We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Veranda Paul et Virginie Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Grand Gaube
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Stayed in room 224 from 11th to 25th November, 2013.

My wife and I have just returned from the most fantastic holiday of a lifetime and there are just so many great things to say about Veranda Paul & Virginie – it’s been amazing!

As with other reviewers here, we have been stunned by how nice, happy and respectful all of the staff are and absolutely nothing is too much trouble, from the top to the bottom.

The Food & Beverage Manager Rakesh and his team, Avinash, Sanjiv, Hamed, Man, Nitesh, Ashvin, Baccan, Awmee, Joe, Doorgesh, Alvinio, Billy, Kervan, Alfonso and Emily, plus many more.

The Kitchen Chef, Suraj and his team.

Entertainments - Dany & Dupont.

At the beach - Julien, Aldo & Lindy.

Our Room boys - Kiran & Ritesh.

Front of House – Usha, Matthew & Francesca.

Porters, Maintenance, Gardeners, Security, Shop and Spa staff.

I feel guilty for naming all of those that we have become so grateful to for making our holiday so special, when there are so, so many more who have contributed behind the scenes who we did not met. The company (Veranda) and it’s Hotel Manager Kaviraj, have an exceptionally wonderful group of people working at Paul & Virginie, the likes of which we have never encountered anywhere else on our travels.

Despite comments in other reviews, we found there to be a wide choice of food suitable for all tastes.

For men, dress code in the restaurants after 7pm is long trousers; this is not just about maintaining standards (which I totally agree with), but it also helps to reduce the risk of insect bites.

Our room was bright and spacious with air conditioning; it was cleaned and made tidy every day, with clean towels also available daily. There is a safe for valuables and there seemed ample hot water for showers, etc.

The Wi-fi had good signal and despite being told that you could not pick up the connection in the hotel rooms, we always managed to get a signal. The computer in the communal lounge is a little old, but is adequate for keeping in touch – it could just do with a little TLC and maintenance I think.

The grounds are kept impeccably and the resort facilities are well-maintained. The beach is small (fine for the amount of guests), private and clean and there was a wide range of free water sports available.

We also had a ‘full-works’ body massage at the Spa which was great and they do like to offer you the opportunity to purchase some of their products!

This hotel is not for party-revellers; it’s a small boutique haven where you can unwind and enjoy quality, private time with your partner. We also met a wide variety of other couples from England, France and Germany, some of whom we have exchanged contact details to keep in touch.

We didn’t go on any excursions, but that’s because we just wanted to relax and we know that we can do all of that next time.

It seems very unfortunate that some other visitors have had some small issues during their stay here, because if you are considering the Indian Ocean as a destination, I cannot believe that you will find anywhere better than Veranda Paul & Virginie on Mauritius.

Thank you so, so much guys. We will definitely be back to see you all!!!

Room Tip: Great views of the sea on the 2nd floor, also helps to keep the mosquitos away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Paul et Virginie Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Paul et Virginie. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions in this in-depth review with the Trip Advisor community. Your review has provided us with a strong feeling of satisfaction and fulfillment . We are moreover very pleased to see that you remember so many names of our staff. We have passed your compliments to the team and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Kaviraj Bhunjun
Hotel Manager
Veranda Paul et Virginie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,898)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

902 - 908 of 1,898 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

"Cloud 8" is no error, it just didn't quite reach cloud 9.
Me and my Husband have just returned from our 10 day honeymoon and it was amazing.
Mauritius is a wonderful country, the most beautiful sea in the world. However Veranda Paul and Virginie just didn't quite meet standards at times. I understand it's a 3 star and at times it out shone that and appeared to be higher. The grounds were immaculate, the beach was small but clean and was fine for the amount of guests, it had lots of free water sports which was a nice touch. The food was delicious!! Slightly repetitive at times, but we were definitely satisfied.
There was a problem with our room so we had to be down graded, at first they offered us a meal (in the restaurant not included in all inclusive, a must though!!) and a bottle of wine. After discussion with others it turned out pretty much everyone celebrating received a bottle of champagne anyway and therefore was no compensations! so after a bit more discussion they gave us a taxi for the day and that was wonderful!!
Room was basic, but always clean and tidy.
So why the negative comment? Well it was small things, the staff, although some were amazing, polite, pleasant and funny, making a real effort, some were not. At times it felt that they were dismissive and quite rude and appeared to favour some guests over others. The all inclusive was fine, but I thought it was a little poor that you were not able to get any drinks outside the hours 11-11, including water which meant I nearly passed out on an excursion from dehydration! Also, some drinks are different in the beach bar to the main bar, so when I asked for a specific cocktail I got a quite negative reaction at times. Also, our mini bar fridge got locked before we has even checked out, which I thought was a little poor as that room was still ours and therefore had still paid for what was in the fridge!
So would I recommend this holiday to others? Mauritius a definite yes! It is an amazing island with loads to offer. Paul and Virginie? Most probably, with a little tweaking this resort could be perfect and so idyllic, it's a shame a few small things can change that.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank BeckyB0087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Paul et Virginie Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Paul et Virginie. The team and myself are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us, despite the few inconveniences that you mentioned and we thank you for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community.

We would like to apologise if you were sometimes inconvenienced at the resort. However, we are confused on why you seem to blame the hotel on how you almost passed out because of dehydration, when you clearly state that you were out of the hotel on excursion. We are further confused by this comment since Water, tea, coffee and fresh juices are available at breakfast from 7am to10am. We would moreover like to highlight that the drinks might not be included in the all-inclusive package outside of the hours of 11am-11pm, but the bar is open from very early in the morning to cater to your needs and after 11pm, there is a mini-bar available in the room for that matter.

We will work on the few issues that you mentioned and we look forward to your next visit.

Sunny Greetings

Kaviraj Bhunjun
Hotel Manager
Veranda Paul et Virginie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Just got back from a 10 night stay at Veranda Paul & Virginie for our honeymoon. We couldn't have asked for a more peaceful and relaxing hotel than this. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left the staff were so friendly and couldn't do enough for us during our stay. we would definitely recommend this hotel. Our room was spacious and cleaned daily and fresh towels were provided everyday as well as the mini bar being restocked. There was plenty to choose from food wise with lots of local dishes to try.The pool and garden areas were very well kept. The spa is well worth a visit and we can recommend the treatments available especially the massages. Thanks to all the staff at Veranda Paul & Virginie for a lovely stay and making our honeymoon so special. Mr & Mrs Fishwick!

Room Tip: block 3, 2nd or 3rd floor over look the beach and sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gag857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Paul et Virginie Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Paul et Virginie. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to the team and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Kaviraj Bhunjun
Hotel Manager
Veranda Paul et Virginie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

My wife and I celebrated our 1 year wedding anniversary at the resort with our best friends, we have all travelled to MRU before, so were fimiliar with a lot of the all inclusive packages, this was our first time at Veranda though and we werent dissapointed.

As the flights out of SA are at disgusting times if you fly air Mauritius, we only arrived after 22:00, but were still greeted with a warm welcome, cool refreshing towels and the resort has oil difusers everywhere so the smell is so amazing wherever you walk, great touch.

The staff are all helpful, friendly and very attentive, I must compliment Hamed, Pritima and Ashwin and Oimee in the bar they were our particular favourites and they made our stay even more special, thanks guys and well done!!

Our room was spacious, very clean and sea facing although i think they all are, nice balcony and awesome showers, a few more english channels/movie channels would be good, mini bar which gets replenished daily.

The gardens are perfectly manicured and gorgeous, the resort facilities are great and well maintained and they had live entertainment every evening we were there.

The all inclusive option is the only way to enjoy MRU, i dont have any complaints, my beers were always ice cold and we ended up making our own cocktail called a "saffa" so ask them its awesome and the rum really gets the party started, the lunch a la carte options was limited and the general food options do become some what repetitive but the quality was always good. We treated ourselves to a night in the Gazebo for our actual 1st year anniversary which was epic, we had the seafood platter which is expensive but worth it, private service our own music, just perfect really!

This resort is not a party resort, its an honest well run Mauritian retreat where you can unwind and enjoy your partner, the beach is private calm and clean and the private trip we did to swim with dolphins was out of this world a definate, Ile au Cerf is good but this tops everything ive done in my life, swimming in a pod of 100 spinner dolphins will change you plus you get lunch on a private island and a speed boat ride, truely amazing.

Would i return? hell yes anytime, thanks guys for an amazing holiday!!!!!!!!!

Jeff and Sam Lopes xx

Room Tip: 2nd floor - great sea veiw all rooms are sea facing so im pretty sure they are all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank PiccoloManagement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Paul et Virginie Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear guests,

Congratulations again on your wedding anniversary. It was a pleasure to have you and your friends at our resort and we thank you for choosing Veranda Paul et Virginie. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to the team and to Hamed, Preteem, Ahswin and Oimee in particular and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Kaviraj Bhunjun
Hotel Manager
Veranda Paul et Virginie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed with another couple at the hotel for 14 nights between 23rd Oct-6th Nov & all I can say is we had a fantastic holiday. The hotel is in a lovely setting overlooking the sea. Our room was very clean & spacious. All rooms have a sea view which is beautiful.

The beach is quite small but has plenty of sunbeds, there is also plenty of sunbeds around the pool which never seemed to get busy.

We stayed on AI which I would recommend. The food was fantastic from breakfast through to evening meal & there was always something different to chose from. I didn't feel like the food was repetitive as some previous reviews have said.

The staff in the hotel were extremely friendly especially the bar & restaurant staff. Our thanks goes out to the waiters Nitesh, Alvinio, Joey & Billy from the main Restaurant & also the 2 Bar/Restaurant Managers as they were extremely friendly, polite & made us laugh every day & they did not stop smiling, they made our holiday a rememberable one. I would also like to mention Awbee from behind the bar as he was also friendly everyday.

The only downside to the Hotel is that they have a fantastic Bar/ Restaurant on the beach which can't be used as part of the AI apart from drinks between 11am-3pm. I think this restaurant should be open for lunch & evening meal for customers on a AI basis & then have a separate menu for A La Carte.

We booked 3 Trips through Sun Tropical Tours which is a small tour shop about 200 yards around the corner from the hotel. I would highly recommend booking with these as they are far cheaper than booking through your Rep. We asked for our Trips to be private, just the 4 of us & they accommodated this which was fab. We firstly went to Casela to do the Lion Encounter, we then did a Speedboat Trip to Ile Aux Cerfs & finally we did a private speedboat Trip to swim with Dolphins in the wild & then had a BBQ on the beach. I would highly recommend all of these Trips as they were all fantastic.

I would highly recommend this Hotel as it is not too big & you get treated with a personal service.



Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Paul et Virginie Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Paul et Virginie. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to the team and to Alvinio, Joey, Billy and Nitesh in particular they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable. We have taken your comment regarding the beach restaurant Le Saint-Geran into consideration and we will work on an outcome which will hopefully please our guests.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Sunny Regards

Kaviraj Bhunjun
Hotel Manager
Veranda Paul et Virginie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

This hotel is excellent for so many reasons, including:
- location and views of the Indian Ocean (see photo)
- comfort and facilities of excellent bedroom (recommend the superior)
- friendliness of staff, despite the long hours they have to work
- quality and choice of food and lack of repetition
- cleanliness of pool, though a bit shallow!
- beautiful and well-kept gardens
- variety of entertainment, though occasional disco a bit noisy and aimed at the young'uns!
A few gripes:
- lack of hot water in the early evening
- bath towels smaller than beach towels!
- all inclusive guests having to pay extra to dine at beach restaurant, which was hardly used (but worth a visit - the meal was superb)
- beach bar not open till 11 and only till 3 - guests would like to enjoy a 'sundowner' there
- when hotel not full, lunchtime buffet replaced by 'A la carte' menu with rather too many heavy meal choices
- having to sign for every drink at zero cost!

Room Tip: Room 227 (Superior) - great view of pool, gardens and sea. Close to hotel centre but far enough away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PapaBun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Paul et Virginie Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Paul et Virginie. The team and myself are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us, despite the few inconveniences that you mentioned and we thank you for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We will work on the few issues that you mentioned and we look forward to your next visit.

Sunny Greetings

Kaviraj Bhunjun
Hotel Manager
Veranda Paul et Virginie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed at Paul & Virginie from the 13th October 2013 for 10 nights. Upon arrival very early in the morning we were greeted with a cold towel and then given a tour of the hotel. When we arrived at our room our luggage was already there and we were very impressed with the room, very clean and spacious. We booked a Prestige room through British Airways.

The hotel itself is beautiful, we did not sit around the pool much as we found it to be slightly cold so we sat on the beach, which was small and water was very shallow with lots of weed and some coral so you need to be careful. The one thing I did not expect to find in the Indian Ocean is having to get up at silly o clock to go and put towels on sunbeds, I don't like doing it but by our third day we had learnt that we had no choice due to everyone else doing it. This is one of the reasons that I avoid the Med so it was a bit of a disappointment to find it happening here.

The food was lovely in the restaurant and throughout our stay we found plenty of different things to eat and the fish was amazing. We did not find it repetitive at all and were pleasantly surprised by this after reading some of the reviews on here.

The staff were all lovely, happy and very helpful and we could not have asked for better in this respect. The wifi had good signal and despite being told that you could not pick up the connection in the hotel rooms, we always managed to get a signal.

We did find that we did not really get alot of hot water in the evenings so it was always quick showers before dinner, despite having a bath in the room we could not take advantage of this because by the time you had ran half the tub, it was freezing cold. Also I believe that the hotel could be slightly more generous with the bath towels, we had one bath towel between us, two floor towels and two hand towels.

Whilst in Mauritious we did a snorkelling trip through the hotel which was followed by a BBQ on the beach. Although the snorkelling wasn't great, the BBQ on the beach was brilliant and we were introduced to "jungle juice" which we enjoyed a few glasses of.

We also went to Casela Safari park, which although is some distance from the hotel (over an hour by taxi) is so worth the trip. We saw plenty of animals, the quad bikes were brilliant and the highlight was walking with the lions. This was a once in a lifetime experience that I would definitely recommend you do if you get the chance.

All in all, we really liked this hotel, the staff were lovely and the surroundings were beautiful, we met some lovely people at this hotel, some of whom we have stayed in contact with and I think due to the fact that this hotel is small, it enables you to talk to other guests that you see daily and really get to know them. I would recommend this hotel and hope to return very soon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Misty2325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Paul et Virginie Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Paul et Virginie. The team and myself are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to the team and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcome you in the near future.

Sunny Greetings from Mauritius

Kaviraj Bhunjun
Hotel Manager
Veranda Paul et Virginie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Gaube
1.4 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,960 reviews
5.8 mi away
Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa
11.2 mi away
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Sp...
#2 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
2,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 7 in Grand Gaube
4,496 reviews
9.4 mi away
Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel
Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel
#3 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,136 reviews
5.6 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#7 of 27 in Grand Baie
2,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Veranda Paul et Virginie Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veranda Paul et Virginie Hotel & Spa

Address: Royal Rd, Coastal Road, Grand Gaube, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Gaube
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Grand Gaube
Price Range: $131 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Veranda Paul et Virginie Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the picturesque village of Grand Gaube, Veranda Paul et Virginie is the new intimate and tranquil 4-star address for couples in Mauritius, designed to encourage total escapism. Tandem ride in the village, duo massage on the water, all-day breakfast in room, surprise apéro and private dinner under the stars, exclusive cruise on our catamaran, every moment is crafted for the most unforgettable memories. Sea views from all rooms, endless panoramas to the faraway islands and turquoise lagoon, fresh and light contemporary decor blending to authentic mauritian architectural features such as stones, wood and thatched roofs, punctuated with sepia illustration of famous couple Paul et Virginie… discover the perfect cocoon to host an idyllic holiday, just for two. The new infinity pool, back-dropped by the vivid turquoise blue lagoon invites guests to experience the simplest pleasures of life, like being together whilst soaking up the sun and the island light. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Veranda Paul et Virginie Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel Grand Gaube
Veranda Paul And Virginie Hotel & Spa
Veranda Paul Virginie Grand Gaube
Paul Virginie Hotel
Veranda Paul Et Virginie Hotel & Spa Mauritius/Grand Gaube

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing