We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A massive well run ship”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Balaclava
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This hotel is enormous, but well managed for the scale of the hotel, it's rather deceiving in terms of the size as it is spread out over three levels to the North and South
The grounds are extensive, however we never felt crowded as the guests spread them selves out around the premises. They have 25 hectares of tropical gardens for you to explore, and the beach front is well spread out. TIP: bring your water booties for swimming out past the coral reefs. As well as your own snorkels.

The swimming pool is amazing in therms of its design and it has a feature bridge over the middle connecting to the bar area.

We were on a half board package which was more then adequate for us and there was more than enough variety within the four restaurants for us to choose from. If you wish to eat in any of the three restaurants other than The Belle Vue , you get a credit to use in them, which worked very well. We were more than happy to,pay the additional supplement for the drinks and food that we chose. Our favourite dinner was in the La Maree restaurant which is located on the sea shore, and here we dined , twice, on the beach , the sea food was amazing , with a great choice of local fish. TIP: When you arrive reserve your tables immediately for La Maree as there is limited capacity.

The water sports offering is extensive, and includes water-skiing, snorkelling, trips in the glass bottom boat, pedello rides and sea kayaks, but the highlight for us , which we payed extra for,was swimming with the dolphins which is a three hour morning trip. Para gliding was also excellent , they can get you as high as 125 m on a good day.

Our room was comfortable, the air conditioning was quiet & worked very effectively. You get a large bottle of water each night with the turn down service and there is fresh milk in your room to make tea and coffee.

The spa facility is superb , the couples massage also great and relaxing.

We really enjoyed our stay here at the Maritim , it was extremely relaxing and all the staff were very welcoming, professional and friendly, and they go out of their way to please you.

Room Tip: Rooms further away from the reception area are less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank StevenWidegger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,588)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,895 - 1,901 of 3,588 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

The Maritim Mauritius experience went beyond our expectations, from the rooms to the food to the activites. The staff were amazing and made our stay even more comfortable.Best family holiday anyone could ever ask for. I would go back there in a heart beat. Thank you staff and managment of the Maritim hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms offered are more than you could ask for. No matter where your room is in the hotel you fee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We never go anywhere twice - we have just returned from our 3rd visit to this hotel! (admittedly interspersed with trips to other countries over a period of 6 years). The Maritim is a small'ish hotel - it feels personal and people know your name (and your children's names). The pool is nice and clean, with plenty of sunbeds and towels. The beach is white sand, one or two polite hawkers, and also has lots of sunbeds and bar service available.

We only had 10 days available for our holiday in December and I asked the family (active husband, 2 active boys - 16 and 12) where they wanted to go. The requirements were sunshine, lovely hotel and food and plenty to keep everybody happy - they all said The Maritim and I had to agree.

The first thing to say is that you must go 'All Inclusive' (AI) if possible. It is the only way to relax and enjoy your holiday without worry.

What was even better was that the quality of the service throughout the hotel has moved up a notch or two since we were last there. From the welcome we received on arrival to the manner in which we were given tables at dinner - it was all very good. They have certainly endeavoured to gear up to their 5 star rating.

The food is very good. Our family enjoyed the buffet in the main restaurant for most meals - the 2 boys like to be able to pick and choose on what they see. The breakfasts and lunches were good - all of the usual and with fresh eggs and omelettes cooked to order. Dinner always included a grilled dish (steak, lobster, fish, chicken), roast meats, curries, pasta dishes etc., as well as starters such as sushi, salads, cold meats and huge variety of desserts if you could fit them in. The curries were wonderful - a selection every night. The beach restaurant is smaller and more intimate with nicely presented individual dishes. It is great for breakfast and lunch - sitting by beach and watching the birds. It is less good for AI for dinner as the menu is very limited - I guess they want you to use the buffet - but the food was still lovely. There are snacks available throughout the day - cakes, tea/coffee etc.

There are two other restaurants which we didn't try - mainly because you have to pay quite a bit more (even with your AI allowance). But reports were good.

Wines are South African in the main and mainly good. The fizzy Rose was very good. The spirits were known labels and all of the usual cocktails were covered. Only the liquers weren't really catered for (for somebody who likes cointreau after dinner). But they weren't overly expensive (about £4?). Lots of beer etc.

The reason my boys enjoy it so much is because there is so much on offer and included in the price - windsurfing,kayaking, catamarans and most of all - the waterskiing is included and is available all day - you have a go at waterskiing, get out of the water and put your name down on the sheet for another go. If there is nobody waiting then you just go back out again. My 16 year old mastered wakeboarding - with the marvellous help and patience of the friendly waterski guys. Our 12 year old managed to get up on the waterskis and stay up, after a go on the fixed arm - he loved it.

The PADI dive centre on the beach by the hotel is manned by wonderful people - Judax took our 12 year old through his PADI Open Water course with such patience. This is a lovely place to take your diving certificate.

The Spa is lovely (but expensive) - similar to top UK hotels for treatments. But remember that you can make use of the Spa facilities without booking a treatment so do wander in for the Sauna, Steam Room, daybeds under the waterfall and some really painful treatment involving walking on stones through a stream! The towels are provided.

The Bedrooms are lovely and spacious - we just had standard rooms - our boys next door and interconnecting. Every room faces the sea. We requested a quiet room and it was great - close to the dive centre. We didn't use room service. Much of the mini bar is included in AI and there are delicious treats delivered daily to your room (chocs, savoury bites etc) and the usual turn down and towel replacement service.

Entertainment wise, there is something happening every night and some lunchtimes too - whether full on dancers and bands in the evening or solo musicians at the beach restaurant. Never too loud or intrusive. This is not Las Vegas but it is entertaining and just enough after a tough day of enjoying yourself.

We dont play golf so we can only tell you that the golfers seemed to be having a great time. Horse riding on the beach looked great and you can visit the stables, the goats and, most spectacularly, the giant tortoises. There is crazy golf which was a laugh and table tennis on the beach. This is also an historical site (Balaclava) and worth a wander around.

A lot of weddings going on too. Seemed to be very well run and beautiful setting. But it never interrupted our holiday apart from admiring the gorgeous outfits.

We used the gym every other day - it has most things and there is certainly no reason why you can't exercise whilst at the hotel! There are morning jogs, power walks etc if you want to do that stuff too.

The transfer time from airport to hotel is about 1 hour.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
32  Thank DublinJane_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed here on honeymoon in September and have to say it was fantastic, an absolute paradise. If you want to go somewhere to escape from everything then this is the place for you. Absolutely nothing was a hassle for the staff, the food was great, the cocktails were yummy and the activities on offer were a real bonus. We did everything - pedalo, water ski, golf, football, tennis. My only regret was staying for just ten days!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank kazzandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Amazing Place, with the best service, facilities, location! Will go back again and again!
Take my advice and spend all your holiday at this hotel! It has all the facilities you could ever need! Just go to a supermarket to top up on bottle water and any extra refreshments!
Very child friendly! Even gave us a baby cot with pajamas and a baby bathing station!
Absolutely Awesum!!!

Some of the hotel activities...Horse riding, Golf course, Jacuzzi, Sauna, Spa, Water sports, daily activites....

Room Tip: Any room on the ground floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shaiel_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Flew with Air Mauritius direct from Heathrow, apart from the limited leg room the flight was good arriving at both destinations on time. The transfer from the airport took around 1 hr 15 mins, but this is subject to the time you hit the traffic in Port Louis(Capital City).

On arrival at the hotel we were met by one of the Customer Service Team and escorted to a comfortable sitting area where we were given iced teas and a warm cloth to cleanse our hands and face. Once we had completed the “checking in” formalities we were given a temporary room card to use as we had arrived mid morning and the room was not available until the afternoon.

We had booked a Privilege room which was on the lower ground floor level with a view out into the bay. The room was very spacious, had walk in shower, separate toilet, his and hers wash basins and a stand alone bath. There were portable sliding partitions which would give you additional privacy if you chose to take a bath rather than a shower. There was amble wardrobe and drawers space available for your clothing etc.The room was cleaned daily and each evening a member of staff would provide clean towels and bottled water.

The complex had two affinity swimming pools which you could use with comfortable sun loungers and parasols.

The beaches were of golden sand although the sand was quite course in a lot of areas. Again there were amble comfortable wooden sun Loungers and Parasols for use.

Having been on All Inclusive packages elsewhere in the world found it unusual to have to pay supplements to eat in other restaurants at the resort. Generally the standard of food was good but sometimes felt it was limited in its choices.

There in a spa at the resort which we used on a regular basis with certain amenities available free of charge. There are various discounts offered to you as guests on the treatments that are available which make them affordable to holiday goers.

The hotel sits in tropical gardens and has a waterfall and historic ruins which are used for receptions and parties.It also has its own animal farm which houses ducks, goats, chickens and giant tortoises.


Finally a big thank you to all the staff and management at the resort who provided us with a “First Class” service during our vacation. We were taken aback by your warm and kindness that was on display each and everyday.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Mauritius

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank beaverWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed here in Dec over Xmas for our honeymoon, following a few nights in Dubai.
This place (and the staff) is out of this world!!

Upon arrival, we were greeted with a nice glass of refreshing juice and a talk about the hotel.
While the talk seemed to go on forever as we were tired, it prevented us from asking the hotel staff lots of questions further down the line.

Aside from this, the staff couldn't do enough for us, we had gifts most days at our door, a free bottle of bubby, free meal at the famous Chateur Mon Desir (exc drinks) which is just stunning and a must-do althought its expensive, and beautiful weather....what more could we ask for.


The food was incredible ranging from fresh fish, sushi, curries, steaks and if you were AI you had access to most of the drinks and wines which we have never had before. Usually its hotels local rubbish but this was Pinotage and Shiraz wine...not cheap stuff !
Rooms were clean, pool area was spotless, great gym and also airport changing room so no need to keep your room on and pay to be honest.
The equestian centre is great if you horse ride but bring close toe shoes and the SPA....well that is just the best hotel spa ever!! Definately get your treatments in early.

We went with the intention to book up a few trips but in fact we were so tired we just led on the beach or by the pool and relaxed. The pool was busy with the children compared to the beach so we decided to go to the beach more for the type of holiday we wanted.

Overall, one of the most relaxing and best hotels we have ever stayed in with exceptional customer service. Romantic but also a great place for families.

Only one critism, we didnt read many reviews before we left as we were too busy so missed out on booking the beach restaurant a few nights. This gets booked up straight away so make sure you plan your evenings as soon as you arrive if you want to eat o the beach or in Mon Desir.
Also the entertainment is nothing to be excited about.
After about 9pm the bar is dead so if you are looking for atmosphere and nights of drinking/partying this is not the place for you.

Thanks to the Maritim and its team for making this a holiday to never forget.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 373, very quiet, close to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
0.4 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,535 reviews
0.2 mi away
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,550 reviews
4.4 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
28.9 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius

Address: Turtle Bay, Balaclava, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Family Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range: $337 - $1,018 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sparkling sandy beach, tropical gardens and the crystal clear turquoise waters of the Indian Ocean... Live the essence of a great island escape!Immerse yourself in this luxurious five-star beach and spa resort gently nestled within a picturesque private estate along the protected marine park of Turtle Bay.Enjoy a prime location on the sunniest and sheltered Northwest coast of the island between the capital Port - Louis and the lively village of Grand Bay and indulge in the pure nature of the historical estate of 25 hectares awarded 'Most Beautiful Garden of Mauritius'. Be spoilt by world-class accommodation with 215 luxurious rooms and suites as well as an exclusive villa, all sea facing and elegantly designed ...ideal to embrace the tropical ambiance of the island. Savour endless culinary delights during your journey with an exceptional selection of five exquisite restaurants and three bars ranging from 'feet in the sand' beach restaurants to Asian fusion and the exclusive fine dining restaurant 'Chateau Mon Desir'.Pamper yourself in its 'Maritim Tropical Flower Spa', an oasis of wellbeing offering exclusive treatments and stunning facilities to relax and unwind.Those seeking for active holidays will benefit from an infinite range of land and water sports offered such as horse riding, golf, archery, water ski, diving and many more!Whenever you are looking for relaxing or active holidays, this 5-star luxury hotel, part of Maritim Hotels, will offer you an exceptional array of facilities and experiences combined with the highest standards of service delivered with genuine Mauritian hospitality. Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius ...your holidays... beyond paradise ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Mauritius Balaclava
Hotel Maritim Mauritius
Maritim Hotel Mauritius
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius Balaclava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing