We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the worst place to be” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Lovers

Sea Lovers
Ranked #119 of 153 Restaurants in Grand Baie
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
milano
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“the worst place to be”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

There are so many more restaurants in the pereybere area , where you spent a quarter and can have decent food , this place looks swell from the outside but onec you sit down you get poor food, terrible service, over priced and really bad taste in your mouth!!very disappointing!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nick555milano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    15
    10
    3
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Times at Red Cat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

Many thanks to Yohan and Vikash for the warm welcome friendly advice and cool beer! It is the place to see the sunset and you must try the calamari and prawn curry. It is just perfect!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Genia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great view pity about the rest”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

The view is Xtra, and it all goes down hill from there.Having made a reservation for 5, we arrived to find that there was a fashion show, (that they had forgotten to mention) and we had to fight to get the reserved place at the Japanese table.We had some great sea food but the trouble began when we tried to pay, they couldn't find the food bill, they could find 2 drink bills, 1 of which was not ours and then after 20 min were told 'it's ok, you can go'. Our friends left the next day, we received a call the day after, with Sealovers telling us they had found our bill and when could we come to pay! Ok, but they didn't have a copy just an amount, which we later found had they 2 drink bills from before added, and they sent the tourist police along to just make sure they got there pound of flesh. The whole experience has left a nasty taste and personally we will never set foot in the place again, try Beach House, also a great view, just alot more honest.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sstMauritius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaandam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“a chef that cannot cook”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

I went here twice with my family, once just for some sunset cocktails with stunning vieuw of the sea and sunset and that time was lovely, so we thought we come back and try the food. We all felt like trying out the Japaneese card and were told that unfortunately they didn't serve from that part of the card. Oh well we though we just try something else which we all regretted later. The food was terrible, 2 from our group had lobster and it was overpriced, not fresh and deffinately old as the meat shrank into almost nothing. I and my mother inlaw opted for the fish streamed in banana leaf, which the chef clearly had no clue on how to prepare, there was no banana leaf and the fish had clearly been grilled and not steamed. We sent it back and the same dry fish came back in a banana leaf, which we sent back and got to order something completely new. So i ordered a fish curry and guess what fish was now served for the 3rd time and getting even drier. Didn't know it was possible to make a dry fish curry. After this 3rd failure we simply gave up and left hungry. The staff was trying to be helpful enough and the waitress did say she understood why we left and appologized for the bad experience but that still didn't fill our hunger.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LizardBlizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Just Awesome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2011

We were there everyday during our stay at times for its xquisive seafoods or just chilling in the lounge bar and watch the sunset

  • Visited February 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eyhasmahsiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Lovers also viewed

Pereybere, Grand Baie
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
 
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
 
Pereybere, Grand Baie
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
 

Been to Sea Lovers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing