We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Experience, but...”
Review of LUX* Grand Gaube

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
LUX* Grand Gaube
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Grand Gaube
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good Experience, but...”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I would like to congratulate the Lux GG team for their efforts to keep this place really happening,

Pros:
Clean Rooms, Great View from your sit-out.
Lot of activities to do within the resort.
Good food & great variety. Different cuisines available.
Very calm & quiet.

Cons:

When the restaurant is crowded, the waiters don't respond to you or ignore you.
You will be made to feel low & insulted (in All inclusive) on the last day prior to check out. You will be forced to settle the bill immediately and you will be asked not to sit in the bar, order drinks,
Would be wise to leave the property once the settlement is done to save your respect.
Very far from the actual city, No night life.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HHKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,625
    590
    126
    46
    16
See reviews for
785
3,021
49
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (717)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
122 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We spent 8 days at the Lux* Grand Gaube in the north of Mauritius. The hotel is well located at the beautiful spot with view on the little islands in the north, with different sandy beaches, blue water, different swimming pools, ... although the hotel is rather big with a lot of rooms, you never get the idea that it is very crowdy, this because of the lay-out of the different beaches, restaurants, and other facilities. As everywhere in Mauritius you always get a warm welcome, with welcome drink, information and tour of the hotel and facilities, those facilities are enormous (snorkelling, glass bottom boat, diving, tenniscourts, golf), ...; the Spa is very recommandable and well shaped !. Hotel staff is amazing; they have a lot of patience, even with difficult tourists, helpfull, smiling, ...The hotel rooms are very spacious with bath tubs and showers. The furniture is a little bit old fashioned, but the hotel is renovating bit by bit the rooms, which will upgrade them with an new look. 3 different restaurants offer à la carte dinner or buffet (the kitchen). Make reservation in before for beach restaurants. Food is of good quality as well as the very delicious breakfast (fruits, waffles, pancakes, eggs, ... bread, ... 'all you can eat' ! A must do !

Room Tip: try to take rooms a little bit further from the central located bar (evening events till 11 p.m), if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happyfourGent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I went to Lux GG last year with some friends, and we had a AMAZING time.
People are amazing, always smiling, the service was great.

I recommend the spa to everybody who want to relax.
I went to the spa more than once and my therapist (Leticia) was amazing!!!!! She knew exactly what was my problems and make me so comfortable...

The restaurant on the beach was unbelievable... Nice sea food.... But the part I enjoy the most was the breakfast time, loads and loads little thing :)


Thank you to everyone who make my holiday at Grand Gaube so wonderful
Mrs H....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I spent a wonderful couple of days at the LUX Grand Gaube and would highly recommend this resort to anyone looking for an amazing service experience in truly breathtaking surroundings.

The service really was the best I've ever experienced in Mauritius and the facility itself is fantastic !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We came out here to get married this week and I can honestly say that everything about this hotel is pure perfection. The staff so friendly and polite and made us feel so relaxed. The food was outstanding in all dinning areas. The beaches and pools are excellent. Our wedding day was so well organised. Many thanks to Elsa( coordinator ) for making our special day so special , allready planning to come back very soon in the near future. Thank you to all staff for making this the most perfect week we have ever had.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

An amazing resort!! We are leaving today and we had an amazing relaxing holiday in Lux Grand Gaube. Extremely polite staff, always willing to help.. The spa is amazing (would recommend the hot stone massage). The food is very good and the abalone night menu is definitely worth to try.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pierc7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed for 2 wks to the 10th Aug. We had a fantastic holiday, the service from all the staff was top class. They are all so friendly and go out of their way to make your stay pleasurable and are happy to help. I would particularly like to thank Diren and Nitesh who looked after my husband and I from start to finish. You have staff to be proud of. Thank you so much for a wonderful holiday Mr and D Mrs Jones.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are worth paying extra for and the area they are in is a little quieter. All the groun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dippy32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BriceLunot, General Manager at LUX* Grand Gaube, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Mr and Mrs Jones
Thank you very much for your very nice review; we are all delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay at LUX* Grand Gaube. It was such a moment of joy to share your review with our Team Members. Diren and Nitesh equally expressed their gratitude for mentioning their names and for giving them the opportunity to serve you.
We sincerely hope to welcome you back at LUX* Grand Gaube very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Gaube
38.8 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,472 reviews
0.8 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,375 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
2.0 mi away
Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel
5.0 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LUX* Grand Gaube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LUX* Grand Gaube

Property: LUX* Grand Gaube
Address: Pointe Rejane, Grand Gaube, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Gaube
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Grand Gaube
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — LUX* Grand Gaube 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxury hotel in Grand Gaube, Mauritius, overlooks the triple-bay beaches, lagoon and spectacular north islets. It exuberates a romantic atmosphere and its rooms all enjoy incredible views of the ocean. Other highlights include its proximity to the vibrant seaside village of Grand Baie, three swimming pools and access to a world-class golf course nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your LUX* Grand Gaube reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Grand Gaube Hotel Grand Gaube
Legends Hotel Grand Gaube
Legends Hotel Mauritius
Legends Grand Gaube
Hotel Legend Mauritius
LUX* Grand Gaube Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing