We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Decor and absolutely peaceful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Balaclava
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb Decor and absolutely peaceful hotel”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for only a night before taking on a long flight and it was absolutely the best thing I did. The staff was awesome and the food was absolutely delicious! had a great peaceful night's rest and waking up to the beautiful warm sunshine of mauritius. In terms of facilities, probably best spa facilities I have been to in Mauritius

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Denleparain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angsana Balacla... M, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Valued guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a Trip Advisor comment following your stay at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius.

Although your stay with us was quite short we appreciate the warm and positive comments about the resort. Our chef Suardi is delighted to know that during your short stay you were able to taste his fusion cuisine and that you found it ‘absolutely delicious’.

As an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava places an emphasis on the attention to details and it is rewarding to know that your one night stay was ‘absolutely peaceful’.

Once again we would like to thank you for your encouraging comments as they will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.

We look forward to welcome you back amongst us and the ‘beautiful warm sunshine of Mauritius’.

Yours sincerely,

Pascal Prigent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    717
    127
    41
    20
    10
See reviews for
179
571
15
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Port Louis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Hi,
Angsana indeed is very beautiful hotel, spacious room BUT the service quality does not follow.

As a Mauritian, my family and I felt that Mauritians and tourists are served differently.

Some of our family had to wait 50 min before "a la carte" breakfast was served. Also, a member of my family precise that NO PORK should be serve BUT pork beacon was on the plate. When mentioning the latter to the waiter, they took the plate and was about to only remove the pork (behind the counter) and serve back the same plate.

Not to mention that the day before at dinner time, problem arise where food were served different for us and the tourist. Managers responsible at that time were not able to handle the problem and were arrogant.

I do not understand how such hotel is a 5 star hotel and were given the TripAdvisor’ Choice 2013 award and I STRONGLY do not recommend Mauritians to go to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Tonks T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angsana Balacla... M, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Valued guest,

We would like to thank you for taking some time to write a TripAdvisor review following your stay at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius.

I am delighted that you found that the resort was very beautiful. However please accept our apologies on the service you received during you stay. I would like to seize this opportunity to present my excuses for the disappointing standards.

I would like to mention that we absolutely do not give any preferences nor do we discriminate when serving locals or tourists. Our clients are our biggest pride and we are truly sorry that you felt we were serving you and your guests differently.

We have taken note of your comments and rest assured that we are doing an internal investigation to find out more about it. Please rest assured that this is not our usual standard and that your comments have been passed on to the team so we can further improve and monitor our Angsana standards.

We appreciate the constructive comments as these will truly help us monitor and improve even further our Angsana services and facilities.

Yours Sincerely,

Pascal Prigent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I absolutely enjoyed my stay at the Angsana earlier this year.

The hotel is warm and welcoming, perfect for couples looking for a quiet stay.

Also loved the fact that I had 24hr wi fi access in the comfort of my room.

Room Tip: Suites on the higher floor have a perfect view of the ocean and the resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PrincessZ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angsana Balacla... M, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Valued guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a TripAdvisor review following your stay at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius. It always warms our heart to read such nice comments about our resort.

Nestled in the secluded area of Turtle Bay, Angsana Balaclava Mauritius with its 52 suites, offers a hideaway ideal for travellers looking for privacy and relaxation. As you metionned, couples travelling often find the location ideal for a quiet and intimate stay. We are thrilled to hear that you found the hotel wam and welcoming.

Our team is trained to be authentic, friendly, gracious and provide a service attitude that is above expectations and it is very encouraging to know that you found Angsana heaven.

I am even more delighted to hear that you were able to stay connected during your holidays at the resort. Our IT department will be pleased to know that their services are used to it’s full potential.

Your kind comments have been passed on to the team and we hope you welcome you back at the resort for another Angsana heaven experience.

Yours sincerely

Pascal Prigent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Hi

The hotel is very nice and new, the rooms are very spacious and decorated shcon.

Unfortunately, the customer service is not 5 star standard.

True not already cleaned our room, the bed 3 of our daughter would forget to put down.

of manager would tell us just a sorry excuse for the circumstances.

The breakfast buffet is very little selection on the food 3 stars Nivau
2 times a week there is buffet unfortunately this is not a 5 star meal.

Beach about 500 meters long very stones on the beach which can be very painful, very small.


Davide Moncecchi

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angsana Balacla... M, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Mr Moncecchi,

We thank you for taking the time to leave a TripAdvisor review following your recent stay at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius.

I am delighted to find that you found the hotel very nice and new. Surrounded by tropical landscapes and lagoon pool views, every Garden Suite exudes a rustic charm and its spacious veranda is the perfect spot to witness a magnificent Mauritian Sunset.

However we would like to apologize for the service you encountered during your stay. I would like to seize this opportunity to present my excuses for the disappointing standards.

We have taken note of your comments about the breakfast buffet and would like to point out that other than the breakfast buffet we also have an “a la carte” breakfast menu that gives you a wide variety of hot breakfast options such as boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, eggs Benedict, Spanish omelette and many more. We even offer local and Asian breakfast specials.

During your stay you might have noticed that we had an Indonesian Culinary festival on-going during the week it was therefore an exception that we had 2 nights of buffet instead of the usual once per week.

Mr Moncecchi, rest assured that all issues raised are currently being investivated internally and it is our greatest goal to make sure that our guests have a most enjoyable stay with us. We would like to thank you once again for your comments as these will truly help us to monitor, and improve even further our Angsana services and facilities.

We trust you had a safe flight back and look forward in welcoming you again at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius or any of our resorts around the world.

Yours Sincerely,

Pascal Prigent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This hotel by far is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in.

As a frequent long haul traveller to 4-5* establishments this is by far one of the best we have stayed in, the whole ambience of the Angsana is just so tranquil and relaxing it would be impossible not to unwind here.

The service was exceptional! having dined at the burj al arab earlier this year for my daughters 21st, i would certainly put the service that Preetum and his team in the restaurant gave us on par without hesitation.

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, pascal and adash on the beach certainly deserve a mention, they interacted with myself and my family and made us all feel very welcome, and special. Also the security guard on the beach was very friendly and again very helpful.

Unfortunately i cannot name each and every member of staff that made our stay so Special and memorable but I assure you that from the cleaners, the pool attendants, the chefs, the bar men and every other one that we came into contact with the guests were certainly their main priority and the dedication each and every one of them showed was commendable.

I could go on and on so one last little mention regarding the food, the breakfast was freshly cooked and what ever you wanted they certainly went out of their way to accommodate, the evening meal again was exceptional with a varied menu choice every evening which certainly surpassed our expectations. The Amuse Bouche, and the sorbets between courses were again a nice touch and very enjoyable.

To that end, I would not hesitate to recommend Angsana Baclava to anyone looking for a peaceful relaxing holiday within a hotel that certainly has the vision to meet your expectations in every area, we will certainly be back!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank josie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angsana Balacla... M, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Josie,

Warm greetings from Angsana Balaclava Mauritius!

We are delighted to read your comments on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at the resort.
Being an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava places an emphasis on the attention to details and we strive to create a memorable stay for our guests.

Our team is trained to be authentic, friendly, gracious and provide a service attitude that is above expectations and it is very encouraging to know that most of our staff went the extra mile to make your stay an unforgettable one.

Our Balinese chef will be pleased to hear that his various menus surpassed your expectations. Chef Suardi and his team work on creating and innovating new ideas and dishes each day to awaken our guests’ taste buds.

Your very kind comments have been passed on to all personnel that made your stay with us so special, peaceful and relaxing.

We do you hope you had a safe trip back home and we very much look forward to welcome you back at our resort to exceed your expectations once again!

Yours Sincerely
Pascal Prigent,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We wanted something special for our honeymoon and spent a long time choosing the destination, and secondly the hotel. Angsana Balaclava excelled in the reviews both here and elsewhere, and when our travel agent offered a honeymoon package for this hotel, we were confident that Angsana could satisfy our needs for this particular trip.

We were well received from the very beginning, a very professional and helpful staff. From check in with warm cloths, tasty drinks and a welcome tour on the resort, we felt well received. We had booked one of the beachside suites - No. 101, as they offered a private pool, direct beach access, large tub and steam shower, all facilities we appreciate. So we were a bit disappointed, as we immediately discovered the tap handel on the bath tub, door lock from the bathroom to the pool and jetpool-function was defect. In addition, the menu for room service and the mini bar were missing. We immediately informed the staff about this after our arrival in the morning. The jet pool and menus were quickly fixed, the problems with the bathroom were not. We repeated the desire for help that same night and hoped that it would be fixed the following day. But after almost two whole days in the resort the problems were still not taken care of. We finally got the handy man to visit us that evening. He said he could not fix it before the next day, which we thought was a bit too long to wait for a room that should have been in order in the first place. We contacted the front desk again and they offered us to switch rooms. This caused some logistics, but as we were offered a nice compensation from the hotel manager, we felt that they had taken us seriously. There were also a few small problems with the new suite - for example, there was a speaker that was not working, and a challenge with insects. However, they were quickly taken care of by a service minded personnel - and solved, which we appreciated.

We also have many positive things we would like to emphasize about the resort and spa. The service level is above what one would expect. The food is excellent and it is offered a la carte for breakfast and dinner, and the selection was good whether you prefer fish, meat or vegetarian. The bar offers a wide selection of cocktails and drinks - plus the barkeeper makes what you wish beyond this. An example of good service is that we asked for a particular local beer brand. The next day it was aveliable. However, prices are high - and somewhat unbalanced.

The spa at Angsana Balaclava is delicious, treatments fantasic, the beach is very clean and nice, as is the facility itself. Housekeeping and turndown service are very good, although the latter was offered at peculiar times: They showed up almost every day just as we were getting dressed for dinner, which started at 7 pm. Wouldn’t it be better if they did it a little later, when the guests are dining and not in the rooms? There are also a few other details that was a bit annoying. For instance the fact that you did not get a new assignment list and garment bag after getting your clothes washed, so we were not able to hand over new laundry, and the fact that events that were announced daily on the TV info channel, did not happen. We showed up to several events repeatedly, for instance the sun set cocktail and the star gazing with an astronomer, but none of the events carried out - even though the weather was great. They had no good explanation as to why. This though – is a little nit-picking - we had a wonderful stay. We felt well taken care of, we ate and drank well, and would like to return, both to the wonderful island with a gentle and welcoming people, and a hotel with a service minded and friendly staff, a beautiful place, with wonderful culinary experiences and room for romance.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kjersti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angsana Balacla... M, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Valued guest,

Warm greetings from Angsana Balaclava Mauritius!

Thank you for taking your time to write a Tripadvisor comment following you honeymoon at our resort. We are pleased to hear that you found our service level above what one would expect and that you appreciated the large variety of food proposed by our chef. Chef Suardi and his team will take great pride to know that you enjoyed his food and the various options presented every day.

We take great pride in making sure our guests have a memorable experience at our resort and we are thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful stay.

We are however sorry to read that your recent stay at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius was just ‘almost’ paradise. I would like to seize this opportunity to present my sincere apologies for the various issues you encountered. We are doing an internal investigation to find out more about it.
Please rest assured that this is not our usual standard and that your comments have been passed on to the team so we can further improve and monitor our Angsana standards.

We appreciate the constructive comments as these will truly help us monitor and improve even further our Angsana services and facilities.

We trust you had a safe flight back home.

Yours Sincerely
Pascal Prigent,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We enjoyed our trip to Mauritius and we loved Angsana. The hotel was small but the staff could recognize all the guests they served. Breakfast was great and dinner menu was good too. The staff at the boat house called themselves 3 sharks on the beach and they were nice to my boy and made him very happy. Ashvin, a waitor at the restuarant can speak good chinese and was very polite to the guests. We had a good time there. Location was ok, not too far to major tourist sites. We rented a car and the driver was a wonderful guy. His name is Pravin, phone number 7879120.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angsana Balacla... M, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Valued guest,

Warm greetings from Angsana Balaclava Mauritius!

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a Tripadvisor comment. We take great pleasure in reading that your holidays were well enjoyed and that you ‘Loved’ our resort.

Nestled in the secluded area of Turtle Bay, Angsana Balaclava Mauritius with its 52 suites, offers a hideaway ideal for travellers looking for privacy and relaxation. You noted that the staff was friendly and recognized all the guests they served. Our team is trained to be friendly, gracious, authentic and to provide service attitude that is above expectations.

Your kind words have been passed on to Ashvin and the boat house team. It is very encouraging to know that our staff made your stay with us even more enjoyable.

Once again we thank you for your warming comments and we look forward to welcome you back at the resort.

Yours Sincerely,
Pascal Prigent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
0.2 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,454 reviews
29.0 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,708 reviews
15.7 mi away
Constance Prince Maurice
Constance Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
0.2 mi away
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angsana Balaclava Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angsana Balaclava Mauritius

Property: Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
Address: Turtle Bay, Balaclava, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#1 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#1 Family Hotel in Balaclava
#1 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
#1 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Angsana Balaclava Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the northwest coast of Mauritius, in the secluded area of Turtle Bay, Angsana Balaclava offers a hideaway ideal for travellers looking for privacy and relaxation. Angsana Balaclava is the island’s premier boutique resort – the latest 5-star resort on the Mauritian landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Angsana Balaclava Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angsana Balaclava Hotel Balaclava
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing