We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
Nearby Hotels
$276
$240
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$175
$163
getaroom.com
View Deal
$563
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Oberoi, Mauritius(Pointe Aux Piments)
$619
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Meridien Ile Maurice(Pointe Aux Piments)
$251
$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Villas Mon Plaisir(Pointe Aux Piments)
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Recif Attitude(Pointe Aux Piments)
$148
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa(Pointe Aux Piments)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,063)
Filter reviews
1,064 results
Traveler rating
830
146
52
23
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
830
146
52
23
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate poolspa suitevitality poolsea water poolour honeymoonocean frontf bsorbethoney moonspa staffspecial thanksport louisbreakfast and dinnerreception teammemorable stayrestaurant staffsteam room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
646 - 651 of 1,064 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Was in Mauritius last week. Stayed at Intercontinental but went to see the next door hotel Angsana Balaclava. They gave me a full tour of the place. This is a Resort Hotel with only suits with private pool. There is one Villa with two bedroom but the other two bedrooms and be part of it. It has beautiful pool with it. All rooms and the Villa overlook the Sea. The Hotel has one normal pool and one sea water pool with a private beach. Very well appointed with very good trained staff. It is price but worth it. Will stay next time.

Room Tip: All suits are good. Villa is very large.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AshokJalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your visit to our resort for your recent holiday and for taking the time to share such wonderful comments. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your full tour of Angsana Balaclava.
As an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava places an emphasis on the attention to details and it is fantastic to read that you found our personnel very good and well trained and that Angsana Balaclava is worth it.
Your gracious comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.
We would like to thank you once again for your comments as these will truly help us to monitor, and improve even further our Angsana services and facilities. I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you to Angsana Balaclava or to any of our other resorts worldwide.

Yours sincerely,

Pascal Prigent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Dusseldorf, Germany
11
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Hi,

we were 10 days at the Angsana Balaclava for our honeymoon in June 2012.

I was very pleased by the service, the food, the SPA and the people who made this holiday to a dream (although many circumstances have been not satisfying).

Not Good - only if changed I would come again:

- the prices are defintely too high for drinks and other services.

- the facilities are not satisfying at all - the pools are not heated which is an absolute NoGo for these prices (we had the BeachFront Suite - no other hotel can afford to have non-heated pools in this high end-category).

- the rooms look like that they have been used for long years, too ulitilized; furthermore the cleanness is not given at all (e.g. the pools looked sometimes somehow grey and not "healthy").

- many wines where not available - for a hotel which promotes its wine cellar that much, that's disappointing

BUT: thanks to the very nice staff we have good memories and enjoyed our honeymoon.

Best regards,
JJ

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday and for taking the time to share such wonderful and constructive comments. I am delighted to learn that Angsana Balaclava made your holiday be a dream
As an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava places an emphasis on the attention to details and it is fantastic to read that you were very pleased by the service, the food, the Spa and the people.
Your gracious comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.
We would like to thank you once again for your comments as these will truly help us to monitor, and improve even further our Angsana services and facilities. Please rest assured that your constructive comments have been taken into consideration and that the management is more than happy to do the necessary. I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back again to Angsana Balaclava or to any of our other resorts worldwide.

Yours sincerely,

Pascal Prigent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Attended the Kreston Asia Pacific Conference in this hotel, and stayed 4 nights.

its a new resort, opened in December 2011.

Flawless wouldnt begin to describe the experience. To summarise :

- Service standards from the first experience of driving up to the hotel is exceptional. Everyone is tuned in to the requirements.
- The quality of the accomodation in terms of the size and finish is remarkable.
- The atmosphere is tranquil and ideal for couples. Its a couples resort.
- Beautiful private beach. Some villas are on the beach.
- Catering is very good, breakfasts are superb.

Recommend getting a car hire from the airport. Its easy to find, and easier to get around, as all the main hotels are a little out of the way, although all have taxie waiting outside 24/7. I booked with SIXT - good value and adequate. Less than the cost of a return cab fare.

The above is just a snapshot. In a nutshell, can't recommend this enough.

Room Tip: See tip for Car Hire.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stewartdavies1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

Dear Mr Davies,

Thank you for staying at our resort for your recent trip and for taking the time to share such wonderful comments. I am delighted that you found our resort to be breath-taking in attention to detail and quality.

As an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava places an emphasis on the attention to details and it is fantastic to read that you that you can’t enough recommend our resort.

We are very delighted to read your encouraging words about exceptional service standard, quality accommodation with remarkable finish, the atmosphere being tranquil and ideal for couples, beautiful beach; and very good catering and superb breakfast. Your gracious comments have been passed around, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.

We would like to thank you once again for your comments as these will truly help us to monitor, and improve even further our Angsana services and facilities.
I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back again to Angsana Balaclava or to any of our other resorts worldwide.

Yours sincerely,

Pascal Prigent
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Wokingham, United Kingdom
1
Reviewed June 27, 2012

The Angsana Balaclava in Mauritius has been developed on a beach setting taking care of the environment . The thatched 3 floor buildings are arranged around a picturesque sea water pool. It is simply a spa paradise for complete relaxation but at the same time watersports activities are available. For those who wish to explore the capital Port Louis and go sightseeing it is an easy taxi ride or via excursion. The grand piano played at breakfast just epitomises the ambiance and luxury of this beautiful resort. The breakfast dining has extensive choice down to homemade celery beetroot and apple juice- a must! Lunch time eating around the pool area caters for all diets including local dishes. Evening menu is french in style different choices daily - varied in quality.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

Dear Valued guest,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday and for taking the time to share such wonderful comments. I am delighted that you found our resort to be a peaceful tropical paradise with luxury and friendliness.

As an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava places an emphasis on the attention to details and it is fantastic to read that our resort is a spa paradise for complete relaxation.

We are very delighted to read your encouraging words about our breakfast and piano music, pool area lunch, different choices daily and varied in quality dinner, water sports and beach setting which is environment friendly. Your gracious comments have been passed around, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.

We would like to thank you once again for your comments as these will truly help us to monitor, and improve even further our Angsana services and facilities.
I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back again to Angsana Balaclava or to any of our other resorts worldwide.

Yours sincerely,

Pascal Prigent
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

A fabulous new resort that offers perfect relaxation for honeymooners and coupes in love.
The food and service is second to none, with well-trained staff who are totally focused on ensuring that you have a wonderful time.
The hotel is new and has been fitted out to the very highest of standards.
The air-conditioning in the rooms is the best I have ever encountered, and unlike most is almost silent when running.
Although scales are provided in the rooms, and the gym is top quality, you will have to have a will of iron to avoid putting weight on! The Breakfast and Dinner menus are excellent and should satisfy the most discerning of travellers.
It's difficult to find fault, but if there is one, it's the cost of taxis to reach Port Louis and Grand Baie, which both deserve a visit during your stay.
Avoid Mauritours trips, instead hire a taxi for eight hours (circa 2,800 Rupees with Mauritius Taxis, circa £70) and visit the tourist attractions under your own steam.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com
4  Thank SaxyAdrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday and for taking the time to share such wonderful comments. I am delighted that you found our resort to be fabulous and to offer perfect relaxation for honeymooners and couples.

As an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava places an emphasis on the attention to details and it is fantastic to read that the food and service here is second to none, that our personnel ensured you a wonderful time and that the resort is to the very highest standards.

We are very delighted to read your encouraging words about our excellent breakfast and dinner menu. Your gracious comments have been passed around, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.

We would like to thank you once again for your comments as these will truly help us to monitor, and improve even further our Angsana services and facilities.
I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back again to Angsana Balaclava or to any of our other resorts worldwide.

Yours sincerely,

Pascal Prigent
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews