We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Balaclava
Certificate of Excellence
Pointe aux Canonniers
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel!”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This hotel is one of the best hotels I've ever been too. I have to say that I find this hotel great for families because of all these fun activities. The rooms are very luxurious and comfortable. I very much liked the decorations and the bathroom. The view in-front of the hotel is marvelous. The small island which is just in front of the hotel and in the sea is great and very relaxing! The enjoyed the heated pool and the bar found next to the other pool. The service was wonderful! Everyone was very kind and friendly to us and were very helpful! Personally, I think the location is good because it seems to be apart from the other hotels. I would recommend this hotel to families!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yashvin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane J, Director of Sales at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Yashvin M,

Thanks for your review, it was so nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay here.

I'm glad you highlighted the activities and the location as a positive - clearly we are getting this right!!

We'd love to see you back here some time soon.

kind regards

Shane J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,395
    817
    303
    114
    133
See reviews for
786
1,426
49
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I would recommend this place. It's location is superb & their private beach is excellent. All rooms are sea facing, staff is really prompt. Soaking up the sun on the long sandy beach, watching Sunrise & Sunset is a bliss. Breakfast is really very extensive.

Really enjoyed dining at their restaurant "Vedas" as food was really delicious. Large room size, big bathroom, Staff is really courteous & honest. I left my passport & huge cash in safe without bolting it. When i returned to my room after 3 hrs, housekeeping guys were cleaning the room. They informed me i left my valuables in an unbolted safe . My wallet & cash were intact. If you
want to experience tranquility & luxury, this is the place.

Room Tip: Market is really far from this hotel. Carry all your required stuff when you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amitmamgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane J, Director of Sales at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear amitmamgain,

Great to hear from you, and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.

You've been able to captivate everything in your review that we aim for here at the hotel.

Great rooms, friendly and honest staff, good food and sunshine (which we do our best to provide ;-)

I hope to welcome you back soon.

kind regards

Shane J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We came to intercon after 13hr flight and 1.5hr travel by land to attend my sister's wedding. First thing that welcomed us was their manager and arguing that we booked a family for one person and insist on paying extra for every person. That was really absurd coz the room has a Queen sized bed and 2 twin beds. Ugh and we were very tired and told him to discuss it the next morning since we were very tired and we are willing to pay if it was reasonable. Good thing my sister's husband came and talk to them bout their bad service. They even shortened our reservation without telling us after everything was settled and transferred us to Le Meridien. They asked us to pay the same amount as intercons rate and promised us the same quality of service and facilities. We later found out that it was unfair bcoz they booked us a 2 twin sized bed. They downgraded our level of comfort and service compared to what we paid for in Intercon. Le Meridien is a 3 star hotel but has a 5star service. I would not recommend intercon! Karma is a b coz after we left he calculated 5k rupees for our 5 night stay instead of paying 20k rupees. He keep on calling my brother in law and we just ignored his calls

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ph107hsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane J, Director of Sales at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear ph107hsj

Thank you for your review of our Resort.

Regarding your trip, it's a little hard to understand some of the comments, although I appreciate you taking the time to write them.

We hope you enjoyed the wedding of your sister, and your time in Mauritius. We are apologetic about the shortfalls you received.

kind regards

Shane J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I visited this hotel on January 2013 end. The hotel is good and the food is nice but the staff is the most unfriendliest bunch of people i have come across in so many years of my travelling. The concept of service with a smile does not apply here. If you want to have a good day while staying in this resort please dont start your day by interacting with the staff otherwise your day is bound to go bad. Nobody wants to see sulking faces in the beginning of the day especially in the reception area.
Never coming here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnysgujral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane J, Director of Sales at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Sunnysgujral,

Greetings from the IC Mauritius, I wanted to drop you a note to thank you for your time in posting your review.

I'm sorry to have heard that you didn't find our staff happy. It's not indicative of them, and although looking into it, we hope this case was isolated.

Our team are in place to make sure that you feel great the whole time you're on vacation, so we apologise for not 'hitting the mark' on this occassion.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

kind regards

Shane J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed in a Presidential Suite for x2 weeks in February 2013 and had the most amazing time. The standard of the suite was outstanding and the views simply breath taking!
It was worth every penny to wake up to those breath taking views every morning from each of the x3 balconies of which one had its own secluded jacuzzi! The staff were so friendly and extremely helpful, the quality of the food was Excellent! Also a fantastic choice of different restaurants to suit a variety of tastes and the overall hospitality really was second to none!! We would have no hesitation to recommend this resort to anyone looking for a 5* holiday.

A BIG thank you to all the staff for making our stay so memorable, we haven't stopped talking about it!
Lavinia & James

Room Tip: If you can afford it definitely go for the Presidential Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaviniaPavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane J, Director of Sales at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear LaviniaPavis,

You have absolutely made my morning here in Mauritius. Reading that you had an incredible time with us means that we are definitely getting it right!

The Presidential Suites are really something; privacy and seclusion as well as opulence!

I am going to send your review around to all departments, as I believe they all joined together for what appeared to be a wonderful holiday for yourself and James.

kind regards and we look forward to seeing you again!

Shane J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

A very good property with nice rooms. Stayed in the family room, which is very comfortable( 2 rooms) especially if you are traveling with children. The food is also good. Room service good. House keeping needs a little improvement as it took some time to resolve the issue of hot water in our room. They arrange programs for the guest entertainment every evening which were really good. Especially the arabian dance was cool and the ambience created with deco with sheer curtains and hookas added to its beauty.The heated pool really nice. Kids club also had some nice activities. They have 4 different restaurants Indian, pan Asian, sea food and the coffee shop.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monmalh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane J, Director of Sales at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Monmalh,

Greetings from the InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort,

So glad that you've enjoyed your stay, and apologies again for the incident with the hot water. We are looking for ways to improve preventative maintenance for the future.

Thank you for highlighting our nightly entertainment. The Arabic night is a favourite among the guests, and now our Latino night is also getting quite famous.

We hope to welcome you back soon, and hope you all had a nice flight back to India.

Kind regards

Shane J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Spent a few days here at the end if June 2013 while attending an ICT forum.

Beautiful resort with amazing view of the Indian Ocean. Great rooms with back door access to the beach (stayed on the ground floor).

Food was great although expensive. There are 3 to 4 restaurants within 2 to 3 mins walking distance; spent $64 for dinner and a bottle of beer. Heineken was $10 per bottle.

Getting to town can be expensive. A 25 min ride to and from the resort was $72.

Make sure to get a SIM card from the airport as the hotel store may not be open when you arrive.

Very friendly staff all around. Will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roland O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane J, Director of Sales at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Roland O,

Thanks for your review, and your tip on the ground floor rooms, that go directly onto the gardens/beach area depending on where they are!

We are glad you enjoyed our services, and I'm glad you enjoyed the food at the resort.

We look forward to welcoming you back here in the near future.

thanks again

Shane J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
1.7 mi away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
3,032 reviews
17.1 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,424 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Ravenala Attitude
The Ravenala Attitude
#3 of 6 in Balaclava
1,369 reviews
28.2 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,708 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort

Property: InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
Address: Balaclava Fort, Coastal Rd, Balaclava, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#4 Family Hotel in Balaclava
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#5 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
#5 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort is located on one of the most pristine stretches of beach overlooking Balaclava, Mauritius. Offering 210 well-appointed rooms including 10 presidential suites, 40 family-type, 20 Jacuzzi rooms and 140 Deluxe rooms. Facilities include: 3 bars, 5 restaurants, 2 swimming pools ( all heated in winter ), 8 massage rooms, a unique private island, Planet Trekkers kids club, recreational activities, tennis court, 4 meeting rooms & 1 ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mauritius Resort, Balaclava Fort Hotel Balaclava
Intercontinental Hotel Mauritius
Intercontinental Hotel Balaclava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing