We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dreadful service and restricted all inclusive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Grand Gaube
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dreadful service and restricted all inclusive”
Reviewed December 28, 2009

Selected the hotel from 'If only' brochure on the basis hotel hand picked for quality and service as special birthday treat. Hugely disappointed. Have had much better holiday stays in South Africa, Kenya and cayman Islands than the high cost and disaapointing service at this hotel.

Room was lovely and always a surpirse floral display on bed on return. However the service at the bars and restaurants were very slow and dis-organised. Took 20 mins often to get a drink or a course. One evening it took 2 hours for 2 courses. Having booked all inclusive the menu was very limited and there was no flexibility to pay extra rather than the full cost for upgrading the wine. Often we had to wait for a table for dinner in the evening. Then they brought in a booking system so you book a time for dining. However the staff did not monitir this so other guests sat down at tables wihtout booking - we then found that there were no free tables for the time we had booked. Despite giving feedback that all was not well thesituation did not improve.

The gardens and view were beautiful but the hotel did not provide a basic quality fo service. Other UK guests also expereinced the same issues.

In summary I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoustonEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    927
    440
    123
    43
    16
See reviews for
118
1,193
29
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2009

We've just returned from our honeymoon and stayed at the Veranda Paul & Virginie hotel for 2 weeks - All inclusive. On arrival which was early morning we were given a nice face towel to cool down, some croissants and juice and had excellent service to complete our check in. We were very pleased that our room was ready on our arrival especially as we could have had to wait until 2pm. We were in room 400 which is on the ground floor, it was lovely and peaceful as it's away from the main hotel area. Bholar the cleaner did a fantastic job keeping the room spotless and occcasionally left beautiful creations made from our towels etc. Perhaps the one problem we had was on a couple of days we didn't receive clean beach towels but this wasn't a big deal as we just asked reception to organise it for us.
The food was great, not 5 star but was always tasty and plenty of variety, in the 2 weeks we spent there not once did we have the same evening meal.
All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, perhaps would take a little while sometimes, but we didn't mind as we were happy to relax and sit back taking our time. We'd like to mention Nawaz and Paulo especially who always remembered our names and made us feel very welcome.
Evening entertainment could be improved slightly especially when they just have the DJ nights, the shows were good as was the quiz nights.
We took the local bus to Goodlands and Grand Baie - we called them fun buses as they were more like rollercoasters! and a very cheap way of getting around.
We then hired a taxi driver for the day to take us around the island, Roberto was fantastic, he charged us 2800 rupees for the whole day which started at 8am and finished at 7pm. We went to the botantical gardens, flic en flac, Cassela bird park where we walked with lions. Walking with the lions is an absolute must, an unforgettable experience. We also went to the black river gorges, Holy lake and Temple, and the Coloured Earth. Roberto was explaining everything as we went along including the names of plants, We'll try to find his telephone number as we'd definetely recommend using him.
From the hotel we went on the Catch me boat trip, this was wonderful, the guys were great fun, worked hard on you to drink the infamous jungle juice and provided great entertainment.
All the other guests at the hotel were friendly, quite a few are repeat customers which just goes to show what a great place Paul and Virginie is. We'll hopefully be returning sometime soon.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AppleJack1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2009

After having read a few of the reviews of this hotel we arrived with lowish expectations but left having had a fantastic honeymoon. The staff were falling over themselves to make us feel comfortable and the service, in general was first rate. On the odd occasion we had to wait for a drink we didn't care as we were on holiday. We were also surprised with various gifts throughout the week (we had mentioned we were on our honeymoon) and were treated to a candle light supper at the La Trinquette (their other restaurant) which was a real pleasure and broke the evening meals up.

We did eat out one night at Di Saab and felt slightly ripped off to be honest. The guy that owns it is very charming, but he definatly saw us coming. The food was okay but not sure it deserved its inflated price tag.

The only complaint we had was that they didn't put any teaspoons in the room which ment we had to make our morning tea with a pen. Frankly though, for that to be our biggest issue really sums up what a lovely time we had.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CBDO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2009

Although we enjoyed our all-inclusive holiday and had a great ground-floor room, the biggest drawback was the evening meal. Breakfast & lunches were fine, but the evening meals were of very poor quality. On the plus side, the staff were all very friendly and helpful and the location of the resort was superb - even though it was a long drive from the airport. The swimming pool(s) were also dissapointing. They were no more than waist deep. Great for kids, but far too shallow for adult swimming. Overall - great location, good service but badly let down by the quality of the evening meals.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toomanyplaces2visit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon. uk
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2009

We stayed here for 10 nights and enjoyed every minute. Quiet, with a stunning location, just the perfect getaway for a couple. I think we saw one child in the hotel and she was toddler, and very well behaved. The perfect place to recharge your batteries, The food was not 4 star but I think it was good and plentiful, pancakes served in the afternoon are a must!!! Rum and Coke is available all day and is just lush :~) This hotel is worthy of more than it's 3 stars and I would not normally want to revisit a holiday destination, but I would book this holiday tomorrow if I could. The evening entertainment was low key but suited us, if you want all singing, dancing and noise go to Mexico! The boat trip with salesh was fantastic, a 'must do' on this holiday, what good fun it was. Was a little unerved by the hotel boat snorkel trip as it was a tad rough and I felt quite unsafe in the water at one point. No stretches of beach to speak of but a small near the hotel. We preferred the pool which was like a warm bath. Other guests were friendly and all seemed relaxed, didn't hear anyone complain. Go into the town on a bus which you catch outside the hotel, it is hilarious, for very little money it is fantastic entertainment and you will get a glimpse of local life( always felt safe).The market is a good place to get bargains, you are not hassled by locals unlike some other countries. The local people are very friendly and this area totally unspoilt. Wish I could go back now!!!

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seawych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2009

The Veranda Paul et Virginie, Grand Gaube, isn’t without it’s share of minor problems but these are far out-weighed by being in a little bit of Paradise in a fantastic location with such friendly staff. We had the most relaxing holiday we have ever had.

For those who complain about the delays in getting their room – most hotels have check-in between 1200-1400, as vacated rooms have to be serviced. Don’t blame the hotel – why not blame their airline for the arrival time? We had to wait for our room, but were offered a complimentary drink whilst waiting. We were given a room on the ground floor, but preferred a higher floor for a better view – which the staff very kindly arranged for us, and promptly.

Complaints about the food! We were impressed by the quality and presentation of it, never having any cause for complaint. Breakfast was always good – we certainly never experienced the raw eggs, but enjoyed the experience of looking straight out over the Indian Ocean whilst eating our omelettes/crepes/fruit (not all together!)! The restaurant is open on one side, and the sea-breeze was great.

Complaints about a party of guests: not really the hotel’s fault.

We are normally the first to complain if we do not receive the standards of service we have paid for – but felt no need to complain here. It must be remembered that this is a 3* hotel in Africa – we have certainly stayed in worse, higher-starred, African hotels.

As someone else has said, amended:

Plus points:
• Good value
• Great grounds and sea view
• Quiet & beautiful location
• Rooms ok & very well cleaned

Down side
• Service hit or miss at meals (but who is in a rush? And the staff are great)
• Drinks prices expensive
• Need to sort out the reserving of sunbeds
• Fix the boating equipment
• Noisy room (door didn’t seal, leading to hearing the road noise)


We wouldn’t advise using Di Sab – the restaurant in the village, recommended by others. The drinks cost more than the hotel drinks and the food was expensive, with tiny portions. An inedible lamb curry, a prawn curry (four prawns), two small rice and two drinks - £36!!!! A far better restaurant is close by – Le Debarcadere. Food is better (the set menu, 3-courses, for about £8), and cocktails half the price of the hotel.

Recommended things to do:
From the hotel, book the boat trip with Captain Dev – a great day out, great crew, great jungle juice! Cost about £30 each, but well worth it.

Hire a car and tour the island: we had a Suzuki Jimny convertible from Avis (Grand Gaube), £55/day for 3 days. Saw places that the average tourist wouldn’t.

Walk with the lions at Casela: £50 each, but an amazing experience.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GenerationGap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2009

Reviews are personal of any holiday so here is our experience broken down.
Transfer from Airport : Would recommend Taxi as its one hour from airport.
Reception: Drink on arrival; fuss free; room ready; bags taken to room
Rooms : Can be dull inside as heavy drapes; cleaned daily; good standard ( Room 201) Other rooms can be noisy if Room is < 200 as near to bar. Noise stops at 2330 anyway.
Pools : Largest pool too small; waist deep; 7 sun shades; not enough room for beds; If you have unwelcome guests can be intrusive. Pool between Bar and Restaurant small and 1.3m deep. No nearby sunbeds and this is what U see in the photo's
Bars : Good; service very slow; not attentative enough; staff friendly; Bar costs 135 Rs and around 200 Rs on average for cocktails; AI have a few cocktails and Normal non branded drinks.
Food : If we had stayed for 14 nights would have hated it; On occasions let down by luke warm ; not cooked; main served on table while eating starter; restrictive choice; lack of professional organisation.
Beach : Narrow 50 yds by 15 yds; Clean sunloungers; but 2 inch gap between your neighbour !. Saw no fish in the bay; Snorkeling needs to be by boat.
Due to lack of loungers people reserve with towels best slots !!
Shopping : Selection outside resort 100 Rs wraps and 350 Rs towels ( Resort costs 750 Rs ) Grand Baie 24 Rs each by bus. Great fun. Goodlands about the same.
Location : Quiet except at weekend with local music. Locals nearby can influence as have access to beach.

All in all its exactly what it says on the tin a 3* Resort; No more; We had a relaxing week; would not return and for the cost we could find a better deal much prefer the Maldives.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveandHefina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Gaube
1.4 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,375 reviews
0.6 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,403 reviews
5.6 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa
28.8 mi away
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
#1 of 18 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,111 reviews
9.4 mi away
Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel
Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel
#3 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa

Property: Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa
Address: Royal Rd, Coastal Road, Grand Gaube, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Gaube
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Grand Gaube
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Veranda Paul And Virginie Hotel & Spa
Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel Grand Gaube
Veranda Paul Virginie Grand Gaube
Paul Virginie Hotel
Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa Mauritius/Grand Gaube

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing