We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect holiday/ wedding/ honeymoon!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Balaclava
Certificate of Excellence
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday/ wedding/ honeymoon!”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Arrived to be welcomed with drinks and cold face towels, lovely after a long haul! Staff were very welcoming and rooms were ready very quickly for us! Rooms very clean and fresh towels replaced daily with options for evening replacement of these and drinks. We chose AI and food was fab with excellent choices available, some drinks and eateries were chargeable and can be a bit confusing but staff explained this very well .
We chose to get married here and met Madhavi who was fantastic and made sure that everything we had chose was done to perfection. We married in the beach gazebo and it was an amazing day, so thank you to all staff that enabled our day to be absolutely perfect. Photographer was very patient with us and we got some wonderful photos of day and sunset, perfect memories. Evening wedding meal we chose the Chateau Mon Desir and it was amazing food and service was first class!! We had a treatment at the Spa which was again a fab experience from everyone involved.We travelled with our two children (16 &14) and they loved it especially the beach and watersports again some are payable....beach staff were great constantly bringing water and drinks.
This resort is without doubt the best we have ever visited and we will be returning for an anniversary!
ALL staff are a credit to this hotel regardless of there position as each and everyone are polite and would do anything to help you!!

Room Tip: We stayed on 2nd floor which had great views of garden and part beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Allister H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from MARITIM Hotel Mauritius!

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Maritim Estate and sharing your views with other travellers on Trip Advisor.

Thank you for the beautifully worded review for us on this forum.

The entire team is glad that you enjoyed your wedding, honeymoon and wedding with us and it met your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back again on the Maritim Estate!


Yours faithfully

Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,431
    694
    216
    88
    49
See reviews for
711
2,178
61
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (811)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Easter break
4 of us have just returned from an easter break at the Maritim Hotel.
We had an excellent stay and really enjoyed ourselves.
Positives:
Well organised tranfer from airport with no hanging around.
Well organised reception and check - in at the hotel.
Excellent accommodation.
Helpful, friendly and accommodating staff at all levels.
Spotlessly clean in all areas, bars, pools, beach etc.
Great views, beaches and water sport facilities.
No hassel from beach salesmen or SPA staff.
Great spa facilities.
Lovely choice of food and extensive list of 'All Inclusive' drinks.
Varied tours available but some expensive.
Not necessary to go to other restaurants with supplements as the 'all inclusive' package was so good.

Negatives:
Some foods could have been kept and served hotter. UK law stipulates that hot food being held on a buffet should never fall below 63c and this was not the case with some of the foods.
The hotel might want to consider providing a microwave for their guests to use if they want to.
I saw no temperature probing or HACCP procedures being carried out however the standard of hygiene (both personal and around food outlet areas) was exemplary.

WI - FI was a night mare and was frustrating as it kept connecting and dropping out regularly.. The hotel should ensure that there are specific areas in the hotel which provide excellent connection as well as make it clear in their marketing information that the Wi Fi connection can be very sporadic. This however in no way spoilt our experience.
Organised tours were expensive booking through the hotel. It was a shame that they were not more competitive as I'm sure a lot more of the guests would have used them eg, car and driver for the day was £112.00. Organising this myself was £48.00 with all the necessary insurance in place.
Willy from Mauritius taxis can help you with a car, mini-bus or coach at nearly half the price quoted by the hotel.
I also really wanted to book a helicopter flight but at £700.00 for a 30 minute flight we thought was way over the top.

SUMMARY
Excellent in all aspects.
Maurtius Holidays Direct were brilliant and I strongly advise you to use them in preference to others.
You won't de disappointed.

Room Tip: All of the rooms were of a very high standard. We had room 472 and 473 with lovely sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stevebacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having chosen the MARITIM Hotel Mauritius for your recent holidays and also for your complete and warm feedback.

We are simply delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that we have met and exceeded your expectations!

Regarding the WIFI internet connection offered for free throughout the resort, please note that we rely on the internet broadband connection of the island. For what concerns the organised tours, those are organised by external suppliers, we have however chosen those for the quality of their offer and services. Rates are aligned with the high quality and safety of this various services and prices offered in all other hotels. Regarding the helicopter tours please note that those are offered by the only provider on the island which is the official Mauritian airline, rates are fixed by the company itself.

We are pleased to inform you that the Maritim Hotel Mauritius will soon receive the official HACCP certification. All the systems and procedures providing a guarantee of hygiene through regular processes and controls throughout the food preparation chain are already in place. We have well noted your comment regarding the temperature and will definitely double check with our team. As you have kindly noticed, hygiene and security are essential for us.

Thank you once again for your review and all of us hope to see you back for a yet another holiday with us in the near future.

Yours truly,
Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

After a long trek from Heathrow with a change in Dubai we finally made it. Next time we must fly first class nonstop ....

First impressions of the place were great. Very friendly reception and staff moved bags quickly from reception to the room. We had been advised by our travel agent that the wolstenholmes being mum, dad and 2 girls of 10 and 7 could be easily accommodated in one of the prestige rooms. Don't believe them as the sofa bed is not really suitable for 2 kids for 14 nights. In addition there are two types of prestige rooms although only one of them is showcased on the hotel website so make sure that on reception you request the modernised one. Notwithstanding that there are some great pluses of this place

- food. Great selection of food and restaurants. Service was always slick and friendly. Do book la maree to eat and prices are very reasonable as there is a supplement to eat there if on an ai basis

- activities. Horse riding, many waterspouts, giant chess, table tennis, netball and football courts, mini golf swimming pools, petting farm, bikes to name a few. We were never bored and great opportunity for the family to try something different every day. Highlight was all going parasailing and dad screaming like a girl on the tube while the girls screaming faster faster faster!

Service - super attitude with always a smile and a nothing too much attitude

Spa - great selection of treatments and good value

So in summary give it a try you will not be disappointed. Would we go again? Definitely.



  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank the_wolsies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here at the beginning of April. We were not sure what to expect as we had read the reviews and found it hard to believe that anywhere could be as perfect as the reviews had said. However, it was as lovely, if not better.

The hotel is spotlessly clean, the food is wonderful, the facilities were fantastic. We spent time on the beach (one down point was a particular beach waiter, I think he is called Sharvin, was very transparent and made it known that for a tip we would receive preferential service. i.e cocktails are not allowed on the beach but he would make it possible..other guests commented on this as he seemed to be offering all sorts of "extra" services. After a while it became a bit tedious so we moved to the pool.) Yasine and the team were totally different.. Nothing was too much trouble. Our holiday was made by these guys. The hotel should commend the pool team as they take the time to ensure that the guests are catered for (without the need for a tip)
We would like to thank the hotel for making our stay so enjoyable. We will be back.. But we will avoid the beach. It is a shame as we love the sea. Perhaps a swap in staff on the beach would be good.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Winnie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your entry on Trip Advisor.
I am delighted to learn that you consider your stay MARITIM Hotel Mauritius like ‘brilliant’ and that you have enjoyed the hotel, food and all the facilities of the MARITIM Estate.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having chosen the MARITIM Hotel Mauritius for your recent holidays and also for your warm feedback.

I have the regret to read that you have encountered an issue with one member of our beach team during your stay. Rest assured that we will investigate further and that we will take all the necessary measures to address this issue. It is certainly not the standard upon which we have built our reputation, or for which we strive.

I have sent you a private email so we can discuss further the matter.

Thank you once again for your review and all of us hope to see you back on the MARITIM estate for a yet another holiday with us in the near future.

Yours faithfully

Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Great hotel, staff were outstanding in their friendliness and helpfulness for any small request - and particular members of staff made the stay that bit more memorable - as written in our paper feedback form! Food was top notch, facilities excellent and support could be relied on from any staff member. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a personable approach to making the holiday as easy as possible.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having chosen the MARITIM Hotel Mauritius for your recent holidays and also for your warm feedback especially towards our valued team.
We are simply delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that we have met your expectations!

Thank you once again for your review and all of us hope to see you back for a yet another holiday with us in the near future.

Yours truly,
Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

This is a long overdue review-we went last July for 10 nights-, but I've finally got round to writing up a review for this place. We booked with BA as a package, and arrived refreshed after getting upgraded to WT+ on the flight from London. We took a car, and arrived to morning showers. However, it soon cleared up, and we had an explore around Port Louis, seeing some of the nature and museums. We struggled to find the hotel in our car at first-driving was OK, most roads were good, if a bit narrow, but avoid the Plateau Towns. It was a nightmare, very little signposting, and huge traffic jams. Also, finding your way out of Port Louis can be hard-, but arrived in at about 11am and were offered a late breakfast after being shown around, while they prepared our room. Our room was very nice, and very well cleaned and stocked daily. It overlooked the gardens, which were well-maintained(minus the sprinkler which could hit your balcony sometimes). We saw a lot of wildlife on the grounds, and the giant tortoise(Aldabras) and horse area was very nice. The riding was good, but not particularly challenging if you have experience like us. The ruins were also pretty cool. The beach was nice, but we did not use it as much as we would have thought.
The activities laid on by the hotel were plentiful, and very good. We enjoyed tennis and volleyball, but some activities such as yoga and football did not go ahead without any warning? The water activities were also great, but reservations were a bit awkward. The pool is nice, just very cold. The spa on the other hand was amazing, truly a place to let afternoons pass by.
The food was superb. Very fresh, plentiful, and lots of options. Belle Vue was superb for all meals, and La Maree had nice presentation and ambiance, but the food at the buffet was actually better.
The staff are fantastic as well. Always want to talk to you, always willing to help out. They were very good.
We did a bit of exploring and saw a fair bit of nature-including swimming with dolphins, quadbiking with zebras and the like and the Black River Gorges NP, history-Mauritius has so, so many museums!-, and culture-Grand Bassin is an amazing sight! Our only regret was that we didn't spend enough time there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from MARITIM Hotel Mauritius!
I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Maritim Estate and sharing your views with other travellers on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to learn that you consider MARITIM Hotel Mauritius like a ‘Great All Inclusive Property’!

The entire team is glad that you enjoyed your family holiday and all the facilities of the MARITIM
Estate. We have taken good note of your valuable comments as these will truly help us to monitor and improve our services and facilities even further.

Thank you once again for your review and all of us hope to see you back for a yet another holiday with us in the near future.

Yours truly,

Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Just had 10 days in this amazing place. we had a family holiday in the most idyllic place where all our needs were met and exceeded. If it comes to hospitality, welcome kindness generosity we all need go to this hotel and take some advice from them as they set a standard that is extreemy high and if you needed more then you are spoilt and need a private island with servants.
We had the most amazing time and forever great full to every member of staff who made it so special and all the lovely people we met. Thank you is not enough really just relax enjoy and the staff will do the rest to make it very special and you feel special.

Room Tip: They are all brilliant. Wifi was dodgy in the room at times but a small problem and it was great ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simon d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from MARITIM Hotel Mauritius!

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having chosen the MARITIM Hotel Mauritius for your familly holidays and also for great feedback.

We are simply delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that we have met and exceeded your expectations!

Thank you once again for your review and all of us hope to see you back for a yet another holiday with us in the near future.

Yours truly,
Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
0.3 mi away
The Ravenala Attitude
The Ravenala Attitude
#3 of 6 in Balaclava
1,305 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,440 reviews
28.9 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
0.2 mi away
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
10.3 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius

Property: Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
Address: Turtle Bay, Balaclava, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Family Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sparkling sandy beach, tropical gardens and the crystal clear turquoise waters of the Indian Ocean... Live the essence of a great island escape!Immerse yourself in this luxurious five-star beach and spa resort gently nestled within a picturesque private estate along the protected marine park of Turtle Bay.Enjoy a prime location on the sunniest and sheltered Northwest coast of the island between the capital Port - Louis and the lively village of Grand Bay and indulge in the pure nature of the historical estate of 25 hectares awarded 'Most Beautiful Garden of Mauritius'. Be spoilt by world-class accommodation with 215 luxurious rooms and suites as well as an exclusive villa, all sea facing and elegantly designed ...ideal to embrace the tropical ambiance of the island. Savour endless culinary delights during your journey with an exceptional selection of five exquisite restaurants and three bars ranging from 'feet in the sand' beach restaurants to Asian fusion and the exclusive fine dining restaurant 'Chateau Mon Desir'.Pamper yourself in its 'Maritim Tropical Flower Spa', an oasis of wellbeing offering exclusive treatments and stunning facilities to relax and unwind.Those seeking for active holidays will benefit from an infinite range of land and water sports offered such as horse riding, golf, archery, water ski, diving and many more!Whenever you are looking for relaxing or active holidays, this 5-star luxury hotel, part of Maritim Hotels, will offer you an exceptional array of facilities and experiences combined with the highest standards of service delivered with genuine Mauritian hospitality. Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius ...your holidays... beyond paradise ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Mauritius Balaclava
Hotel Maritim Mauritius
Maritim Hotel Mauritius
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius Balaclava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing