We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Rajah - happy diners”
Review of Happy Rajah

Happy Rajah
Ranked #8 of 158 Restaurants in Grand Baie
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Operating since January 2006, Happy Rajah Indian Restaurants have rapidly established their credentials as traditional Indian cuisine specialists and are now among the best on the island overall. Happy Rajah is situated in the Super U complex in the heart of Grand Bay, and offers authentic Indian cuisine in a surprisingly cozy and warm venue. At the Happy Rajah, a team of North and South Indian professionals join their expertise to produce the authentic cuisine of the 17th century Moghul Emperors of India as well as sumptuous regional delicacies such as Chennai spicy vindaloos from the South. More than a mere outing for an Indian meal, the Happy Rajah experience has been likened to a voyage to magnificent India.
Bellville, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Happy Rajah - happy diners”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were visiting the Super U complex in Grand Baie on a Sunday, and when starting to feel peckish, decided to try the Happy Rajah for lunch.

The decor was authentic and there was a welcoming spicy ambience. I had the chicken Biryani and my partner enjoyed the lamb Rogan Josh. Both were excellent and were presented with poppadums and sambals. I also sampled the local Phoenix beer which is not the usual accompaniment to Indian food but refreshing nonetheless.

The service was competent and friendly. Prices were not so cheap, but comparable to prices at the Caudan Waterfront and other beachfront restaurants we visited.

Well worth it for an authentic meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MelanievanderMeulen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    517
    437
    109
    21
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Meals”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The food is delicious. The decor is beautiful. The restaurant is cozy. Service is good.
Well located in Grand Baie and easy to access.
Meals are pricey but relative in comparison to elsewhere in Mauritius.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MichMoodley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Perfect and to taste”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We needed a light to read the menu as dim lighting but this created nice atmosphere.
The menu is not as extensive as some other Indian places and as most restaurants in Mauritius it seems fish and shellfish is the most prevalent ingredient. There was nothing that jumped out at me as being exciting
Still we ordered chicken samosas (tasty) and tempura prawn - also good and munched on popadoms whilst we thought about it
we discussed with the waitress - my husband wanted chicken rogon but only lamb rogon on menu - no problem she said
I wanted chicken too but wanted something spicy and hot - nothing appeared too spicy on menu - took TAs advice and asked - waitress - do you want vindaloo hot? - No but I like madras/jalfrezi hot
Ok she says - have murg masalsa but madras hot
so, we had nothing on menu but made to order - murg rogon and murg masala madras style - it was gorgeous. The palak paneer was a little of a let down as not much taste (as previous reviewer noted) rice with peas and butter nan which was light and crisp in places - perfect

all of above, 2 glasses of wine and a coke - 2000 MUR - worth every rupee.
We will be back (with the light app on my phone to read the menu more clearly!)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wendy494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Good Indian Food in a Classy Ambience”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

On our recent trip to Mauritius, we dined twice at the Happy Rajah.
The food is very decent and the ambience is classy.
Being Vegetarians, we ordered Black Dal, Palak Paneer & Vegetable Makhanwala in addition to the breads from the tandoor. All pretty decent although the paneer was average. The service is weak as the staff are not very well trained, they insisted on taking away our almost finished meals away! The pricing is a bit on the steep side. Although if you want decent Indian food in Mauritius and don't mind paying for a classy ambience, this should be your choice.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bhaviksoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Decent overpriced food”
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Goods:
+ food taste better than local cousins in most of places in vicinity
+ very nice ambience for evening dinner
Bads:
- lunch is horrible, don't taste as good as dinner
- quantity is a joke.
- never try starter; Mc Donald's much much better
- sometimes tastes like ready to cook meal available in super market
conclusion:
DINNER WORTH A TRY
LUNCH BIG NO

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nevergivup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happy Rajah also viewed

Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
 
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
 
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
Pereybere, Grand Baie
 

Been to Happy Rajah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing