We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent hotel with the best service I have ever received!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Balaclava
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This hotel by far is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in.

As a frequent long haul traveller to 4-5* establishments this is by far one of the best we have stayed in, the whole ambience of the Angsana is just so tranquil and relaxing it would be impossible not to unwind here.

The service was exceptional! having dined at the burj al arab earlier this year for my daughters 21st, i would certainly put the service that Preetum and his team in the restaurant gave us on par without hesitation.

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, pascal and adash on the beach certainly deserve a mention, they interacted with myself and my family and made us all feel very welcome, and special. Also the security guard on the beach was very friendly and again very helpful.

Unfortunately i cannot name each and every member of staff that made our stay so Special and memorable but I assure you that from the cleaners, the pool attendants, the chefs, the bar men and every other one that we came into contact with the guests were certainly their main priority and the dedication each and every one of them showed was commendable.

I could go on and on so one last little mention regarding the food, the breakfast was freshly cooked and what ever you wanted they certainly went out of their way to accommodate, the evening meal again was exceptional with a varied menu choice every evening which certainly surpassed our expectations. The Amuse Bouche, and the sorbets between courses were again a nice touch and very enjoyable.

To that end, I would not hesitate to recommend Angsana Baclava to anyone looking for a peaceful relaxing holiday within a hotel that certainly has the vision to meet your expectations in every area, we will certainly be back!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank josie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angsana Balacla... M, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Josie,

Warm greetings from Angsana Balaclava Mauritius!

We are delighted to read your comments on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at the resort.
Being an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava places an emphasis on the attention to details and we strive to create a memorable stay for our guests.

Our team is trained to be authentic, friendly, gracious and provide a service attitude that is above expectations and it is very encouraging to know that most of our staff went the extra mile to make your stay an unforgettable one.

Our Balinese chef will be pleased to hear that his various menus surpassed your expectations. Chef Suardi and his team work on creating and innovating new ideas and dishes each day to awaken our guests’ taste buds.

Your very kind comments have been passed on to all personnel that made your stay with us so special, peaceful and relaxing.

We do you hope you had a safe trip back home and we very much look forward to welcome you back at our resort to exceed your expectations once again!

Yours Sincerely
Pascal Prigent,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (958)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

485 - 491 of 958 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

We wanted something special for our honeymoon and spent a long time choosing the destination, and secondly the hotel. Angsana Balaclava excelled in the reviews both here and elsewhere, and when our travel agent offered a honeymoon package for this hotel, we were confident that Angsana could satisfy our needs for this particular trip.

We were well received from the very beginning, a very professional and helpful staff. From check in with warm cloths, tasty drinks and a welcome tour on the resort, we felt well received. We had booked one of the beachside suites - No. 101, as they offered a private pool, direct beach access, large tub and steam shower, all facilities we appreciate. So we were a bit disappointed, as we immediately discovered the tap handel on the bath tub, door lock from the bathroom to the pool and jetpool-function was defect. In addition, the menu for room service and the mini bar were missing. We immediately informed the staff about this after our arrival in the morning. The jet pool and menus were quickly fixed, the problems with the bathroom were not. We repeated the desire for help that same night and hoped that it would be fixed the following day. But after almost two whole days in the resort the problems were still not taken care of. We finally got the handy man to visit us that evening. He said he could not fix it before the next day, which we thought was a bit too long to wait for a room that should have been in order in the first place. We contacted the front desk again and they offered us to switch rooms. This caused some logistics, but as we were offered a nice compensation from the hotel manager, we felt that they had taken us seriously. There were also a few small problems with the new suite - for example, there was a speaker that was not working, and a challenge with insects. However, they were quickly taken care of by a service minded personnel - and solved, which we appreciated.

We also have many positive things we would like to emphasize about the resort and spa. The service level is above what one would expect. The food is excellent and it is offered a la carte for breakfast and dinner, and the selection was good whether you prefer fish, meat or vegetarian. The bar offers a wide selection of cocktails and drinks - plus the barkeeper makes what you wish beyond this. An example of good service is that we asked for a particular local beer brand. The next day it was aveliable. However, prices are high - and somewhat unbalanced.

The spa at Angsana Balaclava is delicious, treatments fantasic, the beach is very clean and nice, as is the facility itself. Housekeeping and turndown service are very good, although the latter was offered at peculiar times: They showed up almost every day just as we were getting dressed for dinner, which started at 7 pm. Wouldn’t it be better if they did it a little later, when the guests are dining and not in the rooms? There are also a few other details that was a bit annoying. For instance the fact that you did not get a new assignment list and garment bag after getting your clothes washed, so we were not able to hand over new laundry, and the fact that events that were announced daily on the TV info channel, did not happen. We showed up to several events repeatedly, for instance the sun set cocktail and the star gazing with an astronomer, but none of the events carried out - even though the weather was great. They had no good explanation as to why. This though – is a little nit-picking - we had a wonderful stay. We felt well taken care of, we ate and drank well, and would like to return, both to the wonderful island with a gentle and welcoming people, and a hotel with a service minded and friendly staff, a beautiful place, with wonderful culinary experiences and room for romance.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kjersti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angsana Balacla... M, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Valued guest,

Warm greetings from Angsana Balaclava Mauritius!

Thank you for taking your time to write a Tripadvisor comment following you honeymoon at our resort. We are pleased to hear that you found our service level above what one would expect and that you appreciated the large variety of food proposed by our chef. Chef Suardi and his team will take great pride to know that you enjoyed his food and the various options presented every day.

We take great pride in making sure our guests have a memorable experience at our resort and we are thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful stay.

We are however sorry to read that your recent stay at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius was just ‘almost’ paradise. I would like to seize this opportunity to present my sincere apologies for the various issues you encountered. We are doing an internal investigation to find out more about it.
Please rest assured that this is not our usual standard and that your comments have been passed on to the team so we can further improve and monitor our Angsana standards.

We appreciate the constructive comments as these will truly help us monitor and improve even further our Angsana services and facilities.

We trust you had a safe flight back home.

Yours Sincerely
Pascal Prigent,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Guangzhou, China
12
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We enjoyed our trip to Mauritius and we loved Angsana. The hotel was small but the staff could recognize all the guests they served. Breakfast was great and dinner menu was good too. The staff at the boat house called themselves 3 sharks on the beach and they were nice to my boy and made him very happy. Ashvin, a waitor at the restuarant can speak good chinese and was very polite to the guests. We had a good time there. Location was ok, not too far to major tourist sites. We rented a car and the driver was a wonderful guy. His name is Pravin, phone number 7879120.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angsana Balacla... M, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Valued guest,

Warm greetings from Angsana Balaclava Mauritius!

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a Tripadvisor comment. We take great pleasure in reading that your holidays were well enjoyed and that you ‘Loved’ our resort.

Nestled in the secluded area of Turtle Bay, Angsana Balaclava Mauritius with its 52 suites, offers a hideaway ideal for travellers looking for privacy and relaxation. You noted that the staff was friendly and recognized all the guests they served. Our team is trained to be friendly, gracious, authentic and to provide service attitude that is above expectations.

Your kind words have been passed on to Ashvin and the boat house team. It is very encouraging to know that our staff made your stay with us even more enjoyable.

Once again we thank you for your warming comments and we look forward to welcome you back at the resort.

Yours Sincerely,
Pascal Prigent
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

If you're looking for a place to relax, then Angsana Balaclava is the best place that you can choose and you will never want to leave from there. The staffs are really competent and so dedicated to their valued customers that anyone will feel that they're getting a VVVIP service! Its rooms are wonderfully A-M-A-Z-I-N-G and the management is ready to help no matter the time or the situation.The gym, the spa, the hammam, swimming pools, ohh paradise! Incredible service in the restaurant by the waiters who are very friendly and always attentive to the client's satisfaction. The chefs' cuisines are just delicious that you will be missing that when you go back home! If I ever get a chance to go for holidays, Angsana Balaclava is the first place I'll go again and again!!A big thanks to the Director and all the staffs!

Room Tip: Room 305-the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kavina223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angsana Balacla... M, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Kavina,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a Trip Advisor comment about our resort. We are very happy to read that you felt so at home away from home at our resort.

I am delighted to hear that you felt like a “VVVIP” at our resort. As an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava places an emphasis on the attention to details and it is fantastic to read that you appreciated the service and our diverse facilities.

Our chef will be thrilled to hear that you found his food “delicious”. The team aims at creating innovating mouth- watering dishes that will keep our guests wanting more.

Your gracious comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.

Once again, I would like to thank you for the gracious comments. We look forward to seeing you again at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius.

Yours Sincerely,

Pascal Prigent
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Last December, my sister and I, we had a short break at your lovely hotel following a difficult time of bereavement. Angsana gave us the perfect tranquil and peaceful surrounding we could have wished for. We stayed in a Spa suite and made full use of your wonderful Spa which was such a lovely place for relaxation and peace. Thank you so much- hope to come back soon again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angsana Balacla... M, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Patricia,

We thank you for taking the time to write a tripadvisor comment.
It warms our heart to hear that it helped you and your sister go through the difficult moments. The spa suite was definitely a good choice as you were able to take advantage of the spa package and enjoy the tranquility and peace the resort surrounds itself with.

We thank you once again for your comments. Your positive and heart- warming feedback will be passed on to the team and we look forward to welcome you back for a longer break at the resort.

Yours Sincerely,
Pascal Prigent
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This hotel is exotic which offers peaceful environment for relaxation, at the same time so modern and convenient that you can find all the facilities needed... wifi, music etc.. The room & the hotel, pool, beach are super. The staffs were friendly and professional. Dinner was average, but I love the order-to-make breakfast to make sure everything is fresh & hot. There were also plenty choices of food at the buffet counters. Nice pool side restaurant with staffs serving finger foods & drinks while I was having sunbath. It's definitely a great choice for a vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angsana Balacla... M, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Warm greetings from Angsana Balaclava Mauritius ! We appreciate that you have taken some time to write a TripAdvisor review.

Nestled in the secluded area of Turtle Bay, Angsana Balaclava Mauritius with its 52 suites, offers a hideaway ideal for travellers looking for privacy and relaxation. It is great to hear that you were able to experience the peaceful environment and the surrounding tranquillity.

I am delighted that our team were seen for their professionalism and friendliness. As an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava places an emphasis on the attention to details and it is rewarding to know that we made your vacation “great”.

Once again, we would like to thank you for your kind comments that have been passed on to all the team. We trust you had a safe flight back home and look forward to welcoming you again soon for more sunbaths and relaxation time at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius.

Yours Sincerely,

Pascal Prigent
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Oldenburg, Germany
12
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This hotel offers absolute relaxation in a peaceful environment. The staff is extremely knowledgeable and absolutely friendly. The food is varied and excellent in quality. The only drawback is, unfortunately, the beach, because it is less suitable for swimming. There are many rocks.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Warm Greetings from Angsana Balaclava Mauritius.

Thank you for sharing a comment on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius. We are pleased to learn that to you, our Resort offers excellent service and is the perfect ambiance for honeymooners.

Indeed, Angsana Balaclava presents a romantic and exclusive hideaway with its 52 suites and villa resort haven setting in Turtle Bay, Mauritius. The resort is designed for guests to embark on a journey of rejuvenation and wellness with experiences to indulge and soothe all senses.

We are thrilled that you find the quality of the food to be excellent. The Angsana Balaclava Mauritius concept aims to provide the most delicious international cuisines as well as contemporary Asian Fusion cuisine. Our Chef Suardi and his team continuously pride themselves in creating a memorable culinary experience for each of our guest.

Our team is trained to be authentic, friendly, and gracious and to provide a service attitude that is above expectations. It is very encouraging to know that most of our staff went the extra mile to make your stay an unforgettable one.

We would like to take this opportunity to congratulate you once again on your recent wedding and honeymoon and wish you all the very best for the future.

We trust you had a safe flight back home and look forward to welcoming you back at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius or any of our Resorts worldwide.

Yours Sincerely

Pascal Prigent
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
0.2 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,536 reviews
29.0 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,956 reviews
4.2 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,549 reviews
22.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Mauritius at Anahita
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angsana Balaclava Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angsana Balaclava Mauritius

Address: Turtle Bay, Balaclava, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
#1 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#1 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#1 Family Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range: $351 - $1,066 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Angsana Balaclava Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the northwest coast of Mauritius, in the secluded area of Turtle Bay, Angsana Balaclava offers a hideaway ideal for travellers looking for privacy and relaxation. Angsana Balaclava is the island’s premier boutique resort – the latest 5-star resort on the Mauritian landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Angsana Balaclava Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angsana Balaclava Hotel Balaclava
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing