We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and delicious food, friendly staff!”
Review of Restaurant La Plancha - CLOSED

Restaurant La Plancha
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Cheap and delicious food, friendly staff!”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Spotted a sign for this restaurant while walking along the main road and so happy we did as it's up a little alley and may be a bit hard to find. We had the plate du jour (there were two options for a little variety) and it was delicious. Food came quickly and we couldn't fault it. Cocktails were a little pricey for the size, however we were still amazed at what a cheap dinner it was considering the quality.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tashNjosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    33
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“average”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

walking through grand bay we tried this place ,its very basic the prawns were shrimps than real prawns ,asked the manager she said in Mauritius this is prawns

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank owen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
136 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent food for a very low price”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Absolutely recommend this place. Its just behind the beach road in Grand Baie and its easy to walk by this restaurant. But you should visit this. All meals are freshly prepared in front of you. The menu's are unbelievable, hard to imagine how they can offer it for such a low price. We had some excellent Creole Dorade fillet and the day before perfectly prepared fresh calamaris. It was perfectly cooked. The staff is modest, polite and very friendly.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cor t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Jan K”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We had a launch menu there, very tasty, fish had been prepared just in front of us, fresh ingredients, very pleasant staff. We can only recommend it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kolarik_jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious food and amazing environment”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Beverages and snacks must try smiles and pasta.... ..on nice location ,,,staff were humble and great sense of humour

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pooja C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant La Plancha also viewed

Pereybere, Grand Baie
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
 
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
Pereybere, Grand Baie
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing