We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Grand Gaube
Certificate of Excellence
Bedfordshire, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday!”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic holiday! Agree with other reviews, the drive is a long one from the airport, but as soon as we arrived we were welcomed, given fresh flannels and welcome drink, and well informed by staff (Usher) etc. We arrived mid-morning, but we were able to check into our room straight away which was great after all the travelling and given all the details of our all inclusive package which was great as we knew what to expect immediately. Holiday is in a lovely location, with beautiful views, we were on the 1st floor and had a fantastic view over the hotel and beach.
Food was excellent, a great variety and different everyday, always freshly cooked. Definitely enjoyed the 3pm-5pm pancakes!!! Bar service could be a little erratic, but overall we found the staff extremely helpful and friendly. We also had a packed lunch when going out for the day which was lovely, and bigger than we thought it would be!!!
Very much enjoyed the meal we had at the beach bar/restaurant as well.....this wasn’t included within the AI package, but AI customers did get a discount. Well worth a visit even just once on the trip. Food was beautifully done and was a little more intimate than the main restaurant.
Mauritius as a destination was just right for us, very relaxing and great climate, and also things to do if you wanted to - would recommend the country, and this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Paul et Virginie. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We look forward to welcome you again.

Sunny greetings

Kaviraj Bhunjun
Hotel Manager
Veranda Paul et Virginie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    926
    439
    123
    43
    16
See reviews for
118
1,192
29
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We had a fantastic time on our honeymoon at this lovely hotel. The food was amazing en the staff is friendlyand efficient and pays attention to detail. I do not understand what people are complaining about - it provided pure relaxation from start to finish and we were spoilt the whole week through! They deffinitely exceeded their three star rating!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanneT89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Paul et Virginie. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to the team and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Kaviraj Bhunjun
Hotel Manager
Veranda Paul et Virginie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

After a long drive it was lovely to be greeted with fresh flannels and a welcome drink on our arrival. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds with wonderful views. Usher showed us round and explained the services on offer. We were surprised with a bottle of wine and an anniversary cake which was a lovely touch. We really couldn't fault the service we received from all the staff from Marie nollee, billy,rishi,awmee,man and nitash and many more. They are there to help you make your holiday what you want it to be. Would recommend doing the boat trip to the island from the hotel,BBQ lunch on the beach and a spot of snorkeling on the way with one or two glasses of jungle juice and a slow sail back with songs from john baptist made for a rememberable day.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank NorfolkFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Paul et Virginie. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to the team and to Marie Noelle, Billy, Rishi, Awmee, Man and Nitesh in particular they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Kaviraj Bhunjun
Hotel Manager
Veranda Paul et Virginie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Ignore all negative reviews and read this one...
Okay it takes an hour or so to get from the airport to the hotel, use the time to look at the country and the people. Once at the hotel you will be given a tour by by one of the staff (would be better if the tour was done after you had time to freshen up having travelled for nearly 24hrs).
Rooms all have a sea view - best ones are from 2nd floor obviously - even the ground foor do to a lesser degree but they can just walk out onto the pool or to the beach. Rooms are spacious clean and regularly maintained.
Mini bar is checked every morning and refilled.
Most meals are buffet self serve and are Mauritian styled in particular evenings. My partner is not an "eat anything" like me however the choice was excellent and she had no issue finding her likes.
Service at table is excellent, drinks are replenished promptly.
We were all inclusive and the hotel operates this between certain hours however nothing to onerous to get used to - just ask any of the helpful staff to explain and they will.
The hotel is very peaceful and is aimed more at couple rather than young familys.
One criticism and not of the hotel but of the selfish people who have to 'reserve' their sunbeds before breakfast by putting their towels down. There are plenty of beds and plenty of signs asking you not to do this. So very tempting to deposit their towels in the pool.
Entertainment in the bar of an evening is light and fun if you want to join in or just sit and watch with a drink or two.
In summary this is one hotel of many visited over the years where I have no hesitation in saying I will visit again and it will be soon.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank JTR6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Paul et Virginie. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We are very happy to read that you plan to visit us again and we look forward to welcome you in a near future.

Sunny Greetings.

Kaviraj Bhunjun
Hotel Manager
Veranda Paul et Virginie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Just back from 8 days all inclusive in this lovely hotel .The food served at the buffet was great for us as we like spicy indian food but may concern guests who don't like so highly flavoured food. The beach is small but good but not great for swimming because of all the corral. but they have a Lovely swimming pool anyway,most of the staff are very friendly and helpfull. Only complaint was the terrible bar service, one night I waited 45 min before they took my order even after going up to the bar, the bar staff are useless and don't have a clue and are more interested in putting through till receipts than serving guests. They dont look at who comes into the bar and serve guests who have just came into the bar while ignoring others who have been waiting ages . The most drinks I ever got was 4 beers for my night and that was even after tipping. Honestly the worst bar service I have ever seen after 40 years of travelling and working all over the world. Don't use the hotel taxis as they are much cheaper if you flag down the ones in the street and bargain with them I was 400 ruppes cheeper going to grand bay than the hotel wanted. The buses are fun and cheap ,the 1 hour jurney to Saint Louis costs about 30 ruppes and they run about every ten mins.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a privalidge room which was verry roomy and worth the small exstra we had to pay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Paul et Virginie. The team and myself are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us, despite the few inconveniences that you mentioned and we thank you for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We will work on the few issues that you mentioned as we strive for ultimate guest satisfaction. We would forward to your next visit.
Sunny Greetings

Kaviraj Bhunjun
Hotel Manager
Veranda Paul et Virginie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We just had two weeks at this hotel. It was lovely the staff are helpful, the hotel is clean. We had a privilege room it had tea coffee, tv with one English news channel n a deep bath and a shower. It's a small hotel for couples. The bar closes at 11pm which is early but we weren't there to party. The entertainment was ok and the food need a bit more variety. Having said that the staff were wonderful and accommodated different meals for us. We also took out a pack lunch on some day trips which was free. Handy tips: some excursions were cheaper with other tour operators. So ask around. We used buses it was very cheap and we always felt safe. You also get to see the local culture and countryside. Be careful of good quality fake clothes they are expensive too. We would definately go back again the island and it's people are so welcoming. There's so many things left to do. Enjoy x

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank localbeeryum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Paul et Virginie, especially on your honeymoon. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to the team and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable. We are moreover happy to read that you plan on coming again and we look forward to welcome you in a near future.

Sunny Greetings

Kaviraj Bhunjun
Hotel Manager
Veranda Paul et Virginie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We spent a fortnight all-inclusive at this dream of a Hotel, so relaxing and laid back. The food was too good for my waistline. We had a lovely room on the second floor overlooking the pool and the sea, most of the staff were friendly and helpful, there was a variety of entertainment, dancers, groups and of course the dj's Davey and Dupont who were entertaining and helpful. The Mauritian people are so friendly it was a pleasure to walk through the Village and be greeted by so many of them along the way.
We did the Walking with Lions trip which we booked through the little Travel Agents in the Village they will arrange most of the trips for you and they are usaully cheaper than via the Reps so worth checking out. As you can probably tell we realy loved this Hotel and sourrounding areas and would certainly recommend it to our friends.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Paul et Virginie. The team and myself are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to Davey and Dupont and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable. We are very grateful to you for recommending our hotel to your friends, thank you.

We look forward to welcome you again .

Sunny Greetings

Kaviraj Bhunjun
Hotel Manager
Veranda Paul et Virginie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Gaube
1.4 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,372 reviews
0.6 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,401 reviews
5.6 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa
28.8 mi away
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
#1 of 18 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,109 reviews
9.4 mi away
Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel
Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel
#3 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa

Property: Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa
Address: Royal Rd, Coastal Road, Grand Gaube, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Gaube
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Grand Gaube
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Veranda Paul And Virginie Hotel & Spa
Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel Grand Gaube
Veranda Paul Virginie Grand Gaube
Paul Virginie Hotel
Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa Mauritius/Grand Gaube

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing