We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good - but not great!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Balaclava
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have just returned from a 12 night "All Inclusive" break with my husband to the Maritim. When you approach the hotel you cannot fail to see how beautiful both the hotel and the extensive grounds are. The welcome by staff was warm, although being told that our room would not be ready for another hour was not the best of news after a twelve hour flight!! We were told to grab a bite in the buffet restaurant which we didn't particularly fancy - a shower and a change of clothes would have been preferable!!

The room we were taken to was fine - throughout our whole holiday it was serviced extremely well - always lovely and clean with a well stocked mini bar including milk for hot drinks, plenty of tea and coffee and a water supply that was more than adequately replenished.

With regards to the restaurants I feel this is where the hotel lets itself down. The only fully all inclusive restaurant is The Bellevue, Here although the food is adequate it is not great. A reasonably good choice, although the bias is towards Indian cooking - some of which is good ,some soso.It is a buffet which I don't mind but we often found that the service was quite lacking. It is a busy restaurant, but this doesn't excuse the fact that often the tables were not laid properly- we would be shown to one, told to get a plate of food and that the table would be ready on our return. This often wasn't the case and we would end up with food and nothing to eat it with!! The drinks service was also fairly poor on occasion. Sometimes we had almost finished our meal before the wine and water arrived .
There are then two other restaurants - The Banyan and La Maree for which you receive some credit if you are all inclusive. We tried both but have to say that although it was nice to have a change of both food and scenery, they simply weren't good enough to warrant the extra money paid. We have been to several other all inclusive hotels around the world where these type of restaurants would have just been part of the package. After all they are not "fine dining", just different. However, their "fine dining" experience at Chateau Mon Desir was a totally different experience. My husband booked it to celebrate my Birthday and all in all we had a lovely evening. The food for the most part was good (again not outstanding) the ambience lovely and wonderful service. The downside was the extortionate prices on their wine list. We paid approx £50 for a really average bottle of red wine, but heyho you only have a birthday once a year!! The only point that soured the evening slightly was due to a very rowdy group of Russians who seemed to think that they owned the place!! They firstly showed absolutely no respect for the hotels dress code - all the men turning up in scruffy jeans and T shirts and what can I say about the women??!!!They obviously had money to burn seeing the vast amount of champagne they were consuming and we began to think that this is why the restaurant staff were turning a blind eye to their behaviour?! We both feel sure that if we had turned up looking the way they did, we would have been turned away - I hope not!
With regards to the beach - it is just ok. The staff do their best to keep it clean (although loads of flies) - it just isn't one of the greatest. There is still the problem with the towels left on empty sunbeds- although the hotel tries to discourage it, but this still goes on everywhere. If you want a stunning beach I would suggest to people going to Flic en Flac which is in the South west of the island (we stayed there before -8 years ago} and it is stunning.
With regards to the entertainment- again not great. Very low key although some of the music very good, but sometimes it would have been nice to have had something with a bit more oomph!!
Reading this through I am a little surprised at how negative I sound!! We still enjoyed a good holiday- we always do as holidays are very precious to us! I just think that the hotel didn't quite live up to our expectations of a 41/2 or 5 star hotel - we have certainly been to better and probably will not return.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank lesaquarelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,615)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,911 - 1,917 of 3,615 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2013

We returned from our honeymoon on Mauritius on the 14-Jan-13 and we cannot recommend it highly enough. This was the first time we had done all-inclusive and, if they are all like the Maritim, we'll be doing it again. From the moment we stepped through the door the staff couldn't do enough for us.

Staff were polite, friendly and good fun. It was professional but not stuffy. Service was attentive, quick and comprehensive. Wherever you were on the resort there was a staff member willing to bring you a drink or a snack whenever you asked for it...and sometimes when you didn't ask for it. On a number of occasions we would come back to our beach loungers after snorkelling to find that they'd left us a drink in anticipation!

The food was excellent most of the time and damn good all of the time. It was all fresh and the choice was more than enough. It's worth noting that La Maree (the restaurant on the beach) has all-inclusive options for lunch (you can't book for lunch, it's first come first served) and an all-inclusive set menu for dinner every night (you do need to book as soon as you get there for as many nights as you can!) It doesn't seem to make this clear on the website and most people thought you had to pay a supplement. If you still to the all-inclusive options, you don't (and the wine is much nicer there than at the quarter deck bar!) The buffet option for lunch was excellent with fresh salads and something for everyone. We only did dinner at the Belle Vue (buffet) a couple of times and each time we were really pleased.

The rooms are excellent and spotless at all times. Free standing bath, walk in shower, balcony, a bed bigger than any I've ever slept in and super comfortable, and sea view - a lovely base. They were cleaned in the morning when we left and in the evening they provided a turn down service. We couldn't have asked for more.

Activities were excellent - we recommend snorkelling (you can get gear for free from the boat house) and kayaking. We didn't do much else at the resort as we took a day trip to Ile aux Cerf (the most beautiful lagoon but full of people on day trips which was a shame!) and dolphin swimming (which was the highlight of my life, let along my honeymoon). If you want to swim with dolphins choose Adrian's Dream...they were excellent!

The sea/beach is beautiful. There are no real nasties (jelly fish etc) but we did buy sea shoes while we were out there because I'm a weed and I hate putting my feet down on the ocean floor. The sea was a little cloudy when we first got there but that's because they had just had a cyclone and it was a churned up. It was back to crystal clear in a couple of days. Beach is beautiful and service is amazing as well.

Weather was excellent too. We landed just after a cyclone had passed through and on our first full day we had a couple of hours of rain in the afternoon but it was really warm and we just went kayaking in the rain. Other than that it was glorious sunshine with the odd cloudy moment. I'm a sun lover but the clouds didn't bother me at all. It remained warm and bright and was a welcome respite at times! The only other rain we had was overnight...or while we were having a few very late drinks in the bar! It's warm all the time though so it didn't bother us at all.

We can't recommend the Maritim enough. It's great value for money and a beautiful resort that goes out of its way to look after you and ensure you have an amazing time without being stuffy. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Go for a privilege room or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank CityGirl451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Honestly one of the best places to stay in Mauritius. It has the perfect island surrounds, rooms are clean and comfortable with all the possible amenities offered. Spacious beds, very friendly staff and plenty of activities on offer. Breakfast is also ridiculously generous. However hotel offered transport from the resort to other more bustling parts of the city are a little too overpriced.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wandernyonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Maritim Hotel Mauritius is an excellent hotel and as a honeymoon destination Mauritius is perfect. We went all inclusive.

I cannot recommend it enough, the hotel itself is beautiful with large grounds including a spa, tennis courts, archery, golf course, swimming pools, watersports + much much more. They have a private beachfor the hotel residents with many sunbeds spread up and down. I think on weekends the beach is open to the public however this caused minimal disturbance to our stay. They do have beach service and having gone all inclusive this was a great perk of the trip. Everyday having cocktails, chips, samosas whilst siting on our sun beds soaking up the sun.

The room was lovely, spacious and very clean. We had booked the room a sea view and this was a good option as our room had a balcony overlooking the beach. We also had beautiful view of the fabulous sunset in the evenings from our room but also could enjoy this also sat on the beach.

Although there were four restaurants to choose from, being vegetarians, we stuck to the main buffet restaurant and this was ample for us. There was more than enough choice for us to over eat everyday!!

I can't recommend this place enough, perfect for Honeymooners!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Naofalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

This holiday was a special holiday celabrating a special Birthday, from the minute you go into the Maritim you are made to feel special, the staff make this place, everyone speaks to you with a smile, service is outstanding, we were all inclusive and there was some thing there for everyone. Guys must wear trousers in the evening. The place was imaculate. Fridge in the room filled every night, towels supplied for the beach and pool,shampoo, conditioner etc supplied in the room, there is a hairdryer too, but go on the balcony and your hair is dried in minutes. we were concerned the weather wasent going to be good looking at the forcasts before we left, it was fantastic, very very hot. It was a dream holiday and hope to go back. We did hire a car for 2 days but wouldnt reccomend it, just get a taxi from the hotel wherever you want to go. There is lots going on if you want to or just totally chill out which is what we did. Never had such a great holiday and we are very envious of those who are heading back there. No complaints whatsoever, top marks to the staff.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank Nevlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

went to Maritim in January 2013. what a fabulous experience. really lovely hotel, food,(4 restaurants to choose from) service, staff, clean beach (coral is further out) and all they have to offer (horse riding, helicopter flips, all the usual water sports, archery, tennis etc). great sunsets! would happily go back there for another holiday. Dawn

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed at the Maritim in October/November 2012 for our honeymoon.

We received a room upgrade from Prestige to a Suite because we were on honeymoon and several other treats. The quality of the rooms are fantastic and very clean. The staff are very attentive, polite and friendly. We ate in the buffet restaurant, La Maree Beach Restaurant and the Mon Desir Chateau - all were great. Personally, we preferred the Beach Restaurant, however, you have to book ahead for this. Breakfast on the beach was also fantastic and a lovely peaceful way to start the day.

A couples massage was given to us within our freebies, which was wonderful and I returned on my own twice for a full body massage, whilst my husband went scuba diving. We also tried the parasailing, operated from the hotel beach (great views of the bay and hotel) and hired mountain bikes with a tour guide on 2 separate occasions - one to the Pamplemousses Botanical Gardens, which was well worth it.

The stables next the chateau were so well maintained and the horses really well looked after - I went on an early morning ride, just one on one, which was lovely and I would definitely recommend going at this time, before it gets too hot.

Every Saturday, there is horse racing in Port Louis, so if you fancy a day out, it's lots of fun and the staff there really look after tourists. If you wear smart clothes (ie, trousers, no shorts for men), they will upgrade you to a box. We hired a taxi driver for the day, who took us to the market in the morning, waited while we looked around, then picked us up and took us to the Racecourse in the afternoon. He also waited at the Racecourse (actually, he came in with us, then went betting) and took us back to our hotel at the end of the day.

I wouldn't hesitate in returning to this hotel. Whilst it's mainly aimed at couples, especially weddings and honeymoons, children are also welcome and I would definitely return with my 6 year old daughter.

Book it - you won't regret it! My husband and I are so glad we did and we had a really special honeymoon, which, after all, is how they're meant to be.

Room Tip: Prestige and Suites are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Babachimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
0.4 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,552 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
0.2 mi away
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,587 reviews
4.4 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
28.9 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius

Address: Turtle Bay, Balaclava, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Family Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range: $269 - $1,577 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sparkling sandy beach, tropical gardens and the crystal clear turquoise waters of the Indian Ocean... Live the essence of a great island escape!Immerse yourself in this luxurious five-star beach and spa resort gently nestled within a picturesque private estate along the protected marine park of Turtle Bay.Enjoy a prime location on the sunniest and sheltered Northwest coast of the island between the capital Port - Louis and the lively village of Grand Bay and indulge in the pure nature of the historical estate of 25 hectares awarded 'Most Beautiful Garden of Mauritius'. Be spoilt by world-class accommodation with 215 luxurious rooms and suites as well as an exclusive villa, all sea facing and elegantly designed ...ideal to embrace the tropical ambiance of the island. Savour endless culinary delights during your journey with an exceptional selection of five exquisite restaurants and three bars ranging from 'feet in the sand' beach restaurants to Asian fusion and the exclusive fine dining restaurant 'Chateau Mon Desir'.Pamper yourself in its 'Maritim Tropical Flower Spa', an oasis of wellbeing offering exclusive treatments and stunning facilities to relax and unwind.Those seeking for active holidays will benefit from an infinite range of land and water sports offered such as horse riding, golf, archery, water ski, diving and many more!Whenever you are looking for relaxing or active holidays, this 5-star luxury hotel, part of Maritim Hotels, will offer you an exceptional array of facilities and experiences combined with the highest standards of service delivered with genuine Mauritian hospitality. Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius ...your holidays... beyond paradise ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Mauritius Balaclava
Hotel Maritim Mauritius
Maritim Hotel Mauritius
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius Balaclava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing