We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing Indian” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Happy Rajah

Happy Rajah
Ranked #7 of 153 Restaurants in Grand Baie
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Operating since January 2006, Happy Rajah Indian Restaurants have rapidly established their credentials as traditional Indian cuisine specialists and are now among the best on the island overall. Happy Rajah is situated in the Super U complex in the heart of Grand Bay, and offers authentic Indian cuisine in a surprisingly cozy and warm venue. At the Happy Rajah, a team of North and South Indian professionals join their expertise to produce the authentic cuisine of the 17th century Moghul Emperors of India as well as sumptuous regional delicacies such as Chennai spicy vindaloos from the South. More than a mere outing for an Indian meal, the Happy Rajah experience has been likened to a voyage to magnificent India.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Disappointing Indian”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We went on TA advice of 7/72 restaurants in Grand Baie. Located 1st floor next to Super U, very dimly lit in places - the waitress had to bring extra candles so we could read the menu. The food was very poor and not as we expected. We have eaten 100's curries in our lives all over the world and this was worse than my cheapest Birmingham student days from the 70's! Both my wife's and my dinner were poor. Mine was supposed to be tomato based - suppose you could say the sauce was red - that is all I can say.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RosebankT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    487
    402
    100
    19
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Tasty food and attentive service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

It was busy when we arrived but we were shown to our table very quickly even though we had no reservation. Food was tasty and papadums and condiments were complimentary. When our mains arrived we
we're pleasantly surprised that a dhal dish which we had not ordered arrived as another complimentary dish!! All in all a good food experience.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Regina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillcrest, South Africa
Level Contributor
83 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“South Indian cuisine at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had a Sunday family lunch at this restaurant. The decor is impressive, conveying a sense of being in India. The service was prompt and attentive. We each enjoyed different dishes and the unanimous opinion was that the food was delicious. Prices are reasonable. We will definitely return. Highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MartinG987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
215 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Best curry on the island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Once you are inside, you forget about the fact that the restaurant is in a parking lot. Good decor, excellent food and excellent service. A must for anyone who likes curry.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LeeKZN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cerrito, California, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Incredible Veg Thali for a restaurant in a shopping center!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

This meal was as good as any I have had in India. Super friendly staff and delicious flavors! Chai was also authentic and excellent!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happy Rajah also viewed

Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
 
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
 
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
 

Been to Happy Rajah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing