We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvellous experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Balaclava
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Could not fault our two week experience. Food, room, location, amenities and staff were first class. It was all I could have wished for and more. A big thank you to all the staff for making this a truly outstanding holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank chrissiebeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Greetings from MARITIM Hotel Mauritius!

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Maritim Estate and sharing your views with other travellers on Trip Advisor.

Thank you for the beautifully worded review for us on this forum.
The entire team is glad that you enjoyed your stay and it met your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back again on the Maritim Estate!

Yours faithfully

Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,563)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,698 - 1,704 of 3,563 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stayed at the Maritim for two nights. The bedroom and bathroom were the smallest I'd ever had in Mauritius and a bit shabby. The bathroom was fine for one but too small for two people to use at the same time. The hotel has all the facilities you would expect from a Mauritian hotel plus golf and horse riding. The gym was a bit dingy.

The food was exceptionally good; much better than the Prince Maurice and at least as good as the Royal Palm. The staff are uniformly delightful.

The hotel is situated next to a public beach. One night they had incredibly loud music there till 11.30pm. It was so loud that it was impossible even to sit in my bedroom, which was situated close to the end of the hotel. The whole room vibrated with noise even with the windows closed. I had to go and sit in reception till the music stopped.

Overall not a bad hotel for the price but if you are thinking of going insist on a room as far away as possible from the public beach.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the public beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 194Kent58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your entry on Trip Advisor.
We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed the facilities of the hotel, our staff as well as the food during your short stay that you have considered at a 5-star plus level.

We have well noted your comments about the room. Please note that this category is specifically dedicated to short stay. We have however well noted your comments which will help us to improve even further our guest satisfaction which is our main objective.

We look forward to welcome you once again on the MARITIM Estate in a category and location of room which will suit you better.

Kindest regards from Mauritius
Haje Thurau
General Manage
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The staff were amazing - hlepful, friendly, efficient from the very first moment when we were met at the entrance with a cool refreshing drink and invited to relax on the couch while they dealt with checking us in. We arrived at 8.00 am and were very fortunate that our room was ready for us and we were immediately in holiday mode. Food very good however La Maree was my favourite - nothing to beat a beachside restaurant.
All inclusive often means local beverages - not at the Maritim, gorgeous wines (huge choice) and spirits that you'd drink at home (courvosiier, smirnoff etc) all part of the all inclusive package.
Huge gardens to wander through and beautiful beach with incredible beach service - nothing is a problem.
Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 99blue99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your entry on Trip Advisor.
I am delighted to learn that you consider MARITIM Hotel Mauritius like a ‘little piece of paradise’!

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having chosen the MARITIM Hotel Mauritius for your recent holidays and also for your kind and warm feedback.

I am so glad to read that you have appreciated our staff, the welcome, your room as well as our Beach restaurant , the beach, gardens and our upscale all inclusive formula

I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back again to MARITIM Hotel Mauritius, or to any of our other resorts worldwide.

Yours sincerely,

Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

So many positive comments are made about Mauritius and now here's another! Ours is not just about an island full of character, charm and stunning views, but a hotel that will rank as the best we've ever enjoyed. In a variety of ways the Maritim in Mauritius surpassed our highest expectations.
The hotel is set in idyllic surroundings, full of natural beauty and tended with daily care. We chose to upgrade our room and found this to be an excellent decision. The accommodation was luxurious, spacious, airy, clean and well appointed, with views across the lawns, tropical flora and fauna, and stunning evening sights of the colourful sun setting in the Indian Ocean.
Our package was 'all inclusive', an option we'd never tried before, but in this instance, a perfect choice. The variety and quality of food available on this, based on a buffet self-selection system worked excellently in the main restaurant, but several other alternative fine dining locations withim the hotel and its grounds could be chosen, with concessions off the cost. We felt there no need to do this, except if to celebrate a special event, or to provide a quieter or more romantic ambience maybe. We did this once and savoured some of the finest shellfish we'd ever tasted, albeit even with our discount, this was relatively expensive. A word of warning though. If you wish to book one of the alternative restaurants do so really early in your holiday. We tried doing this on our first full day to find there was no availability whatsoever and had to go onto a cancellation waiting list. Thanks to personal efforts made by Kavita, our guest co-ordinator, we were able to guarantee a table on our last evening. This highlights the desire of staff to please and ensure holidays are memorable like ours certainly was.
Most types of drink were available on our deal too, including a good selection of branded spirits, wines and well known cocktails. Most facilities were free too, most water-sports, excluding diving.
One of the notable highlights overall was the naturally friendly, helpful, 'can do' attitude of staff from cleaners to management alike. Most had a friendly smile and helpful, polite manner from our arrival to departure, unsurpassed in our experience.
Our only recommendation for improvement would be to avoid the potential delay in being accommodated in your rooms if your arrival time is early in the day. As most travellers will have completed substantial journeys, although logistically challenging, a greater effort to make rooms available earlier would have been unbelievably appreciated.
Overall, a superb hotel, with stunning surroundings and wonderful staff. An excellent choice in our opinion for anyone wishing to travel to Mauritius.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank C J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from MARITIM Hotel Mauritius!

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Maritim Estate and sharing your views with other travellers on Trip Advisor.

We are simply delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay in Mauritius and that the Maritim Tean met and exceeded your expectations!

Thank you once again for your kind and warm review and all of us hope to see you back for a yet another holiday with us in the near future.

Yours truly,
Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We spent an amazing 3 weeks at the Maritim last year. All the staff (other than one of the barmen) were friendly and welcoming and could not do enough for you to ensure your stay was special.
The beach bar and restaurant was amazing, definately a special place and the lobster was awesome!
The privalige and prestige rooms are wonderful and every room appeared to have a great view.
Bar service by the pool and on the beach makes your stay even more special.
This truly is a little bit of heaven on earth.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brookiesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from MARITIM Hotel Mauritius!

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Maritim Estate and sharing your views with other travellers on Trip Advisor!

We are simply delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay among us and that you consider the Maritim Hotel Mauritius like 'Heaven on Earth'!

Thank you once again for your review and your great support!

Yours sincerely,

Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Summary: Very well kept hotel ,nice staff, but food was a let down . Better value can be found in other all inclusive hotels. actually this should not be classed as all inclusive.

I have been travelling 5 star all inclusive for 15 years and have and so have a lot to compare with.

Good points

1. Well maintained hotel
2. Very friendly and helpful staff
3. Good watersports
4. Very nice spa , favourite part of hotel ( treatments not included)
5. Nice grounds
6. Beach hawkers are fine

Bad points (many can quickly be fixed if the hotel listens)
1. There are number of dogs on the beach , they are non aggressive, but they do excrete on the beach and do quite a bit of humping.
2. Bar service on the beach is good . You can get a beer served on the beach but if you fancy a Vodka and coke you have to go and get it from the bar yourself. I cant work that one out as the drinks come from the same bar , and it’s very annoying.
3. A few of the staff need to learn how to use ther hand when the cough or sneeze around or handle food .They then pop off to wash their hands.
4. There are are no feet washes on the beach.
5. Our room was on the ground floor and if upstairs used their toilet in the early hours we would be woken up with the flushing. Also if you have a room that joined with another through a door , the noise comes through. Also if someone upstairs used the shower in early hours it would wake you up. I got woke up every night.
6. The rice in the buffet area always had uncooked pieces in it, so watch your teeth
7. The toaster in the breakfast area is so so slow it needs replacing and the bread was occasionally stale.
8. All but 1 of evening singers must have been employed by someone who was tone death , possibly a ploy to get you to go to bed early and stop drinking on AI
9. The restaurant on the beach had very small portions. This had an all inclusive section in the menu but choice was poor. All other restaurants (exept buffet) you had to pay extra even if you were All inclusive. But the Asian Fusion restaurant was very good and worth the extra money
10. The evening buffet in generally was ok , but the deserts were poor and lacking fruit
11. The lunch buffet was ok , but the desert section very poor. So we ended up eating a toasted sandwhich most days on the beach.
12. In the buffet restaurant you often waited too long for things to be refilled
13. For breakfast getting your eggs cooked could be a bit of a wait, they need some extra staff to help out.
14. The golf course is no more than a pitch and putt , so I’m not sure how they can justify charging you for it .
15. The staff trolleys are noisy and can disturb your sleep when they pass the room , change to pneumatic wheels.
16. The waterskiing boat drivers do not wear engine kill leads , they should as I skied over a rock that was about 1 foot below the water and they risk being thrown out of the boat if the boat hits it.
17. Wifi can drop off easily on the beach , but is good in the room
18. Snorkling is really pants, I hear the coral is so damaged due to use of explosive fishing.
19. The sand can be sharp from the coral and will cut you , very disappointed with the quality of the sand and the swimming area
20. Breakfast tea and coffee was often cold , they used plastic thermos flasks.
21. Pool was cold , never used it
22. Staff never encouraged residents to take part in activities
23. Mauritian meal was ok ( included a supplement)
24. Paid for lobster 1 night in the beach restaurant , was very disappointed
25. The crazy golf is comical
26. Every time you use the watersports the team try to plug other costs items e.g. parasailing
27. Annoying when the staff try to plug cocktails and then want to charge you .


I travelled first class emirates and took a shower in the A380 at 35,000 feet . The flight cost more than the accommodation but if you want to spoil yourself and arrive fresh , do it .
This was the highlight of my holiday. I would not return to this resort unless every restaurant had a selection of free fine dining restaurants that most AI resorts do.

The rate for this hotel with economy flights was approx. £4300 ( I booked 3 months in advance). So to be fare this price was less than other “real” AllInc resorts I’ve been to , but I know others at the hotel paid £5100 for the same and at that price I would have been even more disappointed.

Recommended Tours:

Virigin ahoy Catamaran to il aux cerfs was very good, but current is strong so watch the kids.
Go cyling from the hotel with Vic through the local village, lovely to see how the locals live
Walk with lions.
Drive to Flic n Flac, nice sea.

Tips:

If you hire a car , download the island map for you smartphone at the hotel, the hire cars do not come with maps. You drive on left but people, dogs and bikes will cross in front of you in the villages, driving is not for the faint hearted . Get back to the hotel before dark . Keep on the motorway in Port Louis at home time

The Caribbean whips Mauritus in my opinon . Check out La Source Grenada , however unfortunately Sandals now owns this and have added 130 more rooms on top of the 100 that existed, so I may change my recommendation when I revisited in Jan.

I’m just past 40 years of age and went without kids

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MikeAsher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your entry on Trip Advisor.
I am glad to read that you consider that the hotel is well kept and that you have appreciated the grounds, our friendly and helpful staff, our water sports, the Asian Fusion restaurant and our spa facilities.

We are grateful to you for taking the time to pass on your much appreciated comments concerning your stay at MARITIM Hotel Mauritius. Each of your remarks has been comprehensively reviewed with all concerned. Those will help us to become aware about improvements that should be made and this constantly drives us to excellence.

Thank you once again for your review and all of us hope to see you back on the MARITIM estate for a yet another holiday with us in the near future.
Yours faithfully

Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Great hotel, we were upgraded to suite FOC. Food in all inclusive of highest standard. Mautitian and La MAree good value although we couldnt get in steak night twice fully booked yet plenty empty tables? Great service with on site golf and beach activities. Only downside was having to come home. Would definitely stay there again

Room Tip: Upgrade worth the money and better views from first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank David299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from MARITIM Hotel Mauritius!
I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Maritim Estate and sharing your views with other travellers on Trip Advisor.

Thank you for the beautifully worded review for us on this forum.

The entire team is glad that you enjoyed your stay and it met your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon on the Maritim Estate!

Yours faithfully

Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
0.4 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,503 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
0.3 mi away
The Ravenala Attitude
The Ravenala Attitude
#3 of 6 in Balaclava
1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.9 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,861 reviews
0.2 mi away
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
1.2 mi away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
3,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius

Address: Turtle Bay, Balaclava, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range: $288 - $1,011 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sparkling sandy beach, tropical gardens and the crystal clear turquoise waters of the Indian Ocean... Live the essence of a great island escape!Immerse yourself in this luxurious five-star beach and spa resort gently nestled within a picturesque private estate along the protected marine park of Turtle Bay.Enjoy a prime location on the sunniest and sheltered Northwest coast of the island between the capital Port - Louis and the lively village of Grand Bay and indulge in the pure nature of the historical estate of 25 hectares awarded 'Most Beautiful Garden of Mauritius'. Be spoilt by world-class accommodation with 215 luxurious rooms and suites as well as an exclusive villa, all sea facing and elegantly designed ...ideal to embrace the tropical ambiance of the island. Savour endless culinary delights during your journey with an exceptional selection of five exquisite restaurants and three bars ranging from 'feet in the sand' beach restaurants to Asian fusion and the exclusive fine dining restaurant 'Chateau Mon Desir'.Pamper yourself in its 'Maritim Tropical Flower Spa', an oasis of wellbeing offering exclusive treatments and stunning facilities to relax and unwind.Those seeking for active holidays will benefit from an infinite range of land and water sports offered such as horse riding, golf, archery, water ski, diving and many more!Whenever you are looking for relaxing or active holidays, this 5-star luxury hotel, part of Maritim Hotels, will offer you an exceptional array of facilities and experiences combined with the highest standards of service delivered with genuine Mauritian hospitality. Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius ...your holidays... beyond paradise ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Mauritius Balaclava
Hotel Maritim Mauritius
Maritim Hotel Mauritius
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius Balaclava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing