We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Veranda Paul et Virginie Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Zilwa Attitude(Calodyne)
$178
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
LUX* Grand Gaube(Grand Gaube)
$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seaview Calodyne Lifestyle Resort(Calodyne)(Great Value!)
$125
$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Calodyne Hotel(Calodyne)
$99
HotelQuickly
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$261
$254
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coin de Mire Attitude(Bain Boeuf)(Great Value!)
$117
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$136
$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,050)
Filter reviews
2,050 results
Traveler rating
1,285
560
143
45
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,285
560
143
45
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach barst geranall inclusive packageour honeymoonprivilege roomlocal childrenjungle juicemain restaurantthe hotel managerseafood plattergrand baieseven coloursplenty of sunbedsa la carte restaurantrelaxing holidayroom boyglass bottom boat
Filter
Updating list...
1,050 - 1,055 of 2,050 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I would like to thank all the staff at the hotel for a most enjoyable vacation in a long time, from arrival to departure this was a pleasure. The accomodation and the food was excellent.I wish I could steal their recipe for bananna soup it was excellent.
Very quiet resort mostly meant to couples. Unfortunatly we missed out on a view watersport due to rought seas and then repairs to their glass bottom boat, but otherwise everything was acceptable. We would defenitely recommend this hotel, and we hope to return to this resort as soon as possible.

Room Tip: All rooms has a sea view, but would recommend not taking a ground floor unit.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Johan_vd_Merwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Paul et Virginie Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear valuable guest,

Many thanks for sharing your travel experience on this website as it was a real pleasure hosting you at Veranda Paul et Virginie and reading that you really did enjoy the kindness of our local staff as well as the food, accommodation and overall atmosphere is truly a reward.

We will pass your compliments with pleasure to the Chef for his banana soup.

We do hope you that you shall come back again.
Thanking you once again for your visit.

Kaviraj Bhunjun
Hotel Manager
Veranda Paul et Virginie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We have recently returned from our honeymoon at the Paul & Virgine. We arrived in a monsoon and after a horrific journey arrived to the most relaxing and tranquil reception. The initial welcome was only a taste of what was to follow.

When we arrived at our room we found champagne and canapés and voucher for the spa. The following day we booked a couples massage which was amazing and we would strongly recommend it.

The atmosphere created by the hotel staff is calm, peaceful and relaxing. The staff are the most friendly and helpful we have ever come across. Our room boy Kiran kept our room immaculate and left us the most amazing towel sculptures on a daily basis. The waiter Man was helpful and knowledgeable about the island and went out of his way to ensure all our needs were met. Nitash the bar man always gave service with a smile regardless of how long he had worked that day. The number of staff on duty always surprised us. It seemed as the there were as many staff as rooms.

The grounds and pool area are designed in a way to create intimate and romantic areas when relaxing and sunbathing. You are not allowed to reserve sun loungers so there are always ones available. The views and the grounds are spectacular, the sea is warm and shallow and you can while away your day watching the fishermen bringing in their catch.

Some guests moaned about the food but we think you need to remember you are in the middle of the Indian Ocean and tasting different food is all part of the experience.

The only negative points we have to make is that the entertainment could be a bit repetitive and if you like a stroll out in the evening there is nowhere to go. However, if you like to explore there are loads of fabulous places to visit on this beautiful island. We would recommend going to the welcome meeting, deciding on what you want to do then go outside a get one of the taxi drivers to give you a price for the day. We found the taxi driver to be more flexible, helpful and knowledgeable than the guides on the organised tours.

Things to do - walking with the lions is a must. The waterfalls, black river gorge and 7 coloured earth is amazing. The crocodile park, tea plantation and rum distillery are also great places to visit. There are many more things we have not mentioned.

All in all a fabulous holiday in a beautiful place.

Room Tip: The top floor rooms have the best view but all rooms are see facing.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Veronica013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Paul et Virginie Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear valuable guests,

Congratulations again for your wedding.

Many thanks for sharing your experience in this review. We are all very pleased that you did enjoy your stay at Veranda Paul et Virginie, rewarding our passion for true Mauritian hospitality and aim to promote our 3* hotel in the beautiful north side of Mauritius.Indeed, we are taking in consideration your constructive observation for more variety in the evening entertainment.

I am delighted that you have mentioned Kiran, Man and Nitesh specifically. I am very proud of all my staff and it's really rewarding for all of us to read a complimentary and comprehensive review like yours. I hope to welcome you back soon for new memories and coming wedding anniversaries.

Sincerely,

Kaviraj Bhunjun
Hotel Manager
Veranda Paul et Virginie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Just back from Paul and Virginie. Had an amazing holiday. There isn't much around but we had a walk and felt we got a bit of a feel for the real Mauritius. Do get out and about to see the island- it is stunningly beautiful. This hotel is not ideal for children and is definitely more suitable for couples. There were so many people there on honeymoon or for special anniversaries. The rooms are spotless and very comfortable. We found the food to be varied and tasty. We had read reviews about people saying that breakfast was repetitive- do you have a different breakfast every day at home?? All staff were exceptionally professional and helpful. We would be back next year- if we could afford it! Enjoy.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank fraulyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Paul et Virginie Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear valuable guest,

Many thanks for sharing your travel experience on this website as it was a real pleasure hosting you at Veranda Paul et Virginie and reading that you really did enjoy the professionalism of our local staff as well as the food is a reward. Yes, our 3* hotel, named after Mauritius' most iconic couple Paul and Virginie, specializes in weddings, honeymoons and anniversaries, and is therefore an adult-only resort to create a truly a romantic atmosphere.

I'm glad you had the opportunity to view the beauty of Mauritius during your recent stay and that you both had a great time.


Thanking you once again for your visit and looking forward to welcoming you again

Kaviraj Bhunjun

Hotel Manager
Veranda Paul et Virginie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

This is just such a perfect place for just chilling. Admittedly it's in the middle of nowhere but since we only ventured across the road once during the 10 days, it really didn't matter. Be prepared to get your exercise in the following manner : walk to restaurant for breakfast, walk to beach, walk to restaurant for lunch, walk to beach, walk to bar for post lunch cocktails, walk to beach, walk to bar for pancakes, walk back to beach, walk to room, walk to bar. Wander back to room. Repeat x 10. We really really did mean to do other things but its just so relaxing here that we really couldn't summon up the will to leave.

Staff look after you brilliantly, really making you feel welcome and almost part of the establishment.

Other guests seem to be really friendly too.. Whether that is because every second person is on honeymoon and so is loved up anyway! Or maybe this place is just a secret club that we inadvertently joined, I'm not sure. Either way it added to the vibe.

Not sure about the need for "entertainment" every night, a couple of nights just letting guests chat with back ground music would have been good, but having said that the DJ choices were inspiring. Not often hotel djs play sex pistols or ac dc alongside the more usual offerings.

If it weren't 12 hours from here it would definitely be my hotel of choice for our annual chill out.

Definitely recommend 100%

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Chilli_the_pink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Paul et Virginie Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear valuable guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for recommending Veranda Paul et Virginie. We genuinely strive for perfection, and the suggestions that you provided about the night entertainment will help us build and improve on the road ahead.

Yes, there is "love is all around" atmosphere at Veranda Paul et Virginie, probably because it was named after Mauritius' most iconic couple, from the novel of Bernadin de Saint-Pierre "Paul et Virginie". A novel that we truly recommend if you wish to know more about the history of Mauritius. The peaceful and romantic vibe is also due to the fact that it is an adult-only resort, with no mini-club.

We do hope you that you shall come back again.
Thanking you once again for your visit.

Kaviraj Bhunjun

Hotel Manager
Veranda Paul et Virginie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My new wife and I had a wonderful honeymoon here. Although the hotel does not have the big beaches (it only has a small one) like the other hotels, it also does not have the big families either which made it perfect for our honeymoon.

We enjoyed the all inclusive option and seriously recommend this. The staff were super friendly and the food was great (especially the Marlin).

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 300nathanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Paul et Virginie Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear valuable guest,

Congratulations again on your wedding.

Many thanks for sharing your travel experience on this website as it was a real pleasure hosting you at Veranda Paul et Virginie and reading that you really did enjoy the kindness of our local staff as well as the food is a reward.

We are all very pleased that you did enjoy your stay at Veranda Paul et Virginie, rewarding our passion for true Mauritian hospitality.

We wish you many years of happiness in your married life and we look forward to welcome you again to celebrate your future wedding anniversaries.

Thanking you once again for your visit.

Clifford Pierre-louis

Hotel Manager
Veranda Pointe aux Biches

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews