We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Veranda Paul et Virginie Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
LUX* Grand Gaube(Grand Gaube)
$378
$295
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Zilwa Attitude(Calodyne)
$242
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$310
$301
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coin de Mire Attitude(Bain Boeuf)(Great Value!)
$170
$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$141
$137
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Calodyne Hotel(Calodyne)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,996)
Filter reviews
1,997 results
Traveler rating
1,253
542
141
45
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,253
542
141
45
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach barst geranall inclusive packageour honeymoonprivilege roomlocal childrenjungle juicemain restaurantthe hotel managerseafood plattergrand baieseven coloursplenty of sunbedsa la carte restaurantrelaxing holidayroom boyglass bottom boat
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
995 - 1,000 of 1,997 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have stayed at the hotel on three occasions, as the hotel has 80 rooms you are guaranteed a high level of service that you won't get in larger resorts. The rooms are well furnished and very clean. All the staff are friendly and they will go out of their way to ensure you enjoy your stay. this would be an ideal location for a honeymoon.
The staff can arrange for you to dine overlooking the sea in a Gazebo and eat a menu tailored by you.

I travel a lot for my job and I rate The Paul & Virginie as one of the best hotels I have stayed in.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gavin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Paul et Virginie Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Paul et Virginie. The team and myself are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your nice comments with the Trip Advisor community.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Sunny Greetings from Mauritius

Kaviraj Bhunjun
Hotel Manager
Veranda Paul et Virginie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is one of the most special places we have traveled to in a long time - the people make this hotel what it is... "totally awesome". This is not a hotel for party animals, this is a place of peace, love and tranquility. The food is a gastronomic affair of the heart that leaves your taste buds begging for more but your tummy yelling "No more please, I can't fit another morsel." Activities and entertainment is sufficient to keep you busy, out and about or just chilling on a lounger - The setting of this hotel is just beautiful and as one stares out at the Indian Ocean you are taken away from it all - really! We were not expecting 5 star and we did not pay 5 star prices. This is a 3 star resort however, you are made to feel as if you might be staying in a 5 star just because of the attention that is given to you.

We stayed at Paul & Virginie for 7 days in June on the All Inclusive package in a Privilege Room on the ground floor (as requested) and enjoyed every moment. There were a couple of glitches but you know when one considers the whole "package", the minor things can be easily overlooked, there are mistakes made everywhere and as long as they are dealt with in an efficient and friendly manner, why make an issue of it? I'm talking things like swapping rooms because of a maintenance issue, coffee not being available one morning for 10 minutes out of a 4 hour breakfast session, the phone not being able to dial out internationally... so you know I will leave it there, if you want to be a nitpicker then stay at home!

I do have a suggestion for the Hotel Management, which you might want to look into. I understand that the rock area on the beach to the right of the St Geran Restaurant is a public area, and used for Hindu ceremonies, picnic's etc, might I suggest that you get one of your guys to go out each morning to clean up the rubble, plastic bags, car tyres, bottles etc from this area, not only does it not create a very good impression but it might go a small way to educating the public and cleaning up the environment too.... use it, don't use it, it is just a suggestion. It did not affect our enjoyment of your host of facilities to the full.

Rakesh, Hamed, Avynash, Ashvin and ALL the guys and girls that went, what seemed to us, out of your way to make sure that we felt welcome, comfortable and happy - THANK YOU, Merci Baucoup and we hope to see you all again soon. (if I put all your names this review would explode)

PS... the Seven Colors Spa was truly a divine experience - where oh where to find a comparison in Johannesburg?

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Loren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Paul et Virginie Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Paul et Virginie. The team and myself are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us, despite the few inconveniences that you mentioned and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to Rakesh, Hamed, Avynash, Ashvin and the rest of the team and they were very happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable. We will work on the few issues that you mentioned and we look forward to your next visit.

Sunny Greetings from Mauritius

Kaviraj Bhunjun
Hotel Manager
Paul et Virginie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

There are loads of reviews that say the Paul et Virginie should be 4 or 5 stars. They're wrong. That's not to say there's anything wrong with the hotel, there isn't. It is a really nice and friendly 3 star accommodation. Just go with realistic expectations, that's all I'm saying.

The rooms are quite basic - they have a minibar, but a large part of the contents are not included in the all inclusive deal. The balcony we had overlooked the bay and we benefitted from being able to see both sunrise and sunset, which was nice. Think we sat out there every morning and evening as a result.

There was never any trouble getting a sunlounger (other than for the beach, which all seemed quite popular) though this may have been because the hotel was half empty when we stayed (June 2013).

The restaurant was disappointing - although it claims to have 2, only one is included in the all inclusive. The 2nd (Le Saint Geran) is extra, and not cheap, so we didn't go. Instead, we ate at the main restaurant for the duration of our stay. I had read a couple of reviews stating the food was repetitive and, I must admit, I thought people were just wingeing. However, I can fully understand what they meant now, well, with lunch anyway - breakfast was ok, but lunch was from the same menu everyday, with only a handful of different options to choose from and one special, dinner was always nice, with the ability to have something Mauritian or something more familiar but still felt a bit restrictive, I suppose because you get used to vast array of food in other buffet restaurants. The most bizarre feature, was having to sign for every meal (excluding breakfast) and drinks you have, even if on the all inclusive, which we never did work out.

The staff are all really friendly, and greet you with big smiles, making you feel welcome. Sometimes, it can feel just a little bit OTT though - guess this might be more a reflection on us, rather than the staff, as some guests seemed to love it but we just like to be left in peace a lot of the time.

There's not a great deal to do at the resort. There was a table tennis table, but it was outside and a bit too windy when we were there to play. Besides that, there were a handful of games - Scrabble, Uno etc - in the bar, which were really good for the rainy days we had. We took a walk along the coast both ways from the resort, though got stopped by a suspicious looking stray dog on one of the walks, so it made sense to turn back rather than take our chances! When the tide was low, there were some great rockpools to look in, with some fantastic sea life.

There are 2 pools at the resort, though the pool, which is on all the promotional bumph, is surrounded by all the public areas (bar and restaurant) rather than any sun loungers, so not exactly the relaxing location you imagine. We didn't go in either pool in the end. Instead, we opted for some loungers looking out onto the sea, which was beautiful and with the breeze off the ocean, kept you reasonably refreshed without the need for a dip. When we got too hot, we tended to cool off in a hammock under a nearby tree, which was very relaxing.

We didn't do any of the organised tours - instead, we hired a car to DIY the ones we were interested in. Getting about on the island (excluding Port Louis) is absolutely fine, though the maps aren't always 100% accurate! We went to L'Aventure Du Sucre, which was brilliant for learning about Mauritius' history; we went to La Casela - the park itself isn't all that amazing (I agree with some of the other comments that you just feel sad for the birds) but we did the quad biking, which was amazing!!! We also drove down to Maheburg, and got the boat over to Ils aux Aigrettes - some of the work they're doing on the island is fabulous. We also did a walk in the Black Gorge national park. On each of our trips we used the motorway to get us to our destination, then drove along the coast roads for some scenic views - and there were plenty; well recommended!!!!

On a local day with the car, we went to Grande Baie - heading out towards Mon Choisy, we did horseriding (Horse Riding Delights). It was not a delight. The horses looked very tired, the tour we were taken on was poor (we were beginners, and despite them saying that was fine, they clearly don't take beginners out very often) and it cost an absolute fortune!!!!

Our first visit to Mauritius will probably be our last - it was a very long flight, with nothing that isn't on offer closer to home. That said, we had a peaceful and very restful stay at the Veranda Paul et Virginie. It is a very good 3 star hotel, but a 3 star hotel nonetheless.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WMD2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Paul et Virginie Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking time to write a Tripadvisor review following your stay at Veranda Paul et Virginie.
Many of our customers rate our service to be a 4 or 5 star, However we appreciate your honesty and we would like to remind you that yes we are a three star property proving high standard service to our precious clients.

We took into consideration your comments regarding the Mini bar and we are delighted to mention that the Minibar is fully included in the All inclusive package.
We regret that restaurant was not up to your expectations and rest assured that your comments have already been passed to our chef and to the whole team so we can further improve our services and facilities at Veranda Paul et Virginie.

Again, We appreciate your constructive comments as these will truly help us in maintaining our standard.

Yours sincerely

Kaviraj Bhunjun
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We are currently at the resort and feel totally let down and quite frankly bored. Bored enough to be writing this review. We are requesting to be moved to another location. The bar is very limited and also the food which is bland. There is absolutely nothing to do in the hotel or nearby. The bar closes at 11pm and no noise is allowed after then. There are no snacks available at all out with meal times, the mini bar in the rooms is mostly chargeable,
The one plus side is that the hotel is lovely with great views, the staff are also excellent.
The one bar that is nearby outside the hotel is empty and no atmosphere but served nice cocktails unlike the hotel bar.
Branded drinks are available from the bar but are very expensive as is any excursion.
I have been bitten by one of the numerous spiders.
As well as spiders there are mice, ants, birds and a begging cat.
It is like a retirement village, so if you are looking to read or sleep all day then great but if not then this place is not for you.

Room Tip: The rooms have no baths and but are clean and comfortable.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Richymcguigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Paul et Virginie Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience online.

We have taken good note of your comments about the hotel

We regret your perception regarding the bar and the food. If a drink or a meal is not to a customer's taste, we always welcome feedback and re-do the cocktail or arrange the meal according to his preferences. Unfortunately, you didn't share these views with us when you were served.

We are very confused about the mice that you have apparently seen as we follow very strict pest control procedures. In regards to the ants, it can happen when you leave fruit or juices unattended, as it is a tropical country after all, and that explain the birds as well. In regards to the begging cat, you will be glad to hear that it has been adopted by a fellow guest and brought back to France. In regards to the spider's bite, it is a very unfortunate and isolated event. As we mentioned, we do follow very strict pest control procedures within the hotel's premises.


And yes, you are right, Veranda Paul et Viginie, named after Mauritius' most iconic couple, is for adults looking for rest, peace and tranquility.

Finally, We are delighted that you enjoyed our hospitality and you have the service offered by the staff.

We do hope to get the chance to welcome you again at Paul et Virignie in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Kaviraj Bhunjun
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We were looking for a place to totaly relax for a week, and at Paul & Virginie we hit the jackpot. The only thing we had to worry about all week was whether to have a sunbed by the pool on the terrace or on the private beach. We were on an all inclusive package that included local beer,wine and spirits (all drinkable) breakfast,lunch and dinner with pancakes in the afternoon. All food was fresh and tasty, and there was also a seafood resturant where you could dine for a suppliment.So we did not find a reason to leave the resort, there were lots of excursions on offer, but with snorkeling, sailing, Kyaks and pedelos all on offer there was always something to do (if you wanted to.) The resort is very small & intimate and caters mainly for couples, there were quite a few honeymooners, although it's not exclusive it's not really suited to kids. The rooms are basic, but very clean and comfortable, and all have sea views. A tip for the ladies if your fussy about your hair products, the only toiletries provided, are a gel dispenser in the shower. All the staff at the resort (and there's lots of them) were always smiling and helpful and special mention must go to Nitesh the barman and Pratima in the resturant. Overall Paul & Virginie is a little piece of heaven on a sunkissed island and we wish we were back there right now.

Room Tip: All room have sea views
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Holidays1work0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Paul et Virginie Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for staying with us during your recent stay in Mauritius.,
We are indeed delighted to read your nice comments, which encourages the whole team and I to maintain and improve our services and facilities.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for trusting us.
We cannot wait to see you back and wish to assure you of our hospitality at all times.


Yours sincerely,
Kaviraj Bhunjun
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews