We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All Inclusive...? Don't think so...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Merville Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Grand Baie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2007

A very pleasant family hotel on the outskirts of Grand Baie. The rooms and fittings are looking tired and could well do with upgrading. The staff are good natured and do their best to make you feel welcome and special. However, food is basic and very repetitive so if you like something special then this is not the place for you. We travelled as a group for a family wedding and this hotel proved ideal for such a purpose. One word of warning, we went on an 'all inclusive' basis but alas 'all inclusive' is not all inclusive. Most cocktails and special drinks are not included nor are some meals so consider this at the time of booking. Also, all inclusive service only runs between the hours of 10:00am and midnight. Outside these hours everything is to be paid for except breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Twobucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,522)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

944 - 950 of 2,522 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2007

My wife and I stayed for 2 weeks in November 06. We both recommend the hotel. The staff are friendly, the rooms in the main block are spacious, air conditioned (the ac was a bit noisy) and comfortable. Most have a direct sea view. The main building does look a bit dated and corridors a bit pokey but you don't live in the corridors!

Breakfasts were good - wide choice of continental / English and local fresh fruit. Restaurant food was OK - mainly barbecue / buffet style though more bland than expected and began to lose it's appeal after the first week.

Drinks in the hotel were expensive but to be expected. Local shops / restaurants much more reasonable.

Excellent private beach and pool.

Waterskiing, sailing, canoeing are all included in the holiday price and the beach staff were very patient and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank fiftyplus_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2007

stayed at this hotel 3 years ago and have to say , the experience almost put me off ever going on holiday again. arrived at 10am having travelled for the best part of 20 hours via paris only to be kept waiting for 2 hours, before being told that not alone did the hotel not have a booking for us, they did not have a free room. this despite the fact that the holiday had been booked 8 months previously. eventually shunted to the opposite end of the island to the hilton, where we were met by a rep from white sands who parked us in the bar with a drink and went to check us in, an hour later a receptionist came and asked were we checking in, this was when i found out that the rep had left the hotel without bothering to check us in, things went downhill from there, white sands it seemed expected us not alone to pay for our original holiday, but also to foot the bill for the hilton, i spent 5 days in the lobby of the hilton hotel chasing after the rep[who could have given the scarlett pimpernel a run for his money] and arguing the toss as to who was going to foot the bill for the hilton. eventually ended up back at the merville beach, which i can honestly say having been all over the world, is without exception the worst hotel it has ever been my misfortune to stay in, grotty is probably the best word to describe it , we were in a superior room, all i can say is i dread to think what the standard rooms were like. the service was dreadful 30 minutes wait for a drink not counting how long it took to get the attention of a staff member first to order one tables not laid, food going cold while you waited for cutlery. it was so bad that i spent the remainder of the holiday trying to get out of the place and home. it is a gorgeous setting but there it ends found the locals to be unpleasant and intent to a man on ripping off tourists all in all the best thing about this holiday apart from getting out of the place was meeting a canadian couple who we keep in touch with to this day.

  • Stayed: September 2004, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JODEAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2007

My husband John and I and 7 additional members of my family made the journey to Merville Beach for our wonderful beach wedding on 10th January 2006. We had a wonderful holiday and wedding (it was second time round for both of us so we didnt want any fuss!) The only 2 real
complaints were that we were billed for rather expensive waiter service to have our meal after the wedding served on the beach (it was 8 steps away from our usual table but we were billed £200 pounds
extra the day we left. And the senior wedding planner needs to get a personality transplant after dicussing what we wanted for the event with the younger planner we had a lovely day.Please dont judge the resort by others make your own mind up just arrive with an open mind and I promise it will be a holiday to remember, if it helps John and I have rebooked to celebrate our 2nd anniversary next year.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank acrawshaw68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2007

Travelled with Island Escape in late April 2007 for two weeks.

Stayed in the main block of the Hotel. Our room was clean and bright, but could benefit with a make over. The Hotel we believe is to be refurbished in the next eighteen months. Bathroom was clean and of a reasonable size with a bath, although the black grit non-slip surface on the bottom of the bath made in look slightly grubby.

We stayed all-inclusive which was good value. All meals and local drinks included (except mini bar). Wide choice at breakfast, but the birds are a real nuisance. There is a lunch buffet, but we normally took one of the excellent range of rolls and toasted sandwiches. Dinner is either a buffet or a set menu. The set menu is not to all tastes, but on request they are always willing to offer a simple off menu alternative.

All the staff we met were very helpful and friendly and went out of their way to make ours a great stay.

Superb location on a sandy bay close to Grand Baie. Excellent range of water sports available. There is a buoyed off swimming area of about 50m by 70m. About 20 minutes walk or short taxi ride to the wide range of shops in Grande Baie.

If you are looking to run go north. The first ¾ of a mile is along the main road, but once you enter the public beach area you can run for several miles on beautiful beaches. Go early it gets hot and sticky very quickly.

We would strong recommend the hotels trip to Ile des Deux Cocos.

Overall a great value holiday and the hotel delivers a holiday more than the 3star plus rating of the hotel making it very good value. We would go again.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Northdowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2007

My partner and I stayed here for 11 nights in Sept 2006. We wanted to get away from it all and relax on a beach in a quiet, reasonable hotel. We were not expecting perfection for this price but we did expect a decent hotel.

The location is pretty good and the beaches not bad at all - in fact lying under the blue skies with fluffy white clouds sailing by was idyllic. But that is the island and not the hotel.

I am very pleased we upgraded to the garden rooms - the standard block is revolting. Our room was comfortable and clean-ish - but the linen was worn and generally we felt that it was all a bit tatty.

The food is generally average and sometimes dire. The restaurant is claustrophobic. The staff were often surly with a few exceptions in the restaurant who were very friendly and helpful. Most of the staff on reception in particular were simply rude.

The beach was very quiet - I gather that at Xmas it is packed and that would have made it an unbearable holiday so think carefully! You can only swim out a little way as there are barriers designed to give most of the sea to water sports - simply unforgivable. When you go to a tropical island you expect to be able to swim further out than 25 metres. So unless you are a poseur who likes to show off your limited water-skiing ability this may not be the place for you.

I have stayed in very good and expensive hotels but it would not be fair to compare Merville Beach to those. However for the price, ad given the claims made in its brochure, it should be a lot better. There is no way that I would return and I think the people who claim this is "heaven" have possibly never stayed in a good hotel.

By the way the Mexican restaurant half way into Grand Baie is outstanding! It's next to the Gas clothes shop by the petrol station. Extremely good food and very welcoming people - but if they offer you a chilli brandy at lunch time think twice! Ouch!

Stayed: September 2006
4  Thank WhizzingAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2007

My husband and I booked a holiday at the Merville Beach Mauritius because we had had a very trying time over the last few years and wanted to de-stress.
When we arrived we were met with a lovely cooling drink and our rooms were sorted out very quickly, the staff were attentive and friendly.
We soon felt that we were in paradise as the beach and hotel grounds were beautiful. The temperature was in the 30's.
The next day the weather started to deteriorate and we were told on the following day that a Cyclone was expected. The staff posted warning and advice on what to do, and the guests were looked after well.
Unfortunately some people experienced a delay in being able to return home as the airport shut down and all travelling even by road was not allowed. The Airport was closed for four days with no incoming or outgoing planes.
During our two week stay we had four days of hot weather and the rest was continual rain and high winds. On even the sunny days it rained.
We experienced a few problems at the hotel. one of the problems was due to other guests from other countries who were extremely rude to my husband and myself. The second problem was that alternate days the food in the hotel was buffet style and it was easy to pick food that you liked but, on the alternate days there was waiter service and the choice was very limited and not to our taste.
Despite this we found a fantastic restaurant just outside Grand Bay which was called Le Capitaine. The food was delicious and the service equalled that we had in Central Park last year.
We were unlucky re the weather but we had been told that March was Mauritius's summer and did not expect to be caught up in a Cyclone but we virewed it as an act of god and felt that the holiday would have been better if the food had been more carefully thought about.
Hoiwever the hotel has a new manager and hopefully he can put this teathing problem right.
The Water sports are super, if there is not a Cyclone. There is also Spa facilities in the hotel and a Gym overlooking the sea -Bliss.

Stayed: March 2007
4  Thank Marionsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Baie
0.7 mi away
Pereybere Hotel & Spa
Pereybere Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Pereybere
586 reviews
0.7 mi away
Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa
4.2 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
3,159 reviews
25.1 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,582 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mauricia Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merville Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merville Beach Hotel

Address: Coast Road, Grand Baie, Mauritius 245121
Location: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Baie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Grand Baie
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Grand Baie
#5 Spa Hotel in Grand Baie
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grand Baie
Price Range: $130 - $564 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Merville Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merville Beach Hotel is situated on the north-west corner of Mauritius in Grand Baie, 20 minutes from the capital , Port Louis.All 221 rooms are in the 2 wings stretching from the main building in a slightly elevated position overlooking the bay. All rooms have a magnificent sea view. Direct dialing telephones, Radio, TV-video, Mini-bar, Safe Deposit box, Hair Dryer and Private Bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Merville Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merville Beach Grand Baie
Hotel Merville Beach
Merville Beach Hotel Mauritius/Grand Baie
Merville Beach Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing