We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect spot to get engaged...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Balaclava
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The perfect spot to get engaged...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2010

My fiancee and I spent a week at the Intercontinental Resort in Mauritius where he proposed and I said yes!! It was the most beautiful setting to our engagement. The hotel is spacious and has an extensive private beach overlooking its own private island. All rooms have balconies overlooking the ocean. Both the rooms and other parts of the hotel are beautifully done up - modern and elegant with a feeling of light and space throughout. The bathrooms have stand alone baths, his-and-hers sinks and separate shower and toilet cubicles. We got an upgrade to a jacuzzi room which comes with its own private terrace with jacuzzi and sun loungers. This separate terrace is the size of a regular room!! Best of all, the hotel has four restaurants serving exceptional food. We were particularly impressed by the Indian food at Veda as well as the food at the seafood restaurant Segala. We opted to go for a candlelit dinner on the beach at Segala which was wonderful. The staff (Ravi and Ozzy) were exceptional in looking after us. The service was prompt, the attention to detail praiseworthy and they always made sure that our glasses were full and our plates cleared without ever intruding. We loved the food so much we went back a second night to the restaurant where we were treated to a lovely rum cocktail on the house! All in all this resort seems hard to beat. The food is top-notch, the rooms are tastefully done up, the service is exceptional and the beaches and pool immaculately clean. Full marks from us on every score!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank love2trvl460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,246
    770
    290
    106
    121
See reviews for
699
1,339
42
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zürich
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2010

This is our 3rd Time in mauritius. Everytime we stayed in a different Hotel. But this was the Best stay!! The Staff was so helpful and Kind. The Rooms we're luxury. Not clean like a 5 Star European Hotel. But still ok!!! The Food is sooooooooo delicious. We where a Party of 6, and definitly reccomend the all inclusive, As the Prices in all hotels in Mauritius are quiet expansive. It was a deeamholiday for us. Ignore All the negative Reviews. This Hotel is Great.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank macadamia2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2010

We were 3 Families with kids. I think when you are friendly, you receive great friendliness in return. All the staffs were very attentionate.
Food was to standard but still room for improvement. Learn that they are going to have another reputated Chef. So the food is going to be good. There is two type Swim, one with calm Sea & the other one near Segala Restaurant whish is more appealing with the waves. At the restaurant, the waiters always ask how they can help. I love the Simming pool.
Rooms was nice. Even with my 2 Kids & Pregnant wife it was very restful. I do not understant why some people do not like this Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cocolocoUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2010

An enjoyable stay in a lovely, newly-built hotel. Fabulous views onto the beach/ocean and elegant, functional, well-furnished and spacious rooms. Unfortunately, due to the poor drianage of water in my shower room, the bedroom developed a very unpleasant smell as the wall between the bedroom and the bathroom was damp; the water also leaked from the shower room to the toilet.
The management is very professional and the hotel is well-staffed by friendly staff but the quality of service does not compare well to other 5* hotels. The restaurants and the food are excellent - great choice and well-prepared interesting dishes; the drinks are expensive.
Evening entertainment was limited to brief dance shows on some nights. The facilities are excellent but 'high-speed' internet is in fact very slow or non-existent. The yoga sessions are to be recommended.
My son's wedding was expertly organised and the venues were beautiful; the Young Couple's accommodation was up-graded for the duration of their stay and their Presidential Suite was outstanding regarding decor, space, furnishing and all the facilities.
Although a beach location, the hotel is isolated and requires a car hire / taxi service for those who want to venture out.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muszla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walvis Bay, Namibia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2010

The rooms were very nice, but in the first day we found the floor very dirty, then they moved us into another room, which some days after started to leak water from sink's pipe. So to compensate, they moved us into the presidential suite for the last night wich was really superb.
The private beach of the hotel is not so nice, seems artificial and it's rocky, the nicest beaches are a bit far.
There were four restaurants (buffet, chinese, indian and seafood), all of them very acceptable, but the indian one was fantastic

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank virgolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffs , UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2010

We approached our holiday with a little apprehension having seen some of the poor reviews and been "bumped" across from the Maritim who had overbooked a number of rooms. As long term users of Trip Advisor we have learned to look at the overall trend of the reviews rather than a few certain rogue reviews whose authors have a particular axe to grind.From our own experience we simply could not recognise that this was the same hotel as described in those few bad reviews.

In the end we could not have been more pleased with how it worked out for us. The hotel and its amenities were very nice, the staff who appeared very professional as well as happy in their work could not have been more helpful and friendly and the food and service was excellent. Overall it compared very favourably to the Maritim and we had a lovely 2 week break.

It was also very good to see both the Resort Manager and General Manager wallking the hotel during the day and evening to talk with and obtain feedback from guests.Overall a very well run hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Confusion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midrand, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2010

Nice Rooms, but bad food &bad service. all the other bad reviews put together is what we experienced and more...phoning for a bucket of ice shouldn't take 30 mins, we should not have to request for clean towels & toilet paper(5*), room & bathroom was not cleaned daily( only beds were dressed) staff would never greet you unless you greeted them, tea & coffee was never refilled-had to request & wait for 30 mins, food at breakfast/dinner buffet was limited & not at all tasty, if you're not carefull, u will be sharing your meal with the birds as they flew in to all tables, over priced meals, drinks & hotel taxis rates, hotel beach is very rocky with small parts for swimming & cannot cater for all guests. Overall - this hotel needs to live up to the 5* rating as an InterContinental. all the best

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RESHMA_JHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
17.4 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 17 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,233 reviews
1.4 mi away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,848 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
11.2 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,242 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ravenala Attitude
The Ravenala Attitude
#4 of 5 in Balaclava
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort

Property: InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
Address: Balaclava Fort, Coastal Rd, Balaclava, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#4 Family Hotel in Balaclava
#5 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#5 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort is located on one of the most pristine stretches of beach overlooking Balaclava, Mauritius. Offering 210 well-appointed rooms including 10 presidential suites, 40 family-type, 20 Jacuzzi rooms, 20 Executive rooms with free WiFi and 120 standard rooms. Facilities include: 3 bars, 5 restaurants, 2 swimming pools including one heated pool, 8 massage rooms, a unique private island, Planet Trekkers kids club, recreational activities, tennis court, 4 meeting rooms & 1 ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mauritius Resort, Balaclava Fort Hotel Balaclava
Intercontinental Hotel Mauritius
Intercontinental Hotel Balaclava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing