We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice holidays at Le Mornea From family Pomels”
Review of Mornea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mornea Hotel
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Le Morne
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We had been at Le Mornea Hotel me and my family.ive not expected that my holiday will be so nice with happiness..excited...and funs.we had really warm welcome me and my family and all the staffs was very dynamic with smile and always to fill us that you are at home...the place is very clean our room are confortable...Breakfast..Lunch and Dinner was very good..the Mauritian food ..hummmmm very good and taste..my children enjoy the mini-club and its vas very successful...its a very nice place for water sports..kite surfing...really its a very nice place and very nice hotels...i will come back to enjoy those memorable days that i pass with my family...and thank you to all staffs...i be back..

Room Tip: Choose the family Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephenson P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 100 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2012

Excellent place for water sport or just enjoying the nature. Service in top and extremely helpful and receptionists always smiling :-) despite changing plans back and forth. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner was good with the Lunch as excellent. The staff were always helpful. The roads are good and behavior in traffic makes it easy for you to rent a car and go on your own. A place worth to come back to.

Room Tip: Choose room according to the level of equipment you are carrying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LarsMombasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We had been to the Mornea hotel my wife and i for a break,it was really successful. We had a really warm welcome,the staffs were friendly always smiling .Our room was nice and clean,with a wonderful set up from Manoj and his team.Food was delicious and service excellent thanks to the Chef,Dev,Pawan,Delina and all the team.

A big thanks to Reena,Swapna,Aminel and everyone who had made our stay memorable.

Thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alain K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Ramnish G, you and your cousins were so disgusting at lunch time on sunday. I, myself, got as embarassed as the hotels staffs. So cheap of you to go and pick all the chocolate mousse and place them on your table before you take your meal so that others could not even enjoy this. I would have taken one and then when i complete it, I would go check if more is available. Did you never learnt that?? I was ashamed to say I saw you doing this. Fortunately the hotel staffs were as superb as the environment, cleanliness of room, lobby and restaurant. To my opinion Boat House a bit too far. I really enjoyed my stay. Thanks to Le Mornea Staffs.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shakmlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We've been to Mornea for 2 days in July 2012. We were a group of 9. Had a great welcome. Our rooms were nice and clean, with excellent room service during the day. Food was delicious specially the "mousse aux chocolat" that we all enjoyed. ;-). Staffs were outstanding, friendly, and always smiling. Bar was superb. Lots of activities that we enjoyed. Even win the appero game! We all had awesome moments there at Le Mornea. Thanks to you guys and keep it up. Already planning a second vacation at yours soon. Highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ramnish G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We had been to the Mornea hotel we were a group of 12 . We had a really warm welcome the staff were friendly always smiling .We went there to have a break and it was really successful for we had really a good service be it for the rooms,the food,the bar and everything .Thanks to all the staff including the director. will meet again in December cheers keep it up

Room Tip: normally that depends as for me due to children a room near the pool is really the best choice for y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dabysing B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Our family travelled to Mauritius from June 26 until July 10, 2012. This was our third visit to this beautiful island. We stayed at the Mornea Hotel in the south of the island. The main reason for this is for the kite surfing potential of the area. Our initial booking was at the Indian Resort Hotel (we had stayed here before and it lends itself to kiting from the beach directly in front of the hotel). Unfortunately the Indian Resort Hotel was closed for renovations and we were moved to the Mornea Hotel.

The Mornea Hotel was completed three years ago and has a comfortable albeit very red interior. It is part of the Apavou group of hotels. We met a few familiar faces of the previous year’s visit.
The hotel is rated three stars and we had chosen the all-inclusive package. We were made to feel very welcome by the management, Mr. Dave Bundhoo , the manager and supported by his 2nd in charge Mr. Aminel.
The rooms were comfortable ( we had chosen a family room ) although there were no cupboards for the children’s clothing and they had to spend the holiday living from their suitcases.
The hot water was initially a bit of a problem, but was sorted out promptly by the management.
The food is fresh although the all inclusive buffet type food becomes a bit boring after a few days. They did try their best to accommodate to everyone’s tastes and on a few occasions gave us choices off the menu.
The all-inclusive included all the drinks and the kids were happy to indulge in a few sodas by day and the adults in a few drinks at night.

The staff were most helpful and could all speak and understand English. There was a children’s program and if needed the staff ( Steven and Elzo ) easily went the extra mile to entertain the kids.

The biggest reason for visiting this area of Mauritius is for the kite surfing and windsurfing and there we were not disappointed. The wind was blowing a steady 11 – 16 knots for the two weeks of our stay and we kite surfed every day bar one. The reefs to kite were Manawa, Little reef and One Eye ; the last a fairly tricky wave to be kited at high tide and even though the wind is predominantly off shore there are rescue boats at hand until four thirty in the afternoon.
There are two Mistral kite and windsurfing schools on either side of the Hotels and there is a safe and shallow area on the eastern side of the bay where beginners can learn to kite surf. Caution for stonefish or lionfish might necessitate the wearing of protective footwear.

All in all the stay was pleasant and it will be easy to improve on the all round experience with attention to a few details.

Dr. Etienne Swanepoel
South Africa
Etienne@capesurgeon.com

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank etienne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Le Morne hotels
0 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5,084 reviews
0 mi away
Paradis Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
0 mi away
Dinarobin Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The St. Regis Mauritius Resort
0 mi away
Hotel Riu Creole
Hotel Riu Creole
#6 of 11 in Le Morne
1,006 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Riu Le Morne
Hotel Riu Le Morne
#5 of 11 in Le Morne
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mornea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mornea Hotel

Address: Le Morne, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Le Morne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Le Morne
Price Range: $299 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mornea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mornea Hotel Le Morne
Mornea Hotel Mauritius/Le Morne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing