We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome location & great food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Balaclava
bangalore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome location & great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

This hotel is beautifully located on a private beach.
The sunset view is just mesmerizing.
I had stayed at ocean view room with private jacuzzi.
The beautiful view of the ocean along with the luxury of private jacuzzi made my trip very memorable.

The hotel has 5 restaurants - Senso, Segala, Nobel house, Veda and Palms
I had half board package so tried buffet breakfast at Senso and set menu of "Segala" and "Nobel House"

Senso - its a buffet restuarant
The buffet spread is vast and delicious.

Segala - Mauritian cuisine
I loved the food here.

Noble house - Chinese cuisine
Didn't like the food from set menu. The items on the menu were very ordinary and quantity was less too.

Didn't try food at Veda and Palms

Pros :
- Great location
- Great food (except set menu of Noble House)
- Very friendly and helpful staff.
- Great service.
- Lovely view from room.
- Value for money

Cons :
- Far from the city.

I loved my stay at this hotel. One of the best stays for me till me.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ghoomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jiri B, Director of Sales at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear ghoomad,
it is our pleasure to hear your feedback about your recent experience at InterContinental resort Mauritius Balaclava Fort. Especially about food & staff service and amazing sunsets which our location on west coast provides.
Hope to welcome you soon back or to any of our more than 190 InterContinental Hotels & Resorts worldwide.
Jiri Benes, Director of Marketing & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,269
    780
    292
    108
    125
See reviews for
712
1,358
42
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

This is day 5 of a 7 night stay at this wonderful hotel.

Right from the moment you step into the impressive lobby area you know you have made the right decision.

When we checked in there was a mix up in the booking, we were down for a family room but for some reason they had us in a single room, we showed them our documentation they apologised and we ended up with two rooms as all the family rooms were fully booked. All this was done really efficiently and with a smile.

The rooms are really big and spacious, the bathrooms are amazing with a massive bathtub in the middle. The rooms are kept really tidy and cannot complain about the accommodation at all.

We have been on a half board basis and the food has been really good, a wide variety of food to choose from and they have themed nights so there is a variety to choose from each night.Special mention to Devraj the chef, who made sure if my son(his an ultra fussy eater who dosent like to experiment with different foods) didn't fancy eating from the buffet he would fry him some fries.
On the old reviews there has been a mention of cats being in the restraunt while food is being served but we have seen no evidence of this, you do get birds coming in during breakfast. The only criticism i would have is during busy periods there seems to be a lack of staff particularly noticeble during breakfast after 9:30.

There are 2 swimming pools one is for little children. This pool is meant to be heated but we have found the water to be cold, probably not a problem most of the year but as it is their winter, the children have found it to be a bit cold particularly if its windy. Also at times we have found that their is a lack of staff around this pool, so if you need towels you are having to walk to the cabin to get some, For a five star resort this should not be the case.

Thier is meant to be water sports provided by the hotel which includes Water skiing and a glass bottom boat to have a look at the marine life beyond the reef, As yet we have to see any such activity take place which is a real disappointment, as i and the kids were really looking forward to trying water skiing. Every morning we go and ask and are told thats its too windy and all watersports are off, They don't bother waiting to see if the sea calms down later on, once the decision has been made to cancel thats it. What really gets to me is the fact 2 hotels down at the Maritim Hotel all there water sports are in full flow with a Que of people waiting to have their turn on the Jet skis and people on kayaks and peddle boats. If you want to use water sports and it is an important factor then i would suggest you chose a different hotel.

The staff at the hotel are fantastic and really friendly and this comes from the top, Juan the hotel manager always ask how we are and has a smile on his face. All the staff do likewise. He even came to us, after a particularly stormy night when a lot of debris was washed upon the shore, and apologised for the state of the beach and explained how he had a team of people working from one end to the other to clear up all the mess.

Overall this is a fantastic hotel and i would recommend it to most people unless watersports is a requirement of yours.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yunus P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jiri B, Director of Sales at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Yunus, thanks a lot sharing with us your recent experience at InterContinental resort Mauritius Balaclava Fort. I am happy to hear positive comments about our colleagues, guest rooms products and also you noticing large improvements. Nevertheless thanks a lot for your constructive feedback about water activities. Will investigate this deeply even sometimes its outside of our control due to changing weather conditions across small areas of ocean.
Hope to welcome you back sometimes in near future.
Jiri Benes, Director of Marketing and Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

Welcome Bliss , Wide Smiled Staff Welcome you from the Security gate to the Check in Area , The Warm Hot Towel and Welcome Drink Puts you at Ease gives you a Feeling of being at some place you have been before - ;-)

Super Fast Check In , Great Ocean Facing Rooms , Plus Soft and Cushioned Beds with Large Bathrooms and Clean Atmosphere Soothes your Senses.

The Pool Side Restaurant and the Activities keep you engaged through the Day. The Breakfast Spread / The Dinner and the Food Choice is Amazing - All 3 Restaurants in the Hotel Serve you great Food.

You Can keep Walking or Dip yourself in to the Ocean Water and Stay Relaxed Through the Day.

Stay Fascinated to this Day and Eagerly Look forward to be able to do a 2nd Trip to the Marvelous Hospitality at Intercontinental - Mauritius

Stay the same Always !!!

Room Tip: Ocean Facing or Pool Facing Rooms !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Satya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jiri B, Director of Sales at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Satya,
thanks a lot lot for your nice and warm review of InterContinental Resort Mauritius Balaclava Fort.
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and find the hotel and staff to your expectations and even more.
Hope to be able to welcome you back to Mauritius in future.
Yours sincerely
Jiri Benes, Director of Marketing & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

we spent this summer 9 days in this amazing hotel with beautiful areas to relax, nice view and pool to swim.
All is perfect set up but what makes the best hotel and feeling to be like home is the AMAZING STAFF from the Concierge Kevin to service pool staff with full energy every day to play on the beach voleibol, aqua gym, walking power ( we would like to thank you Prethie, Jessica, Patrick and Oliver they will keep you fit! !)
Talking about food amazing Segala staff and cuisine mixed with the view to the beach
Thanks to Rajiv and his staff
Great bedroom
Special thank you to the resident manager, Juan Losada, taking care of every detail for each client. Thanks to all for making us a great vacations!!!!

Hope see you soon

Teresa y Marisa (from Spain)

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jiri B, Director of Sales at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Teresa, I was very happy to read your recent review and experience from our hotel.
I will share your positive feedback with all of our staff during our regular meeting.
Yours sincerely
Jiri Benes, Director of Marketing&Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

We traveled to Mauritius in April this year and stayed at the InterContinental Resort. The kids and I loved the resort and the staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. The staff in the restaurants were especially friendly and ensured that my boys needs were met at every meal. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone wanting to travel to Mauritius with children. We will certainly visit the resort again.

Room Tip: We had a family room which was perfect because the boys had their own space and my husband and I als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank F M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jiri B, Director of Sales at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear valued guest, let me thank you personally for your time to share with us your experience at InterContinental Resort Mauritius Balaclava Fort.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and especially our famous family rooms. You are right its great to have separate room for kids with TV to keep them busy.
Yours sincerely
Jiri Benes, Director of Marketing and Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

Great hotel, we stayed in Presidential Suite, very spacious and lush, excellent service and great staff. Great food and the spa was excellent. I had two treatments. Noble House restaurant was the best!

Room Tip: Presidential Room is just a little more, but well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Afrijam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jiri B, Director of Sales at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear afrijam, thanks a lot for your time to share with us your recent experience. Glad to hear that we exceed your expectations and hope to be able to welcome you back in future.
Yours sincerely
Jiri Benes, Director of Marketing&Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the resort for a week in july 2014. We had a family room booked for us as we were travelling with 2 kids. The room is quite spacious.
The kids had a great time. They specially enjoyed the kids club.
The service was good... the staff at the pool bar require a special mention..they were brilliant...

The only problem we experienced was with the bell desk..at the time of check in ; they forgot 2 of our bags;; it took them nearly an hour to get it to our rooms.

Overall it's a nice resort...had a very good holiday....

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank kunalbhrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jiri B, Director of Sales at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear kunalbhrt, very proud to read your feedback and happy to hear that your family enjoyed stay with us. I am very sorry for inconvenience with your bags delivery, will make sure that corrective measurements are put in place immediately.
Yours sincerely
Jiri Benes, Director of Marketing & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
1.7 mi away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,894 reviews
17.1 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#5 of 17 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,280 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Ravenala Attitude
The Ravenala Attitude
#4 of 5 in Balaclava
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
0.8 mi away
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort

Property: InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
Address: Balaclava Fort, Coastal Rd, Balaclava, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Balaclava
#4 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#5 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#5 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort is located on one of the most pristine stretches of beach overlooking Balaclava, Mauritius. Offering 210 well-appointed rooms including 10 presidential suites, 40 family-type, 20 Jacuzzi rooms, 20 Executive rooms with free WiFi and 120 standard rooms. Facilities include: 3 bars, 5 restaurants, 2 swimming pools including one heated pool, 8 massage rooms, a unique private island, Planet Trekkers kids club, recreational activities, tennis court, 4 meeting rooms & 1 ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mauritius Resort, Balaclava Fort Hotel Balaclava
Intercontinental Hotel Mauritius
Intercontinental Hotel Balaclava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing