We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT LISTEN TO THE BAD REVIEWS!!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Balaclava
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2011

On arrival, my breath was taken away by the stunning reception area. Check in quickly followed along with a complimentary cold drink. Once escourted to our room, we were not disappointed. The room was spacious, modern but authentic and very clean with a fantastc sea view.

We dined on an all inclusive basis. Not on one occasion were we disappointed with our meals!! Our favourite was the Indian restuarnt. The blue cheese naan bread and the curried King prawns were delicious!!!

Other reviews state that the service is slow. Although it's not the quickest we have ever recieved, who is in a rush? Every drink and meal was brought to us with a smile from the staff. They were brilliant! Mixing us our own special cocktails! Make sure you visit the grill on the island. They serve great lunches! One thing to note - we were not aware that you had to wear long trousers for dinner!

One thing to do if there's rain is to go to the fitness suite and spa. Both are free and of a high standard! We spent a whole afternoon using the sauna, steam room, jacuzzi and plunge pool.

Overall, we had a superb holiday. My partner and I really can not understand the negative comments. Please don't be put off by other reviews, we wouldn't hesitate to return to the Intercontinental!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharp82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,077)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,849 - 1,855 of 3,077 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2011

The location of the hotel is really amazing.the layout of the room is not very convenient.. The variety in food is decent..and the recreation activities are also ok..But the quality of service is reaallllllllly slow..people take their own sweet time here..

All and all.. It os an ok place.. There are better options available..

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amalmakwana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2011

This is a must visit hotel. I stayed for 5 nights with my wife on honeymoon. We were completely amazed. We were impressed by the manner we were received at the reception and the welcoming drink. We were then chauffered to the room. The decoration done for the honeymoon room was WAY beyond our expectations especially the rose petals and the 'shaped' towels and the complimentary t shirts. The gift fruits were fresh and the wine was already chilled in the fridge. We were on half board basis and all the meals were sumptious. The effort made to provide entertainment at dinner was duly noted. The best experience was the dinner on the beach where all guests were seated on 10-seater tables thus encouraged to interact. We spent quite some time on the beach side which was rocky but beautiful all the same. My wife could not get enough of the hammocks!! The spa treatment was very relaxing as was the jacuzzi. We enjoyed the candle-lit dinner at Noble house right on the decks. We enjoyed a short game or two of table tennis and badminton with the well maintained sporting equipment provided by the hotel. The baracuda bar entertainment shows were sufficient with the indian dancers show and band. We attempted to dance on their dance floor with the music provided, despite being the only ones to do so. The staff were quite helpful especially Guylaine at the reception with her welcoming smile, Vincent at the baracuda bar who went out of his way to make us comfortable and Jean-Pierre at the towel cabana but our favorite was Vik who was entirely helpful at all times. He organized for our early morning breakfast on the day of departure, he explained the entire honeymoon package to us in great detail and he managed to correct an error on our check-out bill without any qualms. All in all he was very eager to help and always cheerful. DO NOT LOOK ELSEWHERE IF YOU WISH FOR A RELAXING AND SATISFYING HONEYMOON....

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wachira_Ndegwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2011

My husband & I stayed at the InterContinental hotel in Mauritius for 7 night's in February 2011 for our honeymoon. As soon as we arrived we were made to feel extremely welcome by Vic (front of house) we were offered drinks while we waited to check in. The entire staff in this hotel were very friendly & helpful throughout our stay, the choice of food & drink with an all inclusive package was amazing. All the restaurant's on site were wonderful the choice of food & standard was 5* we didn't have a bad meal during our stay! We were given complimentary neck & shoulder massages & a candle lit dinner for two on the beach as part of our honeymoon package which was a very nice touch. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a relaxing break the only down side to this hotel is the man made beach but if you prefer the pool than you couldn't ask for a better choice. Also the weather was good for a winter break over 30 degrees everyday!! only a few rain showers!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimbers009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2011

This is the worst 5* Hotel I have ever stayed at- a very big let down and it ruined the first week of our Honeymoon.

WARNING WARNING WARNING: This is not a 5* Hotel

THINGS THAT RUINED OUR STAY:

1. Service is very poor- the hotel did not get the message from my agent that we were honeymooners and I was very upset that my wife did not recieve the promised suprises on arrival (dinner on beach for two, decorated bed, fruit basket, welcome tropical cocktail, polo shirts and voucher for the spa). Towards the end of the stay and after repeated requests we recieved all of this, but the polo shirts given to us were small size (I find this rather insulting given that I am medium build and over 6 foot tall!). However, we never recieved a decent apology.

2. Staff do not seemed to be trained in customer service- some were excellent but most didn't really care and appeared moody

3. When were checking our we rang in good time for our luggage to be escorted to the reception- we sat waiting in reception for it for a good half hour for it and again there was no decent apology and it was only brought down after repeated requests. One of the staff members were going to put us in a taxi without our luggage! What a disgrace!

4. Food was inconsistent in quality- undercooked potatoes at the buffet (Senso) and stupidly flavoured food at the Indian Veda restaurant (we are indian and used to hot/spicy food but the chef used too much flavours of one particular ingredient e.g Mint- we provided this feedback to the chef and he told us that indian food was supposed to be like this!!!!). Were all inclusive- options for a vegetarian lunch are very limited

5. Our room was never dusted/mopped during our stay- the floor was always full of debris and dusty!

6. Dishes/glasses in our room where not cleared until ages- we didn't like leaving them in our room as this encouraged ant infestation so we left them outside our room- they were there for ages and full of ants!!!

SOME POSITIVES

1. Spa is excellent

2. The Oriental Restaurant dinner was excellent- lovely

3. The candle lit dinner Segala and dinner at Nobel House restaurant was excellent- delicious food

4. All inclusive option is good value with the cocktails/drinks (not the lunches!)

5. After discovery of a cockroach in our room staff came to remove it very quickly!

OVERALL I WOULD NOT RECCOMEND THIS HOTEL IF YOU LOOKING FOR 5* SERVICE

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dsankhla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2011

... but it just would not add up to 5 stars!
Very inconsistent service levels.
Whilst some hotel employees are outstanding, others just drag down the property.
Weak hotel management seems to be at a loss how to address the issues. I quote: "We cannot get the right staff."
Well, and you do not seem to give the right training either!
They paid continuous lip service but did not address the issues.
Very disappointing!

Some points to consider before booking your trip:
1. Bring long trousers. All 4 restaurants have the same dress code in place. A thoroughly pointless policy in a tropical resort and considering the downmarket decor and style of their main, buffet style self service restaurant, a rather laughable exercise.
Moreover, you are not being advised of this policy until after you arrive!!!
2. Bring patience. The check in process has to witnessed to be believed. It takes forever and is rather laboured after a long flight, which most guests would have had.
I notice this has been commented on by other contributors!
3. Simple requests seem to be very hard and almost impossible to fulfil.
I notice this also has been commented on by others!
4. Don't expect a beautiful beach. It is what it is, very rocky and unsuitable for swimming. It's a fact.
The main pool is nice for kids and the lagoon a safe place for them to splash around in.
5. The rooms are nice.
6. The spa is very nice. Not cheap but worth the expense.
7. Room service was outstanding. Best burger I ever had!!!
8. Internet in room is the most expensive I have ever, ever experienced. Ridiculous! Free access in lobby and business center, though.

As a discerning traveller expecting a 5 star property with 'all the trimmings', I was distinctly underwhelmed and cannot believe this is an IC property.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjspjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2011

The intercontinental has all the trappings of a nice beach side hotel should have.
The hotel beach is really nice and well kept, with most of the amenities.
The service and the attitude of the staff overall whether it be the front desk people or the guys managing the restaurants is very shoddy.
It leaves much to be desired..as one would expect in a 5 star hotel.
Maybe they have different service attitudes for different nationalities..i did feel that way, coz i noticed the attitude towards the Europeans.
Overall an average experience...could have been much better.
The property is nice but it just lacks that vibrancy..that magic.
Good luck.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Monk5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
17.1 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,666 reviews
1.3 mi away
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Sp...
#2 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
2,988 reviews
1.7 mi away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
3,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,584 reviews
5 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort

Address: Balaclava Fort, Coastal Rd, Balaclava, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Balaclava
#4 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#5 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
#5 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range: $287 - $490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort is located on one of the most pristine stretches of beach overlooking Balaclava, Mauritius. Offering 210 well-appointed rooms including 10 presidential suites, 40 family-type, 20 Jacuzzi rooms and 140 Deluxe rooms. Facilities include: 3 bars, 5 restaurants, 2 swimming pools ( all heated in winter ), 8 massage rooms, a unique private island, Planet Trekkers kids club, recreational activities, tennis court, 4 meeting rooms & 1 ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mauritius Resort, Balaclava Fort Hotel Balaclava
Intercontinental Hotel Mauritius
Intercontinental Hotel Balaclava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing