We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Police were called”
Review of Villa Narmada

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Narmada
Ranked #7 of 49 Grand Baie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I had booked in advance and paid the hotel for 3 nights, the manager attempted to off load me to a substandard hotel at a cheaper rate with the excuse they were full booked.I refused any of the getto run-down establishment they proposed as alternative accommodation.Forcing me to roam all night before finding alternative hotel after 4 hours I checked in at Royal Sunset. I had to insist that they bare the difference in cost to the hotel. There was never any offer on their side to do what was fair.Although manager finally agreed to bare the cost, only when he clearly understood I was to report to Mauritius Government - Ministry of Tourism (and social media network).As they failed to show any loyalty, intergradity and honesty in my dealing with me, police were called to ensure they would pay Royal Sunset. A very unpleasant experience!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
6  Thank marie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villanarmada, Owner at Villa Narmada, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Marie B from UAE,

Thank you for your feedback. Your booking was in December last year from 29 December 2012 - 2 January 2013, of which the first night booked directly with us and not prepaid. Your whole review seems to be written very mistakenly according to us.

On 29 December your arrival was late at night (23h30) and as you had booked the airport transfer with us, our driver explained you on your way to Grand Bay that we would be able to give you Villa Narmada only as from 30 December 08h00 morning. We explained you that till then (for some 8 hours) we would accommodate you at our other complex in the center of Grand Bay and this would be free of charge. So your first night accommodation you did not have to pay. You agreed on this with our driver, saying that people originally from Nigeria are flexible people. But when you arrived at our other complex you did not like this three bedroom air conditioned apartment which had just been occupied by a French family. As it is our principle to always do as per the clients wishes (and we knew that for this first night we were at fault) we took you as you asked to Villa Narmada where for 1 hour you looked for booking a hotel online. You asked us to book and pay a five star hotel for you which we could not as the difference in price from 2 to 5 star was too much for us. Then our driver has been driving you around till at 01h30 (2 hours after your arrival in Grand Bay) he found a hotel opposite the beach for you where you agreed to stay. All the time since your arrival we, the management of Villa Narmada, have been following the developments by phone with our driver. We instructed by phone the security at the reception (who knew who we were) to give you the room, declaring we would take the responsibility of the payment.

The next afternoon (after having been waiting at the reception of your hotel for you almost 3 hours since appointment time 10h00 you gave us, together with our taxi driver who was supposed to move you from the hotel to Villa Narmada) you informed us that now you would not like to go any more to Villa Narmada, but stay the rest of your holidays at Royal Sunset. We agreed on it that we would bear the cost of your airport transfer + the first night stay at Royal Sunset + the price difference between Villa Narmada and Royal Sunset for the rest of the 3 nights. But as we were making all these compensations, we requested you to sign a letter stating that you would not make any claims afterwards to us. As you refused to sign or even modify this letter which we left for you at the reception, we sent you an e-mail informing you that in that case we could not bear the cost of your stay of the last 3 nights.

On 31 December you came with some police officers to Villa Narmada. We explained our side to the police officers, who read the 1 page letter of agreement which you had in your possession. As the letter seemed very reasonable to them, they requested you urgently to sign this and hand it over to us (it seemed the police had a whole lot of more work to do on this last day of the year). After having requested you to lower your voice as you were shouting and disturbing other clients, they spoke some minutes with you and you finally signed and gave the letter to us. So by coming with the police officers in fact you did a favour to us to close the matter just before the end of the year. We people from Mauritius believe that we should start every year afresh with any problems dragged in from the previous year, so we felt a big relief at that moment. As per agreed, we paid all the costs to our family taxi company for the airport transfer and the hotel where you stayed for 4 nights.

The whole description of facts can be verified with the police force of Grand Bay and with the Royal Sunset Hotel. We also have all the documentations for any verifications anybody would like to make. On 14 January 2013 you sent an e-mail to us Cc-ing to the online booking agent and the Ministry of Tourism of Mauritius. We replied back to you copying our e-mail to these 2 parties also. Directly from them we have never received any correspondence for clearance, so we assume that the explanations we gave in our mails were no reason for them to do further enquiries. And now after almost 6 months after your stay we receive this review. As we did our utmost to solve the matter satisfactory, we feel that at this moment of time we cannot do more than what we have done.

Sincerely,

Sharita Dookee
(Managing Director)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 131 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have been staying at Villa Narmada in April for one week. We were welcomed by one of their friendly staff members at 9:30PM. They have put TV diners and drinks in the fridge at our request.The appartement was clean, the rooms spacious, aircondioning in bedrooms and hot water in bathroom. Cleaning and new bath towels every day! They serve breakfast in the morning if you wish. There is wireless internet, very convenient if you sit on your balcony or downstairs overlooking the cute clean pool. At the reception the staff helps you with any question you might have. Villa Narmade is close to the beach, maybe 10 minutes walking distance and nearby (5 min walking) a mall with a huge supermarket in it. We have had a great time and will definitely come back to Villa Narmade in Grand Bay. Thank you!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BabakotoB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We have been there for 2 weeks last december 2012 and loved the place! Personal here was so friendly and you also may have lot of activities at reception.I had a mos fabulose massage right at my room for reasonable price. Also we got chanses for many trips and good service. You have anything you need right nearby this Villa, a shops and restaurants and it is not so far away from the beach. The most lovely place I ever been! Will defenitely come back here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jukei189934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I stayed here in February. I enjoyed my stay and can't really fault the place much.

We arrived at 16:40 and a lady passed us in the driveway. She followed us back in and said we just got her in time as she was leaving. That would mean there are no staff on site until 7PM when security arrives. Other reviews that were old claimed reception closes at 6PM.. but this one closed just before 5PM.

Check out is Midday though their site and other places say 10AM. A sign behind reception says Midday.

The mattress is too hard and the pillows are too soft.. but bearable.

The road is small and in desperate need of repair.. However, it shouldn't put any one off staying there.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the same place more or less. The ones on the ground floor have an open balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Peadar O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I booked for three nights believing the website info.. There was no hot water the first day .I received a vague promise that this essential service would be corrected immediately. On day two,there was still no hot water. On top of this stress I was wasting many,many hours of my time each day with staff who claimed that no hot water was OK "the sun hasn't been out much today".That is a direct quote.Same day..no electricity.none.I was washing in the ocean and was faced with another night of these camping conditions. My request for a refund took another half day of my time and at no point did staff take ANY ownership of the dilemma. While I can understand that Narmada staff and note there is two only and there is zero reception after 6pm.,can't do much about the bedbugs,geckos and barking dogs, they can at least be honest.For example,there is no real breakfast area,only a dusty table with books covered in grime and absolutely no info.re spas,meals or performances.Another crucial detail withheld is the location..Narmada is in an unlit ,high grassed,rocky,dirty wasteland.

Room Tip: don't go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mauriceMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Very friendly staff, the highest purity, daily cleaning. Small but clean pool. City center and supermarket nearby. Very good price. I highly recommend for young travelers. Thank you for a pleasant holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HonzaSchwarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Was booked in this Hotel with wife for 3 nights in first week of Feb 2012. Chilled Staff and nice location. Great location for tourist as its close to Super market and main Grand Baie Road/Beach. It was 1bhk nice Balcony and was nicely furnished.
Got shock of my life and was pleasantly surprised to hear a staff conversing in Bhojpuri on the day I landed, it being a public holiday!
Would recommend certainly.

Room Tip: Choose GroundFloor as it has wifi connectivity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Amit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Baie hotels
0 mi away
Pereybere Hotel & Spa
Pereybere Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Pereybere
587 reviews
0 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#6 of 27 in Grand Baie
2,523 reviews
0 mi away
Mo Residence
Mo Residence
#6 of 10 in Pereybere
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Canonnier Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Canonnier Beachcomber Golf Resor...
#2 of 5 in Pointe aux Canonniers
3,675 reviews
0 mi away
Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa
0 mi away
Domaine des Alizees Club & Spa by Evaco Holiday Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Narmada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Narmada

Address: Aquamarine Lane, Grand Baie, Mauritius 2726CB
Location: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Baie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Baie
Price Range: $44 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Narmada 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Narmada is a charming complex situated in the center of Grand bay. Spacious with swimming pool, air-conditioned rooms and all the comforts of a hotel. The hotel, located 200 meters from the beach has a restaurant and a spa/massage center additionally. All rooms have a kitchenette so as to give the clients a choice to prepare the meal themselves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Narmada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Narmada Hotel Grand Baie
Villa Narmada Mauritius/Grand Baie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing