We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
Nearby Hotels
$180
$150
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $179/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$172
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$253
$159
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$302
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea View Villas(Balaclava)
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$172
bedfinder
View Deal
The Oberoi, Mauritius(Pointe Aux Piments)
$517
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa(Pointe Aux Piments)
$268
$258
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Meridien Ile Maurice(Pointe Aux Piments)
$260
$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Villas Mon Plaisir(Pointe Aux Piments)
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,159)
Filter reviews
1,159 results
Traveler rating
911
155
55
24
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
911
155
55
24
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate poolgarden suitevitality poolsea water poolour honeymoonsorbetf bocean fronthoney moonspecial thanksport louisbreakfast and dinnermemorable stayrestaurant stafffront officespecial mentionsteam room
Filter
Updating list...
622 - 627 of 1,159 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This was our first time in Mauritius and staying by the sea was really a wonderful experience for us for 6 nights. After a 10 hours flight, we arrived at Angsana around 9 pm plus and pretty exhausted. The check-in was hassle free and quick.

Vinay who checked us in, then showed us around Angsana giving a brief introduction before showing us to our Garden Suite. He was very cheerful, warm and polite throughout which cheered us up too. Nothing is worse than seeing a grumpy, nonchalant staff at reception. He was also very detailed and clear about the whole introduction. When we told him we are both vegetarians, we were happy to know he is a vegetarian too. He volunteered to highlight our food requirements to the kitchen for our following breakfast. Thanks to him, our first breakfast was a delight! We didn't meet him again till our final night and he still remembers us! He asked if everything was fine and if we are happy with their services. Vinay has an excellent customer service attitude who will surely be liked by other guests too.

We were also very pleased with another service staff, Dorasami at the Oryza Restaurant. He is very patient while listening to our vegetarian requirements and actually understands them! He also takes the trouble to remember our likes and dislikes so we don't have to repeat each time. For example, he knows we like soymilk so that is the first thing he would ask when we were at the restaurant for breakfast for dinner. We are very comfortable with his services. Thanks, Dorasami for taking such good care of our food options.

However, we did have some bad experiences with the receptionist by the name of Veena. When we booked a taxi service through her to Port Louis at 11 A.M., she looked expressionless and didn't seem happy to serve us (we can tell from her smirk). Other receptionists were friendly and always put on a warm smile at us, but definitely not Veena. She wasn't attentive to us and gave us the wrong pricing. She told us the rate is 1500Rp, but when we returned to the hotel and paid the taxi driver, the taxi driver showed us the rate from the hotel to Port Louis is actually 1600Rp.

By the way, Veena did not put on a name tag on her chest on that day of her duty, which looks very unprofessional to us. All other staffs have their name tags on all day long. But fortunately, she had her name tag on on the day of our departure, which gave us the chance to write something about her poor attitude. She didn't seem happy or proud to be an Angsana staff.

We have to leave the hotel at 5:30P.M., but we have to check out at 12 P.M., as she claims that our room has been booked for another guest who is coming in very soon. So, we checked out at 12 P.M. as requested and since we have a 5-hour waiting time, we decided to use their business centre. We encountered problem with logging into their computers. We went to her because she is the only staff at the recep and she made us walk to and fro with a wrong password. When we told her the password still failed, she impatiently came to the business centre. She pulled a long face and showed indifference when we asked questions. She fixed one pc but not the other and walked off without a word. When my husband chased out after her, she just waved him off. Very rude of her.

Overall, the food pricing was expensive but with services from staff like Dorasami, it should be well worthwhile. Our Garden suite with a balcony was clean and spacious. The pool was nice. The surroundings was quiet but the tv programs were limited in choices.

Room Tip: Higher floors may have less giant flying ants appearing at balcony
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2013Laura_Ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius.
We are thrilled to learn that overall your stay was wonderful. Our garden suites surrounded by its tropical landscapes and lagoon pool views are indeed very spacious and exude a rustic charm.

We are especially encouraged by your positive feedback regarding Vinay and Dorasami and their service standards and to know that they went the extra mile to make your stay pleasant and unforgettable. Our team is trained to be authentic, friendly, and gracious and provide a service attitude that is above expectations.

However, I would like to seize this opportunity to present my sincere apologies for the regretful mishaps encountered during your stay with Veena. I have discussed with her and insisted on the fact that her customer skills need improvement and we have committed to reforming her. Please rest assured that it is our greatest goal to make sure our guests have a most enjoyable stay with and that this is not a usual standard.

As an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava Mauritius places an emphasis on the attention to details and we will make sure for no such mishaps to repeat and all your constructive comments have been passed to our team already so we can further improve and monitor our standards.

We trust you had a safe flight back home and look forward in welcoming you once again at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius or any of our resorts around the world.

Yours Sincerely,
Pascal Prigent
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 5 nights for our honeymoon. We found the grounds of the resort and the rooms to be beautiful. The pools were nice but very loud. There was a lack of food options and the special meals were a total rip off. The beach was brown so the pools were the only options. The staff in the boat house were rude and unhelpful but still better then the rest of the service staff. We met a manager on arrival but did not meet anyone else with any knowledge. Reception were useless and had no knowledge of any activities or services offered in the hotel. Food n bev staff were very slow. It took 20 minutes to be served by the pool, 10 minutes to get drinks and 45mins for a plate of calamari! The staff generally gathered together socialising as opposed to working.

I would advise against others staying until service makes it to a least a 3 star level.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HullyAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for commenting on our resort following your recent stay with us.

We are glad that you found the grounds of the resort and the rooms to be beautiful. Each of our suites and villas have been designed to reflect a Mauritian feel with the fusion of Oriental, Occidental and African cultural influences, but also to be a home away from home.

We are however very disappointed to read that your recent stay at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius was also over rated and that the service was poor. I would like to seize this opportunity to present my sincere apologies for the disappointing experience and i am truly sorry to hear about all the various issues you encountered.

We are surprised to find out that you found there was a lack of food as everyday we offer a different menu to our guests.

We wish to assure you that all issues experienced are currently being investigated internally. It is our greatest goal to make sure that our guests have a most enjoyable stay with us and I am sorry that we did not achieve our goal on this occasion.

We would like to thank you once again for your comments as these will truly help us to monitor, and improve even further our Angsana services and facilities.

We trust you had a safe flight back home.

Yours Sincerely
Pascal Prigent,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

My wife and I spent our honeymoon at Angsana in June. To start with, Kiran, Olivier at the front desk upgraded us to a Villa and was extremely helpful and friendly during our stay. Everything from the service, the rooms and the grounds of the resort was text book perfect. We stayed there on a half board basis and were initially expecting buffet to be provided at breakfast and dinner and were extremely pleased when we were provided with Michelin star food. We would definitely recommend Angsana to others honeymoon. The hotel staff always ensured that they did their upmost to ensure that we had a great time. We would like to thank all the staff at Angsana for making our honeymoon an enjoyable and memorable experience. Kibria & Shanara Ahmed

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kibria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Kibria & Shanara,

Warmest Greetings from Angsana Balaclava Mauritius.

It is a great pleasure to read that your recent stay with us was ‘absolutely fabulous’.

Being an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava places an emphasis on the attention to details and we are glad that the little attentions could make your stay a text book perfect one. Our team is trained to be authentic, friendly, and gracious and provide a service attitude that is above expectations.

All our Suites & villa have been designed to reflect a Mauritian feel and make our guests feel like a home away from home.

As we strive to make each guests stay an unforgettable one, Our Balinese Chef Suardi and his team offers a wide selection of different food each day to awaken our guests’ taste buds. The Angsana Balaclava Mauritius concept aims to provide the most delicious international cuisines as well as contemporary Asian Fusion cuisine.

All your kind comments have been passed to rest of the team who take great pride in what they do.

Congratulations on your recent wedding and we are glad we could make your honeymoon a special moment.

We trust you had a safe flight back and look forward in welcoming you again at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius or any of our resorts around the world.

Yours Sincerely,
Pascal Prigent
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Great hotel,
I went to stay there for on the 31st December till 2nd of January. It was awesome. I took the spa suite. The pool on the balcony was so nice. The food was delicious. The price was expensive but then that was probably because it was new year's time so it is understandable. I definitely recommend it to people on honeymoon or who wants to relax.

Room Tip: Definitely go for it
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Haj296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Warmest Greetings from Angsana Balaclava Mauritius.

Thank you for sharing a review on trip advisor following your stay at our Resort last December and thank you for choosing us to celebrate New year eve’s.

The spa Suite is definitely one of our guest’s favourite and there is nothing better than dip in your own private swimming pool during the hot Mauritian Summer. The philosophy behind the resort is based on providing a haven for rejuvenation of the body, mind and soul but also to be an intimate hideaway for couples and honeymooners.

Thank you for commenting on the food that our Balinese Chef Suardi and his team take great pride in preparing each day. At Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, guests are spoilt for choice with our exotic Asian fusion menus as well as international European cuisine, authentic Creole food or even our piquant Indian cuisine.

It has been a great pleasure to have you during the festive season and we hope to welcome you once again at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius.

Yours Sincerely
Pascal Prigent
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
London, United Kingdom
13
Reviewed June 6, 2013

My husband and i stayed 6 nights at angsana and we had a fabulous time.
To start, oliver at the front desk has been very very helpful and friendly. And we thanks oliver for the upgrade of suite.
Lek the bar/ beach manager and sailend one of the restaurant staff has been very helpful and friendly. We also thanks rest of the staff of angsana for being very helpful.
We had a good time in angsana and it was indeed a pleasure staying there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Warm Greetings from Angsana Balaclava Mauritius

It is with great pleasure that we are reading your comment on Trip Advisor after your recent stay with.

Being an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava places an emphasis on the attention to details and we strive to create a memorable stay for our guests. Our team is trained to be authentic, friendly, gracious and provide a service attitude that is above expectations and it is very encouraging to know that they were up to standard.

Your kind comments have already been passed to Olivier and the rest of our team who are appreciative of your kind feedback on their hospitality and efficient service.

We thank you once again for sharing your comments on trip advisor and are glad that overall you had a good time with us.

We trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back again to Angsana Balaclava or to any of our other resorts worldwide.

Yours Sincerely,

Pascal Prigent
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews