We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Amazing”
Review of LUX* Grand Gaube

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
LUX* Grand Gaube
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Grand Gaube
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing”
Reviewed March 17, 2009

We arrived in style at Legends in a helicopter - organised by our travel agent - which was amazing - we landed on the golf course interrupting lots of golfers and we were whisked away by a buggy to the hotel bar and presented with two glasses of champagne - the setting was beautiful and the staff could not do enough for us.

Our room was beautifully presented with a huge bed and bathroom and a fruit platter and a bottle of champagne. It was clean and cool with great air conditioning and a fantastic private garden overlooking a bay out onto the Ocean. There was a fully stocked mini bar which was replenished twice a day and bathrobes and slippers. The room was made up and cleaned each morning and turned down each night before bed.

There is a full room service menu included in the All Inclusive Pure Discovery package including breakfast lunch and dinner with an extensive choice 24 hours a day.

The main bar is incredible - the staff at the bar are the most friendly and attentive that we have ever encountered - they could not do enough for you. They not only served drinks and food with great courtesy and finesse but also took time to speak to you and got to know about you and the drinks and food that you like. Roshan was a young waiter who was truly exceptional - he bent over backwards to make our stay extra special. They serve you on the beach as well! The food on the beach and at the bar was delicious and the Abundance Salad is to die for!

The hotel offers a buffet for breakfast each day with a huge array of choice of continental to full cooked breakfast each day. It also offered dinner each evening when it is transformed into the Ginkgo Restaurant either in a buffet format or an a la carte setting with themes including indian and chinese evenings, which included entertainment such as a chinese dragon!

There is a restaurant situated on the jetty out in the sea called La Bastide restaurant, which offers a selection of italian style dishes as well as Mauritius cusine. It is a beautiful setting and the menu and wine list is excellent.

The Abalone restaurant is the Seafood restaurant set right on the edge of the Beach. It is a beautiful restaurant and has an interesting menu. For example the Chef sets out 5 starters including Tuna, Prawns etc. He then lists 5 accompanying dishes and 5 dressings. You can either choose to have the Chef's recommendation or you can mix and match to make a starter that you really like! The same happens with the main course as well. The service was not as great on the particular evening that we went to the Abalone but the food and setting certainly compensated for this.

The Karma House restaurant is a little hidden gem at the resort. It is now on the discovery all inclusive package but not all of the dishes are available on the package and a small supplement (between £5-10 per course) is payable on certain dishes - namely lobster and scallops. It is an amazing and very original concept restaurant based on a Trilogy menu. Essentially you are asked to choose three courses out of choice of 24 dishes! Each course is then served up in three different ways, for example a Prawn course consisted of a Prawn Carpaccio, Prawn Spring Roll and Grilled Prawn with balsamic dressing. The three portions were all served on the same plate and the waiter guided you through each dish. The food was absoloutely amazing as was the wine suggested by the Sommelier - fantastic - as was the atmosphere. Well worth the 90 Euros!

Finally the Main Bar offer a pancake service each afternoon in case you haven't quite eaten enough at breakfast and lunch!!

The all inclusive - Pure Discovery Package could not be faulted. It basically included everything, including a cookery class and lunch with the Chef which was brilliant and gave you a real insight to the way in which the hotel kitchens were run and how some of the delcious food was prepared. It also included a 45 minute relaxing massage in the beautiful spa, a 30 minute back scrub and also a facial.

A free tennis lesson and golf lesson was also included as was free use of the golf course, tennis courts, gym and watersports. There were pedalo's, kayaks, windsurfing, water skiing, sailing, glass bottom boats and snorkelling which were all inclusive.

In addition to the above there were free trips by speedboat to either a private island for snorkelling and a BBQ or dolphin watching. We choose the trip to the private island, which was amazing! The BBQ is fantastic and forget plastic forks and plates, this is white linen and waiter service! It was a beautiful day out and the snorkelling on Blue Bay (which is also the area that we stayed for 6 days at a second resort) was fantastic.

We had the most amazing 5 days of our lives at Legends. The service was flawless in all respects. There is really nothing negative that we can say about the resort at all. It was a beautiful resort in a beautiful calm and peaceful part of the island. The Spa and all other amenities are perfect. This is the ideal honeymoon location or romantic getaway. We would highly recommend this to anyone - superb value for money - we did not want to leave and we will definately be going back at some point in the future!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Honeymooners0209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,663
    593
    126
    46
    16
See reviews for
795
3,048
50
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (727)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland, West Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2009

We got married in the Legends Hotels.  We had expected our trip to be very special but it was only okay.  When we first arrived the hotel itself was impressive.  The rooms are nice and clean.  After two days, however, we were bored.  Once you arrive you are basically stuck in the Hotel as there is nothing to see outside the hotel.  It is in the middle of nowhere.  After two days you will be tired of the same bar and restaurant.  When we were there there were really only three restauants open.  Unless you have booked the restaurant in advance you will be left dining in the same restaurant each night which was self service most of the time.  At breakfast there are birds everywhere and you are almost battling with the birds to keep them away from your breakfast!!  It gets annoying after a while!  There were cochroaches in the restaurants and there was a scorpian in the bedroom which got annoying.  In fairness to the hotel the staff did try to get rid of the scopion but it didn't work!!  The housekeeping staff were very nice.  When we were getting married we felt that it was all a question of how much you were spending.  We did not feel like there was any effort made to make us feel special.  We were supposed to get a bottle of sparkling wine on arrival.  This didn't happen and it was only a day or two later that it arrived after they asked if we received it.  The hair and beauty services weren't great - they don't have liquid makeup so bring your own!!  After having to pay 120 euro for curls I ended up having to go back and straighten my hair as it didn't even look as if I had gotten my hair done.  This was dissapointing.  I knew when my hair was done that it didn't look great but thought that maybe when I put my makeup on it would look okay.  My husband to be at the time admitted that my hair didn't look right so I went back and asked the hairdresser to straighten it.  This was a little upsetting when we were getting married a half an hour later.  I had booked in for my makeup but decided to do it myself as the staff didn't ever use liquid make up before so I didn't want to take the risk.  To be honest I wasn't the type that ever dreamed of a fantastic wedding or anything so I wasn't expecting anything amazing but I felt that the beauty services were very poor.   The staff are very nice, however, and in fairness to them they do try their best but I just felt that they weren't really set up properly to cater for weddings.  If you like lounging around and taking in the sun you will probably like this hotel but for us we were dying to go after a week!!

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank DCIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2009

My husband and I went to Mauritius in October 2008 in Hotel Le Paradis for our honeymoon and we loved it so much we decided to go back in February in Mauritius. Le Paradis being quite expensive (but for a Honeymoon it is wonderful), we searched for other hotels and we saw a great offer from Legends. I can only recommend the Legends, the staff is amazingly friendly, helpful, the equiments, activities are great, and the food is really really great (and I am French!). They also mention they have a cinema and I can tell it is really a cinema, not a big plasma screen! For people with children, they also have a kids club that organises lots of activities. You also have free internet access.
I recommend to be on full board as the extras are quite expensive.

I hope I can return one day as it was a wonderful stay. If you ask me how to benchmark it vs Paradis, I would say it is better value for the price. If you can afford Le Paradis, go there as the beach is more beautiful and the water more transparent with white sands, and the service is amazing, but it is like comparing a 5 star with a 5 star +. Le Paradis is maybe a bit less popular and quieter, the breakfast/dinner buffets is bigger, there are more tennis courts, the pool is also bigger but it is maybe more impersonnal. We spoke more with the staff in Legends than Paradis.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alineduce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2009

We have just returned from Honeymoon at Legends.
This was our second visit. Our first stay last year convinced us that due to the exceptional customer service, attention to detail and quality facilities, that we should return for such an important occasion.
Despite one or two early initial hiccups we were not disappointed.
In fact, to be remembered by so many members of staff from last year only served to reinforce our decision to return. Customer service was exemplary.
Special mention must be made of Brice (General Manager) and Vishnu (Housekeeping Manager) who not only demonstrated their own personal commitment to their profession, but took customer service to an entirely new level. Thank you.
As Sophie mentions in her thread (Hi Sophie - we met) the comments effectively cover it all very accurately. There appears to be some confusion in some comments with regard All Inclusive versus Half Board etc.
All Inclusive means just that - including room service. The package covers the cost of all restaurants although on exceptional items, such as Lobster, there is a small supplement. All drinks are included with the exception of high value products such as Champagne.
In summary, if you are looking for superior facilities, high levels of customer service within a relaxing, peaceful environment, look no further. You will not be disappointed.
We were very sad to leave and will certainly be returning for a third visit.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Penman58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2009

A lot of reviews have covered the same things, but it really is brilliant here. We went for 11 nights for our honeymoon and wouldn't have gone anywhere else.
The hotel itself is lovely, staff are so kind and interested, views over the sea are spectacular. We went all inc and couldn't have imagined anything else. The package included 2 x day trips, 2 hr massage at the spa, all water sports ( snorkelling, sailing, kayaks, water skiing) a golf lesson, tennis lesson, mini bar ( which is full of drinks and snacks) replenished every day, room service, all meals, drinks, poolside snacks. There are 4 restaurants at the hotel, can eat for free at them all if on the all-inc tariff. Food lovely, beautifully presenter.
As the euro is poor at the moment for the UK, would have cost a lot if we'd been paying when we got there, eg, a 3 course meal if paying is about 35 euro per person, a spirit plus mixer is 10 euro, cocktails are 9 euro. Just our daily meals with 3/4 poolside drinks and a bottle of wine in the evening would have cost 200 euro a day- personal choice, but we were so happy not to have to worry abt it over there.
There is not a huge amount outside the hotel, but we were just looking to relax and sunbathe, so it didn't bother us, and we found plenty to do inside.
Word of warning!! Pack enough suncream, the sun really is strong at this time of year. I'm fairly pale skinned, and was burning on factor 25, ended up using factor 40. Husband fairly dark, and was using factor 25. I would allow x2 bottles per person per week, stock up at home. At the hotel shop-it was 27 euro per bottle, and still abt 12 euro at the local shop outside the hotel. V expensive!
I really can't recommend this place enough, we were so happy and already thinking abt our next trip back there. Enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DevonSophie25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2009

Just returned from a great vacation at Legends, and was very sorry to leave. Most of the comments on here cover the major points of Legends which I won't re-iterate in detail, but in a nutshell our experiences are:
AIP v HB : AIP if you're drinking wine / alcohol most days, or can't be bothered with thinking / worrying about if you overpaid by €100 for a ten day vacation. Much less hassle just to take the AIP package.
Trips: Il Des Coco and Dolphins were both excellent. I've swam with dolphins before, but we got incredibly close (to about two metres when they emerged right in front of me). Does depend on the boat driver you get though!
Spa: Two hours of treatments included, all very good (included in AIP)
Golf: Having a driving range onsite is a good bonus for the golfers, club selection isn't great if you don't bring your own though. Still....how much golf are you likely to play here? Girlfriend had the Golf lesson which was good.
Food / Wine : As with similar comments the food choice is pretty good, although if you're there for more than a week I think it starts to get repetitive and the menu could do with being changed more frequently. A couple of nights we couldn't decide what to choose from Bastide or Abalon so ended up in Gingko having the Al A Carte choice, which was actually really good, so i think there's always choice. Banyan was closed whilst we were there unfortunately. On the whole though, the food standard was very good from everywhere we tried, and the wine choice was excellent (although obviously the price on the list is nowhere near the UK price you'd expect to pay).
Boathouse: Guys here were really good, very friendly and helpful.
Gym: I haven't seen many people mention the gym in the reviews, but I tend to try to go frequently, and the gym equipment here is very good - several pieces of CV equipment, free weights and a few other weight machines. The instructor that was there (Ashley) was also excellent.
Beach: as others have said, sand is quite rough underfoot, and snorkelling in the bay won't be the best experience. Also quite small, so no long walks on the beach...you'll be able to see it all from the photo's on the hotel website.
Service: Cannot fault the service, everyone was very helpful and friendly from the moment we checked in to our departure. Didn't need to lift a finger for the ten days which was just what was needed!!
Rooms: Could do with an update, and for five star the normal rooms are of a decent size, but some may find them too small. I don't tend to spend alot of time in the room on holiday, so it wasn't too much of a concern - bed was large and very comfortable, the shower was powerful and we had a great view which was all the mattered
Overall: Great holiday, great place, lovely people...will be looking to go back in the next 12months!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MarkShepherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset,UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2009

This was a fantastic place, extremely well organised and peaceful. The beach is gorgeous and there are no sea urchins unlike in many other places. The food was lovely and the service friendly, ideal for swimming, waterskiing and relaxation. Would recommend all inclusive as everything very expensive otherwise. Also, they have a lovely Spa and gym. With all inclusive, we got 3 treatments in the Spa and a free tennis lesson. Gorgeous place, would go back tomorrow! Enjoy.

  • Liked — water skiing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Mrsspender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Gaube
38.8 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,716 reviews
2.0 mi away
Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel
11.1 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Constance Prince Maurice
Constance Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,292 reviews
0.8 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,546 reviews
21.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Mauritius at Anahita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LUX* Grand Gaube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LUX* Grand Gaube

Property: LUX* Grand Gaube
Address: Pointe Rejane, Grand Gaube, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Gaube
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Grand Gaube
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — LUX* Grand Gaube 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxury hotel in Grand Gaube, Mauritius, overlooks the triple-bay beaches, lagoon and spectacular north islets. It exuberates a romantic atmosphere and its rooms all enjoy incredible views of the ocean. Other highlights include its proximity to the vibrant seaside village of Grand Baie, three swimming pools and access to a world-class golf course nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, Agoda, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your LUX* Grand Gaube reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Grand Gaube Hotel Grand Gaube
Legends Hotel Grand Gaube
Legends Hotel Mauritius
Legends Grand Gaube
Hotel Legend Mauritius
LUX* Grand Gaube Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing