We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,100)
Filter reviews
2,100 results
Traveler rating
1,159
658
166
65
52
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,159
658
166
65
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews comfort room fashion show privilege room glass bottom boat the hotel manager head chef dance floor entertainment team boat house evening entertainment small beach special thanks walk along the beach la cuvette family room kids club banana bar
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 2,100 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Spent the first of 2 weeks in Mauritius at this hotel.

GB itself is a small town, and the hotel is on the outskirts, but within easy walking distance of the centre. It is positioned on the bay itself and has beautiful views across it. It is on a plot between another hotel and the marina but quite quiet. It is surrounded by beautiful plants and trees and you can sit out and watch some gorgeous birds flying around you, in and out of the trees.

We were half board, and that was fine. The food was nice and there was a reasonable choice. Our only complaint really was that sometimes it wasn't always hot - notably the soup. Our room was very nice: large and cool with a comfy bed. A nice touch were the adjustable reading lights which you could focus on your book and not disturb your partner. Staff were all very helpful and not intrusive at all. Rooms were kept nice and clean.

No problem finding a sun bed. Yes there were some towel layers, but not many.

The entertainment side of things isn't really our bag, but what we overheard sounded OK.

We went scuba diving every day with Emperator Divers, an outfit based at a hotel 10 minute drive away. They came and picked us up every day. I understand there are dive companies nearer, but we had received a recommendation to Emperator.

Thank you Verandah, we had a lovely time.

Room Tip: We were in room 700, ground floor set back a bit from the pool, and is a good place to sit in the morning and watch the birds in the trees.
  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChilledCoggeshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vikash D, Manager at Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good afternoon dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay with the Trip Advisor community. We are delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay and thank you for all your very positive comments. We have taken note of the hot soup comments. Once again, thank you for your support and see you soon at Veranda Grand Baie.

Best regards
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for our 2 week honeymoon and were really impressed by the level of service that we received. Every single member of staff was focused on making sure our stay was special. On arrival we were not keen on the room however, Ashvin, the reception manager looked after us with a change of room without any problems and made sure we were happy throughout our holiday.

For an All-Inclusive we found the choice and quality of food was brilliant, the executive chef would check with everyone at mealtimes to make sure you were happy, when we got talking to him about Mauritian food he made us some special dishes to try, we did intend to try eating out in Grand Baie more but the food was so good we stayed in the hotel. We had a lovely special candlelit meal on the beach, again was superb.

We went on the catamaran trip to Gabrielle Island booked through the water sports coordinator, this turned out to be really good value for money compared to the prices offered by the tour reps. The hotel has its own glass bottom boat which is good trip and there’s a dive school round the corner for scuba diving.

The bar team in Anoob, Nicholas and Rai were first class, always friendly and we always had a drink in our hand. We must mention Rai particularly as he was so attentive and proactive, he was always on the ball, he’d literally see us wake up on the sunbed and he’d bring us cold drinks. On our last night we were sat on the sun beds watching our last sunset, Rai knew it was our last night and appeared from nowhere with a cocktail for my wife and a beer for me to drink while we watched the sun go down.

In all a really special holiday, with great memories and a fabulous hotel. Would recommend to anyone.

Stayed: October 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank stazaa10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vikash D, Manager at Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good afternoon Stazaa,
I am delighted to read these positive feedback and your gratitude towards our always available and smiling staff. It is a real pleasure to receive feedback such as yours and for sure that give us extra motivation to offer the best for our guests. Looking forward to welcome you again on your next visit at Veranda Grand Baie to renew this experience.

Warmest regards
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2018

We stayed as B&B guests last month and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The location was ideal for walking out and exploring the local area, as well as for the many local restaurants and bards that are nearby. In terms of our stay, the accommodation was very good and the service provided by the staff was great. We were even able to secure a short extension on our room to facilitate the timing of our final day departure.

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JudithandPaul2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vikash D, Manager at Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good afternoon Judith,
Thanks for your feedback. It is with great pleasure that we read your compliments and we are delighted to note that you had a good stay at Veranda Grand Baie. We hope to see you soon !

Best regards
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2018

This was the last stop of our two week tour of Mauritius and we weren't disappointed.
Parking was available and were greeted in reception and asked to take a seat, where we were given a welcome drink whilst we waited for our room.
We had a comfort room and we given exactly what we had requested, a high floor, pool view with a big balcony where we enjoyed watching the colourful birds.
Breakfast was buffet style with lots of choices and even gluten free cereal and soy milk. Tea and coffee in the room is only provided on the first night, so take your own!
Two fabulous pools with plenty of sunbeds and another area overlooking the bay.
I used the gym which had cardio and weights, my friend used the spa and had a massage.
We went on the glass bottom boat, which you need to book, we were taken out into the bay for an hour where you could snorkel and see the tropical fish.
It is within walking distance of town, where there are shops and the Grand Bazaar which is in the back streets. The large Super U supermarket is also excellent.
We enjoyed our stay here which was a perfect end to our adventure in Mauritius.

Room Tip: we had room 624 on the 2nd floor with pool view, large room with balcony
  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank WoodheadManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vikash D, Manager at Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Goof afternoon dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay with the Trip Advisor community. We are delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay and thank you for all your very positive comments. Once again, thank you for your support and see you soon at Veranda Grand Baie for another memorable stay.

Warmest regards
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2018

Was absolutley fantastic, no complaints at all just good memories! All staff were friendly and helpful. Would love to go back. Whether that be as a couple or with family and friends as it would be equally as suitable

Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank gw0986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vikash D, Manager at Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2018

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely feedback in regards to your recent stay. I am pleased to hear that you have enjoyed our facilities and we managed to exceed your expectations while with us. We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews