We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
Nearby Hotels
$233
$189
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$309
$292
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$291
$281
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$168
$156
getaroom.com
View Deal
The Oberoi, Mauritius(Pointe Aux Piments)
$540
$521
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa(Pointe Aux Piments)
$256
$239
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Meridien Ile Maurice(Pointe Aux Piments)
$305
$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sunset Reef Resort & Spa(Pointe Aux Piments)(Great Value!)
$108
$98
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (3,752)
Filter reviews
3,752 results
Traveler rating
2,608
763
231
92
58
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,608
763
231
92
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprestige roomla mareehorse ridingquarter deck barbelle vuechateau mon desirvip beachquarterdeck barmini golfgiant tortoisesgourmet passdeparture loungebeach restaurantall inclusive packagemon desirebeach servicele banyan
Filter
Updating list...
1,564 - 1,569 of 3,752 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Le Maritim is a great hotel set on a wonderful golden beach on the north west coast of Mauritius – lapped by the indian Ocean and basking in equatorial sun. I've been to Mauritius twice before - One&Only Le St Geran and Le Tropical. At Le Maritim there is plenty of good but unfortunately also some not so good.

Accommodation

We had a Privilege Room and Junior Suite. Both are spacious and clean. The Suite is larger with 2 x WC, a shower and a bath but the only real benefits here are the two sun loungers on the balcony and the coffee machine. The hotel operates 240v but contrary to many reports they use the EU 2-pin standard sockets (there is only one 3-pin UK-style wall socket in the room and that's for the dehumidifier). If you forget your adapters they do have a few at reception which can be borrowed FOC.

In the room there is a deep wall safe (which will accommodate the dimensions of an Apple Mac comfortably). They do not charge for the safe. Hangers – bring extra - there are never enough. There are tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms. The minibar contains water, milk, beer, white wine and fizzy drinks which are AI. (A few other items are not). They do say that you can ask to customise your minibar to include your favourites. I replaced the soft drinks with beer!
We had a 'ground floor' room on the north-side of reception which opened onto the gardens. ‘Ground’ floor here is a room starting 251+ However, the rooms that were above us 351+ (which have balconies) are on the same level as reception. This will avoid you having to climb steps up to reception and then down to the restaurant and then down again to the pool and Quarterdeck bar. There's a fair amount of that in this hotel.

Safety

Please be aware that if there is a downpour steps are all highly likely to get wet. They are tiled and the risk of slipping is high. Although the hotel staff try to keep them dry and put towels down do not rely on this. A significant customer care/safety issue for me is the lack of handrails in almost all places where there are steps – regardless of whether it is raining. This is the same in the main restaurant when you are likely to be carrying a plate in one hand. There is also a sloping path from the restaurant to the Quarterdeck bar which is tiled (very slippery) and has no hand rail whatsoever. If nothing else, they should consider install something like a ‘roped rail’ which would be in keeping with the quarterdeck theme and help customers.

Restaurants

The main restaurant is great. It's buffet-style with the waiting staff bringing drinks and water to the table. We had breakfast here but preferred to have lunch and dinner at the beach bar – Le Maree – where you get served at your table. This is 5-start after all.

Breakfast at Le Maree Beach bar & restaurant is 300Rs per person – even if you are on AI (unless you're in a suite). The selection is good – fresh fruit platter to start with, fresh orange juice followed by cereal of your choice and cooked breakfast – including scrambled eggs with salmon (a personal favourite). Apart from the systemic hotel-wide slow service (breakfast took 1.5 hours!) this is a lovely beachfront setting. More on the inconsistent service in a bit.

Dinner at Le Maree. Great setting with flame torches lighting your way to the bar/restaurant. Had a glass of the Cuvee at the bar and we were shown to our table. Served by Jean-Phillipe and never rushed as they only have one sitting and you can choose the time you want to dine. Only one issue – which I was about to experience again at the main bar – after two glasses of the Cuvee they had run out. That is not acceptable. Lesson: always order your wine by the bottle! Retired to the Quarter deck bar for a post-dinner coffee and Curvoisier. And yes, after just one of these, they ran out. (I don’t think ordering a bottle of Brandy applies here!) This was 10.30 in a bar that stays open ’till 01.00. 3 piece band played in the bar. Very pleasant.

Sunbeds

There are plenty of sun loungers around the pool with luxuriously thick cushions. These usually fill up around 9am. Mind you, there are plenty of wooden sun loungers on the beach with equally plump cushions. The thatched sunshades on the beach even have 240v 3-pin power should you want to use laptop. Bar service is provided around the pool by Jafar and on the beach by Kevesh and Dave.

AI beach activities include water 'couch' and water skiing. Parasailing is US$60.
Weaknesses

Firstly; the internet service appalling. There is free resort-wide internet coverage provided by 4 routers. Don't think about using Facetime or Skype. Getting emails is about all it is good for. Surfing the net is painfully slow. For the technical amongst you the stats are; ping 500ms; upload 2.8mbps; download 0.8mbps. Shockingly poor.

Secondly; cocktails and branded drinks. If you have chosen Le Maritim hoping to enjoy cocktails under the sun then you will be sadly disappointed. Not to put too fine a point on it, they don't know how to make a cocktail and there is no consistency from one bar man to the next. You only have to order the same cocktail twice to realise that they taste nothing alike. Branded alcohol is not included on AI. In fact, there is a selection of single malt whiskeys on the bar menu – none of which is available/in stock.

Third; inconsistent service. The staff are great. They really are. What lets them down is an incredible level of inconsistency in the service they provide. At times service would be prompt and at other times it would be horrendously slow. Sometimes there were insufficient staff in the restaurant so they would be pulled from the bar. Running out of alcohol in the middle of the evening! I could go on. I would go so far as to say this is a 5-star hotel with 3+ star service.

They have some excellent customer service personnel who are very responsive to your every need. But you don't want to be spending your holiday helping them run their hotel. I want them to be proactive and sort these problems out before we arrive.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dr David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We are glad to read that you consider the Maritim like ‘a great hotel set on a wonderful golden beach’. We would like to thank you for having taken the time to review the Maritim Estate in details and sharing your views with other travellers on Trip Advisor!

We have taken good note of your valuable comments which will truly help us to monitor and improve our services and facilities even further. I have the regret to read that you have encountered some service issues with some of our staff during your stay. Each of your comments has been comprehensively reviewed with all concerned. Kindly rest assured that we are taking all necessary measures to address the issues with the view to further improve our services and facilities. It is certainly not the standard upon which we have built our reputation.

For other future guests reading in, we would like to clarify that the ‘à la carte’ breakfast at La Marée Beach Restaurant is included for guests staying as from the Prestige room category. Regarding the internet connection, please note that we rely on the internet connection of the island. So far, our hotel offers you the best available connection in the country. We are also one of the few hotels offering free WIFI throughout the resort.

Once again, thank you for your valuable comments as it is mainly through guest comments that we become aware about improvements that should be made and this constantly drives us to excellence.

We sincerely hope we shall be able to regain your confidence and that we will have the pleasure once again to welcome you at MARITIM Hotel Mauritius.

Yours faithfully

Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We arrived off the early morning BA flight, which meant we reached the hotel at around 9 am. Unlucky for us - our room was not ready. We were repeatedly told that the check in time was 3pm, and we got very little sympathy from the German management who seemed to think that it was not their problem and certainly "our fault" for not booking and paying for an early check in (equivalent to buying an extra night!). The Mauritian staff were sympathetic and throughout our stay and at all levels were really friendly, welcoming and efficient. Holding to a rule about check in and check out times when practically all your clients are coming long haul seemed a bit silly to us, and most places we have stayed at realise that all you want to do is go to your room and shower after a long flight and they plan sufficient slack to cater for this customer need. We were offered the use of a communal freshen up facility but for us that is not a solution and we preferred to remain untidy in the lobby so that we were not overlooked. Things improved when we did get to our room. We stayed in a privilege room (one up from the basic). It was very spacious and really nicely laid out - a very good room. We were on the second floor with a balcony - for us much better than the ground floor as there seemed to be little privacy in those rooms. The all inclusive works fine, you get most drinks, all the buffet food, and a reduction at La Maree (700 rupees, but all drinks included) and Mon Desire (1000 rupees, no drinks included). Also the staff will guide you on the All Inc. La Maree restaurant has a lovely setting on the beach and is well worth a try. We had good and not so good food there. On the Steak night the steak was not so hot and the T bone steak was tough, the fillet was very tender. Mon Desire is a wonderful experience and good food, exceptional service, but expensive. The food in the buffet restaurant was very very good - themed evenings every night. The buffet food itself was well balanced - we particularly enjoyed the buffet breakfasts. This was one of the best buffet restaurants we have experienced and again the service was great. We liked the pool, but there are not quite enough sun beds, and not quite enough shade. A second pool for adults and swimmers would be a really good addition and there is plenty of room for one, especially in the gardens that are extensive. We found the beach poor and the sea rather uninviting but if we want wonderful sand and crystal clear water we go to the Maldives. The other guests were a mixture of young, old, honeymooners, those getting married, Germans, French and English mostly. There is a good range of water sports facilities, - some are free including water skiing. The gym was very well equipped, air conditioned and under utilised. Golf also under utilised, and a Spa - we didn't use these. We did use the services of Summetimes - the BA holidays agent. They were very good. The meet and greet at the airport was very smooth and they also saw us off at the airport at the end of our stay - a nice touch. We did one trip - the catamaran to Ile aux Cerfs. This was only ok, there is little to see on the snorkelling front and we suggest you take a little money to buy drinks on to the island at Ile aux Cerfs as you are left there for a couple of hours and it was very hot when we went. We expected quite a lot of rain on our holiday but there was very little - in fact the weather was very nice, hot and sunny most of the time. Leaving on the BA flight is a very early start, but the hotel provides a light breakfast. We had to leave by taxi at 5am but the Summer Times pick up was punctual and efficient. The flight back on BA was really appalling - noisy, poor food, and really poor and sloppy customer service. We will not be using BA to Mauritius again which is a shame as the Summertimes staff are attached to the BA holiday we bought. We will return to Mauritius and would consider Maritim for a second visit as it is a really comfortable and hospitable hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lilibet53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your entry on Trip Advisor.
I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Maritim Estate and sharing your views with other travellers on Trip Advisor!

The entire team is glad that you enjoyed your stay and it met your expectations.

For other future guests reading in, please note that the check-in time is indeed 3 pm as per international standards. We do of course the outmost to deliver the room before but it depends on the availability of the hotel which was very busy during your stay. We offer our guests a free access to a large arrival/ & departure lounge with lockers, private showers, changing cabin units, flat screen TV, internet corner and a seating area to directly start their journey on this paradise island.

Thank you once again for your review and all of us hope to see you back on the MARITIM Estate for a yet another holiday with us in the near future.

Yours faithfully
Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

I am currently at this superb hotel and cannot fault the value for money - exceptional service - and high quality holiday experience.

Travelling solo can sometimes be a chore and add to the complications of getting tables booked / excursions etc etc. The staff at the Maritim could not be more helpful or courteous.

The inclusive package meals are superb - the setting is picturesque and delightful - the experience thus far could not be bettered.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
4  Thank Sunlovverjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having chosen the MARITIM Hotel Mauritius for your holidays and also for kind feedback.

We are simply delighted to read that you are enjoying your stay with us and that we met your expectations!

We wish you a wonderful stay on the MARITIM Estate. The whole team is there for you if you need anything during your stay.

Kind regards,
Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Due to the vast majority of previous reviews recommending the Maritim, we took the plunge and stayed for 9 days mid February. From our arrival after a long trip - Belfast, London, Dubai, Mauritius to the end of our stay, the staff were outstanding in their friendliness and couldn't have been more helpful, to such a degree that it would be unfair to single out individuals.

Rooms - with two teenage kids, we stayed in adjoining 'prestige' rooms on the ground floor with a sea view. I know a few reviewers have recommended an upgrade, personally the prestige rooms are very well laid out and were more than adequate.

Food/drinks - some previous reviewers have complained about the 'buffet food' in the Belle Vue restaurant and having to pay extra to dine in the other restaurants. Our experience of the restaurant was, yes, you had to go up and serve yourself. However the food was all freshly prepared, was of the highest quality and with a different selection each day. The problem was trying not to eat too much! I have a gluten intolerance and every day the staff would make fresh 'gluten free' pancakes for me at breakfast - well recommended! There are a good variety of drinks included in the AI deal, including great cocktails (non-alcoholic and alcoholic) and lovely liquor coffees as a nightcap

Facilities/activities - the facilities/sports available are excellent and there is always something to do if you do not want to chill out by the pool/beach. I would thoroughly recommend a visit to the spa area (free on AI) where there is a steam room, sauna and plunge pool - quiet and hardly used for some reason.

All in all, a fantastic relaxing holiday. Hopefully we will get the chance to return to Mauritius in the future and would have no hesitation in staying at the Maritim again.

PS - If you have a choice, fly with Emirates, like the Maritim, the service was exceptional.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor prestige rooms 267 & 268. No problems whatsoever with noise, and a short walk to the pool/restaurants.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Ballyhack5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your entry on Trip Advisor.
I am delighted to learn that you consider MARITIM Hotel Mauritius like ‘Outstanding’!

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having chosen the MARITIM Hotel Mauritius for your recent holidays and also for your warm feedback.

Your gracious comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.

I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back again to MARITIM Hotel Mauritius, or to any of our other resorts worldwide.

Yours sincerely,

Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

What a pity I would love to have given this hotel five stars which it deserved in every way except one.The wine! The A/I wines were poor but drinkable in the buffet but The Chateau was a really
great restaurant,we ate there three times,and to drink these A/I wines with the food was a shame.However, to upgrade, the prices start around £45 for a bottle of red, which I feel is a bit steep.This is a pity as the restaurant is of a very high standard, really fine dining and the food deserves a decent wine.I am sure they could stock wines at around £25-£30 a bottle which is reasonable, or am I expecting too much.
Other than this gripe the hotel is excellent, we also ate in the Banyan and Maree restaurants which were very good, especially the situation of the Maree. right on the beach.
All the staff were excellent, very friendly and providing a wonderful service, always with a smile.
The hotel is in a beautiful situation with acres of gardens which were illuminated at night, and it made a nice walk back from the chateau, although a lift is always available.

Room Tip: Prestige rooms are very spacious and worth the upgrade.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rofert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from MARITIM Hotel Mauritius!
I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Maritim Estate and sharing your views with other travellers on Trip Advisor.

The entire team is glad that you enjoyed your stay and it met your expectations.

Regarding the wines, we want to highlight that Mauritius Island is subject to very high taxes on alcohol and other imported goods, which reflects on our selling prices. We have however taken good note of your comments which will truly help us to monitor and improve our offer even further.

Thank you once again for your review and all of us hope to see you back for a yet another holiday with us in the near future.

Yours truly,
Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews