We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel and different holiday experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Grand Gaube
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good hotel and different holiday experience”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We came back on the 3rd June 2013 after a 7 night stay on All-Inclusive basis in Superior room 212. This hotel is relaxed, very clean, well organised with neat gardens and wonderful views over the lagoon and other islands off the coast of Mauritius.

One of the key ingredients that made our short stay so memorable was the hotel staff - they are sincere and so willing to help make your holiday - so easy going. No mad panic at the bar ever, no queues at the restaurant and loungers galore. The weather was great with no rain at all throughout!!

Food was varied, well cooked and presented well. I am not a lover of curries at all, but the lunch and dinner options were plentiful, along with the drinks, especially the cocktails.

We did the day Catamaran trip to Ile aux Cerfs and was not disappointed at all - even the boat's crew were chilled and the BBQ was top draw - cooked on board at sea. The island itself is beautiful, classy and unspoilt. Great day out!!

We had two minor drawbacks - 1. our room was closest to the coastal road running at the back of the hotel - not a problem in the day, but at very late night/early morning the lack of soundproofing was very noticeable - 2. the room was spacious enough for more than two, but the lack of real wardrobe space (as it is contained within the large bathroom) could have been easily solved.

Those two issues aside, this is a very good, friendly and welcoming hotel, with views and weather that made it all the better.

Well done to the staff - all of them - who never stop smiling or have a laugh with us.

Room Tip: ask for blocks 4 and 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cityboy6977Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Valued guest,

We are happy to learn that you spent a wonderful holiday at Veranda Paul et Virginie.
We are delighted to read your nice comments which encourage the whole team and myself to maintain and to further improve our services and facilities.

We have taken good note regarding the soundproofing in the room and the wardrobe.

We would like to underline that our Privilege room, unlike the superior room that you booked, do have wardrobe which are more to your liking.

Finally, your appreciation towards our members have been shared with all the team.

We would be pleased to welcome you again at Veranda Paul et Virginie.

Yours sincerely
Kaviraj Bhunjun
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    931
    444
    123
    43
    16
See reviews for
118
1,198
30
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, Maharashtra, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Me and my wife had amazing honeymoon in this beautiful hotel. I liked location of hotel, perfectly situated along seaside with a beautiful sea view. Weather was excellent and we clicked lots of sunrise, sunset and other sea photos. Rakesh and all Managers in hotel, Chef and support staff were very friendly, polite and took special care of us. We liked the food, especially the breakfast. Chef served us tasty Indian food which was a pleasant surprise. Hotel has good facilities of snorkeling, kayaking, paddle boat, glass bottom boat and we really enjoyed it. Beach is small but neat and clean. We enjoyed entertainment every evening.

Staff at the boat house near water sports needs to be trained. These folks could have been more informative and should be assisting visitors in providing equipments. Instead they were found to be very rude and they were in world of their own, playing beach sports.

Room Tip: Rooms @ first floor have excellent sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NinadGade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Paul et Virginie. The team and myself are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community.

We look forward to welcome you next year.

Sunny Greetings from Mauritius

Kaviraj Bhunjun
Hotel Manager
Veranda Paul et Virginie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We booked our stay here after stumbling across it as part of a holiday package. The good reviews here at TripAdvisor decided us and we were not disappointed. First of all, a big thank you to the staff (particularly boathouse, bar, and restaurant), who all made an effort to make sure we felt welcome and had a great time. Thanks to them we had an amazing honeymoon, and all our needs were not only looked after but in several cases anticipated - for example, I had mentioned that I should not eat dairy products and on several occasions dishes were pointed out that I should avoid when I entered the restaurant.

We had an economy room, which was more than sufficient for the needs of a couple who spent most of the day outdoors. The room was nicely furnished and we had a great view of the bay from our balcony. The walls are a little bit thin but we were not disturbed by our neighbours at all and even befriended some.

The food was always delicious, and there were lots of options available to suit a variety of preferences. As mentioned, special needs or requests are looked after. We were on the all-inclusive plan, which included buffet breakfast (with omelette station), table-service lunch (set menu, plus a changing daily special), and buffet dinner, as well as a very good variety of beverages including rum and beer. Very good cocktails! It was also helpful that the plan was extended until 2pm on the day we checked out, as check-out time was at noon and our taxi came to get us in the afternoon so we were able to have lunch and a last few cocktails before leaving.

Make sure to take advantage of the free watersports, which include glassbottom boat trips out to snorkel in the coral (no use snorkeling at the beach, which as with most of the island is very shallow even at high tide), kayaks, paddleboats, and windsurfing. Boathouse staff also organised several beach football, volleyball, and boules matches which guests are invited to participate in. One nice thing is that guests are requested not to reserve sun loungers with their towels, so there's a good chance that all who want one will get one (at least in winter, which appears to be low season).

We were advised by another guest to try the Veranda Grand Baie, but after walking past on a day trip to Grand Baie we really feel like the Veranda Paul & Virginie is more to our liking. It is smaller, more intimate, and feels less commercial - perfect for a honeymoon retreat.

I can't really think of anything not to like about this hotel. I suppose that it's a bit far away from everything else on the island, so day trips by taxi to activities in the west and south of the island will be a bit more expensive, but we didn't find that to be a big inconvenience as there's a taxi stand just outside the gate and prices are negotiable. It would also be nice if there wasn't a 10% commission on cash advances (not really any ATMs nearby so they really get you)!

On the whole, the best stay I have had in a hotel. Great location, delicious food, and staff who do their best to make sure that guests enjoy themselves.

Room Tip: Higher rooms in block 5 give great views of the ocean, and are farthest from the main building (and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AutumnFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Paul et Virginie. The team and myself are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community.

We look forward to welcome you again to celebrate many, many wedding anniversaries.

Sunny Greetings

Kaviraj Bhunjun
Hotel Manager
Veranda Paul et Virginie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level 6 Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The views when you arrive is the sea , amazing !! Arrived early 8am but room wasn't ready till 2pm but was offered a shower room to change. Food was excellent, very tasty. Hotel was very clean and beach was small but beautiful. Sun loungers are all very comfortable and no need to hunt a couple down as there were always spare ones available by the lovely clean pool or on the beach. Weather was perfect and staff all very friendly, special mention to Duponte, Nitesh and young Mevin. Entertainment every other night and disco for the other nights. I really cannot fault this hotel. Location was good , caught the bus outside to local market and shops in Goodlands and always felt very safe, we also went by bus to Port Louis, journey took just over 1hr but very cheap, cost about 32 rupees. Room was perfect and views of the pool and beach. We have recommended this hotel to all our friends and family and would come back to visit this hotel in a heartbeat .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank durie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Paul et Virginie. The team and myself are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to Duponte, Nitesh and young Mevin and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcome you again .

Sunny Greetings

Kaviraj Bhunjun
Hotel Manager
Veranda Paul et Virginie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinlaakso, Southern Finland, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We had really nice honeymoon in this hotel :) Hotel was perfect place to relax after stressful spring. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Food at the hotel restaurant was really good and tasty.
Our superior room was big and bright, very nicely furnished. Common areas were clean and cosy. The view from our balcony was amazing. We got some good friends from all over the world at our holiday. It was great that at the hotel there was opportunity to play tennis , table tennis, beach volley, petanque and plenty of water activities. Special thanks to Mr. Dupont (entertainment staff) for a tough opposition in table tennis and tennis also. He is good company. One day we went to the hotels Seven colors spa and took a massage and it was heavenly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jokke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Paul et Virginie. The team and myself are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to Mr Dupont and to the staff and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcome you again .

Sunny Greetings

Kaviraj Bhunjun
Hotel Manager
Veranda Paul et Virginie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

my husband I had a amazing time, The staff were very friendly and done all they could to make our stay perfect. The views were outstanding, Entertainment was enjoyable everyone joined in the fun.
Dupunt the entertainment manager was very friendly who made sure at all times guest enjoyed their selves. In all a great place to stay. Thanks for a great holiday. From essex

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ellen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Paul et Virginie. The team and myself are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community.


We look forward to welcome you again.

Sunny Greetings

Kaviraj Bhunjun
Hotel Manager
Veranda Paul et Virginie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

My husband and I just came back from this most fantastic holiday destination and we truly miss Mauritius. The weather was perfect and the views unbelievable but it was the hotel staff that made it unforgettable. My husband has special needs and the staff made sure that they were ready to accommodate all his needs from the start; thanks to Kurt the Virgin rep who contacted us prior to our departure and liaised with the hotel staff. We also celebrated our 31st Wedding Anniversary there on the day of our arrival. There was a bottle of bubbly on ice awaiting in our room and a lovely personalised cake at dinner. All the staff were fantastic and I could go on forever praising them so here are just some examples. Mr Man, at the restaurant, welcomed us every morning giving us numerous suggestions on how to explore the island, Mr Nayeck- the head gardener gave us a tour of the grounds and showed us all the beautiful plants and flowers he tends to with his team. He also made a point of coming to see as every morning whilst we were having coffee on the terrace just to say hello and wish as a good day! There was also Emmanuel a trainee who made our stay especially memorable. We are so glad that we have stayed at this lovely hotel as the service was exceptional, warm and friendly. We are already planning our return trip!!! Anna & Karl Szilagyi from London UK.

Room Tip: All rooms have either terrace or a balcony with beautiful ocean views! Most importantly if you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnaandKarlSzilagyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Paul et Virginie. The team and myself are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to Mr Man, Mr Nayeck and Emmanuel and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcome you in the near future.

Sunny Greetings from Mauritius

Kaviraj Bhunjun
Hotel Manager
Veranda Paul et Virginie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Gaube
1.4 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,542 reviews
5.8 mi away
Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa
5.6 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
2,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel
Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel
#3 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
698 reviews
17.9 mi away
Friday Attitude
Friday Attitude
#2 of 8 in Trou d'eau Douce
808 reviews
0.6 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
4,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa

Property: Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa
Address: Royal Rd, Coastal Road, Grand Gaube, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Gaube
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Grand Gaube
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel Grand Gaube
Veranda Paul And Virginie Hotel & Spa
Veranda Paul Virginie Grand Gaube
Paul Virginie Hotel
Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa Mauritius/Grand Gaube

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing