We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home made pasta”
Review of Rivoli

Rivoli
Ranked #10 of 156 Restaurants in Grand Baie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Rivoli Restaurant is a cozy pleace where to spend a nice evening in a mediterranen atmosphere into the indian ocean.With is special menu changing depending of fresh and seasonal products gives you the opportunity to taste pasta, deserts and bread home made, fresh cheeses and salami from italy like burrata and stracciatella and fresh fish and meat.Plus two week end per month special events during the dinner as a theatre or magic show and many more........Il Ristorante Rivoli e un posto intimo dove spendere una bella serata in un'atmosfera mediterranea nel bel mezzo dell' oceano indiano.Con il suo menu speciale che cambia in base ai prodotti di stagione freschi, vi da l'opportunita di assaggiare pasta pane e dessert fatti in casa, formaggi e salumi importati dall'italia come per esempio la burrata e la stracciatella o se preferite pesce e carne freschi.In piu due week end al mese serate speciali di intrattenimento......
London
Level Contributor
400 reviews
288 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Home made pasta”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Although on a corner of the main coast road opposite the Harley Davidson shop, the patio area is a pleasant retreat. Service was pleasant, but at a leisurely Italian pace! The home made Spag vongole, had been steamed in foil, to get all the clam juice flavour infused into the pasta. My wife's fish balls looked enormous, but were light and full of flavour. The orchietti ragu was perfectly cooked, as was the seared tuna. The only slight criticism was the Tiramisu, which being served in an inverted cone shaped glass, which meant the ratio of cream/mascarpone to filling was too great, if that makes sense? We had a good bottle of Barbera D'Alba, and some rhum. At about £95, this was one of our most expensive meals on the Island outside our hotel, but it was worth it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank martinidoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    50
    14
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing food!”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Me and my wife went for food here earlier tonight. Firstly the service was second to none. They couldn't have do e a better job.
We started off with some nibbles which was a nice touch while we decided what to eat, then for starters we shared a plater of mozzarela (or something similar) with focochia bread, salami and rocket salad, I mentioned my wife was a vegiterian and they were happy to put the meat on one dish and the other items on another.

For main I had fillet steak, I think this is the best fillet steak I have ever had, my wife had a lovely gnocchi in tomato sauce. We were offered desert but were simply too full to eat any more.

Compared to prices we have paid on other nights it was more expensive, but for the quality and freshened I felt it was very reasonably priced. I don't think it was any where near over priced. The menu was small but there was still a lot of choice.

Lovey people too.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank si0n3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillcrest, South Africa
Level Contributor
83 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Bellissimo!”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We were a party of six adults for dinner. Service was prompt and attentive. Managed by a husband and wife team which manifests in the quality of the food and the service. Food was tasty and well-presented. Choose from the daily specials. Quaint restaurant in an attractive setting. Fair wine selection, but, in my opinion, a little pricey. Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MartinG987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francavilla Al Mare, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great italian food”
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

The menu was a delight to choose from. The quality of the food was superb from the starter to the dessert. The price level is what we expected to pay for such exquisite meals. Friendly staff. We'll return!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
2 reviews
“MY FAVOURITE RESTAURANT SO FAR!!”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Good service and EXCELLENT fresh food!! The burrata cheese with Parma ham & rocket leaves is as starter just yummy! A must when coming to Grand Bay!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aurelby14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rivoli also viewed

Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
 
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
 
Pereybere, Grand Baie
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
 

Been to Rivoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing