We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Balaclava
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2007

We have jsut recently returned from staying at the Maritim for 2 weeks for our Honeymoon.
Service in the hotel was fantastic and the food was excellent.
The staff could not do enough for us. Although the hotel was fully booked on our second week, we did not notice. The hotel still felt nice and quiet. Its the perfect place for relaxing and chilling out for 2 weeks. Lots of sports activities which pleased my Husband, and there was a band on most nights and sometimes a show, which were nice as you could still sit and chat and relax.
I would go back and would recommend it to anyone who wants to go somewhere that you dont have to lift a finger, everything is done for you.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
17  Thank Jules017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,647)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,599 - 2,605 of 3,647 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2007

Just returned from our silver wedding trip, part of which was spent at the Martitim Hotel Mauritius. Having used this site a lot whilst planning our trip, I thought it was only fair to put my own review on.

We were completely satisfied with the hotel and especially the service from the extremely polite and friendly staff. It was wonderful to be met at the hotel entrance after a very long journey, by a friendly member of staff with cold towels and a lovely cooling cocktail. Checking in was done with quiet efficiency, no queing at reception, sat in comfortable chairs admiring the magnificent view of the indian ocean while the necessary documents were dealt with.

We stayed in the basic room, which was very comfortable, the bathroom could have done with a little updating, but we were more than happy with it. It was always spotllessly cleaned and the view was fantastic.

We ate in the belle vue each evening, included in our all inclusive package. The food was varied and well presented. It we were staying two weeks it may have become a little monotonous, but we didn't get bored with it in our six days.

We ate lunch at the beach restaurant which was a great setting, and the food was excellent.

The main selling point of this hotel must be its staff. They are without exception, polite, helpful and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble, and we felt as though we were looked after very well, but without it being overpowering.

The grounds are outstanding, and well worth a walk around, beautifully maintained, and with lots of interesting plants and wildlife.

If you are feeling energetic there is plenty to do, and if you're not, no shortage of sun loungers relax on. We did find the usual habit of towels being left on sunbeds, but we always were able to find free sunbeds at various times of the day, so it wasn't a problem.

I would recommend this hotel for couples. Although there is plenty to occupy children, it's an awful long way for what is essentially a beach holiday. I would also advise anyone thinking of going to mauritius to try for an all inclusive option if possible. It was great to work your way through the cocktail menu without having to worry about how much it was costing!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank ros1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2007

Returned from 2 weeks inclusive of a wedding package, hotel deal all inclusive.

Very happy, this is a very well managed hotel, with an exceptional level of service quality in general. (only exception lunchtime service was usually slow but very polite)

The all inclusive aspect suprised me as i have never taken a package before, but included use of dinghys, water skiing and other recreational activities as well as meals and most drinks

The wedding co-ordination was fine for us , and they are well practised which was ok for us as we wanted "fuss free"

I travel a lot through work, and should express that for genuine staff attention to customer service this is the best i have been in anywhere.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank personanongrata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2007

Stayed at the Maritim as the final part of our honeymoon in Oct 2006 and was a little disappointed after the luxury and level of service of our South Africa small guesthouse accommodation.

Disappointment was mainly with our standard room - fairly small and not properly maintained. The bath did not drain properly and there was no bath plug so you could not have had a bath even if you wanted to. Definitely needed 'spruceing up'.

Resort itself was well laid out, pool was freezing and was usual charade of towels on sun loungers early and no bodies lying on them till hours later. The beach was nice and less crowded and the hawkers there are the politest ones I have ever met, didnt try any sort of coercion at all - no fun!

Food was ok, fairly average buffet fayre really, the cafe on the beach did nice lunches.

Take a wander around the grounds and see the ruins of a french arsenal, very pretty and noone else seemed to leave the beach so we had it to ourselves. I agree with previous comments about the giant tortoises being kept in too small an enclosure - there were far too many of them and it just didnt seem right really.

There was an average of about 3 weddings a day that seemed a tad like a conveyor belt, but those marrying seemed happy enough with that. According to the hotel at any one time there is more than 50 honeymooning couples staying at the maritim so for anyone assessing the mood of the resort, I would say def suitable for couples and not singles/families.

Overall the resort just felt 'packagy' and there was no real wow factor for me, but I do acknowledge that a large hotel will never be able to compete with smaller accommodation for service levels. I guess in large hotels you could be anywhere in the world and for me thats no longer enough on a holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank mad_lovy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2007

We have just returned from a 2 week stay in the Maritim Hotel in Mauritius. It surpassed our expectations in every way. The staff were friendly, from the gardeners up to the management and nothing was too much trouble, right down to organising a tailor to come to the hotel to arrange wedding attire for the men in our party. The comfort rooms were pristine clean, we felt no need to upgrade at all. The food in all the restaurants was top class and there was good enterainment every night. We all enjoyed the water sports, particularly the scuba diving and a fishing trip which we organised through the glass bottom boat captain - so much more fun than the organised 'deep sea fishing trip' that was very expensive. The hotel also arranged a mini bus for a tour round the south side of the island with driver and guide for approx £9 each (10 of us in our party), which normally would cost £43 each arranged through White Sands Tours. We felt this was wonderful value and we saw exactly what we wanted, rather than being taken to the tourist shops en masse.
Make sure you go on a diet before you go, the food and the cocktails bar are absolutely wonderful.
We hired bikes from the hotel and went for a 5 km ride to a local beach. You must visit the giant tortoises and other animals in the grounds of the hotel, we felt they were well cared for.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank sammisandwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2007

My partner and I spent 11 nights at the Maritim from the 4th to 15th March 2007. On arrival in Mauritius in a rain storm, we were told of the cyclone that had virtually shut the island the previous week, and warned that the weather could be very indifferent over the time we were staying !!

The hotel looked quite spectatcular driving down the long driveway towards reception. We were dealt with courteously and efficiently on arrival, and had our room allocated after all the voucher exchanges etc within 20 minutes. Cool towel and refreshing cocktail were welcomed after the long journey.

Room was adequate (although it did have a musty smell all the way throughout the stay), not sure that this was due to the cyclone, but there was a dehimidifier in the room and on all the time we were there. Room servicing was excellent, three times a day, and extra towels etc on request.

We were on an all inclusive package, and as has been mentioned previously you cannot get drinks/food without it, however this is not as imposing as a lot of people make out, just make sure you have it. We did forget it one time, and the waiter just asked for the room number and name, and we were okay.

Meal quality was mostly very good, at the Belle Vue restaraunt, usually plenty of choice and enough to satisfy all tastes. Did have a couple of nights where there wasn't anything I really wanted (but maybe that was me just being too choosy !!). Had lunch in both the quarter deck and La Maree, both very good and more than adequate.

One gripe, and it's the usual about the reservation of sun beds ! It states in the hotel literature that under no circumstances should sun loungers be reserved, and the hotel staf would remove any towels that were placed and not been used within 2 hours. This doesn't happen, beds are reserved from as early as 07:30, and not used until the afternoon. Unfortunately, it's a case of if you can't beat them, join them, which is not what you should expect in a hotel of this star rating. Pool side loungers are very good, with very comfortable mattresses. Spent most of the time on the beach, and these loungers are very good too. Also service of the beach guys, with cold towels, drinks service was excellent.
Snorkelling was very good, although a lot of the coral is dead, there is re-growth, and quite a good range of sea life to view (have been spoilt by the Maldives, but this was very good).

Only slight complaint that we had was trying to extend the availability of our room for an extra 5 hours due to a late flight. we followed the process as described in the hotel literature, and asked at reception two days prior to departure about this, and asked themto note we'd like to take up the facility (extra 1000 rupees). We were told to go back the following day when they had done the room allocations. We did this and were told that all rooms had been allocated and there was nothing available (in quite a rude manner). We were not happy with this and returned to reception and asked someone else if it had been noted against our room the request from the previous day, it hadn't !! This was soon rectified and we were then told we could keep the room, until 18:00. Would suggest to anyone to not take no for an answer if you do need to keep your room. There is a shower room/changing room for late check out, but it does allow you time to pack later and chill out.

All in all, a very good hotel, excellent service (most of the time), and would recommend this to other travellers. Do check out the waterfall, stables, ruins and tortoises around the grounds, it's well worth it.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Shamu63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2007

I am a travel agent, I go away about 5 times a year, fav place is Maldives, really thought when we booked this it would be better than Maldives, I paid for a limo to and from the Airport, they dont do limos, but we had a top of the range BMW, our driver was great, but was not what we had paid for, the Maritim was a bit of a rip off, so make sure you go all inclusive or it will cost you dearly, As we walked around the area to get our bearings, there along the path way was a huge dead rat, i did complain, also about my room, as nothing like in the brochures, when i checked out i wrote a letter to the management, as i have never said i am a travel agent, i want better, i like to be treated as normal. On my return home i got a reply which stated if the manager knew i was a travel agent i would of got a better room, it is a nice place to go but not a dream holiday, also it is not a sandy beach it is shingle and rocky so take shoes or you will have to pay high prices in hotel shop for them, this is not a wind up, i still the emails from the manager, if you are thinking of booking this as a honeymoon DONT BOTHER its ok, just not special if you would like any more advise you can contact me @ ladymuk@aol.com, since i have been back to work i have not sold this hotel at all,

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank ladymuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
0.4 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,566 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
0.2 mi away
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,634 reviews
4.4 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
3,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius

Address: Turtle Bay, Balaclava, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Family Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range: $301 - $711 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sparkling sandy beach, tropical gardens and the crystal clear turquoise waters of the Indian Ocean... Live the essence of a great island escape!Immerse yourself in this luxurious five-star beach and spa resort gently nestled within a picturesque private estate along the protected marine park of Turtle Bay.Enjoy a prime location on the sunniest and sheltered Northwest coast of the island between the capital Port - Louis and the lively village of Grand Bay and indulge in the pure nature of the historical estate of 25 hectares awarded 'Most Beautiful Garden of Mauritius'. Be spoilt by world-class accommodation with 215 luxurious rooms and suites as well as an exclusive villa, all sea facing and elegantly designed ...ideal to embrace the tropical ambiance of the island. Savour endless culinary delights during your journey with an exceptional selection of five exquisite restaurants and three bars ranging from 'feet in the sand' beach restaurants to Asian fusion and the exclusive fine dining restaurant 'Chateau Mon Desir'.Pamper yourself in its 'Maritim Tropical Flower Spa', an oasis of wellbeing offering exclusive treatments and stunning facilities to relax and unwind.Those seeking for active holidays will benefit from an infinite range of land and water sports offered such as horse riding, golf, archery, water ski, diving and many more!Whenever you are looking for relaxing or active holidays, this 5-star luxury hotel, part of Maritim Hotels, will offer you an exceptional array of facilities and experiences combined with the highest standards of service delivered with genuine Mauritian hospitality. Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius ...your holidays... beyond paradise ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Mauritius Balaclava
Hotel Maritim Mauritius
Maritim Hotel Mauritius
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius Balaclava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing