Thank you to all at the St Regis for looking after us!

Room Tip: The beach suite was fantastic with amazing sunse views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MikeP1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisMauritius, Resident Manager at The St. Regis Mauritius Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear MikeP1975,

Thank you for taking the time to review The St. Regis Mauritius Resort upon your return.

I am delighted to read your comments and sense true enthusiasm and sincerity in your description of the resort and its facilities.

This is exactly our aim; to make our guests feel as if welcomed into a private home by their Butlers, in your case Rishi and Avi, and to be hosted, delighted and entertained according to their expectations.

I look forward to a renewed occasion to take care of you again this year!
Find Regards,
Ronan – Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed at the St Regis for 4 nights after spending the first few days at the Meridien. St Regis just opened and has a real colonial feel to it. Rooms and bathrooms were fantastic (working desk in the bathroom was a first - but it works!). Great architecture and interior design, and we loved the 'drawing room'! Our butler Navan was very hospitable and the Japanese restaurant (not the best design) is the best of the dining options. Also lots of free water sport activities and brand new gym which we enjoyed very much. We realised after 3 days that we hadn't left the resort, which is pretty amazing. Highly, highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kristianoverbeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisMauritius, General Manager at The St. Regis Mauritius Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear kristianoverbeek ,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your impressions about our newly opened St. Regis Mauritius Resort.

It is wonderful to see how the Drawing room, which was initially destined to our teenage guests, now really welcomes all generations to reconnect and share a joyful moment playing air hockey, pool, race on a video game or watch a movie whilst enjoying warm buttery popcorn on a rainy day. Whilst in the evening our senses will levitate to the music of our Inhouse DJ, Lionel.

Rest assured that we have passed on your appreciation to Neven your Butler, who keeps you in good memory himself.

I and the Team look forward to welcoming you back to The St. Regis Mauritius Resort very soon.
Fond Regards,
Bernard - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We arrived a the hotel in the late evening and were stunned by its position the following morning. It lies next to the ocean with the mountains as a backdrop. My partner called it sumpteous and it certainly was. All the staff were friendly smiling welcoming and polite - our butler was very attentive. The service was excellent and the food from 3 of the 4 restaurants first class ( although we were not impressed with the Indian meal sadly). Our large bedroom faced the sea which was within 30 yrds of the sea. We had a wonderful relaxing holiday

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_B186284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisMauritius, General Manager at The St. Regis Mauritius Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear John_B186284,
Thank you for taking the time to review The St. Regis Mauritius Resort shortly after your return from Mauritius!

Thank you for your compliments in regards to our restaurants. I am sorry to read that Simply India did not suit your taste. Atul Kochhar, twice Michelin Star Chef, deconstructs and reconstructs traditional Indian Cuisine to reinvent it with a modern twist. He has, so far, received numerous excellent comments from our guests and it is a pity that you have not had the opportunity to discuss this with the Restaurant Manager Veemen who would have been delighted to arrange for a classic Punjabi meal.

The Team and I hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to our beautiful Resort very soon.
Fond Regards,
Bernard – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I have spent two weeks at St. Regis Mauritius Resort for Christmas holidays.
All the entire staff of this luxury resort was at clients disposal every day and night, taking care of our needs during our stay.
All the equipments and services of this new hotel in Mauritius are perfect: fitness center, pool, butlers, boat house...
Book an escape on the St Regis One boat with Captain James to benefit of the blue lagoon and you will be in another world.
All the restaurants offer a very qualitative food: indian, japanese...or just a meal in front of the beach at Boat House, everywhere you go, you are like in a dream.
Special mention for Iridium Spa who offers the best treatments I have ever made in an hotel.
I recommend the St. Regis Mauritius Resort to all travellers who want to have a luxury relaxing experience in the most beautiful area in Mauritius Island.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gerard_guyot63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisMauritius, General Manager at The St. Regis Mauritius Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear gerard_guyot63,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to review our brand new Resort upon your return from a well deserved vacation!

We are extremely fortunate with the location, always the Best Address, which St. Regis has chosen for its most recent addition to world class hotels.

Rest assured that the Team and I greatly appreciate your compliments and your recommendation to fellow travelers.

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to the beautiful St. Regis Mauritius Resort very soon for another “Grand Moment St. Regis”.

Allow Me to take this opportunity to wish you a very successful 2013!
Warmest Wishes,
Bernard – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the St. Regis in late November to early December. This new hotel was beautiful but not quite completed. The store and gaming area were still under construction and the whine of power saws made sleeping on the beach impossible. The staff were very friendly, however focused on formality rather than real service. For example, at the restaurants, someone was always there to take the napkin from the table and lay it across your lap for you, however 1/3 or our reservations were missed and food came out wrong 1/3 of the time as well. We had to call to have our room made up 5 times (literally 5 times!) one day before it was finally done, but turn down service was consistently executed.

I realize that the St. Regis is targeted at a customer segment that wants turn down service and "napkin service" and I certainly don' t care about these things. But I did expect them to be good at taking reservations (which are required at all but one restaurant there), cleaning rooms, etc. I assume that with time the new staff there will get better at execution of the basics there. But unless for some strange reason I am there to actually experience reasonable service there, I can't in good conscience recommend this beautiful hotel to friends going to Mauritius.

Room Tip: If I went again, I would stay in a beachfront room closer to the main house. The beach rooms have h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joejhartzell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisMauritius, General Manager at The St. Regis Mauritius Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear JoejHartzell,

Thank you for taking the time to post comments about your stay at The St. Regis Mauritius Resort back in November, shortly after our Grand Opening.

I am delighted to read that despite the fact that certain facilities where not yet operational during your stay, you have appreciated the Resort and our associates.

We certainly needed a few weeks to iron out most of the service issues you mention, however you may see from the recent reviews that the extensive St. Regis Training now bears its fruits.

I very much hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to The St. Regis Mauritius Resort such as for you to experience the progress made since the early days.

Fond Regards,
Bernard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel mid November and it is in an absolutely stunning location. Everything about this hotel is wonderful. You are escorted directly to your suite on arrival and your butler checks you in in your room. The rooms are beautiful with great views of the ocean. The beach is immaculate and the pool area is huge. My favourite place was the Boathouse restaurant which is like a private beach club with a wonderful bar area perfect for cocktails . As the hotel had not long opened the staff were obviously still learning. There were a lot of staff around but it took ages to get a drink or be served at breakfast. I would suspect that they have got this sorted very quickly.
I would not hesitate to return to this hotel this is definitely the place to be in Mauritius.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GillyH60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisMauritius, General Manager at The St. Regis Mauritius Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear GillyH60,

Thank you dearly for taking the time to post this very constructive comment about your stay at The St. Regis Mauritius Resort upon your return.

You have been amongst our first guests and we are thrilled to read your feelings and thoughts about your stay. We believe that excellence is a Journey and have worked tirelessly towards providing our discerning guests with a bespoke and uncompromising St. Regis Service.

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to our beautiful Resort very soon.
Fond Regards,
Bernard – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Morne
0.3 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,630 reviews
29.3 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,440 reviews
33.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Mauritius at Anahita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.6 mi away
Constance Prince Maurice
Constance Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,263 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dinarobin Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Paradis Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Mauritius Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Mauritius Resort

Property: The St. Regis Mauritius Resort
Address: Le Morne Peninsula, Le Morne, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Le Morne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Le Morne
#4 Family Hotel in Le Morne
#4 Romantic Hotel in Le Morne
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Le Morne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Le Morne
#4 Spa Hotel in Le Morne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Mauritius Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. Regis Mauritius Resort is situated on one of the most privileged locations on the south westerly tip of the island, on the pristine white natural beaches at the UNESCO World Heritage site of Le Morne, bordered by a turquoise lagoon. The resort's backdrop of Mauritius' iconic Le Morne Brabant Mountain is defined by a lush green patchwork of sugar cane fields encircling a series of lofty peaks that overlooks the Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. Regis Mauritius Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Mauritius Resort Le Morne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing