We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding destination”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Merville Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Grand Baie
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
Level Contributor
135 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Wedding destination”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Travelled March, for our April wedding, lovely resort, wedding all ran smoothly, staff, food good.
If went back to mauritius would probably opt for a newer more, more modern hotel - but price wise the Merville does offer value for money - just be aware that the rooms although clean and spacious could do with a bit of an upgrade, and more choice in restaurants would be good, decent location for walking into Grand Baie for a small selection of shops and bars.
Good hotel, but much better can be found if you have the budget.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mauritianbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony D, Manager at Merville Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Sir/Madam,

It was a real pleasure having you with us last year and I take the opportunity to congratulate you once again for your wedding.

I am glad to tell you that the bungalow, deluxe and superior rooms have undergone soft refurbishment works since last year. I hope these changes will be to your liking during your next trip to Mauritius.

In the meantime , please rest assured of our hospitality at all times.

Tony Duval.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,304
    755
    148
    32
    25
See reviews for
555
1,327
55
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 11nights in January 2014 in Deluxe Beachfront room. Always smiling staff, very impressive and relaxing cortyard with many flowers, ponds and a small waterfall. Excellent room service, always clean room. All the staff speak English. Not very big beach, but enough for all the guests. We were on groundfloor so we had a terrace with a table, two chairs and two private chaise lounges, only 3-4 meters from the beach. We took only breakfasts and the quality was good enough, not excellent sometimes but satisfactory. I think the hotel could improve the choice. Every evening there were different shows - dancing, singing and others, very nice and funny. We enjoyed our vacations.

Room Tip: Our room was 510, with unforgettable view on the ocean, not near the restaurant and reception, very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larelinsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony D, Manager at Merville Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Sir/Madam,

I am delighted to read your very nice comments on your stay at Merville beach and would like to take this opportunity in thanking you for choosing us.

There is always room for improvement and I can assure you that I shall look into the quality of food offered during breakfast time in order to maintain consistency.

Meanwhile, we look forward to see you back and do not hesitate to contact me if I may be of any help.

Sincerely Yours,
Tony Duval.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed one day and night at the Merville Beach Resort, Grande Baie. We had chosen a standard room in the main building from the seventies. This was our last night of a 12-days visit to Mauritius and we wanted to see the Gande Baie aria.

We arrived at noon and were welcomed by smiling receptionists who gave us information about practical issues. After a little while our room was ready. The room had a little balcony from where we could see the Ocean to one side and the neighborhood to the other. The room was OK but not very big and the furniture had known better days. One of the wooden doors was apparently attacked by woodworms or insects since wood powder was dripping out when we touched it. This was by no means disturbing. It was worse when we realized that the AC did not work. It was humming but did not cool. It was a hot day, and until a maintenance team a couple of hours later managed to fix it, it became unpleasantly hot in the room.

The hotel is sitting in a very nice area with a wonderful beach. There are no debris of corals on the sea floor (at least not near the shore) and bathing shoes are not needed. We love snorkeling and found colored fish to look at near some rocky stretches. However, the beach was rather crowded and there were no vacant sun beds until it started to rain. On the down side was that one has to walk through the restaurant and lobby in ones swim suit to get from the beach to the room.

We did not have dinner at the hotel, but the breakfast buffet was fine with many choices – much more than we could cope with.

Merville Beach is quite close to “down town” Grande Baie (100 – 150 MUR by taxi), and we could easily have walked there had it not been so hot and humid. It is a good base if one wants to explore the Grande Baie area.

The hotel has shower and refreshment facilities for guests who stay after check out. Our departure from Mauritius was in the evening so we used this bathing facility. A friendly staff showed us the way. The bathing room was nice and clean, but unfortunately also in this room the AC was not working, and the room became quickly like a humid sauna; this was not nice when putting on all our travel clothes.

It was our seventh visit to Mauritius and as always we used Taxis Mauritius for the airport transfer. It was the boss himself who picked us up, and he took us via a new beautiful mountain route towards the airport. We paid 1,400 MUR for this 1 hour and 15 min trip which is Taxis Mauritius’s standard charge for airport transfers and other long trips.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J-Dissing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony D, Manager at Merville Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Mr Dissing,

I would like to thank you for staying at Merville Beach recently.

I am happy to see that you were generally happy with the facilities offered.

However, I wish to apologise for the inconveniences you encountered in the rooms and am pleased to inform you that we have already completed the works that needed attention in the said rooms.

I am also pleased to inform you that we have ordered more beach beds in order to enhance the comfort of all our guests.

Once again do accept our apologies for the inconveniences and I hope you will give us the pleasure to welcome you back to our shores.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if I may be of any help to you on your next visit to Mauritius.

Yours faithfully,

Tony Duval.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

I must start by saying sorry to all the staff at the Merville Beach Hotel for my lateness in posting this review as they were always so prompt in their service to myself and husband, but a lot has happened since our holiday with you.The the welcome we were given when arriving was one of the friendliest ever received and was just the start of a very relaxing well needed rest, the rooms we had overlooked the beautiful beach and we could not have asked for more or expected how pretty everything was, there are was free watersports on offer to all guests which was a very good idea. The evening buffet arrangements were very good and the sweets were delicious, my husband tucked in most nights as his waist will tell.
The town is not far from the hotel but we taxied as too hot for us to walk, there is a very good shopping precinct with supermarket and food courts, that's if you want the fast food options, you will find the obligatory McDonalds and KFC but others as well. In the town there is a lovely bay where the locals hang out as its a public one and not attached to a hotel.
The only other thing I can say about the Merville is what are you waiting for if you want a peaceful time and no hassle book yourselves in for a stay.
Once again a big thank-you to Mr Tony and all the staff who were so kind to us, especially the lady at the bacon and eggs breakfast section who struck up a friendship with my husband, this holiday will always hold many special memories for us, including the special anniversary dinner we had courtesy of the hotel. Many thanks to all.

Room Tip: The de-lux seafront villa rooms were lovely as they were not the main hotel block, but set away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank binxy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony D, Manager at Merville Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Sir/Madam,

I would like to thank you for staying at Merville Beach on the special occasion of your anniversary.

The whole team and I are grateful for your very nice comments, particularly Radha, the lady at breakfast, she was very pleased to learn about your kind words.

In our endeavor to continuously help people celebrate life; do rest assured of our hospitality at all times.

Yours Sincerely,

Tony Duval.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballitoville, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stay in this hotel annually and have done so for the past 5 years. we will keep going back because the whole experience is a pleasure. it is definitely cost effective, good location, good food and an amazing place to go to just relax !!1

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony D, Manager at Merville Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Barbara,

First of all, I would like to thank you for your fidelity towards Merville Beach.

The whole team and I are very happy that, this time again, you were generally satisfied with our services.

Meanwhile, we cannot wait to see you back for another pleasurable holiday.

Yours Sincerely,

Tony Duval.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

A beautiful hotel with a beautiful beach which has all the sports activity as well. Hotel staff was very pleasent and helpful all stay long. Check in and check out was very simple. A special thanks to Mr Kevin for that as we arrived late for check in and extended our stay till pick up time for the flight.Room extension came with free Pizza from the Pizzeria. The room was strategically placed so we could walk to the restaurant from the beach and that was really nice to do in the morning with my wife.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Loshniban T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony D, Manager at Merville Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Loshniban,

Thank you for choosing Merville Beach for your stay in Mauritius.

I am happy to see that our team members have achieved our vision in “Making Each Moment Matter”, particularly Kevin, who is very happy of your appreciation.

Until we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our shores, do rest assured of our hospitality at all times.

Tony Duval.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacoas
Level Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

I was there in OCtober 2013... the hotel had friendly and very helpfull staff. We were greeted and welcomed very well. everyting was nice and good except that the room had a rather unpleasant smell when you first get into the room as well as the corridors. The breakfast menu and dinner menu despite being open buffet had limited choices. but the food was excellent, service was excellent. I believe the hotel just needs an infrastructure upgrade....

Room Tip: ask for the deluxe superior room which is sea facing on the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luvyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony D, Manager at Merville Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Luvyy,

It was a real pleasure having you with us last year.

Thank you for your kind words towards the team members who are very happy to learn of your appreciation.

We are deeply sorry about the unpleasant smell you experienced in the corridors and the room. This was due to a water leakage of a main pipe onto the carpet, thus generating a strong smell of humidity. However, we are happy to inform you that this matter has already been fixed. The other good news is that the rooms and the corridor will be refurbished during the course of the year.

We hope you will give us the pleasure to welcome you once again and do not hesitate to contact me personally if you need assistance whatsoever.

Yours Sincerely,

Tony Duval.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Baie
0.6 mi away
Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Mauricia Beachcomber Resort & Spa
4.2 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,331 reviews
21.5 mi away
Friday Attitude
Friday Attitude
#1 of 8 in Trou d'eau Douce
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Palm Beachcomber Luxury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merville Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merville Beach Hotel

Property: Merville Beach Hotel
Address: Coast Road, Grand Baie, Mauritius 245121
Location: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Baie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Grand Baie
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Grand Baie
#5 Family Hotel in Grand Baie
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grand Baie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Merville Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merville Beach Hotel is situated on the north-west corner of Mauritius in Grand Baie, 20 minutes from the capital , Port Louis.All 221 rooms are in the 2 wings stretching from the main building in a slightly elevated position overlooking the bay. All rooms have a magnificent sea view. Direct dialing telephones, Radio, TV-video, Mini-bar, Safe Deposit box, Hair Dryer and Private Bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Merville Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merville Beach Grand Baie
Hotel Merville Beach
Merville Beach Hotel Mauritius/Grand Baie
Merville Beach Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing