We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lifetime memories”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Balaclava
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed at the hotel during the first week of February with our three children. A further eight family members came too. The hotel is very comfortable and the room fantastic. The kids loved the bath being in the middle of the floor! The food is varied and plentiful and the gardens are beautiful. The hotel is very child friendly and ours loved the swimming pool and kids' club.

Best of all was the attention to detail for our wedding - Madhavi is an absolute gem and listened patiently to our requests and coped with re-arranging everything when a cyclone postponed the ceremony for 24 hours and even then, arrangements for an indoor ceremony changed to the beach when the sun came out just one hour before. The photographs of everyone enjoying themselves with the setting sun in the background are fabulous. Can't thank Madhavi enough - what a star!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Greetings from MARITIM Hotel Mauritius and congratulations once again for your wedding!

The entire team is glad that you enjoyed this very special moment of your life and it met your expectations.Your gracious comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.

I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back again to MARITIM Hotel Mauritius, or to any of our other resorts worldwide.

Yours sincerely,

Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,562)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,442 - 1,448 of 3,563 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2014

We have just returned after the best week ever. We could not fault anything. We stayed in a Privilege room with a great view of the ocean. Taking the all inclusive option is definitely a good idea, there is a good choice of wines,beers and sparkling wines at no extra cost. The main restaurant serves a varied lunch and evening menu all the food was nicely presented and tasty. Breakfast was also good. We did treat ourselves to breakfast at La Maree which is on the beach,this involved an extra cost but was worth it! Also as a special one off we had a meal at Chateau Mon Desir, quite pricey but exceptional.
We were very impressed with all three of the Guest Communication managers, Aurelie, Kavita, Joanna who were always available during the day making sure that their clientele were happy.
We also thought that the Fair Play policy at the pool and beach was an excellent idea, meaning that the sunbeds could not be reserved and left unoccupied for over an hour
Every member of staff we met were polite and friendly. We can't wait to go back again. Well done Le Maritim for getting everything so right!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank casKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from MARITIM Hotel Mauritius!

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Maritim Estate and sharing your views with other travellers on Trip Advisor.

Thank you for the beautifully worded review for us on this forum.

The entire team is glad that you enjoyed your stay and it met your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back again on the Maritim Estate!

Yours faithfully

Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We stayed here in September 2013 lovely room , nice garden view and well appointed , best tip if you like el a carte book the beach restaurant for every night the day you arrive unless you are vegetarian you will not want to miss the steak night it is extra but well worth it. Lunch at the beach restaurant is also al a carte but you do not need to book. Breakfast in the main dining area is great self service and plenty of choice. The water skiing is free and very good but the free snorkelling trip is not as poor visibility , the horse riding looks good fun as it ends up with the rider swimming with the horse in the sea. This is a very special hotel for any couple looking to get married we have seen many weddings whilst on holiday and I can honestly say this hotel makes the bride and groom feel very special whether part of a large wedding party or just themselves.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your entry on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to learn that you consider MARITIM Hotel Mauritius like a ‘Great Hotel’!
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having chosen the MARITIM Hotel Mauritius for your holidays. We are simply delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that we have met your expectations!

Thank you once again for your review and all of us hope to see you back for a yet another holiday with us in the near future.

Yours truly,
Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

My child had to attend a birthday party and as I dropped off at hotel reception area with a view to a prompt departure upon locating party hosts, I was promptly shooed away by staff insisting that I couldn't drop off and park even for a minute but needed to park at a car park. If I was staying a bit longer this would be a normal thing but to insist on this just for a few minutes is to me the height of pettiness. I don't think I will bring any business to this hotel... The small things count and they failed pitifully

Stayed: February 2014
4  Thank npukuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

I have the regret to read that there has been a misunderstanding upon your arrival on the Maritim Estate concerning the welcome & drop-off zone which is not a parking.

For your information, we have indeed a strict rule regarding parking in front of the hotel entrance which is the lobby zone and which cannot in any case turned into a parking zone. This area is a fire evacuation zone where at no time any cars, taxi or buses shall park as indicated on the sign boards placed everywhere around this area. You will also understand that this has been putted in place also for the security and the comfort of all our guests to avoid any accident or noises disturbance for guests staying in a room nearby. We however provide to all our guests a wide parking area just one minute walks form the reception free of charge.

Thank you in advance for your kind understanding.
Yours faithfully,
Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We have just returned and felt I had to write straight away to say what a wonderful place this is. Upon arrival (which was very early in the morning), we were shown to the Arrivals/Departure Lounge where you can shower and change clothes. Again, if you are departing late in the day, you can leave your hand-baggage in a secure locker until you wish to shower and change for the journey home. From the moment we arrived we were treated with care and courtesy. I really don't know where to begin in saying how helpful, kind and friendly every member of staff treated us, and it would not be fair to pick out names, but one that I simply must mention was Jean Philipe in Le Maree. He was such a lovely man and couldn't do enough to make sure that we enjoyed our meal. Also, the lovely Yogeeta in the Belle Vue restaurant. Every time you are greeted by a member of staff they put their hand across their chest onto their heart and bow their head. What a lovely thing to do.

We chose a Privilege Room which had all we could have wanted and was cleaned to an excellent standard. There is a good range of toiletries consisting of shower gel, body lotion, shampoo and conditioner, all of which were replenished regularly, but ladies, please bring your own hairdryer. Although there is one provided in the room, it is a small travel-type hairdryer with no power at all! This piece of equipment seemed to be a talking point amongst most of the female guests in the hotel.

The hotel is situated in large, immaculately maintained gardens. A walk to the farm to see the giant tortoises and horses was interesting, as were the ruins and the waterfall. The pool is a good size with a swim up bar and was always clean. There were plenty of sunbeds and very few people put out towels early in the morning. I was impressed that every two beds had a sunshade (and this was definitely needed as it gets very hot). The waiter service around the poolside was good. There are plenty of sunbeds on the beach as well, and although the local people walk along selling various items we did not find them to be a problem, and actually enjoyed having conversations with some of them. We saw many people buying goods from them.

There is a very nice bar area. Again, service here is good. An example was when I helped myself to a few banana crisps from the bar; the waiter obviously noticed and brought me a bowlful. The staff remember what drink you had and will bring you another before even asking.

The food was very good, but having to pay extra to eat in some of the restaurants is something that I would criticise. This is the first time that I have paid for an All Inclusive holiday, only to find it was not All Inclusive at all. I won't repeat what others have said, but All Inclusive only permits you to eat in the Belle Vue (buffet) for all meals, or Le Maree for lunch and dinner (but only from the set menu); if you wish to choose from the A La Carte you are charged extra. There are some other lovely restaurants such as an Asian restaurant, Mauritian restaurant and various 'themes' such as a suckling pig night, barbecue night, etc., all of which incurred an extra charge. In all honesty we did begin to wonder what exactly we had paid for!

There is a duo/trio playing in the restaurant at night and a very good pianist in the bar who plays until approx. 10.00pm. Apart from this there was no evening entertainment.

We tried the archery one morning which was good fun, and through excellent tuition, we had both improved by the end of the session. We booked a couple of trips through Michaela, the Virgin rep. As neither my husband nor I have ever snorkled, we did the bubble walking which I would recommend. As someone who has never been under water before, I viewed this as a tremendous achievement! We also did the South Island Tour run by White Sands Tours. Our guide was Steeve who was very knowledgeable.

I would have to end this review by again stating how wonderful every member of staff is. If you are thinking about staying at this hotel, don't hesitate, book it, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: All rooms appeared to have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Greetings from MARITIM Hotel Mauritius!

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Maritim Estate and sharing your views with other travellers on Trip Advisor!

Your gracious comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.

We would like to clarify some points for other guests reading in: our Upscale All Inclusive formula, which is one of the most extensive offer of the destination, includes breakfast, lunch, afternoon snacks and dinner at the main restaurant 'Belle Vue' and a credit of RS 750 per person per day in all our other restaurants (La Marée Beach restaurant, Filaos Beer Garden Pub & Le Banyan Asian Fusian Restaurnat) except at the fine dining restaurant Château Mon Désir where guests are entitled to a special credit of RS 1000 per person per day. Afternoon cakes, pancakes, a choice of ice-creams and milkshakes cookies or pastries and variety of snacks are also available at the bar as well as snacks and choice of ice-creams on the beach. Regarding the drinks a wide selection of local and imported drinks are included at the 'Quarter Deck Bar' and on the beach. A selection of drinks (snacks not included), tea and coffee facilities are included in mini bar (refilled once per day) as well as an early-bird breakfast in the lobby and a lunch box available for outside excursions.

Thank you once again for your review and all of us hope to see you back on the MARITIM Estate for a yet another holiday with us in the near future.

Yours faithfully.
Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We arrived to a lovely welcome. After a short overview we were shown to our spacious room which was in an ideal location for us opposite the 1st tee of the golf course. The golf course may only be 9 holes but it is beautiful and very challenging. The staff we met in every part of the hotel were always polite, friendly and genuinely keen to make our holiday special. Eating breakfast on the beach at the La Maree was quite idyllic. We arranged through the hotel concierge to go on a 30 minute helicopter trip round part of the island. This was a great experience. The beach was kept very tidy and the boys who served us our drinks there do a great job. I have to give a special mention to Daven in the Belle Vue Restaurant. What a lovely man. Management were always there to help which was very reassuring and appreciated. Great holiday. Look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Greetings from MARITIM Hotel Mauritius!

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Maritim Estate and sharing your views with other travellers on Trip Advisor!

We are simply delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay among us and all the facilities and team members of the MARITIM Hotel Mauritius.

Thank you once again for your review and your great support!
We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,
Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

My self and my husband got married at Maritim Mauritius and spent 2 weeks on al basis
Our wedding was fabulous, and well organised by Madhavi and Ganisha. They dud everything after consulting with us. We didn't gave to worry about anything and everything went so smoothly. We had the photographers through the hotel and Avinash was excellent and so experienced... They all do this every day .... So what else can you expect apart from perfection
During our stay, all the staff were very good and we had excellent service, no matter where we were...we spent most of time on the beach and the la maree bar! We loved it. We had plenty of choice with the food and drinks and where to eat. We ate in the asian and mauritian themed restruants with extra suppliment. It was worth it. Saying that, the food in the buffet and lam are which was the part of all inclusive deal was great.
Lots of activities were free, including the glass bottom boat and water skiing etc.But if you going for any paid water activities, like catamaran cruise etc, I suggest you to book directly with the firm than going through the boat house guys.... As it's much much more expensive, and you could get the same trip for approx 70% of the price. 
The beach and gardens are so well maintained...we really can't complain about anything... The lovely people there knows how to make you feel special....I loved it! We loved it!
Only thing which could be better to keep up with the rest of the service is the room service... It is not consistent with giving towels, minibar etc.... It's patchy..
But all in all we had a fabulous wedding and relaxed holiday.
Thanks to all the staff again including Madhavi, Ganisha, Kavitha, BOB, Nagadoo, yashim, vimala, ishweree, akshay, abhishek .... Thanks.. We will see you again.
Anu & Fred 
Wales

Room Tip: Prestige room is worth the it with wonderful views and poster beds as seen on the photos! We stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kiddykid2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from MARITIM Hotel Mauritius and congratulations again for your wedding!
I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Maritim Estate and sharing your views with other travellers on Trip Advisor.

The entire team is glad that you enjoyed your wedding and honeymoon among us and it met your expectations.
Your gracious comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.

I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back again to MARITIM Hotel Mauritius, or to any of our other resorts worldwide.

Yours sincerely,

Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
0.4 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,503 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
0.3 mi away
The Ravenala Attitude
The Ravenala Attitude
#3 of 6 in Balaclava
1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.9 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,862 reviews
0.2 mi away
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
1.2 mi away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
3,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius

Address: Turtle Bay, Balaclava, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range: $288 - $1,011 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sparkling sandy beach, tropical gardens and the crystal clear turquoise waters of the Indian Ocean... Live the essence of a great island escape!Immerse yourself in this luxurious five-star beach and spa resort gently nestled within a picturesque private estate along the protected marine park of Turtle Bay.Enjoy a prime location on the sunniest and sheltered Northwest coast of the island between the capital Port - Louis and the lively village of Grand Bay and indulge in the pure nature of the historical estate of 25 hectares awarded 'Most Beautiful Garden of Mauritius'. Be spoilt by world-class accommodation with 215 luxurious rooms and suites as well as an exclusive villa, all sea facing and elegantly designed ...ideal to embrace the tropical ambiance of the island. Savour endless culinary delights during your journey with an exceptional selection of five exquisite restaurants and three bars ranging from 'feet in the sand' beach restaurants to Asian fusion and the exclusive fine dining restaurant 'Chateau Mon Desir'.Pamper yourself in its 'Maritim Tropical Flower Spa', an oasis of wellbeing offering exclusive treatments and stunning facilities to relax and unwind.Those seeking for active holidays will benefit from an infinite range of land and water sports offered such as horse riding, golf, archery, water ski, diving and many more!Whenever you are looking for relaxing or active holidays, this 5-star luxury hotel, part of Maritim Hotels, will offer you an exceptional array of facilities and experiences combined with the highest standards of service delivered with genuine Mauritian hospitality. Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius ...your holidays... beyond paradise ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Mauritius Balaclava
Hotel Maritim Mauritius
Maritim Hotel Mauritius
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius Balaclava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing