We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Balaclava
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Just returned back from a fabulous 12 night stay and would highly recommend this hotel. We and our three girls couldn't have been looked after better. The service in the main restaurant was brilliant, pretty slow at the beach bar but staff so warm and friendly it didn't seem to matter. It was very safe for our girls to have the freedom to run up and down resort and they had lots of fun at kids club. They loved Chaya who was really lovely with them. The family suite was perfect for the five of us and beds amazingly comfy! In the Sagala restaurant Christophe couldn't have done enough for us and Wesley also in Noble house made our stay very special. Not forgetting Shane the sales and marketing director who went out of his way to make sure we were having a fabulous time. We definitely hope to return one day.

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room request one around heated pool.
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Vics L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane J, Director of Sales at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Vics L,

I'm glad that you and the family arrived back safely, it was a real pleasure to have you here.

I'll make sure that Chaya, Christophe and Wesley get the feedback, I'm super happy that they looked after you well.

I know that Segala was your preference for breakfast, we are very lucky to have two breakfast locations for guests here at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mauritius and the resort in the near future.

kind regards

Shane J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,077)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,485 - 1,491 of 3,077 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed one night at this hotel on half board and cannot fault it! We went as a family and had 4 rooms. All the rooms were splendid - the size of the room, the bed, the tub! The food at breakfast and dinner was absolutely amazing. The hotel has 2 pools of of which is heated (!!!) - ideal for the kids. The beach isn't the best but still of very good quality - the sunbathing opportunities are great though specially the way the loungers are laid out. The staff are also very warm, polite and helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would happily go there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shehzad013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane J, Director of Sales at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Dear shehzad013

Thank you so much for your stellar review! I'm super happy that you enjoyed yourself.

Next time I hope you have the chance to extend your stay a few more nights and try more of the facilities.

kind regards

Shane J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed at the Intercontinental hotel for two nights. We also stayed at Long Beach during this stay and have previously stayed at La Residence and Ambre Hotel in the Belle Mare area. We were impressed by the quality of the rooms. We stayed in a family room (two rooms) and were very comfortable. Senior management staff were very helpful - especially Kevin who listened to a minor complaint and gave us a lovely lunch treat as compensation. Having also stayed at Long Beach we were also able to compare quality of staff training. I would say that the more junior catering staff were helpful but could be better trained. The swimming pools are small although the heated pool is very nice to swim in. When staying in Mauritius most people would like a pristine beach with nice views. Unfortunately, the view to the left in the distance is of Port Louis with its various ships docked. The beach is rocky and not too suitable for swimming. However there are very nice sunsets. Overall, our stay was good value for money as we got a good deal. However, for those in search of the 'Mauritian beach experience' I would suggest a stay at the hotels located on the East coast such as Long Beach, Belle Mare Plage or La Residence. But be aware also that in Winter (June, July, August) there can sometimes be a strong breeze on the east coast and it can be chilly!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FamilyfromLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane J, Director of Sales at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear FamilyfromLondonUK,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our resort.

I'll make sure Kevin is aware you enjoyed his service and service recovery, both of which are equally important in our eyes.

Regarding the beach itself, thank you for your constructive points. Depending on the tide, yes it can provide varied swimming experiences.

We are continuing to train and develop all our staff, and I'm glad you found them helpful.

kind regards

Shane J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed there for a week last year. Rooms are very luxuries, comfortable and offer breath taking views . Great restaurants that offer a variety of cuisines. Awesome selection of drinks on the beach cafe. Breakfast buffet has lot of options and is really nice. The hotel lobby is huge and the view is marvelous from the open lobby area. Overall, a great holiday in a serene paradise.

Room Tip: Go for Deluxe Ocean View with Terrace Jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sidharth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane J, Director of Sales at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Sidharth A,

Greetings from the IC Mauritius.

Thank you for your wonderful review of the hotel, and especially your Jacuzzi Suite tip! They are very special and kind of one-of-a-kind in Mauritius in that we have 20 of them.

Hoping to see you back here soon.

kind regards

Shane J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed here on our honeymoon for 7 nights in a beautiful ocean view ground floor room. We arrived at the hotel at 7pm after over 15 hours of travelling and were offered welcoming cocktails while we checked in. Our room was close to the reception and very spacious and clean.

We enjoyed everything about the hotel from the great choice of restaurants and food options to the friendly staff. The staff took the time to get to know us and even remembered what drinks we liked.(mojitos were fab!)

Our room was cleaned and tidied daily and one day when we were in a hurry to go out on a day trip my husband left a large amount of cash on the table, forgetting to put it back in the safe. Upon our return all the money was still there on the table and they had even folded our clothes that we had left on the floor!!

The hotel is quite remote from any other shops/restaurants etc. We made the most of our trip and did day trips to see the island and even sailed to another part of the island. We also stayed half board as this suited our needs and went out a lot. Drinks were expensive ( we didnt mind as it was our honeymoon and you only do this once, hopefully!) so if you plan on staying in the hotel all week I would reccomend going all inclusive.

This was the best holiday we have ever been on, fabulous location, great service and wonderful people. Thank you InterContinental Mauritius

Sam and James Armitage

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane J, Director of Sales at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Sam A,

Thank you for a lovely review and it's such a comfort to know that yourself and James had a great honeymoon.

We've made sure all the staff you mentioned to me have been personally thanked - The barman were so happy!

I look forward to welcoming you back to the resort soon.

kind regards

Shane J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Stayed here for my honeymoon in Feb 2013 Valentine Week. Although there was noting like valentine days here but overall the resort is great. Good food good service. Indian Restraurnt Veda serves superb food and the manager there is so friendly that he makes sure the food is served as per our taste

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandeepduggal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane J, Director of Sales at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Dear mandeepduggal,

Just a short message to say thank you for choosing our property for your honeymoon, and through Valentines week - how romantic?

Thanks for pointing our Veda, it's quite spectacular and yes, we can tailor the food to the specific needs of the client.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

kind regards

Shane J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This hotel is one of the best hotels I've ever been too. I have to say that I find this hotel great for families because of all these fun activities. The rooms are very luxurious and comfortable. I very much liked the decorations and the bathroom. The view in-front of the hotel is marvelous. The small island which is just in front of the hotel and in the sea is great and very relaxing! The enjoyed the heated pool and the bar found next to the other pool. The service was wonderful! Everyone was very kind and friendly to us and were very helpful! Personally, I think the location is good because it seems to be apart from the other hotels. I would recommend this hotel to families!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yashvin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane J, Director of Sales at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Yashvin M,

Thanks for your review, it was so nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay here.

I'm glad you highlighted the activities and the location as a positive - clearly we are getting this right!!

We'd love to see you back here some time soon.

kind regards

Shane J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
17.1 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,666 reviews
1.3 mi away
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Sp...
#2 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
2,988 reviews
1.7 mi away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
3,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,584 reviews
5 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort

Address: Balaclava Fort, Coastal Rd, Balaclava, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#4 Family Hotel in Balaclava
#5 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
#5 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range: $287 - $490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort is located on one of the most pristine stretches of beach overlooking Balaclava, Mauritius. Offering 210 well-appointed rooms including 10 presidential suites, 40 family-type, 20 Jacuzzi rooms and 140 Deluxe rooms. Facilities include: 3 bars, 5 restaurants, 2 swimming pools ( all heated in winter ), 8 massage rooms, a unique private island, Planet Trekkers kids club, recreational activities, tennis court, 4 meeting rooms & 1 ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mauritius Resort, Balaclava Fort Hotel Balaclava
Intercontinental Hotel Mauritius
Intercontinental Hotel Balaclava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing