We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't get room on road side. No mattress protector - smelly sheets”
Review of Ocean Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Villas
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Grand Baie
london
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Don't get room on road side. No mattress protector - smelly sheets”
Reviewed June 1, 2011

We were persuaded to book 2 nights here at the airport. From the brochure it looked lovely, but of course the price reflected the room which was above the reception front door, on the busy road (either room number 1 or 5). The traffic was very noisy and to top it all there were birds or rats scratching on top of the roof the entire night. I barely slept an hour the whole night. The room was very small and there was no mattress protector, which is unbelievable for a hotel. Imagine all those sweaty nights spent on a mattress which is only covered by an old threadbare sheet. The sheet and pillow covers may have been clean, but they were smelly. We were moved to a quieter room above the reception area, away from the road, which was much better, but still no mattress protector. The breakfast was okay, a bit tatty and disappointing. I'd rather go back to Ti Fleur, which isn't on the beach (just across the road), but is very clean and cheaper. Otherwise, Le Beach Club is so much better, especially if you get a room on the beach. Idyllic swimming.

I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leeollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    117
    64
    36
    28
See reviews for
75
169
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2011

We stayed at Ocean Villas for 9 nights. The rooms are really nice and have aircon - which was necessary as it gets so hot and humid on Mauritius. It is definitely a good value for the money. The food in the restaurant was rather average - but the service friendly. There is a small private beach to the hotel - but it is really small and as it is in the bay of Grand Baie the water is quiet like in a lake and there is no open sea with waves. I would nevertheless stay there again - you are very central and can go everywhere from the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maren-Maus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2011

We booked the place after googling online and I must admit despite our reservations, it quite exceeded our expectations.

Great location. Cozy accommodation. Warm and very helpful front-desk staff. Great food. Amazing outdoor activities. Romantic beach. Nice theme evenings.

Could not have asked for anything more.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AswinPalanivel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S.africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2011

First i would like to thanks the guest relations manager mister Ashil who has help me a lot concerning my trips to quad biking, casela, water park,very attentive.Very professional staff. I enjoyed my stay wonderful staff at the reception. Very attentive, very helpful. i stayed in room 313 pool view room very nice. Balinaise massage was vey nice. Two nice girls.
I would like to recommend all of you ocean beach hotel and spa very good place to relax and nice place also.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edensmmmmmmmmmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2011

We had a lovely stay at Ocean Villas. The staff were wonderful, especially the waiters in the restaurant. The room was perfect for us with two bedrooms and two balconys.
I must say we loved everything about this hotel. The beach was beautiful and the whole family could swim for hours there.
We were on half-board and the food was good. However after two weeks you are a bit tired of these buffets.
The location is also perfect for us, a bit outside Grand Bay. It was easy to take the bus to the centre.
Mauritius is a wonderful island. It´s very clean and well organized and the people are so nice. We will certainly come back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PCT41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2011

We used to stay at Ocean Villas while the family was expatriated there in the villas. Been there in early February this year. We booked online for a family suite on their website, no fuss.

Pleasant improvements at the reception area, newly refurbished rooms, called the contemporary rooms. They now have a new wing of the hotel for couples with two new pools reserved for the new wing.

The same staff were there, Dev at the bar, the housekeepers, the gardeners. Same good food although the menu was limited.

The recent post mentioned some negative points, one about the security guard taking him out of breakfast. That made me laugh, knowing the owners and most of the staff. I bet he must have done something stupid for security to be called!

Front office could be better organised with activities planning and sightseeing information.

Excellent value for money, the friendly staff, good service and reliable wi-fi made my staff comfortable. Keep on improving Ocean Villas and don't increase the rates!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebsK0202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2011

Just returned after a Christmas two week stay at Ocean Villas. We were there with 3 children. The 4 bedroom triplex accommodation was large but very basic. infested with ants and gheckos. The hotel policy of insisting that you pay the final 50% of your bill as soon as you have arrived after what is a long flight from England and then over an hours drive from the airport is silly, the lady we were dealing with get very stroppy when my husband insisted he have a shower and freshen up before he make any payment.

we were on a half board basis, which I would not reccommend as the evening meals were lousy,although there were plenty of choice after 14 nights not one meal was enjoyable. Breakfast was ok, although slightly offputting by the flies landing on the fruit and croissents. Beach small but kept clean , the two young men from the boat house were wonderful, friendly helpful and had great patience in teaching my kids to water ski. the most friendly by far of all ocean villas staff. reception and restaurant staff miserable.

take no notice of the timings at ocean villas, breakfast was supposed to be 7.30 till 10.00 howver most mornings they were still setting up at 8am one morning guests even had to get our own coffee from the bar.

last word of advice CHECK your final extras bill as you leave, as they tried to charge us for internet access we did not even use.

Overall stay at ocen villas if allyou require is sea, sand and sun as it doesn't really have much else going for it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186220Sunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliffordNg, Owner at Ocean Villas, responded to this review, February 18, 2011
Dear Madam, thank you for taking time to write your review, I am sorry that you felt that the hotel did not meet your expectations.

Mauritius is a tropical country with lots of greeneries, home to a rich wild and marine life. Although we have a pest and rodent control by Rentokil at the hotel, one should expect some harmless insects which form part of our fragile eco-system. Ocean Villas thinks ecological and is against the use of intensive chemical fogging as far as possible. We nevertheless discourage our guests to leave food uncovered at all times, so as not to attract the ants and other insects.

As far as the restaurant is concerned, our dinners are usually well appreciated by our guests, coming mainly from Europe. We are sad to learn after your departure that the meals were not to your taste, as the accommodating Chef could have made alternatives for you. For the benefit of fellow Trip Advisor members, the half board dinner menu ranges from barbecue, Indian buffet, Chinese night, creole food, Mediterranean food among others.

Due to the heat wave starting from December, flies were more active, but are now under control with our pest control supplier, Rentokil.

I am sorry to hear that at times our personal service fell short of our usual good standard and we would like to assure you that I have discussed your comments with the team here.

On a more positive note, I am pleased that you enjoyed the watersports from Ocean Villas boathouse team.

Nevertheless we would love to have you back at the hotel. If you would like to discuss with me further on the above issues, please do contact me at the hotel.

Kind regards, Clifford Ng
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Baie
1.3 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
2,349 reviews
0.8 mi away
Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Mont Choisy Coral Azur Beach Resort
Mont Choisy Coral Azur Beach Res...
#3 of 10 in Trou aux Biches
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mauricia Beachcomber Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
Pereybere Hotel & Spa
Pereybere Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Pereybere
500 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baystone Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Villas

Property: Ocean Villas
Address: Royal Road, Grand Baie, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Baie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Grand Baie
#13 Spa Hotel in Grand Baie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ocean Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Villas Hotel Grand Baie
Ocean Hotel Grand Baie
Ocean Villas Mauritius/Grand Baie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing