We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Veranda Paul et Virginie Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
LUX* Grand Gaube(Grand Gaube)
$422
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seaview Calodyne Lifestyle Resort(Calodyne)(Great Value!)
$113
$93
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$314
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coin de Mire Attitude(Bain Boeuf)(Great Value!)
$274
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$198
$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Calodyne Hotel(Calodyne)
Zilwa Attitude(Calodyne)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,986)
Filter reviews
1,986 results
Traveler rating
1,244
541
140
45
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,244
541
140
45
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach barst geranall inclusive packageour honeymoonprivilege roomlocal childrenjungle juicemain restaurantthe hotel managerseafood plattergrand baieseven coloursplenty of sunbedsa la carte restaurantrelaxing holidayroom boyglass bottom boat
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
921 - 926 of 1,986 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2014

This resort earns its good reviews, we were allocated a ground floor room 20 metres from the private beach. The room is very spacious and cleaned daily. Resort is spotless, pool although not deep is spacious and great for sunbathing in,the food was excellent, good variety and impeccable service. Staff were superb, special mention to Karine (room attendant), Rakeesh (F and B manager), Man (Head Waiter) and Awnee (Bar supervisor). Nothing was too much trouble for any of them. The resort is very calm and peaceful in nature, there is no excessive noise around you. Luckily we had no screaming kids or boisterous adults. You must go here trust me it will not disappoint, its better than a lot of 4 star rated places I have been to.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to 302 just opposite the beach
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank delrob_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Paul et Virginie Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Paul et Virginie. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to the team and to Karine, Rakesh, Man and Awnee in particular they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Kaviraj Bhunjun
Hotel Manager
Veranda Paul et Virginie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed here on our honeymoon back in september. Had an amazing time loved it. We were 10 nights all inclusive. To be honest I felt 10 nights was enough as there was not that much going on outside the hotel and the entertainment in the hotel was not that great. We ate in the beach restaurant most nights (you do have to pay for the food, drink is all inclusive) the food was amazing and mann the waiter really looked after us and he really made our holiday. This guy deserves a management position his customer service was the best . I would definitely return to mauritius very relaxing holiday. I have only gave a couple of stars for service as the bar was a bit of a nightmare to get served and sometimes we could be waiting up to 20 mins for a drink.

Room Tip: All rooms have seaview
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lcut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Paul et Virginie Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Paul et Virginie. The team and myself are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us, despite the few inconveniences that you mentioned and we thank you for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to Man and he was happy to hear that he contributed in making your stay enjoyable. We look forward to your next visit.

Sunny Greetings

Kaviraj Bhunjun
Hotel Manager
Veranda Paul et Virginie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

TRAVELLER’S BEWARE:-
The hotel is named after the fictional lovers Paul and Virginie. This is a true and accurate story of how the Paul & Virginie Hotel let us down.
We booked this holiday through Mauritius Holidays Direct.
Our journey to Mauritius was smooth and comfortable although long, 27 hours. It was to be a special holiday for our 70th birthdays. We arrived in a comfortable car arranged by our UK agent. The hotel was not disappointing, it was just as we had imagined, with a lovely water feature, all the buildings we could see were thatched and so light, open and airy.
We sat down and given cold towels and a cold fresh lemonade, just the job as it was very hot. We gave our passports and credit card details and were signed in. Then it all went very wrong. The receptionist informed us that the hotel was overbooked and they did not have a room for us (the hotel was booked six months previously). We were to be taken by taxi to a sister hotel that was a twenty minute drive away at Grand Baie. (please see separate review) We were told we would stay there for the first four days and then would be picked up at 9.00am Monday morning and taken back to the Paul & Virginie hotel. We thought that we had misheard and asked her to repeat herself, to say we were furious and upset was an under-statement. We asked for the manager, a young man appeared, he was obviously not “THE manager”. We were being fobbed off with one of the junior management team. We argued our case but were completely stonewalled. We wished that we had not come and would have returned home if it had been possible, we were tired after our long journey, very hot and uncomfortable in our travelling clothes. It was like beating our heads against a brick wall, they were not interested, did not care and were not listening. Hindsight says that we should have dug our heels in and stayed put, but we were not thinking straight through fatigue and they knew it.
We were then escorted outside with our luggage with one of the reception ladies who came with us. We got into a dilapidated taxi, not at all like the nice clean luxury car that we had arrived in. They were taking such a long time getting our luggage into the boot and we went to investigate. In the boot of the taxi was a spare wheel and they were trying to force in our luggage, they were wrecking it. Their own common sense should have told them there was no way they were going to get two suitcases and a holdall bag in such a tight space. The hotel had an American type truck, our luggage was piled onto the back and we were carted off like the Beverley Hillbillies, how delightful to arrive in style and be taken to the next hotel in a truck! The seats were covered with plastic and the ride was bumpy to say the least. We proceeded to the Grand Baie Hotel (see separate review), it was very uncomfortable and there was no space for your legs. In the past year I have had two operations on my knees and it was a very painful ride, something my consultant would not have liked.
On Sunday morning a message from Paul & Virginie said that a transfer had been arranged for us to be collected at 2.00pm on Monday afternoon. They had promised 9.00am, we said that we were not wasting another day of our holiday and wanted to be picked up as stated at 9.00am on Monday morning. It took all day and half the evening before an answer, we were told to be ready at 9.00am the following morning and a taxi would back to the Paul & Virginie.
Monday morning we were ready and waiting, the taxi arrived promptly at 9.00am and we were taken back to the Paul & Virginie.
On our arrival once again we went through the greeting procedure and told our room was not quite ready and would be about ten minutes, so they served us cold drinks and we walked around, what a difference, a lovely restaurant with wooden furniture and not plastic with a second restaurant on a jetty leading out into the sea where it was surrounded by the Indian Ocean. There was a very nice beach bar. In the main building a nice lounge area and bar. Two lovely pools and on walking around it was so much quieter than the Grand Baie. If only they had not treated us so cruelly at the beginning, we would have loved the hotel. We were so worked up and not at all relaxed which lasted for the whole of the holiday as we had lost all trust in them. The REAL manager asked to see us after we had unpacked and sat with us apologising for the upset and to leave it to them to make the remainder of our holiday a happy one. We both told him they had stolen 28% of our holiday and he could not give that back, he agreed. He had upgraded us to a better room and offered us free massages. We certainly did not want a massage and would have been happy with the room that we had booked. I do not think he was listening, a day or so later we received an invitation for free massages and we did not take it up nor wanted it, not our thing. A pretty sarong and t-shirt laid out on the bed shaped as though it was being worn as a skirt and top with fresh blooms of flowers making up the waistband, that was a nice touch and probably down to the chambermaid.
Two days before our departure a note was delivered; the management team would like to offer us a special meal. We had already had our special birthday meal at the St. Geran restaurant which was fantastic, we had the lobster bisque and for main course grilled lobster in garlic butter followed by a delightful dessert, it was delicious. It was really cooked to perfection and we cannot recommend the St. Geran highly enough. We decided that we did not want a special meal, it was our last night and we wanted to pack, have a quiet supper and really wanted to go home. We politely thank them and declined. Too little too late. The start of a holiday is the magical part and crucial to your enjoyment of the whole holiday. Taking in the lovely surroundings of your choice and not having a choice that you had no say in. Veranda failed miserably.
That is the story of our holiday in Mauritius. It was a very expensive holiday for us, a big celebration for our special birthdays, but spoilt. Mauritius holds no pleasant memories.
Please remember that however many months before booking you holiday at Paul and Virginie, it does not mean you will be staying at the Paul & Virginie for the whole of your holiday.
The fictional lovers both died at the end of the story; Virginie drowned returning to her lover and Paul from a broken heart. The ghosts of this tragic couple must haunt the corridors of this hotel.
Sheila Sears Room 314. 16th January – 30th January 2014.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Paul et Virginie Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear guests,

Thank you for choosing Veranda Paul & Virginie. We would like to underline that the usefulness of Trip Advisor is to advise traveller's on the value, location, sleep quality, cleanliness and service of an accommodating. However, by giving us a poor rating based on your feelings about being transferred to another hotel, you have failed to do this. We do not find this very fair as you have yourself mentioned about the beauty of the place and our sincere intentions to make it up to you. Every once in a while, an inconvenience happen to a hotel guest and it is how they react to it which determines how wonderful, or not, their holidays unravel.

We again apologise for the overbooking and we hope that everything is well in the UK and that you are surrounded by positive energy and happiness.

Kind Regards

Sunny Greetings
Kaviraj Bunjun
Hotel Manager
Veranda Paul & Virginie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed a fantastic holiday at Paul and Virginie Hotel. We arrived late but received a warm welcome to the cosy hotel. It was after 9pm and a DJ was playing at the bar area while dinner was served. So our very first night started with a lively encounter while we sipped on refreshing and yummy cocktails. We were on all-inclusive which offered us great value.

The service was absolutely fantastic! Special thanks to the bar staff (especially Awmee) waiters (Billy) Chefs (Bertrand) all did an excellent job!

Great facilities, well maintained and a perfect piece of paradise to visit.

We highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Mauritius.

Room Tip: We loved being on the ground floor - easily accessible. But I'm sure all the rooms are great with a stunning view of the sea.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lizette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Paul et Virginie Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Paul et Virginie. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to the team and to Awmee, Billy and Bertrand in particular and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Kaviraj Bhunjun
Hotel Manager
Veranda Paul et Virginie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Spent 14 days fully inclusive at the hotel in October through November 2013 - I found it to be a nice hotel very picturesque, the staff were very helpful and very friendly, the food was very good, never boring.
We were met in reception on our arrival with a welcoming hot towel and after many hours travelling was a lovely welcome.
Accommodation was adequate - very clean - cleaning service on a daily basis - cleaning staff excellent.
Be careful of the drainage channel around the infinity pool as you come out of the restaurant and down the steps from the paved dinning area, I fell in this and spent a week in a wheel chair and spoilt my holiday having ruptured a tendon in my foot, in my opinion that area should have better lighting and some form of separation between the paved area and the drainage channel.
I felt that the pools were very shallow for swimming, the beach is on the small side and the sea is shallow even at high tide, the beach needs to be better presented, on two occasions we found dog
feces on the beach and the sand was very rutted, needs to be raked prior to guests using it,
I fully appreciated that the beaches are not privately owned, however other hotels I have used in Mauritius do in fact rake and check the beach prior to use.
However taking all into consideration a very pleasant location and a reasonable holiday.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the beach is the one I would be asking for on booking
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Paul et Virginie Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Paul & Virginie. The team and myself are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us, despite the ruptured tendon and we thank you for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We will work on the few issues that you mentioned and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards

Kaviraj Bunjun
Hotel Manager
Veranda Paul & Virginie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews