We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice stay but could be improved”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Blue Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“nice stay but could be improved”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a week. It is rated a 5* hotel, but really falls short of that. The rooms are average and a little tired. There wasn't even a shower cap in the room! We were in a superior beacfront room.
The food was okay overall. The breakfast buffet (the only dining option for breakfast) became very tedious as there was no variation from day to day. They were also slow to replenish stock when the disches were empty.
The lunch buffet was more varied.
Of the other restaurants, the Teak Elephant was by far the most interesting and tasty, despite the set menu. The "gastronomic restaurant" had good flavours and was once again a set menu, but don't go hungry!
The wine list for the restaurants (available ONLY at mealtimes) was good and we enjoyed trying new wines from different regions. At the bar however, the wine by the glass was far inferior and not to be recommended. They could do with improving their wine selection there. The waitpersons were also not particularly knowledgeable about the wines on offer, either in the bar or in the restaurant. You would think that for a 5* establishment there would be a little more training!
The whole body aromatherpay massage I had was very disappointing. No pressure to speak of, and not therapeutic. In essence for an hour I was just drenched in oil and it was just rubbed all over my body in a haphazzard fashion. Maybe I just had an unskilled therapist, but again not what yu would expect from a 5* resort! I was also bitten by what I presume was mosquitoes. 5 bited in 1 hour- not bad! I think they need some pest control!
The loungers on the beach were well maintained. The drinks cart that came round from time to time was a bonus.
Staff were friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GLMCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,597
    527
    148
    68
    26
See reviews for
846
1,087
44
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westhill, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We are just back from our 6th holiday at Shandrani, and had our usual fantastic time. About 10 years ago we were recommended the hotel by British Airways, and what a find. After a 12 hour flight from the UK, it was great to be taken to such a beautiful hotel, about a 15 minute transfer time. We have always stayed in a deluxe room, and it was great to see that they have all been completely refurbished, including new bathrooms, beds and other furniture. The 5 restaurants were lovely, and the staff were all friendly and helpful. The Serenity All-Inclusive wine list is quite extensive. We played golf each day at the hotel's own course, and were most impressed by the way in which it is cared for by a small army of course staff.
The staff at this hotel are wonderful - friendly and ready to speak to you. Although we are lucky enough to visit lovely hotels across the world we keep coming back to Shandrani!. We will be back in 2014 and can't wait!

Room Tip: Go for a Deluxe room. Recently refurbished and better placed for the lagoon and also the beach on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindsayburnett001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We visited the Shandrani as a family for our wedding and honeymoon. The Shandrani was recommended by Travel Concept a small personal travel agent based in East Sussex. We spent 19 nights, from the end of March until mid April 2013 also choosing to get married on the 6th of April, 5 years to the day from when we first met!

From the moment we arrived at Shandrani after the short transfer from the airport we were blown away by the stunning surroundings and the relaxed but 5* service. We were given welcome drinks and cool towels, which we were grateful for after the 12-hour flight from the UK. Our bags were delivered to our rooms and we were left to take in the beautiful hotel and its surroundings. Please “don’t worry!” about the planes or airport noise it really isn’t an issue.

We chose to book our restaurants quite soon after arriving due to the comments on trip advisor. But this was a pleasure to do and availability wasn't as bad as people have made out - but i guess this could depend on hotel occupancy. The menus were available while booking and they even arranged special dietary requirements for my sister who is allergic to fish. So even when dining in a fish restaurant they provided her an alternative.
The quality of the food in EVERY restaurant was amazing. We even found ourselves looking forward to the buffet, as the standard was just as good as the a la carte with a wide and varied choice. I cannot emphasise how amazing the food and the chefs were. Towards the end of our holiday we found ourselves eating because the food was so tasty even if we were stuffed and not even hungry.

The rooms were clean and modern. We had seen other reviews commenting on the standard of the TVs etc. Seriously.... with the views/food/drink/staff at Shandrani who's going to sit and watch TV in there room?!?!?!?!

Our wedding was planed with no problems. We were a little apprehensive - as you can imagine. But as they say in Mauritius "Don't worry!" and you really didn't have to worry!
The flowers were beautiful. The setting was stunning. The food, perfection. The attention to detail meant that nothing could have gone wrong. The photos were amazing, a perfect memory of our day! Jean Paul and all involved made it a day to remember. Jean Paul - Thank you so much :-) x

The facilities were great, we had a few rainy days but the staff made sure you still had a smile on your face, table tennis tournaments and board games. On the better days my Husband and Dad played golf - which for them as non-sunbathers was very enjoyable. While they played my sister and I sunbathed on the windy beach. My favorite place on the resort. BEAUTIFUL.

The staff at this hotel set it apart from the rest. The people really did make our wedding-moon so special. I have to mention Matoo, Shan and Saajaan in the Sirus bar - what fun. They really did look after us for the full 19 days - unlimited cocktails! Wedding cocktails! Easter cocktails! Special cocktails! Fun and laughter! When you have staff as friendly and kind natured as the people here at Shandrani, people who are willing to go that extra mile and make your holiday as special as they can it makes you never want to leave.

We have made some really good friends and will definitely be back as soon as possible. (Next year if I have it my way!)

Thank you Shandrani! xxxx

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I visited this hotel for 10days in July 2011. Hotel was nice more of a four star though, but the resturants and the staff make the hotel. The staff couldnt do enough for you the drinks where english branded which was also great!

The only down side is that the rooms werent great they need refurbishing to a better standard. Also the beach wasnt that great although there are several sides to the beach

All in all because the weather wasnt great nore was the holiday if the weather was better the holiday would have been better

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JnJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We are a family of 4 divers aged 20 to 53.

This was our 5th stay at Shandrani and every time we are Blown Away by the quality of the food, level of comfort, facilities and activities. Did I mention the FOOD!.

A very relaxing and fun filled family holiday.(my bad). Even though there was a Tropical Cyclone looming just 300km away (not the reason for the title), the staff and management were organised informative, competent and very friendly(as usual). If we really had to find something to pick on, it would be the dive operator that they have running their dive centre.

The wellness centre is sublime, the service excellent, the food....OK, I will shut up about the food.

We highly recommend this wonderful resort.

The dive Centre: POOR.
Due to a Tropical Cyclone in the area, we were not able to do any diving other than in the lagoon area where it is quite shallow and fairly boring. We quite understand that the weather is unpredictable, but were never the less, a little put off by the lacklustre response and service from the dive centre.

We completed our first dive in the lagoon are and expressed our interest in one or two more dives for the following day. We were led to understand that dives were generally scheduled for 9am 11am and around 2pm.

On getting to the dive centre the following day at around 8:45am, we were told that there would only be one dive that day, the 9am dive and that we should rather come back the following day. Now, there had been no change in the weather, no explanation given for the schedule change, and quite frankly we felt that we had been given a take it or leave it option. The staff at the dive centre, other than John and Carina, seemed to have no interest at all in getting us into the water.

When you consider that we are a family of 4 divers and on any holiday like this, will dive 6 to 10 times at a price of around $53US per dive per person, it's surprising to find a dive centre that is prepared to dismiss this income with apathy, especially out of peak season. (see our Le Mauricia review of the same dive operator)

Needless to say we collected all our dive gear, still sopping wet, even our wetsuits that were in a heap on the floor, and did not go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vAardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We have just come back from our two week holiday at the Shandrani,what a hotel!!We could not fault it.
From the moment we arrived we were made to feel special by all the lovely team who worked so hard to make our holiday so enjoyable.
A wonderful choice of restaurants to suit all tastes,our favourite was the Teak Elephant serving delicious Thai cuisine.
For those that enjoy their wine , a very compressive wine list complimented by Champagne served after 6pm.
Our son thoroughly enjoyed Bob Marlin the children's club which gave us time to relax by the pool.
The rooms were modern and very clean.
We will be back next year and thank you to Maurice Martine and the team for making our holiday.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for 7 nights as part of our two week honeymoon in Mauritius.
We loved it! The food at all the restaurants is amazing, all inclusive a la carte dining at its best! Drinks selection at the bar and wine menu is extensive and good brands. You must try all the restaurants so make sure you book when you arrive.
The grounds are well kept and there is a lot of beach! Our room was very clean and modern and all the staff were very friendly, especially the bar staff who make amazing cocktails!
We have already enquired about going back next year!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank MrCooper79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blue Bay
25.7 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,709 reviews
30.8 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
28.7 mi away
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Sp...
#2 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
2,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.1 mi away
Paradis Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
17.9 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 13 in Belle Mare
5,187 reviews
19.8 mi away
Constance Belle Mare Plage
Constance Belle Mare Plage
#2 of 13 in Belle Mare
3,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa

Property: Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Address: Blue Bay, Blue Bay, Mauritius 50802 (Formerly Beachcomber Shandrani Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Grand Port District > Blue Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Blue Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LUXURY HOLIDAYS IN MAURITIUS FOR BEACH AND NATURE LOVERS Located in the unspoilt south region of Mauritius, Shandrani is a welcoming five-star resort with a lively vibe. Set on a private peninsula lapped by the Blue Bay Marine Park rich in sea life, Shandrani has three different beaches to discover. A short boat ride inshore takes you to the famous Ile aux Aigrettes nature reserve. When it comes to sports and leisure, the resort has something for everyone. A range of land and water sports is at hand including water-skiing and golf (the hotel features a 9-hole Par 29, "pitch & putt" golf course). A sailing school and a diving centre affiliated to PADI will delight all sports enthusiasts. Other facilities include a spa and a wellness centre, both associated to the world-renowned Clarins brand. Four restaurants invite you to sample sumptuous dishes served with a choice of fine wines. At Shandrani Resort & Spa, enjoy relaxing holidays in peaceful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shandrani Hotel Blue Bay
Shandrani Hotel Mauritius
Shandrani Blue Bay
Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa Mauritius/Blue Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing