We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Balaclava
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2012

As Mauritians, we use to go for weekends in the different hotels of the island, but at Maritim, it was a dream come true. We must rather talk about the Maritim concept, its not just about food and drinks but it is an altogether comprehensive package. It was so nice to be there. The staff? Simply the best of the best, always attentive to your needs and wishes. They will never give you any wrong information. Keep it up!!! Thank You..

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VikGop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,538)
There are newer reviews for Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,932 - 1,938 of 3,538 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2012

Absolutely superb holiday hotel and destination. We are experienced travellers and are able to say the experience provided by the staff at the Maritim hotel in Mauritius was the very best we have encountered.

From the moment we arrived at the hotel entrance to the moment we left, we knew all of the staff were dedicated to making our stay memorable. We were greeted at reception and they have a very slick booking in procedure, clear explanations of the hotel arrangements and helpful tips for getting the most of the facilities. The hotel has a very happy feel to it, provided by the ever-smiling faces of the staff and guests!

The beach area and indeed all of the hotel facilities are maintained to a very high standard. No question that everyone here has an eye for detail.

The hotel also made our 35th wedding anniversary rather special. On our return from dining we found a congratulations card, champagne and rose petals on the bed.

We had a Prestige room on the fourth floor, which was large and spacious. The room was very well appointed and maintained to a spotless condition.

In terms of dining we ate at all three restaurants and found there was plenty of choice. The restaurant staff seem to have a build in radar system that ensures the moment your glass is half full it is replenished! Certainly the most attentive restaurant staff we have ever encountered.

Well worth booking to have some of your meals at the beachside restaurant. Placed on the beach the experience is very special. You don’t have to be on honeymoon to experience the romantic setting. We also dined at the Chateau Mon Desire, which is separated from the hotel complex. The cuisine would grace a top UK restaurant.

In terms of activities, the water sport facilities are extensive, ranging from sailing, wind surfing, canoes, water skiing to paragliding and a glass bottom boat trip. We also booked a half-day speedboat trip to see and swim near wild dolphins. They came extremely close and made yet another great memory of the trip.

We visited the Spa on a number of occasions. A very relaxing area, with lots of treatments available. Particularly good was the leg and full body massage, magic!

Overall, our best holiday experience ever and the hotel is one we will now return to on a regular basis and thoroughly recommend it to others looking for a relaxing holiday. Top marks to the Maritim! You arrive with a red carpet greeting and they make you feel very special the whole of your stay.

Room Tip: Definitely worth the upgrade to a Prestige room! The rooms are extremely well equipped and all have...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank catherdral09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Maritim hotel – extremely good choice . consider its distinctive location offers access to spotless beaches, excellent scuba diving opportunities and a unwind environment. Pleasantly cool & refreshing place to visit at this times of year.

Bookings :

We booked from mauritiusmania.com , who give wholesale rates for Mauritius properties and are based in India.They offered us a 20% discount on rates & were cheaper than the most

Visting this time :

Winters are cooled and during monsoon days the downpour is firm. Enjoy a psychedelic sunset on a mishmash of clouds, or the flying outbreak of evening birds, or just relax and take delight in the cool afternoon breeze.

Rooms:

Standard rooms they provide are more attractive than normal standard rooms and all services like standard amenities clock room service etc. Standard room is attractive and provides you
charming view too.

All the rooms have WI-FI facilities, minibar, and telephone, television with video and radio channels, hairdryer, air conditioner, tea and coffee facilities, electronical safe etc.

Food:

Fabulous food is available by the multi talented chefs, a diverse buffet with dishes from all over the world and diverse menu featuring both continental and regional fare.

The seafood of the resort is a key aspect and famous. All types of tropical drinks and cocktails are provided, The coco bar joint offers Fresh Fruit Juices, Mocktails, Shakes, Rich Flavored Ice Creams and Coffee set in an exciting ambience of music and decoration. Facilities which are offered by the hotels are:


O ther stuff:

1. A fully equipped gym and swimming pool is available for the visitors to relax themselves.

2. Babysitting services are also provided.

3. The Ayurvedic massages helps in rejuvenating, relaxing both body and mind and keep one
healthy. The resort has fully equipped treatment centre.

4. All treatments have been thoughtfully generated to provide a sensory escapade, whilst keeping its hub on providing a clean and friendly Balinese spa enjoyment.

5. Dry cleaning services, fax services, water skiing, golf, tennis, sailing boats, canoes, windsurfing, evening turndown service etc.

Final Verdict :

All facilities + good rates makes it an attractive hotel and it is not costly as well …My word go for it.. my wifey is happy being here after having cursing me all the year about the navy job

she did not like 

Go here for your wife please. She will love it

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We, as usual, read a range of reviews before our holiday. Most we're gushing in the extreme. Please read this as a realistic appraisal of a 5 star destination when you have paid reasonably high (compared to other 5 star equivalents in Mauritius , Asia or the Caribbean) for the holiday.

The hotel itself, grounds, location, views are really superb. We booked an upgraded room based on it's recent refurbishment. On arrival were upgraded to a suite. Great you think. Fantastic space, balcony etc. but not refurbished, older bathroom with a shower that dribbled boiling water and a bath with tatty fitments. Picky? Maybe but bathrooms maketh hotels in hot climates.

Now the staff. Friendly and helpful mostly. A couple of improvements in the buffet restaurant but no problems. Customer liaison people all over the place..lots of smiles but totally ineffective about doing anything - a number of requests to sort shower fell on shocked faces and resulted in nothing close to action.

The restaurants are variable. The buffet is large and has a 'refectory' feel. Food choice Ok but does get boring. Quality is not bad but not 5 star. They also packed it out at lunch when there was a conference so you could not get at anything. Resultant comment from 'liaison'.....great isn't it...we are busy...no not for me it isn't . Same when major wedding on ...reduced food selection as chef's otherwise engaged.

La Maree on the beach is really superb for any meal (only one patchy experience). Great spot but need to book although here always seemed to be tables after no-shows in the evening. Check if your package includes the supplements or you pay extra.

General beach service good. Go out past La Maree to the beach beds out there..much better and usually a few free no matter what time. Odd that you cannot get a G&T on beach but you can by the pool.

Did not venture into fine dining choice as it looked a bit too formal and sterile.

General facilities, sports, health/doctor, spa, departure lounge all 5 star.

So overall - mostly 5,some 4's and a 3 for the buffet/international (which means European or Indian really) restaurant. Could very easily be 5 all round..just needs a bit better organisation and action - oriented management.

Room Tip: Stick to the refurbished privilege . Check if upgraded, may be a move to a non-refurbished one
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Stephen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

My husband and I returned from what was the most amazing honeymoon. We both cannot fault anything about this hotel. It was truly magical. The staff were so accommodating and friendly. The hotel was so clean and tidy. Due to a minor fault of double booking our room when we arrived, the reception staff soon resolved the issue by giving us a free couples massage and a Gourmet Pass. Not only that we were upgraded to a Suite after two days which was superb. The selection of food was fab, there was so much choice, our favourite being near the beach. We met some of the most loveliest people there and the memories will stay with us forever. We now have been spoilt and future holidays are going to be hard to beat it. We also highly recommend going to see the lions at Casela National Park. It ended our honeymoon on such a high and its a once in a lifetime experience that you can't miss. There was so much to do on the hotel estate, watersports, golf, mini golf, horse riding, animal farm. It really is up there with the best.

Room Tip: If you have extra penny's in your pocket the Suites are amazing.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Victoria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Maritim for our honeymoon in October. I cannot fault the hotel or its staff. The place is clean, tidy and well maintained and the staff are polite, friendly and hard working.
We had a Privilege Room which was clean, spacious and well decorated. It contained an en-suite shower, bath, double wash basin and toilet which could be seperated by sliding doors.
We opted for the all-inclusive deal which was great value for money and would certainly recommend this option. The quality and choice of food was excellent as too were the drinks at the various bars.
As we were on our honeymoon, we were given a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine, a fruit hamper, spa treatment for two and a meal at the 'Château Mon Désir' À-la-carte restaurant (drinks not included).
The complex was particularly tidy and well maintained. In fact, as soon as a leaf fell off a tree the groundstaff were there tidying up.
Overall, this hotel and its facilities were great and we would highly recommend this place for couples in particular although it would also be suitable for families also.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Siangogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We have just returned from 2 wonderful weeks all inclusive at the Maritim Hotel, Mauritius. There's not a lot to add to all the positive comments in other reviews, everything about the hotel, staff, amenities, food etc cannot be faulted. One point we would like to make clear is that the gourmet pass for Chateau Mon Desir, excellent value at £15 per person, DOES include the all inclusive drinks menu. This is clearly stated on the notice in the lobby. This also applies to the a la carte dining at La Maree. Only drinks NOT marked with an asterisk on the drinks menu are subject to a charge. Don't listen to the whingers, this is a great hotel made extra special by the exceptional staff irrespective of their job. There is a no tipping policy at the hotel, just a gratuities box, which is just as well as it would have been financially impossible to tip all deserving individuals.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
0.4 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,484 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
0.3 mi away
The Ravenala Attitude
The Ravenala Attitude
#3 of 6 in Balaclava
1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.9 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,803 reviews
0.2 mi away
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
1.2 mi away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
3,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius

Address: Turtle Bay, Balaclava, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range: $288 - $991 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sparkling sandy beach, tropical gardens and the crystal clear turquoise waters of the Indian Ocean... Live the essence of a great island escape!Immerse yourself in this luxurious five-star beach and spa resort gently nestled within a picturesque private estate along the protected marine park of Turtle Bay.Enjoy a prime location on the sunniest and sheltered Northwest coast of the island between the capital Port - Louis and the lively village of Grand Bay and indulge in the pure nature of the historical estate of 25 hectares awarded 'Most Beautiful Garden of Mauritius'. Be spoilt by world-class accommodation with 215 luxurious rooms and suites as well as an exclusive villa, all sea facing and elegantly designed ...ideal to embrace the tropical ambiance of the island. Savour endless culinary delights during your journey with an exceptional selection of five exquisite restaurants and three bars ranging from 'feet in the sand' beach restaurants to Asian fusion and the exclusive fine dining restaurant 'Chateau Mon Desir'.Pamper yourself in its 'Maritim Tropical Flower Spa', an oasis of wellbeing offering exclusive treatments and stunning facilities to relax and unwind.Those seeking for active holidays will benefit from an infinite range of land and water sports offered such as horse riding, golf, archery, water ski, diving and many more!Whenever you are looking for relaxing or active holidays, this 5-star luxury hotel, part of Maritim Hotels, will offer you an exceptional array of facilities and experiences combined with the highest standards of service delivered with genuine Mauritian hospitality. Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius ...your holidays... beyond paradise ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Mauritius Balaclava
Hotel Maritim Mauritius
Maritim Hotel Mauritius
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius Balaclava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing