We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Balaclava
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We have just returned from two weeks of bliss at the maritim in Mauritius........It was truely amazing......the greeting you get it second to none on arrival,which carries on through your stay.....you will not lift a finger all the time you are there honestly....the hotel is beautiful and so are the rooms.The staff are so friendly,polite ,helpful and gracious....shame the UK forgets these little things.....the Belle view restaurant caters for everyone,and all tastes,and the standard of food quality is fantastic.....you will not get a dickey tummy believe me....the quarter deck bar has amazing ambience and the staff are great in there too....LA amerrie on the beach does book up quickly and two steak nights a week.....well worth it.....so as soon as you arrive book in......THe chateau...we did not go to as ale carte is not our thing but the food is apparently very good.....the wine is not cheap so they say.....we did a trip from the jetty with Ramane on a katamaran which was good and we thoroughly enjoyed.......Basically we could rattle on all night about this place......It is a great fantastic place to go and I shall go again.....I must say the Germans have impeccable standards as they own this group worldwide......not much more to say really except get yourselves there and get spoilt rotten.Mrs ECCLES......Scarborough......n. yorks.ENJOY.x

Room Tip: All rooms will be of good quality....we had a privilege room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Joann E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,433
    695
    216
    88
    49
See reviews for
711
2,181
61
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (811)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The hotel and all staff were amazing from the moment we arrived we were treated so well. We were welcomed with an iced flannel to freshen us up after our 12 hour flight and a cool fruit cocktail drink. We were then taken to a lounge area where all our registration took place and an explanation as to what was available at the hotel, we were then given a quick tour and taken to the arrival longue to store our hand luggage as our room wasn't available until 12. The room a prestige was stunning with great views of the bay. As we unpacked a fruit platter was delivered. The food was good and you had the option of eating at the beach which gave you a different menu and you could upgrade to a la carte if you wished at a reasonable cost.Try breakfast at the beach it's a wonderful location and a good choice of food.The service we recieved from Yashine on the beach was fantastic always there with an ice cold beer or an iced tea when required or the beach menu if you didn't want to eat at the restaurants. It was a tough 11 days! Shame about the weight gain. The all inclusive covered all our needs and was simple to understand as to what was and wasn't included. We had a truley fantastic holiday, thanks to all at the Maritim for looking after us so well. I would also say that it's not just the staff you see that make the hotel so good it's the staff you don't from the gardeners who maintain the fantastic grounds to the chefs, dishwashers you could keep going but they helped in making it a memorable holiday. Thankyou.

Room Tip: we had a prestige room 424, was in a quite area with good views of the sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hkemp22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Everything about this hotel is superb; the food in all the restaurants, the friendly staff, the facilities and the rooms were out of this world. We went all inclusive and found it to be well worth it, the choice of food and drink was quite extensive to suit all tastes. We went to see our son get married and it was just the best day ever,the hotel made sure everything went like clockwork and couldn't do enough for the bride and groom and for our other guests, that made the wedding day so special. The facilities (snorkelling, water skiing, tennis, golf, archery and lots more) were all well run and of course free. The dive school was excellent and I can't say enough about them. My wife and daughter used the spa and were both impressed with what was on offer. One small criticism is the number of sun beds around the pool, there could be more and although there was a "Good poolside etiquette" policy with signs all over people were still reserving beds with their towels then disappearing for hours and nothing was done, however this was only a minor irritation as there are plenty on the beach.Overall this was a Brilliant holiday and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kevinsykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

First the bad points (although I did not complain about these to management, largely due to lack of time on my part):
- For me, the food in the main restaurant was rather bland. I ususally found something to eat, but I didn't find the variety particularly interesting or appetising. If I was on an all inclusive deal, I would quickly tire of the food on offer.
- I must have been allocated one of the worst rooms in the hotel - close to reception, so lots of passing traffic from people going to their rooms. This wasn't really an issue, but it was near a fountain which was on most of the day and the sound of running water was not dissimilar to Chinese water torture! Thankfully it was turned off for most of the night. The bed was big, although a little unstable (sit on one corner and the opposite corner would rise up); a request to change to pillows to something softer went unheeded. There appeared to be large wasps building nests on the ceiling of ceiling of the balcony. Room service seemed to be rather idiosyncratic.
- the golf course - I'm not expert golfer, but at times, even I felt like I was playing on astroturf! The course is free to use for residents with a charge of MUR850 for club hire.
- Chateau Mon Desir - the Maritim's 'top class' restaurant. Very expensive - two courses were around $100; lovely setting but don't expect Michelin quality cuisine, although the prices are of that calibre.

The Good
- given I was there for work, the wifi was fantastic - no passwords, logins etc - just an open connection that had a strong signal in my room. Speed isn't fantastic (ie. streaming video is difficult, but for downloading documents and browsing the web, it's perfect).
- the staff - very helpful - couldn't do enough, particularly with event organisation etc.
- the spa - a lovely setting and a fanstasic massage.
- extensive grounds to wander around.

Room Tip: Away from reception and fountains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

An excellent hotel in a magnificent location which rightly warrants all the things that have been written about it. On the very positive side, my wife and I would list magnificent service from everyone that was friendly but professional, fabulous facilities (including a lovely 9 hole golf course, unusually "all-inclusive" water-skiing, a very good Spa and lovely gardens and beach areas), an excellent room (we had paid a little extra for a Prestige room which certainly seemed worth it) and superb grounds (including its own genuine historical site and giant tortoises). On the less than brilliant side, the all-inclusive buffet meals became somewhat repetitive with not the widest of selections (however, this was off-set by the opportunities to dine at different locations for an acceptable extra charge - steak night on the beach being exceptionally good), having only one bar which, because of the large and very comfortable chairs, became very busy and crowded in the evenings often meaning no available seats and a dehumidifier in our bedroom which either beeped throughout the night or was very loud (despite requesting its repair 4 times). For the snorkellers amongst you, although there are a reasonable number of fish around the reef that is close to the hotel beach, most of the coral is dead and thus the underwater life is nothing like as spectacular as the Red Sea or Maldives. Don't take these slightly negative comments out of context - this is a place to come to relax, unwind, enjoy each other's company, do what you want to when you want to in a great location what ever your age. Personal recommendation would be: All inclusive, Prestige room on the ground floor. Mauritius often labels itself as a little bit of paradise - I believe this is overclaim (the title belongs to the Maldives in my view) but certainly it is on the stairway to heaven and is worth a couple of day trips out of the resort (tea factory, Black River gorge and Chamarel) to explore a very unusual island.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I am aware that to many of the readers this could come as a surprise, but since we witnessed it, I can write about it.
Overall everything about the hotel – food, location, rooms and cleanliness is good.
What will put you off, is the behavior meted out to an Asian (depending on your accent).
It will start with your dinner experience, where you will notice that very few waiters will give you the necessary attention and sometimes even after you have called them, there will be a considerable delay in their service to you, more so if you are a teetotaler.
Through the day when you spend time at the hotel - at their beach, at their restaurant or using their water sports activities, you will always find that in general their behavior towards you is very lukewarm, in comparison to their warm heartedness to the others.
After having 4 dinners at the restaurant on the fifth evening when we entered the restaurant for dinner, one of the waiters came to us and informed us that we are supposed to be dressed in formals for the evening. Please be reminded that till now no one including at the reception had informed us about this. In fact one of the days I actually had my dinner wearing shorts. If this was not enough, while he was lecturing us, we found a gentleman not in formals and pointed it out to the waiter and as expected there was no response from him. Finally we had change over and come.
Finally on the day of checkout, our wife’s decided to use the spa. The checkout time is 12 am. On realizing that we might need an hour more, since they had not returned by then, we requested the reception to give us 1 more hour. To this the hotel staff on the reception desk informed us curtly that they cannot accommodate it, since there were guests waiting and in-turn suggested us that we can move ourselves to the waiting room and use the services there... When we told the hotel staff that the check-in time is 3 p.m and currently there are no guests waiting at the reception, but he did not budge. We then requested him to check with the senior staff and he finally came back saying, I quote “we can only give you half an hour” Unquote. We decided to end this discussion there and since by then our wife’s had come back we just changed over and checked out.
So overall, we finished our stay at the hotel with a heavy heart and realized that overall the attitude of the entire hotel staff towards Asians – in particular Indians is very bad.
We had given a written complaint and submitted it to the hotel staff and they promised us to respond back, but till date no one has come back to us.
Hope this is of help to all, when they plan to stay here and even then if they decide to go ahead, to be prepared with the experience...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mn012345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This was our third trip to Mauritius, and after a great stay last year at the Beau Rivage, we were of course going to compare hotel to that one. We have to say though that it has ticked all of the boxes, and is in our opinion even better than the Beau Rivage, and that is some achievment. Special mentions to staff members Meyakhan Saifkhan (Saif), who ensured every day of our stay that we were OK and to assist with any arrangements of trips and activities etc during our stay (See Picture) and of course Dave down on the beach (See Picture) who looked after our drink needs all day. My wife is very fussy with her food and it is always a worry, but I have to say that the food quality and choice at the Maritim was great for her and me, and both the Pavillion and Le Maree Beach restaurants are great. We had booked a Prestige Room 324 which was on second floor with nice views and very comfortable (Except the hard matress for me) We both used the Spa facilities which we would recommend to all. Again my wife would like to make a special mention of thanks to Anisha at the Spa for her manicure (The best ever) The only negative is that the service at times was slow, example a coffee took 25 minutes We have met and made many new friends on this trip. We will be going back for sure.

Room Tip: Room 324 on second floor was great. On the odd occasion that it rained you could leave your room for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve57hereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
0.3 mi away
The Ravenala Attitude
The Ravenala Attitude
#3 of 6 in Balaclava
1,308 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,440 reviews
28.9 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
0.2 mi away
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
10.3 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius

Property: Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
Address: Turtle Bay, Balaclava, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Family Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sparkling sandy beach, tropical gardens and the crystal clear turquoise waters of the Indian Ocean... Live the essence of a great island escape!Immerse yourself in this luxurious five-star beach and spa resort gently nestled within a picturesque private estate along the protected marine park of Turtle Bay.Enjoy a prime location on the sunniest and sheltered Northwest coast of the island between the capital Port - Louis and the lively village of Grand Bay and indulge in the pure nature of the historical estate of 25 hectares awarded 'Most Beautiful Garden of Mauritius'. Be spoilt by world-class accommodation with 215 luxurious rooms and suites as well as an exclusive villa, all sea facing and elegantly designed ...ideal to embrace the tropical ambiance of the island. Savour endless culinary delights during your journey with an exceptional selection of five exquisite restaurants and three bars ranging from 'feet in the sand' beach restaurants to Asian fusion and the exclusive fine dining restaurant 'Chateau Mon Desir'.Pamper yourself in its 'Maritim Tropical Flower Spa', an oasis of wellbeing offering exclusive treatments and stunning facilities to relax and unwind.Those seeking for active holidays will benefit from an infinite range of land and water sports offered such as horse riding, golf, archery, water ski, diving and many more!Whenever you are looking for relaxing or active holidays, this 5-star luxury hotel, part of Maritim Hotels, will offer you an exceptional array of facilities and experiences combined with the highest standards of service delivered with genuine Mauritian hospitality. Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius ...your holidays... beyond paradise ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Mauritius Balaclava
Hotel Maritim Mauritius
Maritim Hotel Mauritius
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius Balaclava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing