We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
Nearby Hotels
$290
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$214
$189
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$309
$291
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea View Villas(Balaclava)
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$167
bedfinder
View Deal
The Oberoi, Mauritius(Pointe Aux Piments)
$520
$506
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa(Pointe Aux Piments)
$248
$238
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Meridien Ile Maurice(Pointe Aux Piments)
$303
$259
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sunset Reef Resort & Spa(Pointe Aux Piments)(Great Value!)
$107
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (3,755)
Filter reviews
3,755 results
Traveler rating
2,610
764
231
92
58
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,610
764
231
92
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprestige roomla mareehorse ridingquarter deck barbelle vuechateau mon desirvip beachquarterdeck barmini golfgiant tortoisesgourmet passdeparture loungebeach restaurantall inclusive packagemon desirebeach servicele banyan
Filter
Updating list...
1,928 - 1,933 of 3,755 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We flew from Johannesburg at 1st March 2013. We were greeted by Mauritours staff who arranged for our trip to the hotel. We were greeted warmly with ice cold fresh towels, cocktails and a friendly representative informings us all about the hotel.We were taken straight to our room. All the staff was very friendly,professional and helpful.The priviledge room with its large double bed overlooking the ocean was a haven. Bar was stocked with drinks. Decoration of rooms speak of quality.Last two nights we were upgraded to a suite free of charge! The beaches, swimming pool, bars and restaurants was absolute a pleasure! The service from staff is first class.We even arranged a catamaran trip to Flat Island on site.Credit to management for running such a resort so smootly. Well done. We already make plans to visit Maritim very soon and with some friends!

Room Tip: Take a priviledge room, preverably on the southern side with a seaview.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wynand C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Greetings from MARITIM Hotel Mauritius!

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Maritim Estate and sharing your views with other travellers on Trip Advisor.

Thank you for the beautifully worded review for us on this forum.

The entire team is glad that you enjoyed your stay and it met your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back again on the Maritim Estate!


Yours faithfully

Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We arrived at the hotel which we booked for our silver wedding treat. We were greeted with a very warm welcome, our luggage was taken straight to our room while we were checked in, a nice cocktail was provided with a friendly representative letting us know all about the hotel. We were taken to our room in a golf buggy type vehicle and was shown into our room. Air conditioned, ceiling fan, beautiful view, the bed was huge and comfortable, very very clean couldnt have been better. The next morning we went down to breakfast, excellent, had lunch excellent, evening meal excellent. So much choice and very very friendly staff. This hotel in a whole, beach, gardens, pool area, rooms could not have been improved at all. I would recommend this hotel to any of my friends with no hesitation, a must with the all inclusive. EXCELLENT, BEAUTIFUL AND FRIENDLY. Two very satisfied guests.

Room Tip: We had a prestige room, over looking the sea. I am sure all the rooms were as good as each other. Hotel lovely and quiet, would have been happy in any room.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from MARITIM Hotel Mauritius!
I am delighted to learn that you consider MARITIM Hotel Mauritius like ‘EXCELLENT, BEAUTIFUL AND FRIENDLY’!

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having chosen the MARITIM Hotel Mauritius for your recent holidays and also for this warm and kind feedback.

Your gracious comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.

Thank you once again for your review and all of us hope to see you back for a yet another holiday with us in the near future!

Yours Sincerely,

Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the Maritim at the end of March 2013. The hotel is stunning everything is lush and beautiful. The service is first class and great value for money

I played the 9 hole golf course on site which was just average with greens that aren't worth getting your putter out for they are so slow and bumpy. Still good to have somewhere close to hit a few balls.

Five fantastic restaurants to chose from

Overall fantastic location and hotel

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen_Alan_Harvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Maritim Hotel on Trip Advisor!

The entire team is glad that you liked the hotel, our fist class service and that you consider your stay at the resort as good value for money.

I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back again to MARITIM Hotel Mauritius.

Kind Regards,

Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We have just returned from a 7 day holiday at the Maritim Hotel in Mauritius. It is a beautiful hotel with a lot of attention to detail. Very clean and the staff are exceptionally friendly and professional at all times.

So to get the "buts" out of the way first, here are the negatives.

We were booked into a Premium room which was located at the far end of the hotel. The room was so disappointing as it was dark and the bathroom was shocking. It was tiny and in need of a revamp. In my view, no 5 star establishment should have a room of this standard available. We then requested an upgrade to a Privelege room and this was more to the standard of a 5 star. It was beautiful, spacious and elegantly decorated. We were charged full rate for the upgrade despite the fact that we complained about it. We also complained about the security camera aimed directly at our room which took away all sense of privacy.

DO NOT BOOK A PREMIUM ROOM AS YOU WILL BE DISAPPOINTED!

On our fifth day, my husband got food poisoning. We reported this to reception and they were sympathetic at the time. However, we did not get an apology from the restaurant or the hotel manager for this inconvenience at any time.

Also, the kitchen seems to cook with lard. For me personally, I could not take the smell in the serving area and for the entire time we were there, I could not face any fried foods. I did not even have one cooked breakfast for this reason. The smell of lard and cooking oil permeates the kitchen and cooking area. The fresh foods are tasty and there is a wide variety of choice.

So on the positive side, the hotel is truly beautiful, service is always good and special mention must be made of the diving team who were superb and highly experienced. What a wonderful team who really take care of novice divers. The beach is lovely too and there is no shortage of a variety of water sports. There is lots to do and see! It is also a romantic hotel with lots of little private areas that you can sit and relax in.

Room Tip: Do not book a Premium room
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aimee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your entry on Trip Advisor.
We are grateful to you for taking the time to pass on your much appreciated comments concerning your stay at MARITIM Hotel Mauritius.

I am delighted to learn that you consider the MARITIM Hotel Mauritius very clean and the staff exceptionally friendly and professional at all times.

Your precious comments have been comprehensively reviewed with all concerned. Those allow us to be aware about improvements that should be made and this constantly drives us to excellence.

At MARITIM Hotel Mauritius, our main concerns are to exceed guest’s expectations and we are always open to suggestions for continuous improvement in our day-to-day operations.

Thank you once again for your review and all of us hope to see you back on the MARITIM estate for a yet another holiday with us in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,
Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We flew with BA from Gatwick and arrived 50 mins early.
When we arrived (by private transfer with running commentary of the history of the island) the whole Maritim experience starts at the gate to the estate which you drive through to get to the hotel.
The reception is dealt with very informally which is nice (plus cold towels & fruit cocktail).
Our room 233 (prestige) was fantastic, it was a large room with a huge bed, verandah, walk in wardrobe and a lovely bathroom with a free-standing bath. The air-con was very efficient and not at all noisy.

There is a dress code after 1900 hrs where men must wear trousers, shorts are a no no, but fine for ladies which did seem a bit one sided.

The restaurants did vary quite a bit. The main one (Belle Vue) was a buffet and the choices were quite good but some nights they were a bit limited and they rotate the menu on a weekly basis so if you don't fancy the "fish night" you can book at one of the other restaurants but please be aware that the "All inclusive" only gives you an allowance against the price in these other places, but certainly at Le Banyan it was well worth paying for. The food & service was second to none (thanks Ashvin & Kumar), better than at the Chateau mon desir, although the ambience of Le Banyan was nowhere near as good as the Chateau.

The Chateau mon desir is good food served in a nouvelle cuisine style and you are treated very well but the food wasn't as good quality as Le Banyan and it cost an extra 3700 rupees over Le Banyan.

La Maree steak nights are worth a go, the fillet steaks were wonderful.
If you book a prestige room you can have breakfast at La Maree (for free) which is a very nice touch, but make sure you wear mosquito repellent as they are awake in the morning as well..

The beach was the easiest place to get a sunbed and sunbathe as the pool beds were always taken, you could always find beds even if it did mean a bit of a walk. Jaffar or Dave were always offering you drinks and snacks throughout the day. Although it is not mentioned you can get rolls/wraps on the beach as part of the AI so you don't have to traipse back to the Belle Vue.

Beach shoes are a recommendation as the sand in the water is littered with broken coral and urchins and is often cloudy so you can't see where you are putting your feet, not really suitable for young children. Don't expect Maldivian standard of snorkelling there but through the murky water I did spot a couple of Picasso triggerfish and Moorish Idols.
The weather varied from day to day, mostly hot sunshine with occasional light showers for 10 mins at time which didn't really stop you sunbathing and sometimes it was even welcome as it was very humid and hot for the bed part.

The golf course is a bit limited, but a nice way of spending a couple of hours (clubs can be hired). There is plenty to do at Maritim if you want to, from water sports to horse riding to archery. The walk up the Citron river to the ruins is also worth an effort and don't forget to see the Giant Tortoises, over 100 years old..

If there was an area that let the hotel down it was at reception. No one really seemed to be in control. We asked for a late check out as our flight was at 2110 hrs and were told that they would get back to us, but only after checking 3 more times we finally found out we could. Even then they didn't re-authorise the door cards so at 1200 hrs on the day of departure the cards no Longer worked and we couldn't get into our room. Another trip to reception. When we did check out we told reception that our two cases were in the room and needed collecting, however they simply forgot in the space of 30 minutes. This only became apparent when we were getting in the car to leave and the concierge had to go and get them himself.

It sounds like a lot of moaning, but we really did enjoy the holiday and the hotel. With just a little more care the Maritim could really be the top hotel in Mauritius.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
8  Thank LevingtonJed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Mr. Levington,

Thank you for your entry on Trip Advisor.
I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Maritim Estate and sharing your views with other travellers on Trip Advisor.

The entire team is glad that you enjoyed your stay in Mauritius. We have taken good note of your valuable comments as these will truly help us to monitor and improve our services and facilities even further.

Thank you once again for your review and all of us hope to see you back soon!

Yours sincerely,
Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews