We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mauricia Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in Grand Baie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

We visited in October 2013 and we are already booked and paid for October 2014! This should say it all. Can't wait to go back! Really worth it! The location -perfect, the staff and service-perfect, food to die for (unlesz you are picky)...all inclu. Package 110% mone value back!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank annelizebergh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,059)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

780 - 786 of 3,059 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2014

My wife and I have just returned from 9 nights at the Le Mauricia. Before I go any further, I must say that this was our seventh holiday at this hotel in the last seven years. The welcome from all the staff was marvellous - just like coming home. Our room was a "superior" beach front room and was in a quiet spot and was spotlessly clean. The room staff do an excellent job with decorations made from folded towels and flowers on the bed each day. Arvind, Ajay and all the gang in the restaurants really looked after us as did the bar staff who remembered which drinks we liked from last year! The grounds around the hotel are very well maintained and the swimming pools are a joy with plenty of room for the number of guests around each day. Each day we saw the general manager strolling around keeping an eye on things, helping clear tables in the restaurants and chatting to the guests - something that other hotels should take note of.
This year there was a little wind so I could windsurf. I also went fishing a few times further up the bay [without any luck]. The locals were catching and it was interesting to see their tactics.
We hired a car one day and drove further North and the down the old East coast road - what a great day! The tea plantation at Bois Cheri was a highlight, probably one of the most beautiful places on the island.
The great advantage of Mauritius to us is how accessible and safe everywhere is. The weather was superb, being in the mid 30's with just the occasional shower to cool us down. Also the new airport was very efficient. Our luggage was soon ready for collection, and on our return home the new Emirates lounge was very comfortable.
All in all then, although Mauritius is a long way from England it is one of those places that is very hard not to return to - see you all next year!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cooke1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

My wife and I had our honeymoon at the Le Mauricia in November 2013. It was our first time in Mauritius and our first experience with a Beachcomber resort. (I have vast experiences with Southern Sun and Sun International resorts). To be quite honest, everything about the Le Mauricia exceeded our highest expectations. The service was perfect in every respect, the amenities wonderful and we had a great stay. We will go back to Mauritius and we will stay at the Le Mauricia again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank f_labuschagne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

An entry-level Beachcomber Hotel, but one that offers excellent value for money with little compromise. The rooms are newly decorated and fulfil the requirements of most travellers. The restaurant is good and overlooks the expansive infinity swimming pool. The food is great. The service is excellent as what is the norm with all Beachcomber Hotels.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GusBehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Recently returned from a 12 night stay over the Xmas and new year period .
Wow ! It was fantastic
We stayed in an apartment , which had a view over a pool . Rooms were very spacious and quiet location . We were on an all inc package which was well worth it . Glorious food all day long .
Cuisine was excellent , great variety.
Xmas eve & new yrs eve were amazing . The amount of effort that was put in to organise these 2 events were outstanding . The food , ambience , entertainment could not be faulted.
The staff are all extremely polite, friendly and customer service is a priority. Location of the hotel is great , a short walk along the beach and you are in town .
The beach has lovely soft white sand and the sea is crystal clear .
Great hotel for the family . There were 5 of us ; 2 adults ;2 teenage boys and a9 yr old . Activities available for all ages . Can't wait to go back !
Special thanks to Nargis in reservations for all her hard work . Mervin in the Restaraunt who looked after us . Ghayaa for baking my sons birthday cake , & Robin who kept our apartment spotless.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nad80essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

very late to review sorry guys.

My wife and i stayed here in November to have a lovely eight days rest after a busy safari and a very stressful year at home.
We chose here to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary and wanted somewhere with a beautiful tropical beach.

We paid for an upgrade to have one of the garden rooms which overlooked the beach and was well worth paying for location wise. Everything worked and they were of a good size.The rooms were not particularly luxurious with plain concrete slab floors and fairly basic fittings & furniture but the staff, food and the location more than make up for it.

We had clean linen everyday and our amazing room cleaner created a different linen towel themed animal or object which was really nice touch. Despite the rooms being a little tired they were always clean.

This is a very romantic setting and if you want to lay on a stunning white sandy beach and bathe in the beautiful crystal water this is the place to go. we saw at least three wedding ceremonies during the week which was very special. Beautiful kept gardens and beach everyday no rubbish!

We steered clear of the excursions laid on by the agents at the hotel because they were very over priced indeed. After speaking with some of the locals we decided to catch the express air conditioned bus and it cost about £2.50 return for both of us amazing value for money.

We found the local people were very friendly but there was very little luxury and a great deal of obvious poverty around which was sad but very interesting to see how the locals lived.

Food in the hotel was served on a buffet basis for all meals and you were given an excellent choice everyday with a different theme. We usually sat outside in the courtyard and loved watching the moon light every night. Food quality was good for a 600 seated restaurant but not really of a gourmet standard, you could eat what you wanted and as much as you wanted and it just depends on how fussy you are.Our advice is to only go fully inclusive if you are big drinkers otherwise half board is plenty.

generally the staff were helpful and cared abut the residents and made you feel very welcome
We did not try eating in any restaurants but did use the supermarket in the small local town to buy snacks and water etc.

Overall we had a lovely stay and we would stay in this hotel again if ever we were in that area of Mauritius

Room Tip: Be careful to establish your room location as you could be allocated at the back with no sun or view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerard106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed here in December, bringing in the new year in at Le Mauricia. When we arrived we were greeted warmly by the staff, they explained how things worked as we were on the AI package and since we arrived very early the morning our room was not ready as yet. We however, proceeded to have breakfast and started enjoying the pool.
I was highly dissapointed when we were finally taken to our room. Firstly walking through the passages we got to see how old the hotel really was and the ROOM was so standard and poorly "cleaned" that we started contemplating whether we should upgrade - but decided not to. Bar fridge items were also very minimal and only had about 3 - 5 basic items in it.

The pool area next to the main restaraunt and bar area was lovely. My 3 year old daughter loved the pool and they catered to her need for chocolate milkshakes - pool side. The food, i.e. breakfast, lunch and dinner was nothing to write home about. It was bland and tasteless and then their excuse is that the hotel caters for European tastes.

The kids club was nice, my daughter enjoyed that. The staff there were very nice and they had good activities planned for the kids daily. I did not get to see the toilet and shower facilities that the kids were using, but from reading a previous review i am glad i did not!

We also took the opportunity to go and have dinner at Le Cannonier one night and here again we were dissapointed. Food was as bland as their sister hotel! Le Mauricia also has a "spa"/ wellness centre where we one day went for relaxation massages but it was more of a body rub than anything else!

With regards to shopping - we went into Grand Bay town which is walking distance from the hotel. The market was great, got some nice things at good prices and there was a shopping centre called Super U also not far from the resort - a place to get some things from the pharmacy, retail store, etc

After everything, we were so glad to go home and i will definitely not be staying there again. What a disspointed to a beachcomber resort!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tash_Momto2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Baie
1.8 mi away
Canonnier Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Canonnier Beachcomber Golf Resor...
#2 of 5 in Pointe aux Canonniers
3,780 reviews
6.4 mi away
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Sp...
#2 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
2,930 reviews
0.1 mi away
Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#6 of 27 in Grand Baie
2,549 reviews
24.5 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mauricia Beachcomber Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauricia Beachcomber Resort & Spa

Address: Royal Road, Grand Baie, Mauritius 30510 (Formerly Beachcomber Le Mauricia Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Baie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Grand Baie
#6 Family Hotel in Grand Baie
#8 Spa Hotel in Grand Baie
#8 Romantic Hotel in Grand Baie
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Grand Baie
Price Range: $199 - $747 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mauricia Beachcomber Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four-star resort in the heart of Grand Baie Located on the sun-drenched northern coast of Mauritius, Le Mauricia, a four-star Beachcomber hotel, is cosmopolitan and relaxed, simple yet cosy. Comfort and simplicity take centre stage. The hotel's architecture evokes the traditional Mediterranean style. All has been done to provide sweeping views of the bay from the public areas. The resort is within walking distance of the lively village of Grand Baie, one of Mauritius' main tourists' hubs, providing guests with a choice of restaurants, bars, discotheques and boutiques during their holiday in Mauritius. Le Mauricia also features a lovely wellness centre. Evoking a serene oasis, it has cabins designed to resemble nomadic tents, cleverly designed around a shaded pool. A range of land and water sports is on hand. Known as one of the most popular family resorts in Mauritius, Le Mauricia also provides an optional package called the "Beachcomber All-Inclusive Package" to allow families to relax in total peace of mind during their stay in Mauritius. Guests also have full access to the facilities of sister hotel Le Canonnier, another Beachcomber hotel located close to Le Mauricia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Mauricia Beachcomber Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Mauricia Grand Baie
Hotel Le Mauricia
Mauricia Beachcomber Resort & Spa Mauritius/Grand Baie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing