We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Grand Baie
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“good family holiday”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

I have always maintained that Mauritius is a great value for money destination, particularly if you take the all inclusive package. Veranda Grand Baie is yet another great example that supports that train of thought.

We did have a few minor issues, but nothing that could not be sorted out:
1. Upon arrival my party of six were given two double rooms instead of two comfortable family rooms that had been booked in March, and were told we could move to the family rooms two days later after the weekend as they were fully booked. Eventually we stayed in the rooms we had as they were closer to the pool and dining area which was easier for the oldest (78) member of our party.
2. From day two we were being eaten alive by unseen insects. We used the mosquito mats provided in the rooms but were still taking hits. On the last day we were there the hotel had fumigators in so somebody else must have complained and they did take action.
3. Upon check out we received a hefty bill, which i pointed out was mainly for items included in the all inclusive rate, so someone serving in the dining area must have made a few mistakes. This was subsequently reduced substantially to a more agreeable figure but was stillnot 100%. Tip for travellers, don't let the kids sign for food and drinks. Check yourself that these bills are zero.

Otherwise we had a great time. Made use of the glass bottom boat several times to go snorkeling. There was good nightly entertainment. We put the tv on once and never again as there are only a few local channels, but there was no need for tv. You can watch tv back home.

Staff were always friendly and helpful. Room were always clean, had great service from the bar andin the dining area. I would have liked to see a little more seafood on offer as we were right at the beach. But everything we ate was fantastic.

There is also a spa if you want to be pampered, and there is a publich beach next door (2 minute walk) with anice sandy beach. Also note there is a diving school there. If you take the short walk to town, to the right, you will pass agents on the beach road for undersea walks. We booked for our last day but this was cancelled due to weather and we received a full refund. The bazaar (market) is also close by and worth a visit. There was free wifi in the lounge area.

Despite the minor hiccups we had, i would have no problems going back there and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Grand Baie.
The team and I are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We are however sorry for the few inconveniences mentioned and we thank you for your feedback, which will help us improve in the right direction. We look forward to welcome you again.

Sunny greetings

Vikash Dawoo
Hotel Manager
Veranda Grand Baie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    860
    455
    111
    44
    41
See reviews for
458
671
72
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2014

This was a very memorable experience. I highly recommend this hotel to any kind of traveler, wether it be as a family or the youth. From when we arrived till the moment we left we were surrounded with smiles from both the staff and other visitors.
The staff is always willing to help and go all out to make your stay worthwhile.
The guys at the bar Rai and Avi made sure we were always sorted with delicious cocktails and Jeff and Clive from entertainment made sure we had lots of memories
Rooms and food were incredible
Will definitely come back
Thank you for an amazing experience

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayla482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Grand Baie, especially for your wedding. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to Rai, Jeff, Clive and Avi and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Sunny Greetings
Vikash Dawoo
Hotel Manager
Veranda Grand Baie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

This is a wonderful place! Happy staff, yummy food, comfortable rooms and amazing vibe! The hotel is right on the beach with awesome activities! Well worth your money :) We love you Rai, Jim and Manav! Lots of love from your friends from South Africa!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sameelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Grand Baie, especially for your wedding. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to Rai, Jim and Manav and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Sunny Greetings
Vikash Dawoo
Hotel Manager
Veranda Grand Baie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We stayed at Veranda Grand Baie Hotel from 12 – 22 July 2014.
It is a great hotel the staff is wonderful - very helpful and friendly. They have a service orientated attitude that makes you feel welcome and right at home. I wish some other holiday destinations would learn from them!
The food at the hotel was excellent with a wide variety to choose from, we will have to exercise now that we’re back to get rid of the extra weight.
While there we visited the SPA and also received excellent treatment! I would recommend you visit the SPA to ensure extra relaxation during your stay.
The rooms are comfortable and well equipped with everything you need.
The view from the glass bottom boat is also great and snorkelling is a must. Those who like to shop van visit the Grand Baie Bazaar, its within walking distance.
Entertainment is also great with a different theme every night.
While there also try a catamaran cruise with Tamamsa to Gabriel Island. The water around there is just amazing! The soft, white sandy beaches are a blessing and the water is crystal clear. An amazing spot for snorkelling and swimming.
We would recommend Veranda Grand Baie to anyone that visit Mauritius!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chr001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you again for choosing Veranda Grand Baie.
The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to the team and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcome you again.
Vikash Dawoo
Hotel Manager
Veranda Grand Baie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2014

i came with my family for only one night unfortunately but even though had a wonderful time and the price too is affordable.Had nice trip in a glass bottom boat and by kayak.Staffs were friendly and very helpful.The food was really tasty and the rooms were very comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vector P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you again for choosing Veranda Grand Baie.
The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to the team and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcome you again.
Vikash Dawoo
Hotel Manager
Veranda Grand Baie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poste Lafayette
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2014

I entirely enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The staff was friendly (special mention Pynee and his team from the restaurant who were especially accommodating and friendly), the rooms were spectacular (spacious and well maintained), and the atmosphere warm and friendly. The programs and facilities were also a very welcomed bonus.

In addition, something I REALLY liked was the convenience of the friendly approach of the staff and mostly from the Head of the Front Office.

Overall, I found VGB to be a fantastic place and would visit again. It's a place I would definitely recommend.
Special thanks to Vikash, the Resort Manager.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sewocksing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you again for choosing Veranda Grand Baie, especially for your wedding. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to Pynee and his team and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcome you again.
Sunny Greetings
Vikash Dawoo
Hotel Manager
Veranda Grand Baie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Location is great. Situated on the beach & close to shopping area. Staff were very friendly & accommodating . Pillows were very uncomfortable & my hubby was disappointed that there were very few English speaking programs on the television. Would have been nice to have complimentary tea & coffee , instead of charging 30 rupees (approx $1aud) per tea bag.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOANNE19562014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you again for choosing Veranda Grand Baie, especially for your wedding. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to the team and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable. We took your remark regarding the tea bags in consideration and we thank you for your feedback, which will help us improve in the right direction. We look forward to welcome you again.

Sunny Greetings
Vikash Dawoo
Hotel Manager
Veranda Grand Baie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Baie
0.7 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
2,350 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mauricia Beachcomber Resort & Spa
4.1 mi away
Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel
Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel
#3 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,484 reviews
21.3 mi away
Friday Attitude
Friday Attitude
#2 of 8 in Trou d'eau Douce
788 reviews
0.6 mi away
Baystone Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa

Property: Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa
Address: Royal Road, Grand Baie, Mauritius 30510
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Baie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Grand Baie
#7 Spa Hotel in Grand Baie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AN OASIS IN THE HEART OF BUZZY GRAND-BAIE Veranda Grand Baie Hotel and Spa nestles in a beautiful bay at the heart of the lively village of Grand Baie - with its restaurants, bars, nightclubs and shops at your door step. This is the ideal place to immerse yourself in local life or yacht out to the beautiful islands of the north. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Veranda Grand Baie Hotel Grand Baie
Veranda Grand Baie Hotel And Spa
Veranda Hotel Grand Baie
Grand Baie Veranda Hotel
Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing