We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service ruins a fantastic resort”
Review of LUX* Grand Gaube

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
LUX* Grand Gaube
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Grand Gaube
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Service ruins a fantastic resort”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We spent 4 nights here after agreeing to move from the Lux Tamassa resort due to an overbooking. We thought it would give us the experience of both the North and the South.
On arrival we were very happy. The resort is set in beautifully maintained grounds and the reception area is spacious.
We were given a room upgrade for agreeing to move, so were quickly shown to our suite which was of a good standard with a lovely terrace area under cover and sunbeds. The jacuzzi bathtub has doors opening out onto the terrace. We couldn't fault the room. We were shown round the room and told the minibar was all inclusive. We found out at checkout, the snacks are not. After some explanation it was credited.
After a couple of hours at the resort we enquired (on a Monday) as to the possibility of booking an a la carte restaurant for Thursday evening. We were told all restaurants were fully booked until the Saturday. Thankfully we were guaranteed a slot by the reception manager at Tamassa and all of a sudden a table was free as we had been put on the back of another booking at 8pm and what other times did we want in other restaurants. We arrived for our table at 8pm a little early to find only 3 table being occupied and some not having any guests at all. In speaking to others they had the same issues booking tables and it is thought they keep the a la carte where possible for people on half board dining.
We ate at many of the restaurants over lunch and dinner and generally found the service slow. For our valentines meal my wife got the wrong meal, then I was told mine would be kept warm until they cook hers. Mine then came back cold and our side dishes were forgotten. By the time we chased them our main meals were finished. In the main buffet restaurant, I was told I would need to wait 5 minutes for someone to make me some balsamic vinegar. Not sure what they thought it was.
At the Bar restaurant for lunch one day we were in there for an hour and a half to get two drinks and two burgers.
The breakfast was of good standard but did get very busy at certain times and don't get there for opening as they don't expect anyone so have only one person doing all the fresh cooking so we waited 5 minutes for an egg why they cooked pancakes at the other end. I also waited 5 minutes for a cereal bowl one morning.
You also have to sign off your bill for any drinks or food apart from breakfast. Although it is tedious I understand the need for internal record keeping but at times you have to wait another 10 minutes for this to arrive and you can see the bar boys standing about not doing anything. On one occasion we just walked off and got chased down. Maybe it's easier to just do this as at least they have to act then.
For us this was not good enough for a 5 star resort and doesn't make it the most relaxing experience.
Aside from the restaurant service the resort is set in a beautiful location and there is always a quiet spot to be found to relax. Do try the tropical punch down by the Banyan Bar and pool on a hot day it is so refreshing.
The snorkeling excursion was a waste of time. I heard one guy get back on the boat and say he had seen more fish in a chip shop. It was out to deep and the sea was so choppy. We were told to stay one side of the boat to avoid being swept out to sea and the only guy from the resort jumped in and started snorkeling rather than looking out. Maybe it's why our country has gone mad on health and safety but considering the conditions it wasn't safe to me.
All in all, despite the fantastic suite and the idyllic location we found the resort disappointing and certainly preferred our time at the Tamassa. There are however plenty of sunbeds with parasol covers at the Lux Grand Gaube.
We also had a joint massage experience at the spa and can say the massage was of very good standard and a good spa experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank roystonLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,656
    593
    126
    46
    16
See reviews for
793
3,044
50
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (726)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
262 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Just returned from 10 days in blissful Mauritius. Never mind the few days of rain, we had a great time. The hotel is set in a wonderful location, fronting two beaches and other inlets. It has beautiful grounds and the buildings are set out symapthetically to the environment (max 3 floors). The staff are very good and are probably the strongest feature. One or two features need addressing to make this a 5 star experience:

- Bedrooms and bathrooms are a good size (we received an upgrade - thanks!) but need some attention to details - fixtures and fittings not of 5 star quality but solid 4 star
- Time to serve drinks in the bar and the restaurant is slow - often unaccetably so - this is because there are not enough bar tenders to pour the drinks, as there are plenty of staff serving
- Restaurant can get very hot, even at night, and there are no fans in the ceiling, whereas these are fitted in the lobby area, which is of a similar construction.

Food in the buffet restaurant (The Kitchen) offered a good selection, working on a weekly cycle of themed meals. However, it appeared to have been "tamed" a little - ie sometimes a bit bland and missing some of the flavours you would associate with the Indian Ocean. Some dishes ran out quickly and replenishment was often slow. The Beach restaurant was very good. If you have a choice of going all-inclusive it will probably be worthwhile. We found it very good value but that may depend on the terms you are offered.

Be prepared for some rain at this time of the year. The weather that we had appeared to be better than most of the island but we still had one day when we couldn't go on the beach at all and a few when we had some showers. One trip out to see some other parts of the island ended as a wash-out but the taxi drver was very good and took us to see some other areas that were not on the original itinerary instead. Rest of the time was hot and sunny so watch out for sunburn!

Only other comment - you need to be aware that there is a long transfer from the airport (about 90 minutes or more if you hit the rush hour in Port Louis) as the hotel is at the extreme North of the island and the airport is in the South. However, we were told by a taxi driver that a new road due to be completed this year (although it doesn't look like it will be!) will improve this and bypass Port Louis.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sjs1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed here in December 2012 for 6 nights. The hotel is a good hour away from the airport, though the drive is quite picturesque. Slight traffic when you hit Port Louis but otherwise a comfortable ride. When you enter the hotel you see the Indian Ocean on the right and the mini golf course of the hotel on the left and then the tennis court. We were putting up in junior suite which was on the second floor. The junior suite is a huge room with an adjoining closet area and a bath with a separate Jacuzzi with a view of the balcony and there’s a separate shower area. The balcony opens up to a view of the ocean like almost all rooms we saw did. The balcony itself had two sunbeds and a set of comfortable couches. The property in itself is well maintained with a cheery staff though the age of the property does show at certain places.

We were on an all inclusive basis (it makes sense to spend a little extra on this especially if you are in Mauritius or Maldives because otherwise food and drinks can be quite expensive) which applied for even on the beach area where you could just laze around and sip on your drink. Food wise we only stuck to “the Kitchen” which was their main restaurant. Breakfast spread was good with sandwiches, pancakes, a cheery omelette making lady making all kinds of omelettes and a whole lot more and yes there was also a section for Indian food every day. Dinners were expansive with a change in cuisine/ items on the menu almost every night. The closest to the hotel is Grand Baie which was about 20 minutes away. Modes of transportation from the hotel are the hotel taxi (pretty expensive), private taxis (Cheaper but they have a different tourist rate and a different rate for the locals), buses to Port Loius every 15- 20 minutes and to various other places like Grand Baie.

We also tried the "relaxing massage" at the spa in the hotel although the charges at the spa are freakishly high. My wife's has had a number of spa treatments before and she clearly said this one was not the best she had ever had, but it definitely was one of the most expensive spa's she has been to.

We wish everyone has a good stay at this hotel like we did.

Room Tip: Room tips: Pretty much all the rooms have an ocean view. We stayed in room 3051. The junior suites a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IB2503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We travelled to this place through travel agent and booked a package tour. My first impression with the location and ambience was fantabulous however when it came to service my view changed. We arrived at hotel around 11:00 AM along with group of people who were part of our group and even though hotel checkin was two most of them got rooms by 12:30 PM however I had a terrible experience first day itself where I was given room by 3:00. We had to wait longer than expected and even though they offered us complementary lunch it was not up to the 5 star standard. Food quality was too bad with flies all around at sweets , fruits and salads. My next terrible experience was when our honeymoon special dinners was not informed by service desk to the chef and when we reached they appologised saying it was missed out and since I had booked it a day before I had to leave I had no option but to have dinner menu chosen by someone else that day. Moreover it at checkin I were given bills for someone elses lunch and mini bar which was never used by us. Most of the staff who know hindi are able to manage people from India or english speaking people however rest are all confused and do not understand english as well. They do not understand what you need and do not guide you properly. For ambience , location and surprize party I will give this place 10/10 however they should seriously think about their staff quality and service. Shweta at main restaurant is very cooperative and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ashishgupta29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We spent two most enjoyable weeks at the Lux Grand Gaube in January 2013 and feel we wish to praise the staff for their attention to detail and care delivered daily. Personal service was first class particularly from Vijay in the bar where we often took lunch, from Ved, the Head of house keeping, Reedoo on the beach, Pooran at the Beach restaurant and Ayiesha.

The food was varied and interesting. The water sports well-run and suited all ages. Ground floor rooms superb access straight into the garden or beach.

All-in-all a great holiday made special by the super staff.

Jan & Geoff, Manchester

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Geoff E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, Channel Islands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed for 10 nights All Inclusive from 1/1/13 choosing this hotel for the dining choices and couldn't really fault any of that. Main buffet restaurant is fine and speciality restaurants are very good as is bar food for lunches/snacks. Had a couple of issues with the booking system in the speciality restaurants, but once we had addressed this, the management were superb at making sure all was resolved and the service we received from then was nothing short of wonderful.

There are some refreshingly different elements of entertainment/facilities in this resort such as star gazing on the beach with a professional astrologer (we viewed saturn through his telescope!), outdoor cinema, management drinks reception on the beach, poker nights, art classes, free telephone box, the secret bottles and secret bar. There is also a great buzz around the main bar in the evening with good live entertainment and visiting DJs. Really nice touches.

I also had one of the best massages ever at the Spa with an extra 15 minutes (free)aftercare and advice from one of the beautiful therapists - wonderful.

Equipment and facilities at the sea sports centre were of a very good standard and the dive school was safe and friendly. It was also great that so much was offered within the AI package such as water ski, glass bottom boat trips, bicycles, kayaks etc and again, fantastically friendly service.

We hired a driver for the day through reception which was very reasonable and were provided with the biggest picnic basket imaginable on the AI package - amazing!

TIPS:

Be aware of the cyclone season when considering a booking during their winter season. Ok - there hadn't been a serious one for 6 years prior to our visit but we had rain and high winds for 4 full days. It didn't spoil the holiday but do consider this.

Do book Casela beforehand. We were told it wasn't necessary and after driving the distance and queuing for a long time, quads, zip lining etc were fully booked when we got there.

Be conscious when signing your tabs for meals drinks etc, as occasionally staff get confused with AI privileges (these bills should always be at nil unless food/drink is at a supplement), but once these are pointed out, staff are always happy to correct this. Best to be aware at the time as it saves any dispute at checkout.

Hire a driver for the day. We usually self-drive but it was nice to have someone who knew where to go, would recommend places to go and was happy to hang around while you did whatever you wanted. Very reasonable price too.

Take a bicycle ride to Cap Malheureux or Grand Gaube village and greet the friendly Mauritians en route!

THE WONDERFUL PARTS:-

The key people are fantastic, namely:-
Brice Lunot, MD - always seen mingling with guests, assuring and pleasing people, pruning the foliage and other 'hands-on' stuff! A wonderfully, calm and gentle man who was really great with us. I will never forget his kindness and caring attitude.
Jaysen the restaurants manager for looking after us so well and ensuring we had some unforgettable dining experiences.
Ramsany and J. Phillipe at The Beach restaurant for their wonderfully attentive and friendly service.
The great, happy guy that is Sandron and all of the guys in the main bar who looked after us so well and served us many fabulous cocktails.
Kumar on the beach who kept us hydrated with water/ beer throughout the day and Reedoo, the Boss of the beach who cleaned our sunglasses, made sure we had everything we needed and kept the beach in perfect order! And to Nadeem who told us all about the Banyan tree, the many Mauritian tropical fruits and even found us some monkey apples to try - a lovely young man.

In summary, forget about any minor niggles that you may have and just enjoy the relaxing friendly atmosphere of this place. Like anywhere, its not perfect but if there is something that you'd like or that your not quite happy with, just ask and it will be accommodated. This is a wonderfully relaxing and friendly hotel and the staff are, on the whole, genuinely lovely people. There is no one thing I can put my finger on but collectively this resort was a great experience and I was quite emotional when I left! I would definitely recommend it and this lovely island as a beautiful retreat and as 'Chicken Soup for the Soul'.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Noz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Our 5 night stay here was part of an extended tour of Mauritius with a British agent.

The arrival, check-in and site orientation were very efficient. The resort occupies a very large area and there are plenty of less used and less popular areas away from the main beach where guests can find a peaceful spot in the sun or shade. The main beach area is near to the restaurant and is a narrowish strip of sand equipped with two rows of loungers and shade parasols.

Our room was very comfortable, was close to the main beach and sufficiently far from the restaurant and entertainment hub to be quiet and peaceful. The main restaurant was well organised for breakfast and Dinner but was not open at midday for lunch. Consequently lunch could be taken in the bar area or at an a la carte restaurant beyond the main beach. This was very popular and sometimes necessitated lengthy queues if you missed the early sitting. We had 2 lunches there and on both occasions the food was excellent but the service slow. It seemed to us that the lunchtime provision was inadequate for the number of guests in the hotel. In the evening early pre- booking was needed and places tended to be quickly taken up.
As in all Lux resorts the service is hampered by the need for record keeping even though we were on an all- inclusive package and sometimes reactions are slow.

Staff were always charming and attentive and the housekeeping and maintenance of the huge site were excellent.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank suburbanite12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Gaube
38.8 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,564 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,430 reviews
0.8 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,244 reviews
2.0 mi away
Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel
5.0 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
2,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LUX* Grand Gaube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LUX* Grand Gaube

Property: LUX* Grand Gaube
Address: Pointe Rejane, Grand Gaube, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Gaube
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Grand Gaube
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — LUX* Grand Gaube 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxury hotel in Grand Gaube, Mauritius, overlooks the triple-bay beaches, lagoon and spectacular north islets. It exuberates a romantic atmosphere and its rooms all enjoy incredible views of the ocean. Other highlights include its proximity to the vibrant seaside village of Grand Baie, three swimming pools and access to a world-class golf course nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your LUX* Grand Gaube reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Grand Gaube Hotel Grand Gaube
Legends Hotel Grand Gaube
Legends Hotel Mauritius
Legends Grand Gaube
Hotel Legend Mauritius
LUX* Grand Gaube Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing