We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good relaxing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Grand Gaube
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good relaxing holiday”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Overall good holiday, after a long journey would have been nice at receive a welcome drink, had to wait until checked in and sent for breakfast before we could get a drink, breakfasts was good, evening meal was really good, most lunch was from menu, so if you didn't like what was served you had to wait for evening meal, Nitash was a really good barman, you could have a laugh a joke with him, however the rest of the staff could do with taking a leaf out of his book, some could be very rude. Room was fine and kept clean, hotel also kept spotless, all we wanted was a relaxing holiday and that is what we got.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJ47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Paul et Virginie. The team and myself are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us, despite the few inconveniences that you mentioned and we thank you for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. It is not in our habit not to offer a welcome drink to our guests, a miscommunication must have occurred and we sincerely apologise for that. We will work on the few issues that you mentioned and we look forward to your next visit.

Sunny Greetings

Kaviraj Bhunjun
Hotel Manager
Veranda Paul et Virginie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    926
    439
    123
    43
    16
See reviews for
118
1,192
29
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
perth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2013

From the minute you arrive the staff just can't do enough for you, my wife and i were on honeymoon here at the beginning of September, we were given a lovely room on the middle floor at the far end of the complex which looked out on to the beach and the lovely Indian ocean, when we were unpacking after arrival we had a knock on the door and recieved a nice chilled bottle of sparkling wine and some marlin skewers as a snack, we thought this was a lovely touch and was much appreciated.
The beach is small but there were always loungers available, plenty of free watersports to do, also glass bottomed boat trip with some snorkeling combined with loads of fish and coral to see.
The swimming pools were nice and are surrounded by lovely palm trees, with plenty loungers available, beach towels are supplied F.O.C. and are changed when required so no need to pack your own.
We were on an all-inclusive package and there was always a great selection of local beers and spirits to choose from which were fine, the barmen Nitesh and Amwee are stars, they always remember what you drink and make sure your glass is never empty long.
Always plenty to choose from in the restuarant whether breakfast, lunch or dinner, there was an evening there was a traditional Mauritian night and everything on the menu was curry based, we really dont like curry at all but the restuarant manager fixed us an alternative specially made which was great, so a big thanks to him and his staff.
Evening entertainment all pretty low key, usually a d.j. playing some tunes which was fine as it was mainly couples at the hotel, although they could do with giving hime some more tunes as it seemed to be same tunes most nights...
Overall a lovely hotel in a great setting and outlook, very relaxed and chilled out with attentive staff that make a big difference to the whole experience.
We can't wait to go back again..

Bob & Dinah

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Paul et Virginie. The team and myself are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to the staff and to Nitesh and Amwee in particular and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcome you again .

Sunny Greetings

Kaviraj Bhunjun
Hotel Manager
Veranda Paul et Virginie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

On our last day of our holiday the hotel reception staff gave our room details to a taxi firm looking for money that then proceeded to call the room continuously, when I said I didn’t not know who he was looking for he proceeded to try and break into the room after 9pm despite the fact there is meant to be security in the hotel. The following morning when we checked out at 3am a taxi driver was waiting for us at reception demanding money! The reception staff did nothing to help and I felt extremely vulnerable in a strange country with this bizarre confrontation. I was extremely disappointed with the staff giving out personal room details, then allowing random people on site and proving useless in confrontation. I would not recommend this as a safe hotel!!!! There were also big loud groups of kids and families taking control of the hotel making it an unrelaxing experience on the small beach area, restaurant and pools.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are the same but if you want a quiet room try to go away from the hotel as there i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

We are very sorry to read your disappointment and in regards to the taxi issue, we would like to clear a few points:

On Saturday 7th of September 2013, together with your girlfriend, you came at the reception to book a taxi for Grand Bay at 11.00 am.

As per our security records, you left the hotel with a taxi at 11.10 a.m sharp for Grand Bay. During the trip obviously you communicated with the driver.

Just to remind you that for security purposes, we keep a daily record of our hotel’s clients travelling by our hotel taxi. Once in Grand-Bay, you asked the driver to wait for you until you returned. The hotel Taxi driver kept waiting for you both in Grand-Baie for hours and hours. Finallly seeing that you were nowhere, he returned back to the hotel looking for you to settle his payment for that trip.

Obviously, the hotel receptionist called you in your room regarding the payment and you surprised us by denying that you never travelled with that driver and you even said that you did not went to Grand-Baie. You lied and said that the whole day you were in the hotel when you were not. Unfortunately, you did not even come to the reception to meet him or to clarify the situation.

The driver needed his salary of the day and that’s why he came to meet you at 03 o’clock in the morning in the hope that you will pay him but in vain. You preferred to argue with the driver in the parking far from the reception area instead of paying him. We can understand that you might not have the money to pay him but to say that we did not intervene between you and the driver is false and you keep denying the fact that you did not know him. You moreover showed disrespect towards us by being aggressive to him.

At last, you left at four o'clock in the morning and the unfortunate taxi driver went home unpaid!!. We find it a shame and disastrous that you have mentioned someone was trying to break or force the lock and in addition to that, we totally refute this argument where nothing as such happened at Veranda Paul et Virginie. This is really weird and misleading!

Note that the hotel compound is surrounded by CCTV cameras and responsible securities for whole day and night.

Yours sincerely
Kaviraj Bhunjun
Hotel Manager
Veranda Paul et Virginie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

From the moment we arrived at Paul et Virginie the end of July we felt relaxed. We stayed in a superior room (227) which was wonderful for 14 nights. We chose this hotel from reviews on tripadvisor stating it was for couples and that it wasnt a party hotel which suited our needs.
Rooms - Large double bed/tv/tea /cofee and cleaned to a high standard which was wonderful.
Food - I would definitely recommend the all inclusive option otherwise it could work out pricey even for bottled water. The food was wonderful, mainly buffet style for breakfast and evening meal. There was a set menu for lunch and daily specials. I must mention that during lunch I did not have chips once during the fortnight opting for specials or salads. Chips do accompany some meals but you just state no fries. You also get a packed lunch if you are out for the day.
Staff are courteous and so helpful and actually remember your name which was lovely. I must give a mention to Man who was so helpful and to the resident DJ who was also chatty and welcoming especially discussing music.
I loved the double sunbeds - quite romantic looking out at the sea.
We did many excursions around the island so decided to hire a daily taxi which was from a taxi rank to the left as you come out of the hotel. For us this was a wonderful option to have an excellent courteous taxi driver who was like our own personal tour guide, it was better for me than being stuck on a bus. Our taxi mans name is Vijeyen Chinien and provided an excellent service so I would highly recommend, a taxi cost us £40 per day.
I would recommend walking with lions and I emailed directly from the uk to book a place. When you are there you can interact with lion cubs/ cheetah too at an extra cost. Mauritius tourist guide has lots of info.
We visited Grand Baie, sacred hindu lake plus all the south of the island including the coloured earth and waterfalls.
Overall our hotel at Paul et Virginie was truly magical and I wouldnt stay anywhere else if visiting Mauritius again, beautiful people and such a safe place to visit.
Thank you to all staff at Paul et Virginie - our holiday was perfect :o)
A

Room Tip: We stayed in a superior room on the 2nd floor, room 227 which had lovely views of the sea. This was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank annwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Paul et Virginie. The team and myself are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to Man and to the resident DJ and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcome you again .

Sunny Greetings

Kaviraj Bhunjun
Hotel Manager
Veranda Paul et Virginie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This hotel is almost on the beach and as far as I am aware all the rooms face the sea and have good sea views. The rooms are comfortable with basic furnishings and the TV has 13 channels but all but one of these (BBC News) are in French without subtitles.
There are bus stops right at the hotel where you can take a bus to Goodlands every 10 minutes, which is where the nearest ATM is; fare 21 rupees. You can go to Grand Baai where there are plenty of shops (every 10 minutes @ 30 Rupees) or to Port Louis (every 15 minutes at 38 rupees)
There are shops 100 metres up the road where you can buy beer and wine and other essentials. You may not want to pay hotel prices.
The hotel has many South African visitors and not a lot from Europe although there was a sprinkling of french and UK visitors plus a few German guests. The hotel is very popular with the local Mauritians at the weekends, which is always a good sign if the locals attend.
The food in the restaurant was generally good with reasonable variety in the evening. Yes, there is a dress code and yes it is enforced. i personally do not have an issue although I was unhappy with the price of the drinks which in my humble opinion were extortionate. 300 rupees for 2 beers! That's about ten American or Aus. dollars. Don't even ask about the cost of wine.
The staff were very friendly and attentive and Wendy and Man remain in mind as contributing to a happy stay. There were many others.
The library was well stocked with English and German books; not a lot of French. The internet was free but the computer was not working too well when we were there.
We enjoyed our holiday here and would be happy to go again.

Room Tip: I understood that all rooms have sea views. We were on the ground floor and had a perfectly good vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Murton-Plettenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Paul et Virginie. The team and myself are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to Wendy and Man and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcome you again .

Sunny Greetings

Kaviraj Bhunjun
Hotel Manager
Veranda Paul et Virginie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Dress Code
We checked the hotel web site beforehand and it said that "smart casual" was required in the evening. On arrival (after 24 hours travelling), one of the first things the receptionist mentioned was "do you have long trousers?" (I was wearing shorts and a t-shirt). Having replied no, your web site doesn't mention long trousers the lady asked whether I could buy some. To which my answer was again no. Is this really how you should greet guests after a long journey? There are many interpretations of "smart casual", particularly in a hot country. Mine happened to be longish shorts (just above the knee) and a short sleeve shirts. Having seen other interpretations, some people had technically complied but weren't exactly smart! It could have been worse, one guy from a couple we talked to was asked to leave the restaurant and change into long trousers! I could understand a strict dress policy if it was a 5 star resort with a Michelin restaurant attached etc, however, it isn't so the "rule" seems very over the top. Furthermore, the hotel and the tour operator should make it clear that they expect long trousers. The general point is that if you're paying nearly £5k for a 2 week holiday, shorts and t-shirts in a hot climate should be acceptable.

Food
The food in general was fine, though probably not as good as other all inclusive packages we've experienced; the lunch menu was quite limited though and only varied every week. We went out into Grand Baie a few evenings. The Beach House was great for watching the sunset with a cold beer. Le Capitaine had a mellow atmosphere, good service and very tasty food. Avoid Cafe de la Plage; the food was average and we saw a cockroach walk across the floor as we were about to leave...
If you make in down to Mahebourg, check out Saveurs de Shin - great Chinese food, good portions and cheap.

Sports
There was a good selection of sports available; pedlos, kayaks, snorkelling (not a great deal to see near the beach), bikes. I did 4 dives with Emperator Diving (within Le Marina hotel). They had a free taxi service to and from the hotel. I dived around Coin De Mire, which was great; excellent visibility and lots of interesting sea life. We also did a swimming with dolphins trip at Tamarin (through White Sands Tours), which was very memorable - we couldn't stop smiling all day!

General
The resort ticks a lot of boxes. The service was very good and the staff were friendly/helpful. The sun loungers were very comfortable and we spent many hours reading/snoozing/chilling; the view over the ocean was great. Overall, we had a very relaxing holiday and would recommend staying.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank markukus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for choosing Veranda Paul et Virginie for your holidays in Mauritius and for trusting us..

We have taken good note of your comments about the hotel in general.
However regarding the dress code, it is a fact that long trousers are, in the evening, compulsory for men and we feel sorry that this information was not properly communicated to you upon booking. We really apologise for that.

Although we would personally never mind reviewing the dress code policy (which we did in the past) please understand that in the past, we received so many negative comments from other clients that we had to reinstate the existing policy.

We are glad to note that you had a wonderful stay with us here and that the facilities and services at the boat house were to your convenience.

We thank you for recommending the Veranda Paul et Virginie and Spa and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again on a next trip to Mauritius.

Yours sincerely

Kaviraj Bhunjun
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Arriving into Mauritius the airport signs welcome you to paradise and the Paul & Virginie certainly lives up to that. At the north of the island the hotel is in a quiet village with wonderful coastal views, a great spot for relaxing. The all inclusive package is worth choosing, the food was all excellent and there was a nice balance between buffets and served meals, the package also included a wide selection of drinks from the bar too. The honeymoon offer had some nice touches too, such as a boat ride on the lagoon, and the spa treatments were both good and sensibly priced. We really enjoyed our stay and would certainly go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ian1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to sincerely thank you for your kind and positive comments on your recent stay at Veranda Paul et Virginie.

Your comments encourage the entire team me and I to maintain and further improve our services and facilities.
It is a great pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed our food and beverage offers and every minute of your stay.

In the Meantime, the whole team and I look forward to welcome you again at Veranda Paul et Virginie.

Your sincerely,

Kaviraj Bhunjun
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Gaube
1.4 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,372 reviews
0.6 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,401 reviews
5.6 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa
28.8 mi away
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
#1 of 18 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,109 reviews
9.4 mi away
Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel
Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel
#3 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa

Property: Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa
Address: Royal Rd, Coastal Road, Grand Gaube, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Gaube
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Grand Gaube
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Veranda Paul And Virginie Hotel & Spa
Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel Grand Gaube
Veranda Paul Virginie Grand Gaube
Paul Virginie Hotel
Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa Mauritius/Grand Gaube

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing