We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fantastically, wonderful, unforgettable holiday experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Balaclava
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A fantastically, wonderful, unforgettable holiday experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We visited this hotel between 12th Aug to the 21st and we have to say what a fantastic unforgettable experience! The staff were very friendly, made us feel very welcome and went out of their way to see that our needs were met. I'm not sure why the negative reviews appear for this hotel as our experience couldn't have been better!

A special thanks to Nav the assistant manager who truly understands what excellent customer service is. On the first day we had a couple of issues with our room and after meeting with Nav he listened to the issues we had and presented us with solutions to resolve the matter as quickly as possible . We were upgraded to an Executive Suite with Jacuzzi which was a lovely gesture. He really did take the time to understand our issues fully and he handled our queries with the utmost calm and professionalism. 

The food at the hotel was excellent - we tried all the restaurants and were impressed every time. Our favourite for breakfast was the Segala with the great service and friendly banter from Kristoph. Of course Kristoph's brother and sister in the Noble restaurant also did not disappoint displaying the same standards. We would like to also thank....Aneksha, Neil, Varsha and Nadine for their efforts in making our stay such a positive experience - they always delivered great service with a smile.

Finally we would like to mention Manav. We observed him on a daily basis setting up things for the evening entertainment etc and we have to say it was great to watch someone working so hard with such enthusiasm and passion for the benefit of your guests. He was always friendly in his interactions with us and again went out of his way to please us in any way that he could - always delivering excellent customer service.

We stayed at the hotel for 10 days and were very sad to leave such a great place and a fantastic set of people. We hope we will have the opportunity to visit again in the future and we would strongly recommend this hotel to friends and family as we know they won't be disappointed! 

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HussainS71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franck S, General Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear HussainS71,
We would like to thank you for your feedback about your last stay with us. We will be delighted to share your comment with our entire team and hope we will get the opportunity to welcome you again at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,269
    780
    292
    108
    125
See reviews for
712
1,358
42
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed two nights at the hotel. It's ~1 hour drive from the airport and there's definitely not a lot around (other than other resorts). We arrived ~7pm and I guess most people don't normally drive themselves because it was the worst check in process I have ever encountered. I went up to the desk to check in and was told to go have a seat. The open air lobby is beautiful, but after traveling for ~20hrs by plane and car we just wanted to have a room.

We waited a good 10mins and nobody came to us, so finally I flagged down the manager on duty who was walking around and he said someone would come shortly. We waited another 5mins before someone came, but part way through the process we found they had us confused with a different couple. Finally someone came to check us in, but then they had our booking all mixed up. 30mins after arriving we still weren't checked in, but at that point they were gracious enough to give us free breakfast for our stay to compensate. By the time we got to our room it had been 50mins. Then we found out all their a la carte restaurants were reserved for the night, so room service was the only option (we just wanted a snack, so buffet was out of the question). The food was ok.

The rooms are great, but if you are someone that is handicapped or has troubles walking I'm not sure this hotel is the best as it seems all the rooms we saw had 2 steps down from the bathroom (and no elevators we could find). Because I am part of the Intercontinental Ambassador program we were upgraded to a corner suite, which was great until the exhaust fan from the restaurant below came on (6am-10pm).

The buffet in the morning is great and covers a plethora of foods (European, American, Indian, Japanese). Watch out for the cats and birds!

There must have been an issue with the plumbing as well because when my wife went to use the sink the water was yellow. Same for the bathtub. Also the shower got progressively hotter and you couldn't cool it down no matter how low the setting was (we tried them all). We called about it, but when we came back from breakfast we could tell someone had been there but the water and hot shower issues still hadn't been fixed. We gave up trying.

Given the restaurants didn't appeal to us we decided to go out the 2nd night for dinner. We asked the concierge for some suggestions close by, but the only options he gave were ~25-30mins away! We found a great Italian place ~15mins, but if you're going to stay at this hotel I strongly suggest the full board option (and see if you can make reservations in advance).

There also really isn't much of a beach outside of a little cove, otherwise you need to go out over some rocks, so if you're looking for a beach this probably isn't the best hotel.

Overall the hotel is nice, but the service really needs to improve.

Room Tip: The corner suites are nice with the added jacuzzi and lounge area, but make sure it's not near t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TDawg225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franck S, General Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear TDawg225,

Thank you for your feedback on our hotel and we are very sorry that your check-in experience unfortunately did not meet your expectations.
Your observations and comments will be shared with our various departments, and as our aim is continuous improvement and service excellence, you can rest assured that we shall do all we can to look into the issues raised by you and ensure that they are not repeated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
129 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 6 nights. Upon arrival late evening from South Africa we were shown to our room which seemed very good, it looked good, was spacious, interiors were very well done up. Upon going to the balcony started the disappointment. We could barely see the ocean having booked an ocean room as there were many trees just in front of the balcony. Post dinner we made this known to the Guest Relations who said all rooms have the same view with trees in front and they offer "Ocean Facing Rooms" and not "Ocean View Rooms". We still requested for a room with a clear ocean view and they said they would try the next day.
That night we found our TV had a big crack line going through it and the bathroom door wouldn't lock. The next day we were offered an upgrade to a Jacuzzi room but with a worse view and we rejected the same and at the same time we let our travel agent know of our disappointment with the property he so enthusiastically sold to us. On the third day post our tour of the South Island we were offered an even better upgrade and with the best possible views of the ocean from anywhere in the hotel. Thus began 4 wonderful nights at the property.
The food was always very good with good options for Indian and Veg food. The staff is not friendly or attentive at all.The beach is good but a bit too rocky. Thanks for the experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeetFuria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franck S, General Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Mr. Furia,

We wish to thank for your feedback on our property.
Your constructive comments as regards to the staff attentiveness will be communicated to our team as well as your positive feedback on our food will be shared with our Kitchen team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed here during a business trip for 3 days.
- Check In was lengthy and waiting time was simple too much. After long flight you expect a fast check-in
- Hotel rooms are fabulous, They are big with wonderful view.
- Breakfast is nice with lot of variety , although dinner buffet was unacceptable.
- The beach is not great as there are lot of rocks. So its impossible to swim.
- Swimming pool is nice.

Overall its a nice place. But they should really work on customer service.

Room Tip: Take Rooms near to the main pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GALANVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franck S, General Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Galanva,
Let me thank you for your constructive feedback which definitely help us to improve our guest service. All my entire management team will make sure that our service will be up to the mark and we will be more than happy to welcome you again for a fantastic experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

The hotel itself is great. The location is awesome, the rooms well appointed and nice. 2 of the restaurants (the asian and the indian) serve great food, but there are too many other things dragging it down. These are:
- the flies at breakfast. You are continuously swatting them away. Just plain unacceptable.
- the mosquitoes. I know they are unavoidable in the tropics, but there aren't really any solutions provided by the hotel. When you check in with a 2 year old, maybe giving us a room with 2 terraces wasn't a good idea as we couldn't use either.
- wifi. You offer it for free in the lobby and restaurants, but once you get within 20m of your room they want to charge you a ridiculously expensive rate. These days I still don't know why hotels persist charging for wifi when cheap hotels all offer for free.
- the hot water. Takes forever to come through and is inconsistent after that.
- the pillows. You have a choice of super soft or super super super soft. We ended up using the cushions from the couch.
- the constant calling from staff. You order room service and tell the attendant we will leave the tray outside within half hour as we have our baby sleeping. No message relayed and we get calls over and over again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Taipan49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franck S, General Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Taipan49,

We wish to thank you for sharing your feedback and we apologize for all the inconveniences that you have been through.
Your observations and constructive comments will be communicated to the rest of the team, and you can trust us to do all that we can to improve our service delivery.
We hope to welcome you back again in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

we stayed at interconential balaclava during our visit to mauritius. the staff of the hotel are extremely friendly. a few of them have helped us make our holiday really nice. Mr. Kevin was among the best who booked/suggested/planned our day trips around and helped us make the holiday fun.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayur D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franck S, General Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Mayurn,
I really would like to thank you for your comments. I am delighted to note that you enjoyed your holidays with us and can't wait to welcome you again for your next trip in Mauritius.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
259 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Spent 5 days in October at the Intercontinental. At first I thought it was brilliant. Excellently received late at night and ushered to one of the restaurants (Noble House) service stunning Asian cuisine. Then off to the very beautiful, luxurious and very spacious rooms with sea views. Huge comfortable bed with good quality bedding, beautiful bathroom with own plasma screen, ice cold aircon plus a ceiling fan even own private balcony (and this is the standard room).

Next morning I started noticing some negatives - no hot water from baths taps in the room (ok I never mentioned it to management so can not say how quickly it would have been resolved as I opted to shower instead!) breakfast although huge variety some dishes a bit bland and of course the flies. The 'sand' on the beach not as idyllic as one would like. Seem like the resort is disjointed and no real plan in mind when designed / build thus sometimes a bit if a mission to get from point a to b. Everything not part of the incl package is very very expensive ie room service (which we sometime had to have a meal without chasing flies) non local drinks etc. Twice the complimentary water / soft drinks were not replenished. No free wi fi in rooms.

This being said - everyone was very friendly and helpful at the resort. Choose from one of 5 restaurants with different themes and tastes. Themed evenings and sometime some dance music afterwards. Centrally located near Grand Bai and Port Louis. (Although more than hours drive from airport) Stunning pool on the beach with swim up bar with great cocktails and knowledgeable barmen and another pool which is heated. Strong wi fi in public areas incl at the pool.

My biggest issue with the resort was the awful amount of flies everywhere expect in the room. Apparently more than usual cause of change of season but made our stay less enjoyable.

Room Tip: All seems to be very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan-12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane J, Director of Sales at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Stefan-12345,

I want to thank you for your honest review of our resort.

I'm sorry about the hot water incident, and we are looking into why that occurred.

The flies we are continuously trying to work on, it is seasonal, and we are currently working on morning and evening fogging as a solution.

I'm glad that overall you enjoyed the resort.

kind regards

Shane J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
1.7 mi away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,894 reviews
17.1 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#5 of 17 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,279 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Ravenala Attitude
The Ravenala Attitude
#4 of 5 in Balaclava
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
0.8 mi away
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort

Property: InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
Address: Balaclava Fort, Coastal Rd, Balaclava, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#4 Family Hotel in Balaclava
#5 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
#5 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort is located on one of the most pristine stretches of beach overlooking Balaclava, Mauritius. Offering 210 well-appointed rooms including 10 presidential suites, 40 family-type, 20 Jacuzzi rooms, 20 Executive rooms with free WiFi and 120 standard rooms. Facilities include: 3 bars, 5 restaurants, 2 swimming pools including one heated pool, 8 massage rooms, a unique private island, Planet Trekkers kids club, recreational activities, tennis court, 4 meeting rooms & 1 ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mauritius Resort, Balaclava Fort Hotel Balaclava
Intercontinental Hotel Mauritius
Intercontinental Hotel Balaclava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing