We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Spa is worth dying for!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Balaclava
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The Spa is worth dying for!”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

I went to Maritime Hotel for a Spa package with my mum for Mother's Day. We did the Plenitude Spa package which consists of 1 hour 15mins Spa, buffet lunch and enjoying the hotel facilities till 6pm. It was Amazing and so Relaxing! The staffs are so welcoming and the food is simply delicious ! My mum was ecstatic, she said it was the best Mother's Day gift that i could give her! Heads up for the wonderful service, keep it up! :) :) :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Venida V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,413
    685
    215
    88
    49
See reviews for
703
2,159
61
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (805)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed here for my sisters wedding which was lovely, The Hotel is amazing! The Service is fantastic! The staff cannot be faulted and cannot do enough for you!
The grounds and setting are beautiful. The Maritim rescue Dogs are well cared for and treated extremely well which was lovely to see in another country.
My Partner and I also Scuba Dived with the Maritim Diver Center which can also not be faulted. The staff there too were professional and knowledgeable. An amazing DVD was made from our diving which we love as a great keep sake. 'Rajeev' has to get a mention as a great dive guide and he also retrieved a much loved mask my partner dropped in the sea!
Without a doubt this hotel is the best I have ever stayed in and the Dive Center was brilliant too.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ZaraCatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

What you see is what you get! And there's a lot to see! Well spread resort, friendly staff, good food (go the the Chateau), amazing beach, crystal waters. Hello, are you still there? Spent NYE with our 2.2 years old daughter and 5 months old son.. Grreat time!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bulfinschi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

This is a fantastic value-for-money 5 star hotel. We went on a 2 week family holiday and it is fantastic for children as well as for adults. It's a stunning location with a lovely beach. The hotel, grounds, rooms, staff, facilities are generally excellent. There are a few issues - pool could be warmer, odd occasion it can take a bit of time for beach drinks service, odd meal issue but generally, we a lovely holiday. The odd thing is that there is a dog problem in Mauritius and you do get dogs romaing around the hotel but they are harmless.

The drinks are of a high-quality, there are a good variety of restaurants and food and staff are very friendly and attentive. The spa is excellent as are the treatments.

The kids club is great - a lot better than I had anticipated as there isn't much online info. about it. Staff are lovely, great range of activities and it's on the beach so you can stay nearby. They do waterskiiing, fishing, swimming, arts and crafts, mini golf, visiting the turtle and animals, pony riding and lots more. Kids can join them for lunch and dinner as well.

Went to the fine dining restaurant one evening. It's a lovely venue and the meal was pleasant. not on a par with a michelin meal and the wine list is expensive but worth a trip.

I would recommend this hotel immediately to all :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rachel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for ten nights at the end of May 2014 and had an amazing time. Prestige room was really nice, spacious and clean. Food and drinks all week were great and the staff couldn't be more friendly or helpful. Would return again and recommend to anyone wanting a luxury relaxing holiday

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We did a lot of research for the perfect holiday to accommodate my 70years old father, our 22 months old son and of course ourselves! The maritime seemed like a great choice and it was! It didn't start perfectly in fact after a very long flight we were told our rooms were not ready, although I was prepared for this after reading previous reviews but even after 4 hours waiting the rooms were not correct according to our reservation and it took another few hours for them to resolve the issue, so I wasn't best pleased, however the staff really make this hotel. Pretty much everybody goes out of their way to accommodate any request and always with a smile on their faces. A special thank you goes to Yassin, always serving us wonderful drinks on the beach, Mithun at la Maree and Arvin the boat man, so helpful and kind!

The hotel is nice, the rooms are not the best I have seen but still lovely, and the sea views are great.
We enjoyed the buffet restaurant for breakfast, there was a choice of everything you could possibly want, then spent most lunches at La Maree on the set menu for the AI and the pub just behind with a great choice of grilled meat or fish and burgers. In the evening we mostly went back to the buffet but also La Maree for few nights.

After dinner it was really lovely to sit at the Quarter Deck having few drinks and listening to their live music, the singer is up to date with current music and he's great, far better than I expected!

I would recommend this hotel, the AI is very good value and the staff will make your holiday, however there are no lifts and it is quite a walk from the rooms(depending where you are) to the beach and restaurants so it's not ideal for people with walking disabilities.

Also, there were some lovely families and couples we quickly got to know and had a lovely time together but being a large package hotel be prepared to see a bit of everything when it comes down to guests.

Room Tip: try to get a room with a sea view near the beach, it will save you a lot of walking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kiara_cm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed at the Maritim for 10 nights from 23rd May 2014 to 2nd June 2014. Our booking was made through Thomas Cook Signature Holidays. We stayed at the Zabeel Saray on the Jumeirah Palm, West Crescent, Dubai for a couple of days either side of this trip to Mauritius. The Zabeel Saray is subject of another review by me.
We arrived in Mauritius in the early evening and were met by our "private exclusive standard" transfer car and driver at SSR airport. The transfer service was provided by "Connections Mauritius." The transfer from airport to hotel took about 1hr during which time our driver Dev provided us with an in depth insight to the islands history, geography, population and culture. This was a very interesting introduction to island life and the 1hr journey seemed to pass very quickly.
Arriving at the Maritim in darkness we were warmly greeted by the staff, given a cold towel to refresh and a drink. Registration was completed in a short space of time and we were shown to our room. We had booked an air con Privilege room and were not disappointed with what we received. The room had a King Size bed with a free standing bath separated by sliding partitions to isolate it from the main living accommodation. A free mini bar was stocked with water, milk local wine and beer together with other items that were subject to a separate mini bar tariff. A couple of days later I had the mini bar stocked with our favoured tipples and the remainder removed. This then became the daily contents for the mini bar which could be replenished at any time by calling room service. On our first night I decided to treat myself to a bottle of Mouton Cadet, a chargeable item, from room service. I was somewhat disappointed to get a very cold bottle of red French wine costing 2850MUR, including tray service, which at the rate of exchange we were on was about £57. A spell immersed in warm water in the sink soon made it palatable and went down well after our flight from Dubai with Emirates. Now there's an airline that knows how to provide service. Sufficient to say it is the best flight and service we've ever experienced from a schedule airlines. Their in flight entertainment service, ICE, is sensational. New movies and on board cameras to view take off and landing are all but a few of the things on offer.
Our first morning was greeted by the sound of the tropics. Indian Myna birds chattering and calling. It was like living the dream!
Pulling back the curtains and walking out onto our ample sized balcony we were greeted by a fantastic view of the azure blue Indian Ocean and the hotels coral sanded beach which was no more than 30mtrs away. A sight to die for and all that we hoped for. We had a clear uninterrupted view of the white coral sands with the waters of the Indian Ocean lapping at the shoreline.
Throughout our stay we opted to eat all our meals in the Belle View Restaurant as it was convenient and had a comprehensive selection of different dishes to choose from. Other options from fine dining to quick and easy meals were also available to sample but we opted not to take advantage of the offer. The Belle View also offered comprehensive choices for breakfast and lunch. The choices of bread in the morning were superb and reminded us of the fine breads you can get in France. Clearly an inheritance from the days when the Island was under French control. Service in the restaurant is attentive but not overpowering. Staff throughout the hotel are extremely polite, helpful and courteous.
We were given a couple of days to settle in before meeting the local rep for Thomas Cook Holidays. Nisha from Connections Mu was a fantastic rep who gave us a comprehensive insight to the Hotel and the Island. We took the opportunity to book full day sight seeing trips on two occasions whilst we were at the Maritim. We specifically asked for Dev, the driver who collected us at the airport and were pleased to have this request fulfilled immediately by Nisha. The cost of the exclusive use of the air conditioned car and driver for 8hrs a day cost us approx. £120 per day and was money well spent. Dev was a fantastic guy who took us to all the usual tourist attractions and many other places that we expressed a desire to visit so that we obtained a greater understanding of the history and culture of the island. I have to take my hat off to Dev he excelled himself. We were both sorry to part with him at the end of the second day trip. The two trips split the island into two halves. North island on day 1 and the south on day 2.
Mauritius is a safe place to visit but you are advised to be cautious going to the beach during the hors of darkness as beaches in Mauritius are not private and open to the public. The people are warm and friendly wherever you go and value your presence which boosts their economy. At no time did we feel uncomfortable of threatened.
Amenities at the Maritim are free with a few exception that you would expect to pay for Sea Fishing, Diving, Cycle rental to name but a few. Water skiing, pedal boats, Kayaks, glass bottom boat trips and many others were free to all inclusive guests.
On the cautionary side you are not advised to drink the tap water as it may result in severe stomach illness. If you plan to go into the hinterland or botanic gardens in Port Louis make sure you use plenty of insect repellent containing DEET. A good brand is Jungle Formula. (Other brands are available). Buy before you leave your home country.
In summing up our holiday to Mauritius I can only say "Paradise Found." If there is one place in the world I would love to return to it is Mauritius.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
0.3 mi away
The Ravenala Attitude
The Ravenala Attitude
#3 of 5 in Balaclava
1,248 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,430 reviews
28.9 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
0.2 mi away
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
10.3 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius

Property: Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
Address: Turtle Bay, Balaclava, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Family Hotel in Balaclava
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sparkling sandy beach, tropical gardens and the crystal clear turquoise waters of the Indian Ocean... Live the essence of a great island escape!Immerse yourself in this luxurious five-star beach and spa resort gently nestled within a picturesque private estate along the protected marine park of Turtle Bay.Enjoy a prime location on the sunniest and sheltered Northwest coast of the island between the capital Port - Louis and the lively village of Grand Bay and indulge in the pure nature of the historical estate of 25 hectares awarded 'Most Beautiful Garden of Mauritius'. Be spoilt by world-class accommodation with 215 luxurious rooms and suites as well as an exclusive villa, all sea facing and elegantly designed ...ideal to embrace the tropical ambiance of the island. Savour endless culinary delights during your journey with an exceptional selection of five exquisite restaurants and three bars ranging from 'feet in the sand' beach restaurants to Asian fusion and the exclusive fine dining restaurant 'Chateau Mon Desir'.Pamper yourself in its 'Maritim Tropical Flower Spa', an oasis of wellbeing offering exclusive treatments and stunning facilities to relax and unwind.Those seeking for active holidays will benefit from an infinite range of land and water sports offered such as horse riding, golf, archery, water ski, diving and many more!Whenever you are looking for relaxing or active holidays, this 5-star luxury hotel, part of Maritim Hotels, will offer you an exceptional array of facilities and experiences combined with the highest standards of service delivered with genuine Mauritian hospitality. Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius ...your holidays... beyond paradise ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Mauritius Balaclava
Hotel Maritim Mauritius
Maritim Hotel Mauritius
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius Balaclava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing