We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Balaclava
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wow!!!”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We have literally just returned home (2 hours ago) from an amazing 10 night stay in a prestige room all inclusive holiday. We have experienced many luxurious holidays and hotels around the world and can truly say that this is amongst the best. From the minute you arrive you know you are in a special place. My husband and I read lots of reviews before we went away and would like to give our honest heartfelt opinion on a number of areas and what was important to us.
Rooms - stayed in a spacious prestige room overlooking the immaculately kept gardens and the Indian Ocean, a wonderful vista to wake up to every morning. The mini bar was well stocked every day and our room was kept in pristine condition by Mariella, our wonderful cleaning lady.
Amenities - amenities were endless and we probably only took advantage of a few including golf, kayaking, mini golf, water skiing, glass bottom boat. We thoroughly enjoyed them all and next time will make better use of some of the others but after a miserable summer in England, it was enough for us just to be there. A special thank you to Gael at the golf house for your tips on how to get over the 9th hole without landing a ball in the river!!
Food - the quality and the choice available was probably one of the highlights of our holiday, we were quite blown away by what was on offer. We ate at all of them and had no problem whatsoever making a reservation at La Maree, in fact we were able to get in there 4 nights out of 10 and could probably have done more if we wanted to but were equally happy to eat at the Belle Vue and also dined at the Chateau on the gourmet pass which we would highly recommend. I have read previous reviews that the AI option at La Maree is limited - ridiculous!! We ate there nearly every lunchtime and found plenty to go at over the 10 days plus in the evening the AI option changes every day and consists of 2 starters and 2 mains and if that isn't enough the 700 RS allowance covers a great deal of other things on the menu.
Bars - we loved our evenings which were spent flitting backwards and forwards between the Quarter Deck bar and the La Maree beach bar which all guests can use even if not dining at La Maree. We never ever had a problem getting a seat in either of them and a special thank you to Kamal in the QD bar - wonderful Mexican colada and also to Jayesh in La Maree beach bar.
Beach - contrary to previous reports, we never had a problem finding a sun bed. We preferred the beach to the pool but even then we noticed that beds round pool were still available at 9 and people came and went during the day. We preferred to lie on the beds on the right hand side of La Maree where excellent beach service was provided by Jay and Dave who looked after us so well (and everyone else) from the minute we arrived, thank you guys.
Entertainment - as mentioned on many previous reports, the sea dancers are great but we especially loved the musicians in La Maree beach bar and restaurant that were they every lunch and for dinner - amazing, so talented.
Other unsung heros - all the staff make the Maritim and I have already mentioned a few. However, I do think that there are lots of staff behind the scenes that all make the Maritim a wonderful place, such as the chefs in the Belle Vue and La Maree and the gardeners, in particular Premchand and the lady whose name I didn't get (but was looking after the gardens in front of room 236), whose smiles greeted you every morning and who worked so hard. Thank you also to the wonderful reception staff, especially Nitish who greeted us so warmly.
I felt very emotional when I left this wonderful place and can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in a ground floor prestige room 236. Wonderful view over the gardens and the Indian Ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Dawnsteve638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,431
    694
    216
    88
    49
See reviews for
711
2,178
61
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (811)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

My Wife & I have just returned from our Honeymoon at the Maritim & it was PERFECT. The Maratim easily exceeded ALL our expectations, we really felt we were living in a picture perfect postcard for the 11 days we were there.
Where to start with the compliments is difficult, The Hotel, including its location & grounds is superb, ALL of the staff were so friendly, accomodating & just wanted to ensure our stay was perfect. The food was fantastic, although this has caused a major increase in my waist size!
We were staying All Inclusive which was brilliant, the buffet was always fresh with plenty of choice, & the other restaurants were excellent, our favourite was the Banyon Asian restaurant. We would recommend early booking for the A la carte restaurants.
We managed a couple of trips outside the hotel, 1 to Port Louis, worth the look & 2 to Grand Baie, ate there once, superb & went to a club once called Banana Beach Club which was awesome.
At the hotel we did horse riding on the beach, water skiing, snorkelling, a couple of the "Magic Moments" (unforgetable) & we visited the spa which was pure bliss!
We really hope to be back to the Maritim & have already begun recommending it to our family & friends.
THank you to ALL at the Maritim for making our Honeymoon truely unforgetable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Two girls staying at the Maritim for 11 nights. We absolutely loved our stay. The staff were amazing and could not do enough for you. Special thanks to Kavita, Manoj and Kavesh on Reception who made our stay very easy. The room was beautiful and all rooms have balconies or patios facing the sea. If you like peace and quiet, do not have a room near reception as you can hear the service lorries reversing - so ask for a room near the spa or the river creek. The food was brilliant, with a great choice at the buffet breakfast and evening buffet. My recommendation is as soon as you arrive, to ask Reception to book the La Maree, beach restaurant for as many nights as you can during your stay - this is waiter service, and there is an all inclusive menu with enough choice on, or you can choose from the other menu and pay more. We found plenty of choice on the all inclusive menu. Special thanks goes to Rakesh, one of the waiters at La Maree, who provided great service and all his colleagues. La Maree is a beautiful restaurant on the beach - and for lunch, you don't have to book, but having dinner there is wonderful. After dinner, drinks in the quarter deck bar, end off the evening well. The choice of wines is very good, some brilliant south african wines all included, particularly the pink cava sparkling wine. Thanks goes to Vitesh, the Bar and Beverage Manager, who was very helpful and couldn't do enough. I recommend trying all what is to offer in the resort - including the equestrian centre - the horseriding team are superb with thanks to Deepak and Ravi, who I went horseriding with on a number of occasions on beautiful ex race horses, particularly World of Thunder, is an amazing relaxed horse. Take a beach ride, it is magical. Other activities in the resort are gym activities - including gym classes with Gael, Stephen and the yoga teacher, and great if you want to keep active, to work off all the great food. The Spa is a place you must visit - either to use the steam or sauna rooms, or take advantage for extra, the massages and facial treatments, which were the best. A special thanks goes to Khalid and Ashinee. Outside the resort, I would recommend a visit to Casela Wildlife Park, if you love animals - where you can do the amazing experience of walking with lions, interaction with cheetahs , ziplining and quad biking through the safari park, amazing. Also, a trip to Port Louis is worth the while - join up with other tourists to share the taxi fare and visit the market there, and the waterfront and the citadelle. Ask for the driver to take you to the cittadelle first, where it offers a panoramic view, and then the taxi driver will take you down to the town. I don't suggest a visit to Grand Baie - it is not worth the taxi drive. Overall, an amazing holiday and can't recommend the Maritim Hotel enough. Thank you.

Room Tip: Higher floor, away from reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank big_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Czech republic
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed in Maritim for a weekend and it was really great! Staff is polite and really caring, food is amazing! We stayed on halfboard so the only thing I would improve is having free water during the dinner. I didn't really liked to pay 100 Rs per bottle, in the hot weather people want to drink a lot. If they would have some coolers with water would be much more people friendly. Spa is really super there, take a full body massage, it is really great! As well for spa very often they give discounts, we got even 40%, so in many cases price in catalog is not final. Happy hours on the deck are really Happy, drinks are good and fare price.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We have just returned from 11 nights at the Maritim and thought that it was excellent. The hotel is in a beautiful location on a bay, and the grounds are lovely. The food was great. I was impressed by the Belle Vue buffet restaurant, it had a wide selection on food to suit all tastes and was nice and varied. We also ate at La Maree and Le Banyan, both of which were lovely and the all inclusive credit meant that it didn't cost much, in fact sometimes the credit was enough to cover the whole meal. The most impressive aspect of the hotel though is the staff. They are consistently friendly, helpful, and do their best to make the holiday as relaxing and enjoyable as possible. I can highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank pboropixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

I am writting this review sat on the beach as I contemplate our last day here. Much has already been written about this special hotel, but I feel I would like add my own comments. Firstly if you are reading this prior to coming, you won't be disappointed! It's truly a lovely place from the moment you arrive there is nothing here that is not possible, and the staff will constantly reinforce this concept, my husband and I regularly travel the world and I have to say I have never felt so genuinely looked after and cared for, really you have to experience it to believe it. This hotel take customer care to a completely new level.
We upgraded our room ( prestige or privilege I can't remember ) its well worth the extra as the room is stunning! Ladies, they provide nice shampoos and conditioners, also body lotion and bath gell from their spa and it is replenished every day. The best part of the upgrade is that it enables you to have breakfast at La Maree. This is the restaurant that is set right on the beach, it's beautiful and very quiet. As you sit the waiters bring a platter of fresh fruit, a basket of fresh breads, juice and rose sparkling wine, whilst you contemplate your choice. On the all inclusive with the upgrade you pay no extra for this. You can also have lunch here. To understand the all inclusive is easy, basically anything with an asterisk is covered ( food and drink) and if not then you pay extra. There is so much to choose from on the AI though. You can also book to have dinner here, you get 1500 MR taken off your bill as an AI discount and all your drinks are AI too! It's a lovely setting here day and night and quieter with a lovely romantic feeling sat on the beach at night.
The main restaurant is the Belle View, typical buffet style with a good choice, something for everyone, but busy busy! We did not try La Chateau.
Now I leave the best till last........ The understated hidden gem of the Maritim, the new restaurant located at the bottom end of the Belle View! The Banyan!!!! If I start by saying we ate here 8 times out of 14!!! The food is Asian fusion, things like honey beef, chicken and cashew nuts, sea food, fish and wonderful soups! Basically some of the best food I have ever had!!! However it is not enough that the food is truly heavenly cooked by a lovely young chef who is devoted to his craft, you have to meet the staff!!!! They make you feel special and cared for!! Their service is something they clearly pride themselves on, Kumar, Yavin and Ishwaree are wonderful and nothing is too much trouble, thank you thank you for they way you looked after us and made us feel. It's restaurant for some reason is not being used as it should, only a few people in each night, if you are coming to the Maritim use this restaurant as you won't be disappointed and also let the management know what a good job they ate doing

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from a 12 night stay at the Maritim and can only say everything was superb. We were amazed at what was included in the all inclusive, we ate at all the restaurants except the chateau, and you can do this at no extra cost as you are given an allowance to offset your all inclusive. Have to say the banyan and the filaos beer garden were our favourites. The staff were all so friendly and helpful, would go back tomorrow if we could.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane_Purrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
0.3 mi away
The Ravenala Attitude
The Ravenala Attitude
#3 of 6 in Balaclava
1,305 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,440 reviews
28.9 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
0.2 mi away
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
10.3 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius

Property: Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
Address: Turtle Bay, Balaclava, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Family Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sparkling sandy beach, tropical gardens and the crystal clear turquoise waters of the Indian Ocean... Live the essence of a great island escape!Immerse yourself in this luxurious five-star beach and spa resort gently nestled within a picturesque private estate along the protected marine park of Turtle Bay.Enjoy a prime location on the sunniest and sheltered Northwest coast of the island between the capital Port - Louis and the lively village of Grand Bay and indulge in the pure nature of the historical estate of 25 hectares awarded 'Most Beautiful Garden of Mauritius'. Be spoilt by world-class accommodation with 215 luxurious rooms and suites as well as an exclusive villa, all sea facing and elegantly designed ...ideal to embrace the tropical ambiance of the island. Savour endless culinary delights during your journey with an exceptional selection of five exquisite restaurants and three bars ranging from 'feet in the sand' beach restaurants to Asian fusion and the exclusive fine dining restaurant 'Chateau Mon Desir'.Pamper yourself in its 'Maritim Tropical Flower Spa', an oasis of wellbeing offering exclusive treatments and stunning facilities to relax and unwind.Those seeking for active holidays will benefit from an infinite range of land and water sports offered such as horse riding, golf, archery, water ski, diving and many more!Whenever you are looking for relaxing or active holidays, this 5-star luxury hotel, part of Maritim Hotels, will offer you an exceptional array of facilities and experiences combined with the highest standards of service delivered with genuine Mauritian hospitality. Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius ...your holidays... beyond paradise ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Mauritius Balaclava
Hotel Maritim Mauritius
Maritim Hotel Mauritius
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius Balaclava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing